We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld

Hostel | 716 Washington Boulevard, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90292

70.3% Overall Rating

147 out of 240 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/11/2014)

"Nice location and area a walking distance from the beach, close to some nice restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff, very homey atmosphere! Small breakfast included, securityboxes where you can use your own lock."

Read all Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Marina 7 Motel
32.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue
39.00 USD

Hostel 72.6% 409 reviews
SameSun Venice Beach
35.00 USD

Hostel 79.7% 735 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
70.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 13 reviews
Ocean Park Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.3% 43 reviews
Rodeway Inn
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
35.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

147 out of 240 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
68.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 152 of 160 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and area a walking distance from the beach, close to some nice restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff, very homey atmosphere! Small breakfast included, securityboxes where you can use your own lock.

Disliked: Few parkingspaces, could have been a little cleaner,

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mark Thompson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

03 June 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in a very safe area for LA. Free safe street parking

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms is a bit of a drag.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tatjana Leuthner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2014 Tatjana would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast included (cereals, milk, orange juice, toast, butter, jam), great atmosphere, just a 15min walk to the beach

Disliked: It´s a bit far away from the sights of L.A., like the Hollywood Blvd and the Universal Studios but there is a good bus/train-connection to those.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful, and the neighborhood is quiet.

Disliked: Not easy to find (not at the address given on the website).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is nice and location is astonishing quite

Disliked: located a little bit off

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

melody durupt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013

Liked: Cheap!

Disliked: Impossible to find as it is a private flat (upstairs) And dirty! (

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: most of the place (smaller separate building smelled like smoke). everything is just so far for walking and this is an LA problem in general. i think compared to other hostels in LA this is decent though.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This wil sound stupid, but they had great toilet paper! I mean it was not institutional! Also, I liked that it wasn't a party hostel but rather a chill hang out.

Disliked: It's a nice basic place. So I liked everything. it's not fancy. But a nice well kept place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old style, homey building, easy to access, walking distance to beach.

Disliked: mosquitoes!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap and easy to get to from the airport. Once you got to know the staff they were friendly. The area is nice, bit far from the beach but still walkable.

Disliked: I thought it was really unclean and there was no privacy. The shower and toilet were disgusting and never cleaned thoroughly. There were a lot of people sharing one toilet and shower that were in the one bathroom and there was no where to change discretely. The bed was terrible too.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013

Liked: The fact we checked out 2 days early.

Disliked: Everything, I cannot find one positive thing.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and fairly close to beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victor Fischer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 April 2013 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: The owner came to welcome me and explained how I could easily get to the cheap supermarkets and the beach. Showed me my bed and the other parts of the hostel. Kitchen and living room are just like home, not like an unpersonal area.

Disliked: Could've been closer to the see. You now have to walk for like 15 minutes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joy PRATER

As a family with children

Family Holiday

06 November 2012 Joy would recommend this property

Liked: I rate this hostel as my favourite yet! friendly people, laid back atmosphere. Like a home away from home. I loved the funky interior, graffiti art around the place, how it felt safe without needing high security. It's in a quiet location, a good 15 mins walk from Venice Beach, but a quick bus ride, costing only $1. I'm definitely going to stay again. Oh and my 13 year old boy was made very welcome too :)

Disliked: Um... not much. breakfast was too late in the morning for us (9am-10am).

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012

Liked: I liked the fact that everytime i watched a tv channel, a member of staff would come along and snatch the controler from me and put on whatever they wanted. Yeah, i liked that alot. How considerate.

Disliked: The staff had isues with people consuming licker/vodka in the living room. Was told twice, no hard licker in this hostel. I did not like how far away it was from venice beach. Why call it venice beach hostel if its no where near venice beach? I disliked the fact that i booked an 8 bed dorm but was placed in a 13 bed dorm with people sitting on my bed using it as an ash tray. I did not like the fact that my bed was not made up or fresh. I did not like the fact that the showers are open all the time to all genders like back in caveman days. I did not like the fact that there was a big issue to get people out of the hostel on the days they checked out and to make sure that they are gone before 10am. And not aloud to leave luggage there for the day or hang out there for the day while you wait for your flight or greyhound to leave.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

kirsty ashton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

13 August 2012 kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: it was not to far from beach, staff where nice.

Disliked: - the beds - two showers between like 60 ppl but oddly i never waited long - sprits are band :(

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012

Liked: nice building, quiet area, supermarket nearby. well equipped kitchen

Disliked: not close to anything that interesting, lacked much of an atmosphere; limited bathroom facilties, 5$ charge for using credit card. no lockers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from beach, for small fee was able to leave my stuff, hangout, and keep the key until the bus arrived.

Disliked: This is a nice hostel about 10-15 minute walk from the Venice beach Boardwalk. It has 2 locations just blocks from each other. I only stayed a night but slept well and my bus the next day didn't leave until 10pm so for 10$ they allowed me to hold on to my key and keep my bags in the common room. The hostel was a bit pricier than other U.S Hostels but I guess that can be expected being so close to the beach. Everything is pricier.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 April 2012

Liked: Nothing but the location which is a couple of miles from Venice Beach.

Disliked: The staff, the overall condition of the property, and the lack of advertised amenities.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012

Liked: Great location and owner very helpful and full of useful information.

Disliked: No locks anywhere! Front door or rooms. The place is a old house, with mattresses and beds here there and everywhere. I stayed on a foam mattress that was no more than 3 inches thick, on the floor.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at Venice Beach hostel as a couple in February 2011. We picked this room for the location and the fact they offered a free airport pickup (they don't offer this on return but you can walk to the bus stop and take the bus straight there for $1)! The location is great and the owner guy that picked us up from the airport was very helpful. When you book you need to email them separately for the toll-free phone number for the airport pick up. The number you get on your email confirmation is not toll free! The pick up was great though. We called from the airport when we arrived and within 30 minutes we were picked up. We booked a tour through the hostel (the A1 city tour) for $50 per person which was a discount price and a great tour to do (and they pick you up just across the road from the hostel). If you're only here for a couple of nights to do the sightseeing then this place is ok.

Disliked: Having just come from backpacking around SE Asia we were expecting something fairly decent for the price (and western standards compared to SE Asia). We stayed in a private double with shared bathroom for $25 per person per night. There are actually 2 different buildings for this hostel and we stayed at the smaller one. The room was ok but could have been better. The beds are pretty awful and there was an old stained carpet which they should just get rid of. It was also really cold - no heating of any sort and for some reason they constantly had the doors/ windows open. We were only here for 2 nights but it was cold and raining (not normal for LA at this time of year). The also don't clean every day - the shared bathroom we used was a bit dirty and not cleaned at all whilst we were there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy. Staff very helpful. Excellent location.

Disliked: Very cold at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, very close to the supermarket and not too far away from the beach !

Disliked: it's not so safe. we miss now one jogging-short...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fabulous. It is in a great location, close to all of the sights of venice beach and santa monica and close to transportation links. The staff are friendly and helpful and always there to offer advice and tips as well as details of the lesser known attractions in the area. The atmosphere is great, friendly and relaxed. This is definately the place you want to stay if you are travelling alone or wanting to spend time with other travellers. I have stayed here on a number of occassions and have always had a great time and met some great people too! I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a fun, safe and friendly place to stay in the Venice area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really close to venice beach! easy access to buses.

Disliked: no locks on the fornt doors or rooms was aittle worrying buthtey did say they always had someone on the door. people were able to smoke inside and i am not a smoker