HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Venice Beach Hostel Los Angeles Hostel

716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 70%

Location 74%

Safety 78%

Staff 92%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Tax not included in the rates shown online.
48h cancellation policy
We cannot accept arrivals after midnight unless by special arrangement.
Proof of international travel is required, if you do not have this, you must call the hostel to discuss before booking.
Free LAX pick up is 9.00am to 7.00pm with 2 night min stay.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 70%

Location 74%

Safety 78%

Staff 92%

Value 74%

Showing 31-10 of 10 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the friendliness of the owner

Disliked: the rooms were very old and not so clean

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The homely feel

Disliked: -No airport shuttle occurred-States 8 person dorm, had 13 ppl-2 toilets & Showers for 35 + ppl-no spirits, only beer-Paid $35 each to sleep on a mattress on the floor with no space...should have been offered a lower price for not having a bed or any room in our little loft-staff are nice, hostel is just well ovepriced for what is offeredin comparison to other hostels. $20 max per night

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: it'wasn't clean and rooms was so small for 8 people also i had to share bathroom with 20 more people they only have 2 bathroom upstairs and down stairs and they have almost 40 bed in 4 rooms

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The owner was really nice and helpful but he did lie about trips.as when we went to book with the other staff he told us it was a lie. There is a nice and social tv area.

Disliked: Sleeping on mattresses on the floor about an inch away from other ppl.no lock on any door. Kinda smelly.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great for the beach, local bars etc. Laid back like the area itself.

Disliked: We were packed off to an annex which was far less impressive than the main hostel. It was far more shoddy and with none of the amenities the advertised hostel had. The rooms were uncomfortable hot and one of use got bitten for sleeping there.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was clean.

Disliked: Some of the staff that worked there were rude.Had to be quiet after 12am.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There is honestly not a lot to like about this property, apart from them offering $1 beers in the vending machine.

Disliked: No locks on the bathroom doors. They claim they have no curfew, however one night a few of us were drinking no later than 1am at which point we were told of for disturbing the peace. The next day we thought nothing of it and went on with our day to the beach. It was only on our return from the beach at 5.30pm we were told our behaviour from the night before was unacceptable, no second chances were given and myself and 3 others; one of which who was in bed at half ten the night before were given 30 minutes to find another location to stay and then asked to leave. We were not allowed to discuss this situation with management, or even explain or apologise for our actions from the night before, we were merely thrown out on the street.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: 1 dollar beer in the vending machine

Disliked: Nothing. Awesome place!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff. Location for the beach.

Disliked: Smoking inside the building.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability