HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Venice Beach Hostel Los Angeles Hostel

716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 67%

Location 73%

Safety 77%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Tax not included in the rates shown online.
48h cancellation policy
We cannot accept arrivals after midnight unless by special arrangement.
Proof of international travel is required, if you do not have this, you must call the hostel to discuss before booking.
Free LAX pick up is 9.00am to 7.00pm with 2 night min stay.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 67%

Location 73%

Safety 77%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Showing 21-30 of 41 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: it was not to far from beach, staff where nice.

Disliked: - the beds- two showers between like 60 ppl but oddly i never waited long- sprits are band :(

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Not far from beach, for small fee was able to leave my stuff, hangout, and keep the key until the bus arrived.

Disliked: This is a nice hostel about 10-15 minute walk from the Venice beach Boardwalk. It has 2 locations just blocks from each other. I only stayed a night but slept well and my bus the next day didn't leave until 10pm so for 10$ they allowed me to hold on to my key and keep my bags in the common room.The hostel was a bit pricier than other U.S Hostels but I guess that can be expected being so close to the beach. Everything is pricier.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice building, quiet area, supermarket nearby. well equipped kitchen

Disliked: not close to anything that interesting, lacked much of an atmosphere; limited bathroom facilties, 5$ charge for using credit card. no lockers

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and owner very helpful and full of useful information.

Disliked: No locks anywhere! Front door or rooms. The place is a old house, with mattresses and beds here there and everywhere. I stayed on a foam mattress that was no more than 3 inches thick, on the floor.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Stayed at Venice Beach hostel as a couple in February 2011. We picked this room for the location and the fact they offered a free airport pickup (they don't offer this on return but you can walk to the bus stop and take the bus straight there for $1)! The location is great and the owner guy that picked us up from the airport was very helpful. When you book you need to email them separately for the toll-free phone number for the airport pick up. The number you get on your email confirmation is not toll free! The pick up was great though. We called from the airport when we arrived and within 30 minutes we were picked up. We booked a tour through the hostel (the A1 city tour) for $50 per person which was a discount price and a great tour to do (and they pick you up just across the road from the hostel). If you're only here for a couple of nights to do the sightseeing then this place is ok.

Disliked: Having just come from backpacking around SE Asia we were expecting something fairly decent for the price (and western standards compared to SE Asia). We stayed in a private double with shared bathroom for $25 per person per night. There are actually 2 different buildings for this hostel and we stayed at the smaller one. The room was ok but could have been better. The beds are pretty awful and there was an old stained carpet which they should just get rid of. It was also really cold - no heating of any sort and for some reason they constantly had the doors/ windows open. We were only here for 2 nights but it was cold and raining (not normal for LA at this time of year). The also don't clean every day - the shared bathroom we used was a bit dirty and not cleaned at all whilst we were there.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing but the location which is a couple of miles from Venice Beach.

Disliked: The staff, the overall condition of the property, and the lack of advertised amenities.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location, very close to the supermarket and not too far away from the beach !

Disliked: it's not so safe. we miss now one jogging-short...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Very cozy. Staff very helpful. Excellent location.

Disliked: Very cold at night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This hostel is fabulous. It is in a great location, close to all of the sights of venice beach and santa monica and close to transportation links. The staff are friendly and helpful and always there to offer advice and tips as well as details of the lesser known attractions in the area.The atmosphere is great, friendly and relaxed. This is definately the place you want to stay if you are travelling alone or wanting to spend time with other travellers.I have stayed here on a number of occassions and have always had a great time and met some great people too! I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a fun, safe and friendly place to stay in the Venice area.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: really close to venice beach! easy access to buses.

Disliked: no locks on the fornt doors or rooms was aittle worrying buthtey did say they always had someone on the door. people were able to smoke inside and i am not a smoker

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability