HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Venice Beach Hostel Los Angeles Hostel

716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 70%

Location 74%

Safety 78%

Staff 92%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Tax not included in the rates shown online.
48h cancellation policy
We cannot accept arrivals after midnight unless by special arrangement.
Proof of international travel is required, if you do not have this, you must call the hostel to discuss before booking.
Free LAX pick up is 9.00am to 7.00pm with 2 night min stay.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 70%

Location 74%

Safety 78%

Staff 92%

Value 74%

Showing 11-8 of 8 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Relaxation / spa, Work / volunteering

Liked: This wil sound stupid, but they had great toilet paper! I mean it was not institutional! Also, I liked that it wasn't a party hostel but rather a chill hang out.

Disliked: It's a nice basic place. So I liked everything. it's not fancy. But a nice well kept place.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Old style, homey building, easy to access, walking distance to beach.

Disliked: mosquitoes!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: It was very cheap and easy to get to from the airport. Once you got to know the staff they were friendly. The area is nice, bit far from the beach but still walkable.

Disliked: I thought it was really unclean and there was no privacy. The shower and toilet were disgusting and never cleaned thoroughly. There were a lot of people sharing one toilet and shower that were in the one bathroom and there was no where to change discretely. The bed was terrible too.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The fact we checked out 2 days early.

Disliked: Everything, I cannot find one positive thing.


The property's response is

Er, you changed your booking to 2 nights by phone before you checked in !

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The owner came to welcome me and explained how I could easily get to the cheap supermarkets and the beach. Showed me my bed and the other parts of the hostel. Kitchen and living room are just like home, not like an unpersonal area.

Disliked: Could've been closer to the see. You now have to walk for like 15 minutes.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, and fairly close to beach

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the fact that everytime i watched a tv channel, a member of staff would come along and snatch the controler from me and put on whatever they wanted. Yeah, i liked that alot. How considerate.

Disliked: The staff had isues with people consuming licker/vodka in the living room. Was told twice, no hard licker in this hostel. I did not like how far away it was from venice beach. Why call it venice beach hostel if its no where near venice beach? I disliked the fact that i booked an 8 bed dorm but was placed in a 13 bed dorm with people sitting on my bed using it as an ash tray. I did not like the fact that my bed was not made up or fresh. I did not like the fact that the showers are open all the time to all genders like back in caveman days. I did not like the fact that there was a big issue to get people out of the hostel on the days they checked out and to make sure that they are gone before 10am. And not aloud to leave luggage there for the day or hang out there for the day while you wait for your flight or greyhound to leave.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: I rate this hostel as my favourite yet! friendly people, laid back atmosphere. Like a home away from home. I loved the funky interior, graffiti art around the place, how it felt safe without needing high security. It's in a quiet location, a good 15 mins walk from Venice Beach, but a quick bus ride, costing only $1. I'm definitely going to stay again. Oh and my 13 year old boy was made very welcome too :)

Disliked: Um... not much. breakfast was too late in the morning for us (9am-10am).

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: it was not to far from beach, staff where nice.

Disliked: - the beds- two showers between like 60 ppl but oddly i never waited long- sprits are band :(

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Not far from beach, for small fee was able to leave my stuff, hangout, and keep the key until the bus arrived.

Disliked: This is a nice hostel about 10-15 minute walk from the Venice beach Boardwalk. It has 2 locations just blocks from each other. I only stayed a night but slept well and my bus the next day didn't leave until 10pm so for 10$ they allowed me to hold on to my key and keep my bags in the common room.The hostel was a bit pricier than other U.S Hostels but I guess that can be expected being so close to the beach. Everything is pricier.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability