HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel

Hostel | 4123 W. Century Blvd., Los Angeles, California, USA 90304

73.1% Overall Rating

105 out of 169 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2013)

Cynthia Fehrenbach thinks…

"Everything was ready for us when we arrived (trundle bed, extra towels). It was a nice looking place and everything was comfortable, neat and tidy."

Read all AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Adventurer Hostel
25.99 USD

Hostel 63.0% 430 reviews
Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
35.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Americas Best Value Inn (LAX / El Segundo)
23.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 37 reviews
Baymont Inn & Suites LAX
49.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rodeway Inn Gardena Los Angeles
21.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.6% 5 reviews
Lady Ruthelen
35.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 10 reviews
The Mansion Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 77.0% 29 reviews
Sir Ruthelen
30.00 USD

Hostel 69.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

105 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 90 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jessica zablocki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: big room with balcony

Disliked: i dont think its the safest area^^

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Pavel Dobrovolskiy

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Pavel would recommend this property

Liked: price adecvate

Disliked: too noisy from street

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cynthia Fehrenbach

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 June 2013 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ready for us when we arrived (trundle bed, extra towels). It was a nice looking place and everything was comfortable, neat and tidy.

Disliked: Parking was tight, especially when arriving late at night.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Smell of smoke, Night staff were rude Charged me more then quoted on Hostel world Constant noise from main road Very dodgy/ dangerous area, was approached as I left the reception area buy an addict for a lighter

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Louisa Francis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Louisa would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for the airport - the sound of the planes wasn't exactly a hindrance. If you don't mind a 45 minute bus journey through the city it is very easy to get to the beaches, to Hollywood and pretty much everywhere else. Cheap public transport too!

Disliked: Not exactly a party area if that's what you want

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: area was described to be dangerous. my girlfriend and i felt safe roaming around at night.

Disliked: elevator is right where the smoking rooms are

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is reasonable & clean. Near to LAX, which is convenient for our car pick up.

Disliked: Noisy especially for rooms that have windows next to the main street. There is a mis-communication resulting in our booking not being confirmed. Nevertheless the lady on duty still able to offer alternative rooms to us at good rates.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Verry good but far from everywhere

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location close to the airport. Big, clean room, comfortable bed, but you'll need earplugs due to constant traffic. Extremely helpful staff at desk, day and night. Free WiFi.

Disliked: Car and airplane traffic noise, but that can't be helped, being so near the airport.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011

Liked: Close to the airport and car hire

Disliked: The phones didn,t work so could not make calls, had to go down to the front desk. I was bitten by ? on the first night and it poisened my arm so had to go get medical attention. Language a bit of a problem.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mona McFarlane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Mona would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great for those needing to get to or from LAX (though it isn't in a great part of town otherwise), or even from Union Station as you can take the FlyAway bus from there to LAX and then get the hotel's shuttle for $5. The staff on the front desk are generally helpful, and considering the price and the size of the decently appointed rooms (they are huge) it is very good value for money! If you rent a car you can easily get to Hollywood, Venice Beach, Santa Monica, etc. from there.

Disliked: The new plastic card door keys didn't work well - it usually took several tries to get into the room. And the complimentary breakfast isn't worth bothering with if you have any interest in nutritional value!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room was very clean and big and the staff was always helpful and friendly!

Disliked: there was nothing we disliked about this property

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Got tv, fridge, desk and leather chair, table and two chairs, storage, cups. Guy on front desk was very friendly and helpful. Shuttle driver who picked me up from airport was friendly too. Great place and enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: The location is only good if you want to be close to the airport. The windows of my room did not lock and they were at ground level so I felt it could be easy for someone to climb in. So that is a security issue they could sort out. Otherwise it is perect.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2011

Liked: The price

Disliked: weak facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: personnal

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xingjian Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2010 Xingjian would recommend this property

Liked: Fine place, worth the money.

Disliked: But the location is not really good...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That was very useful to spend the night near the hotel for an early flight on the morning after. The room was really clean and big. There is a $5 (per person and each way) shuttle from an to the airport, you just need to call it from the airport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We could even check out at twelve, was no problem

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was nice and clean

Disliked: far from downtown, hollywood and beverly hills

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived, it took them 5-10 min to find our reservation, he eventually asked us for our own reservation copy because he couldn't find anything in his records. The breakfast is not exactly continental, you may get donuts every other day if you're lucky. If not, be grateful for the coffee/OJ and cereals. When we checked out, another dude gave us the great news that we've already been charged the whole fee on a debit card I told them specifically not to charge because of an overdraft possibility. They had to void the transaction etc etc...not pleasant. Best part was having to give them a photocopy of my card...yeah...Apart from that the hotel is clean, safe and cheap. It's also close to the airport so you can hear the planes once in a while. I guess I recommend this place if you're on a budget and have enough time and patience to deal with the staff. I'm not saying they're not friendly, but they kind of tend to complicate things...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was very clean and the room and bathroom a good size. Location to lax was very close. However the area itself was not the safest so although it was good for a few nights to get ourselves sorted I wouldn't recommend it for an extended stay. Also the planes overhead were pretty loud so don't stay if you're a light sleeper.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kellie Knapp

18 May 2010

Liked: nothing really

Disliked: Kellie left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ian McCrone

04 November 2009

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good size rooms, close to the airport (not walking distance though!), clean and good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FARRAH ELMASKINI

29 August 2009 FARRAH would recommend this property

Liked: clean, safe, cheap

Disliked: FARRAH left no negative feedback.