We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Hostel | 603 North Fairfax Avenue, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90046

86.2% Overall Rating

174 out of 206 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

Karen Styles thinks…

"This property had been recommended to me so given its location it seemed to be good value. We are a family of 4, kids aged 14 & 10 and whilst it's probably not ideal to be staying in a hostel it…"

Read all Banana Bungalow West Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Must have valid passport and travel intineary upon arrival and all dorms are co-ed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 73.4% 122 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
43.20 USD

Hostel 86.4% 171 reviews
Samesun Hollywood
30.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 391 reviews
USA Hostels Hollywood
30.00 USD

Hostel 89.3% 595 reviews
PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 22 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
28.92 USD

Hostel 86.1% 363 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.2%

Overall Rating

174 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Banana Bungalow West Hollywood'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 144 of 158 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Styles

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 May 2015 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: This property had been recommended to me so given its location it seemed to be good value. We are a family of 4, kids aged 14 & 10 and whilst it's probably not ideal to be staying in a hostel it certainly never posed any problems for us. We were out every day, it was just a place to sleep at night. We found it to be well located and you can walk to Hollywood Boulevarde to visit the attractions. Canters, a 24 hour eatery, is located a few hundred metres away and is well worth a visit. Due to our flight cancellation and re-routing we arrived at about midnight, Merle who was on the desk was extremely helpful and showed us to our room. The hostel was mainly a young persons haven and looked pretty groovy the way it was set out, if I was 20 I'd be rapt with the activities on offer and value for money. We felt safe at all times and the room was as stated, it was clean and beds were firm but comfortable and gave no back aches, so that's ideal! Victoria on the front desk was so very helpful with my questions and assisted with getting me connected up to Uber and whatever I needed. Always friendly and laughing, a real asset. As far as Hostels go, this is probably five star!

Disliked: Nothing really, there was no surprises from Banana Bungalow, it is as stated and value for money given its location. Staff friendly and helpful, other residents were pretty quiet as I heard hardly any noise. Jetlag was probably my friend! Uber would be my biggest whinge of our USA holiday. You will be better off getting a taxi when they ask you to accept a car at 2.5 times the usual rate. Having been there less than 48 hours I did regret that decision big time, but this is nothing to do with Banana Bungalow.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Gya

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in a quiet side of Hollywood but everything was still in close vicinity and accessible by public transport. The amenities were good- they provided you with fridge space to put your food in and also had vending machines in the hostel. The hostel room also had its own bathroom and enough space to store bags. They also had great events at night which are a good value for money.

Disliked: The staff at time were a bit rude, but most of them were nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and it's a fun youth hostel!

Disliked: The locker were very small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Denis Doherty

Alone

City break

10 March 2015 Denis would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of food storage space and the kitchen was kept very clean.

Disliked: Lack of air-conditioning in the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Davis

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amy Andrews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2015 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and relatively close to areas I wanted to see

Disliked: There was a lot of stuff left In the bathroom from previous occupants and the breakfast options where toast and cereal. More selection would have been nice. Oh and the TV didn't work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulo Roberto Barbosa Junior

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

05 February 2015 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place...

Disliked: Paulo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good facilities and great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic as you can easily access public transport to other areas around LA and the main open area is great and big

Disliked: The customer service was pretty terrible - except for whoever the "Party" liason was. The staff at the reception don't really even you a smile. Mostly it didn't phase me - but it is definitely something I dislike about this hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff was appreciated

Disliked: Beds are not the most comfortable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common areas, helpful staff, clean and tidy and fresh

Disliked: Little walk from main area, but buses easy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leigh-ann Masson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Leigh-ann would recommend this property

Liked: staff extremely helpful and activities on every day to take part in. Very secure and safe and great location.

Disliked: Leigh-ann left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natsune otsuki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Natsune would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff、Good location ! Good access to bus stations( good transportation)nice events!

Disliked: people were not as friendly! they were really nice but I went there to party with people they were really nice when i talked to them but they were not really on the party mode. I was pretty much the only one who was trying to talk to everybody! people that were staying there were closed! not good place to party ! that just what I felt like!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good events put on each day of the week, great for socializing.

Disliked: Breakfast could be improved but there is nothing particularly bad about this hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe. Good facilities. Helpful staff. They had good events on every night of the week and the common area's were a great place to meet people. It's a pretty long walk to bars and most of the things you want to see but it's worth staying there anyway.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Cleanliness and bedding.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big kitchen and outdoor patio and bar. Helpful staff. Good showers.

Disliked: Not close to Hollywood Boulevard, and the directions from the airport they list on Hostelbookers is poor. They should have said something about booking a $15 shuttle with Gold Coast shuttle or a similar company that goes right to thier door. Instead they only give you the public transit options, which is painful, to be honest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Probably best hostel I stayed in so far.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Fowler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and use of computers, and free towel.

Disliked: Neighborhood is not the best but ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, cozy atmosphere

Disliked: kitchen could be better equipped and smells like gas

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Kooi Bing Ling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Alex Kooi Bing would recommend this property

Liked: Great service, rooms, atmosphere. There was free beer and food (very well cooked food) on frequent nights. There was always an event organised by the hostel every night so you'll never be bored. One of the BEST hostels I've stayed at, definitley will be staying there again!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Quentin Truffert

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Quentin would recommend this property

Liked: Tout est parfait, très propre, salle de bains privée dans chaque chambre, petit déjeuner gratuit tous les matins (céréales + pain + nutella !) de nombreuses activités proposées chaque soir (buffet et boissons (alcoolisées ou non) à volonté, suivi d'un tour en limousine et l'entré en boite pour 20$ ! barbecue gratuit, apéritif gratuit, spectacle d'humoristes à l'auberge !), le staff est vraiment super. Vraiment une super auberge

Disliked: L'emplacement, mais c'est presque une qualité.... Los Angeles est si grand qu'il est impossible d'être bien situé, et je pense que cette auberge est situé au meilleur endroit (10 minutes en bus de Beverly Hills, et du Hollywood boulevard, 1 heure en bus de la plage Santa Monica/Venice beach). C'est un peu loin de la plage, mais si vous trouvez une auberge sur la plage, elle sera très loin d'Hoilywood. Donc le Banana Bungalow est plutôt bien situé.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eleanor Gibson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location. Right outside the bus stop...for only $1 dollar you can get anywhere! You can easily walk to melrose, which is good for food and walking around. You could walk to Sunset strip and hollywood blvd, butit would take a while! like 30 mins. The free breakfast was convienient, but not the greatest food. Ive had better hostels, but this was ok

Disliked: 1. the staff seemed very snobby, unwilling to help and acted like you didnt really exist. 2. the lady who served the breakfast: youcant choose how much of something you want,sheseemed very grumpy and she just throws how every much on ur plate and shoves it in your face 3. it smells like smoke 4. at night..it gets extremely noisy! i was hearing banging and smashing from inside the hostel which made me feel very unsafe! 5.the beds, i was on bottom bunk,and u cant even half sit up in it! also they are super squeaky! 6. the shower was shocking! barely even worked! 7. when you walk down the hallways it feels like your in a hospital.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free BBQ and Beer, People, ... All in all it was a nice place and I would definetly get there again!

Disliked: A bit far away from the Bus-stations...