HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Los Angeles Hostel

603 N, Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 90%

Location 84%

Safety 95%

Staff 88%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Must have valid passport and travel intineary upon arrival and all dorms are co-ed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 90%

Location 84%

Safety 95%

Staff 88%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Easy to find location, room was clean and spacious, helpful and friendly staff, free breakfast with a modest selection, areas to lounge and interact with other guests, group activities/tours are available for scheduling throughout the week, and free parking when available.

Disliked: Nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff is by far the friendliest people I've met here in us so amazing and generous

Disliked: None of the pay phones were working

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Funky decor in reasonably good location. Provided breakfast was pretty good and wifi worked well. Few tours on offer, they do a really good deal on the Universal Studio plus front of line ticket.

Disliked: The staff, while friendly, didn't seem to have a huge amount of info about the area or best things to go out and do. It was difficult to find information on the best way to get around. The 'celebrity tour' didn't visit the Hollywood sign as advertised. Their sister hostel in Hollywood seemed to have more people and a bit more of a social vibe.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great atmosphere, clean rooms and friendly/helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It had a good atmosphere , nice people, clean showers , and overall a great place

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice dorm rooms. Clean bathroom. Helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome hostel. Clean rooms and good atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was great you can walk to most places. Rooms are good they have everything you need however need more bathrooms! Free tea and coffe and breakfast included which was also great and the staff are always happy :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: This property had been recommended to me so given its location it seemed to be good value. We are a family of 4, kids aged 14 & 10 and whilst it's probably not ideal to be staying in a hostel it certainly never posed any problems for us. We were out every day, it was just a place to sleep at night. We found it to be well located and you can walk to Hollywood Boulevarde to visit the attractions. Canters, a 24 hour eatery, is located a few hundred metres away and is well worth a visit. Due to our flight cancellation and re-routing we arrived at about midnight, Merle who was on the desk was extremely helpful and showed us to our room. The hostel was mainly a young persons haven and looked pretty groovy the way it was set out, if I was 20 I'd be rapt with the activities on offer and value for money.We felt safe at all times and the room was as stated, it was clean and beds were firm but comfortable and gave no back aches, so that's ideal! Victoria on the front desk was so very helpful with my questions and assisted with getting me connected up to Uber and whatever I needed. Always friendly and laughing, a real asset.As far as Hostels go, this is probably five star!

Disliked: Nothing really, there was no surprises from Banana Bungalow, it is as stated and value for money given its location. Staff friendly and helpful, other residents were pretty quiet as I heard hardly any noise. Jetlag was probably my friend!Uber would be my biggest whinge of our USA holiday. You will be better off getting a taxi when they ask you to accept a car at 2.5 times the usual rate. Having been there less than 48 hours I did regret that decision big time, but this is nothing to do with Banana Bungalow.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The property was in a quiet side of Hollywood but everything was still in close vicinity and accessible by public transport. The amenities were good- they provided you with fridge space to put your food in and also had vending machines in the hostel. The hostel room also had its own bathroom and enough space to store bags. They also had great events at night which are a good value for money.

Disliked: The staff at time were a bit rude, but most of them were nice.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability