We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel

Hostel | 718 South Street, Key West, Florida, USA 33040

59.0% Overall Rating

328 out of 472 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

Melinda Flanders thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and the hostel was very quaint with the beach-like atmosphere of Key West. This was my first time staying in a hostel and I would definitely stay there again."

Read all Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our MIXED Shared rooms are reserved for couples only. Our office is open from 9:30 am to 9:00 pm. We do ask that you check-in after 2:30 pm and before our office closes for the night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Key West?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.0%

Overall Rating

328 out of 472 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
64.8%
Value
41.6%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 310 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Fabian Bindel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: nothing. just stayed there for one night. that's already enough.

Disliked: everything else.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Fausto Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Fausto would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to Duval Street and it's the only cheap place in Key West.

Disliked: The stairs to the upper beds were a little bit dangerous. The bathroom was not perfect but not as bad as some reviews say. For a couple of days, this hostel is ok.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

maureen schoesser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2014

Liked: it is close to a beach

Disliked: It is not possible to get a shower after check out at 11 am. If your Flight is at 10 pm you have to go to the beach and take a shower there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cecile Roulier

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2014 Cecile would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the cleanliness, the tables outside and open kitchen.

Disliked: Cecile left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Melinda Flanders

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

15 March 2014 Melinda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the hostel was very quaint with the beach-like atmosphere of Key West. This was my first time staying in a hostel and I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Melinda left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Celestyn Grell

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Celestyn would recommend this property

Liked: I can recommend this property for another travelers, anyway price in front of value is 2:1 Price is a bit high. One reason I can find, this is an island, it's difficult to keep bathroom dry, clean. One and only, and worth to see, anyway my next stay will be for non-sleeping day or I`ll pay bit more and stay some closer, hostel is situated just on the 2nd end od Duval st.

Disliked: Celestyn left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the only hostel in Key West. Good location.

Disliked: Overpriced ($50 per night).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Karsten Berger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Karsten would recommend this property

Liked: The only Hostel in Key West.

Disliked: Too expensive (50 US$ for a dormbed without Breakfast)!!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: Location were good and good parking space.

Disliked: There were unpaid or unauthorised Person staying in the room when we checked in.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Mariann Hackel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013

Liked: Staff was friendly.

Disliked: Old furniture. Plastic matress. No locker!! Won't recommend for more than two nights!! Unfortunately the only hostel in key west.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catherine Boretski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 September 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The pool was great, the single room was lovely. The kitchen was fine.

Disliked: Check in is a long drawn out affair- do not expect less than two hours. while I swam and napped, he continued to look for my reservation and talk and prepare my room and talk. I have driven for hours and just want a room. Many of the patrons are not transient but live there and work elsewhere which changes the feel of the place.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the only hostel available in Key West. The location is good, very close to the public beach and the southermost point. Bicycles offered for transportation in and around but get one early they dont have many!

Disliked: The kitchen and common areas are all outside.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

David Rover

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 June 2013

Liked: WiFi, Location

Disliked: Old and run down... needs a makeover. No towels. Bathroom was not cleaned in the few days I spent there.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cheapest place to stay in Key West, but it was not good value for money. The location was quite good -about 10 minute walk from Duval Street, but the room was right on the road so noisy with traffic as well.

Disliked: The office was supposed to be open 9:30am to 9pm, but when I arrived at 5:30pm, it was closed and there was no note to say why. I phoned the number and got an answer message. The owner arrived about 15 minutes later, but this was not a good first impression. The room was very basic and the bathroom was smelly and dirty. The air con was very old and made a lot of noise -I was glad to have ear plugs.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013

Liked: Location was decent as well as the courtyard. The manager was friendly.

Disliked: Most of all I disliked the rooms. Old, ugly and run down. Bathroom was untidy. Horrible and uncomfortable bunk beds, the top bunk had no railing. No towels provided, and even the lockers cost money.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Stefanie Steinhauer

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2013

Liked: The location was very good.

Disliked: In a 10 bed room was only one bathroom for all ladies. The Aircondition was soo loud that I couldn't sleep in the night. There was one strange older lady in the room, who seems to live there. She came home late in the night and was defenitely too drunken. I feared about my stuff and didn't trust her. Really Scary.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

22 March 2013

Liked: Locked Gate after hours, open court with tables and roof, parking

Disliked: Noise from the street, not well kept or cleaned, plastic cutlery, uncomfortable mattress, more of a motel with dorm style accommodations

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

JON UNZUETA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Free parking.

Disliked: Very expensive for the shared room. You can only pay by card.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Marcel Jelitto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

13 March 2013 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleaniness

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

chris bailey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 March 2013 chris would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the staff.

Disliked: chris left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

rosanna capizzi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 rosanna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the rooms are indipendent like little buildings around a court

Disliked: It s not in the center of the city and at night is not so good to come back alone to the hostel...i always took a taxi (6$)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kathryn Blansjaar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2013

Liked: It wasn't too far from the main strip and it was the cheapest place in Key West.

Disliked: There was poo in the shower and the toilet didn't work.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alexander Gabriel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013

Liked: Its the only hostel in Key West, thats it!

Disliked: What I wrote under number 2. There is no internet. No common room. Only a courtyard. And its prohibited to drink beer.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

23 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: too expensive for this dirty place - for undemanding people only, wouldn´t be so bad if rooms were clean

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013

Liked: Very close to Duval street and the cheapest in Key West

Disliked: The rooms weren't clean. We were unfortunate to share a bathroom that easily got clogged up and people did not clean up after themselves and nothing was done by the motel staff to fix this issue. Upon arrival, the room we checked into had it's door open and a random person was inside using the bathroom. And it seemed like he wasn't staying in the motel. He was asked to leave the premises, but it made me feel uncomfortable about leaving anything in the room.