HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel

Hostel | 718 South Street, Key West, Florida, USA 33040

55.1% Overall Rating

324 out of 465 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

Melinda Flanders thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and the hostel was very quaint with the beach-like atmosphere of Key West. This was my first time staying in a hostel and I would definitely stay there again."

Read all Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our MIXED Shared rooms are reserved for couples only. Our office is open from 9:30 am to 9:00 pm. We do ask that you check-in after 2:30 pm and before our office closes for the night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Key West?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.1%

Overall Rating

324 out of 465 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel'

Atmosphere
50.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
44.8%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
60.0%
Value
38.4%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 303 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 July 2011

Liked: the staff and the customer service it was the worse ever. they don't care, expecially one old lady.

Disliked: the check-in, my stay and the check-out were very bad. the rooms were awful. i changed hostel on 9th street and it was 100% better, in custimer service expecially.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cheapest place that I found in Key West. Close to the main tourist street.

Disliked: The bunk rooms felt like an old mental hospital patient room. The mattresses were uncomfortable and you felt the springs in them. Our rooms was accessed both from inside the yard and the road. We trusted the people we were sleeping with but it would have been very easy to get in the room and do wrong for someone in that mood! We only stayed one night. I saw in one of the private rooms and the looked a LOT nicer!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Johnny Paulsen

Alone

Partying / nightlife

14 July 2011 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and clean.

Disliked: For a hostel it was a bit pricy, but I guess thats Key West. They hava a NO ALCOHOL policy. Good for those who want that but just saying, if I had of known about that before booking I would not have booked that Hostel. But than again it is the only Hostel in Key West.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Artigue

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

01 July 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very Good Location

Disliked: Everything was good

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Ben Yim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011

Liked: Not a bad location and the staff were really nice

Disliked: There were bedbugs in the beds

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Isak Öhrlund

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2011

Liked: Pretty good location

Disliked: Very expensive for what you get! The rooms are small, barely have working air conditioning, the beds are awful (plastic covers, military style..), no cleaning.. Considering the price, you definitely expect more.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Lady on reception was lovely.

Disliked: Dated. My friend was in a mixed dorm and it was very grim. If your female stay in the girls only dorm.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2011

Liked: key west is a great location

Disliked: dirty, bed was not made, and sandy, staff didnt describe anything, too many people (old men) in my room, alcohol forbidden in the hostel(even in the kitchen) TOO EXPENSIVE-you can habe 4 night in miami at jazz on the beach for this price

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011

Liked: Stuff friedly and helpful. Located in walking distance to all the sights, which is not to difficult in a small city such as key west.

Disliked: Pricy in relation to its spartan accomodation. (paid 40$ /night) Just beds in a tiled room and only one bathroom for 10 people. I stayed in a bunch of better hostels for less money. Nevertheless, you have to keep in mind that it is just a hostel and it might be the right place, if you are looking for a cheap accomodation in key West.c

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach, free car parking, we stayed in a 10 bed dorm wiht no one else in it.

Disliked: Rooms were very basic, bunk beds were old and the mattresses were really uncomfortable, not very clean, quite a walk away from the town.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: the cleanless

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Sebastiaan Verboeket

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

27 April 2011 Sebastiaan would recommend this property

Liked: nice set-up with a patio in the center of all the rooms. Staff was very friendly and location was pretty good for the very little money you pay.

Disliked: The place wasn't clean.. And that makes the cockroaches find their way... In the middle of the night when you're sitting on the toilet....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is open 24/7 and very clean.

Disliked: it isa bit expensive for a youth hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is okay but not for that price

Disliked: Facilities not so good. Bike rental is expensive. Futher down the street you get it for half the price.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap place to sleep in Key West

Disliked: -

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011

Liked: Well, there is a kitchen outside which is nice, but they don't say anything about it.

Disliked: It's the worst place I've ever stayed. It just feels like a prison with no light coming in and these extremly horrible beds. We even found roaches in the shower. Seriously, it's not worth a penny. But it's incredibly expensive. By far I've never paid so much money for a hostel. Everybody should consider sleeping in the car instead. That's more comfy, way better and definitely cheaper. PS: I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm which has technically been a 10 bed dorm. Can't say anything about the private rooms though. All I know is that they are even more expensive.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kieran Randell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011

Liked: This property is all about the location, ten minutes walk from the town centre and five minutes from the beach.

Disliked: It was expensive for few services offered. No alcohol allowed on site, come on, it's a youth hostel, travellers need a place to hang out and enjoy a beer and meet other people. My section of the room - through a door wasn't fully air conditioned and got stuffy and warm during the night. For slightly more money, you can get a hotel with a pool and better services, It will be worth it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good; close but not too close to Duval Street and on the bus route to the airport/Greyhound and towards Miami. Dorm is well maintained and clean Lovely outdoor area for relaxing/eating al fresco

Disliked: It's expensive for what it is but then so is everything else in Key West. Kitchen is a bit lacking.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If the prices aren't for spring break you get a bed in a nice place at a great location. However,around spring break the prices are four times higher than normal.

Disliked: The price

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Steve Jupinko

Alone

Events / festivals

13 March 2011 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: The front-desk guy was very helpful and courteous.

Disliked: The shower water was not hot - lukewarm to cool. The shared room could really benefit from a ceiling fan for air circulation.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Hargobind Khalsa

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Hargobind would recommend this property

Liked: Close location to Duval street, Higgs beach, and the Southernmost Point. Even though we paid $44 per person which is pricey for a hostel, it's still the cheapest deal you can find on the entire island! The manager was very friendly and helpful. There was another guest in our dorm room who snored like a dying lawnmower, and the manager was happy to move us to another room with no trouble. The common area is comfortable and relaxing too.

Disliked: There were no cooking knives, though the manager was kind enough to lend me his. All the beds and pillows are covered in a plastic waterproof bag, so even with the provided sheets, it wasn't the most comfortable. Linens are provided for free, but no towels -- probably because they don't want people taking the towels to the beach.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christian Brink

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 February 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: I like sitting in the garden

Disliked: The aircon is to noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Kitchen not well maintained or cleaned regularly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There isn't any age restriction on those who can room at the hostel, so it's cool to meet people of all ages and backgrounds. The cooking facilities were very nice and everyone really kept up with it so as to ensure a clean place to eat and cook. The patio was always filled with people socializing but during quiet times, everyone quieted down and the hostel was very peaceful during the night. The dorm rooms were cleaned every morning and the cleaning staff was thorough and very pleasant. The showers had good water pressure and were heated. The hostel staff was very friendly and informative about activities. Bikes could be purchased and the bikes were nice and relatively inexpensive.

Disliked: The windows don't open, there aren't any fans, and when the showers are used the humidity is pretty intense in the room and not much can be done to air out the room, save opening the doors (which understandably some roommates don't appreciate). There is air conditioning, but it didn't seem that effective to me. There were many times in which the office was supposed to be open but there was no staff there (they did leave a phone # though and would always pick up). The deposit on the bikes was pretty expensive.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The employee was very helpfull and the appartment was clean. Also the location is good, it's just 5 min. walk to Duval street. And you can park for free and use the wireless lan. Also the central place in the hostel (outside) is a good place to meet some people and you can use the kitchen! The price is very high for a hostel but I think it's the cheapiest way to say in Key West. :)

Disliked: The beds were old and the cooling fans make a lot of noise. Also my roommates (2 or 3) were old streetartists what I didn't like, because they make a lot of noise in there sleep (talking and snore) and I didn't feel safe. I think they are living in the hostel...(but I'm not sure!)