We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel

Hostel | 718 South Street, Key West, Florida, USA 33040

61.8% Overall Rating

333 out of 479 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2015)

Awais Siddiki thinks…

"We Love Demitri , manager guy He was very helpful and very friendly - with out him this place would not be the same ."

Read all Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our MIXED Shared rooms are reserved for couples only. Our office is open from 9:30 am to 9:00 pm. We do ask that you check-in after 2:30 pm and before our office closes for the night. 7 day cancellation policy.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Key West?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.8%

Overall Rating

333 out of 479 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
69.6%
Value
44.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 265 of 317 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: - way too expensive - dirty - bad facilities

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012

Liked: Location was good, everything else was horrible. See my previous comment.

Disliked: See my previous comment.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Overpriced - Even during high season the price is unreasonable. The facility was making in excess of $600 / night for a standard motel room in which 10 people were housed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2012

Liked: Good location, easy parking, kitchen facilites

Disliked: My room was right on the road, my bed was right by the window and I was kept awake by passing pedestrians and the streetlight. Upper beds do not have any safety rail and I was conscious of rolling out!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

angela soncini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 angela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and the location is near the Duval St

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2012

Liked: Location, Location, Location

Disliked: You can't sit on the beds. There is not enough head room. You must stand in the room or lie down. There were no seats in the dorms. I don't think they care too much if it isn't perfect they know they are way cheaper than a motel or hotel. There didn't seem to be an alternative toilet if you dorm toilet was being used and you were bursting to go. I got a tummy problem and had to wait 20 minutes trying not to mess myself until the bathroom was free.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012

Liked: Safety and very close tourist attraction.

Disliked: I stayed two days. Although I paid two days fee, second day they remove my bed and pillow sit. Also disappear my white cloth. So, I slept without bed and pilow sit.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marliana Sitohang

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

23 February 2012 Marliana would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, calm but central. Short walk to shops and bars on Duval Street. Nice, helpful staff. Room was very clean. AC/Fan, fridge worked.

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean kitchen, & vibrant courtyard.

Disliked: 1) Management took an extra 30 min to get off his lunch break, may have had database issues? 2) He wouldn't even give us a bike discount even though he said the price changes but yet he couldn't change the price for us... 3) Bikes there=15$/24 hrs... 2 blocks away = $10 with excellent customer service 4) The "4" or "6" bed room is connected with 1 entry door so technically you room with 10 total people

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

20 February 2012

Liked: Location to downtown

Disliked: Very slow checkin and very pricey for a hostel. $50 for a dorm bed is ridiculous. Especially this dorm bed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Closeness to the beach, parking spots available

Disliked: Internet didn't work on the laptop for multiple guests, restrooms were not that clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to resteurants etc.

Disliked: Price above hostil norm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the cheapest place you can stay at in Key West and it's ok, nothing more or less. The dorms are fine with a common bathroom and there are small lockers in the dorms for the most valuable things. The location is great with just a short walk to the main street and the beach. There is parking avaliable and also wifi and the staff is helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: The dirty bathroom had mold all over the place and there were ants on the beds and floors.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really kind and helpful If u hired a car , u Can park it just behind the hostal for free ! Hostal not too far from Duval St , the main street. Then , u Know what to expect from a hostal !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to everything, interesting people came to stay there

Disliked: only one bathroom available, kitchen not too clean, no indoors common areas

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2012

Liked: This place has a decent location, and the bike rentals ($10 for 12hrs) make it easy to get around. It is quite a walk if you want to get to the busy parts of Duval st, so the bike rental is key. It does seem to be the cheapest place in town, but it is way pricey for what it is. They do have lockers for your valuables.

Disliked: I have been to many hostels, and for $44 per person, I expect more. The only soap in the bathroom was what other travelers have left behind... The kitchen that you can use is barely functional with crappy pots and pans and maybe 1 or two real utensils - all the plates and utensils they do have are disposable. The cleaning staff is really nice and they do make an effort, so the floors are clean, but the walls and light switches are grimy, so there were still moments of being really grossed out. Take my advice - it might be worth the extra 12-20 bucks per person for a nice private room somewhere else in the town. But if your budget is really tight... I guess it is tolerable. Not for the faint of heart, and I wouldn't recommend it as a first time experience to the hosteling world.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is not bad.

Disliked: Was not clean enough and expensive to its value..

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

31 December 2011

Liked: The only good thing about staying here is the location. Prices in Key West are super high and this is about the only budget option that I could find.

Disliked: The rooms are very basic. Horrible uncomfortable matresses on unstable bunk beds with no ladders to get up to the top bunk. The room was very old looking and just generally unpleasant, there were stains on the walls from where the damp had started to go mouldy. Nothing too serious but way below the standard of other hostels that I have stayed in the US. Ok for a place to sleep on an overnight stay at Key West but nothing more.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Michal Rogozinski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, all necessary amenities - kitchem nice patio with tables, free WI-FI, friendly staff.

Disliked: It was quite pricy compared to average hostel price...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Olga Poller

Alone

Romantic getaway

18 December 2011 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. Big rooms are divided on a half so it was as if in 4-person room (not 8).

Disliked: You should pay for everything there (bike, lockers). Expensive but it would be different to find something cheaper in Key West

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cheapest place in Key West. They was a decent kitchen with necessary appliance.

Disliked: The room I was in contained 10 beds for only one bathroom. The lockers are really small (only for valuable/important objects)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ina Hellrung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Ina would recommend this property

Liked: hostel was ok, nothing special, nothing bad. just stayed one night, so I cannot say much about it.

Disliked: didn't see too many other travellers, so not a really good place to meet new people. too expensive.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me it was the cheapest way to stay one night in the Keys. I also liked that the kitchen was outside in the middle of a corner. So you´ve got the possibility to hang around outside while your food was cooking. In the room, I liked the way of handling with the beds because there were 6 beds in one room and in an other room 4 more. So you have the possibility to have a littel more privacy.

Disliked: I don´t like the cleanness in the bathroom, it could be more clean. Also you have to walk a longer distance to the duval steet and to the mallory square.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location right next to Duval street, nice staff, nice common area for meeting people, well-equipped kitchen

Disliked: Expensive