We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel

Hostel | 718 South Street, Key West, Florida, USA 33040

61.1% Overall Rating

333 out of 478 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2015)

Awais Siddiki thinks…

"We Love Demitri , manager guy He was very helpful and very friendly - with out him this place would not be the same ."

Read all Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our MIXED Shared rooms are reserved for couples only. Our office is open from 9:30 am to 9:00 pm. We do ask that you check-in after 2:30 pm and before our office closes for the night. 7 day cancellation policy.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Key West?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.1%

Overall Rating

333 out of 478 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
66.4%
Value
43.2%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 264 of 316 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

rosanna capizzi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 rosanna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the rooms are indipendent like little buildings around a court

Disliked: It s not in the center of the city and at night is not so good to come back alone to the hostel...i always took a taxi (6$)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kathryn Blansjaar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2013

Liked: It wasn't too far from the main strip and it was the cheapest place in Key West.

Disliked: There was poo in the shower and the toilet didn't work.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alexander Gabriel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013

Liked: Its the only hostel in Key West, thats it!

Disliked: What I wrote under number 2. There is no internet. No common room. Only a courtyard. And its prohibited to drink beer.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

23 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: too expensive for this dirty place - for undemanding people only, wouldn´t be so bad if rooms were clean

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013

Liked: Very close to Duval street and the cheapest in Key West

Disliked: The rooms weren't clean. We were unfortunate to share a bathroom that easily got clogged up and people did not clean up after themselves and nothing was done by the motel staff to fix this issue. Upon arrival, the room we checked into had it's door open and a random person was inside using the bathroom. And it seemed like he wasn't staying in the motel. He was asked to leave the premises, but it made me feel uncomfortable about leaving anything in the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in a nice residential area, with easy access to bus stops and shopping district. Clean, tidy guest room with self-control air conditioner and inside bathroom. Helpful public facilities (refrigerator, microwave, wash basins, towel, lockers)

Disliked: Rates are a bit high (though they're amongst the cheapest in Key West)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the best for the value!

Disliked: The dorm room was dirty, smelling and the bathroom was in bad condition. The drains in the shower didn't work well and there was hardly any room to move around. The dorm room did not make it easy to be quiet when returning and others were sleeping.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natalie Hennekam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. I loved the location of the hostel, close to everywhere, and I loved the outside area that also serves as a dining area. The sheets were very clean and you got everything fresh of reception.

Disliked: As it was the only hostel around, it was very pricey for the room. Thank god I was only there with another traveller because I couldnt imagine sharing one bathroom between 16 people. Towels were 5 dollar to rent, which should be included in the price, and there was no drinking water available in the kitchen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Employees were helpful,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I went here for a break from an extended period of travel, so was not interested in to much partying, just wanted to relax. This accommodation was good for this as there were not a lot of other people staying there. Good for me, but not if you want to go there for a lot of socialising.

Disliked: The staff were helpful in storing my luggage when I checked out (as I had a bus ticket for the evening), which was great, but when I returned to pick up the luggage (at a time previously discussed) no on was at the front desk! Quite often the office window was shut with no one available to help. The staff were friendly, but if you needed urgent assistance or didn't have a lot of time to waste waiting around, it could be quite frustrating.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: rooms were not clean

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2012

Liked: Not too much...

Disliked: Way too expensive! But still it's the cheapest place to stay in Key West...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 June 2012

Liked: It is the cheapest accomendation I could find in Key West. I liked the location since it is between Duvalstreet and the beach, so that you can easily walk.

Disliked: - Long term guests instead of travelers: I expected to meet other travelers there. Instead there were a lot of people working in key west and staying there for a longer time. - Wet bathroom: The bathroom was always flooded and I don`t know how anybody could dry it... - Alcohol was not allowed

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2012

Liked: The yard

Disliked: The cockoaches and the bathroom

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joshua Schubert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Terribly dirty, used cigarettes and cuetips all over the floor when we arrived.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

cindy bourne

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2012

Liked: very dirty

Disliked: very dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Marek Zawadzki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanlines and high prices

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Beach 5 min to walk. Southern Most Point 10 min to walk

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

kathryn farmer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2012

Liked: pretty close to Duval Street where all of the fun bars and entertainment is!! Glad they had hot water for the shower!

Disliked: They messed up our order so we were then forced to upgrade. The door to our room locked but didn't close all the way; there was still space between the door and threshold. Also they keep the outside lights on all night so it never actually gets dark in the room making it harder to fall asleep. crappy beds.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Personal war freundlich. Zimmer waren für amerkanische Verhältnisse recht sauber.

Disliked: Mit Abstand das teuerste Hostel in dem ich gewesen bin, absolut zu teuer für diese minimale Ausstattung und Lage.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and easy to find. We walked everywhere. Friendly service (very helpful). Clean rooms and bathrooms. Not brand new but CLEAN!

Disliked: Locker system did not work. If they can upgrade the lockers it would be great! They did offer to keep our luggage in the office though, which was very kind of them!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful. The facilities are basic but really correspond to the description and are a very good value for money in Key West (where price are really high)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: - way too expensive - dirty - bad facilities