HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel

Hostel | 718 South Street, Key West, Florida, USA 33040

59.0% Overall Rating

328 out of 472 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

Melinda Flanders thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and the hostel was very quaint with the beach-like atmosphere of Key West. This was my first time staying in a hostel and I would definitely stay there again."

Read all Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our MIXED Shared rooms are reserved for couples only. Our office is open from 9:30 am to 9:00 pm. We do ask that you check-in after 2:30 pm and before our office closes for the night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Key West?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.0%

Overall Rating

328 out of 472 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Key West Youth Hostel & Sea Shell Motel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
64.8%
Value
41.6%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 310 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in a nice residential area, with easy access to bus stops and shopping district. Clean, tidy guest room with self-control air conditioner and inside bathroom. Helpful public facilities (refrigerator, microwave, wash basins, towel, lockers)

Disliked: Rates are a bit high (though they're amongst the cheapest in Key West)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the best for the value!

Disliked: The dorm room was dirty, smelling and the bathroom was in bad condition. The drains in the shower didn't work well and there was hardly any room to move around. The dorm room did not make it easy to be quiet when returning and others were sleeping.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natalie Hennekam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. I loved the location of the hostel, close to everywhere, and I loved the outside area that also serves as a dining area. The sheets were very clean and you got everything fresh of reception.

Disliked: As it was the only hostel around, it was very pricey for the room. Thank god I was only there with another traveller because I couldnt imagine sharing one bathroom between 16 people. Towels were 5 dollar to rent, which should be included in the price, and there was no drinking water available in the kitchen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Employees were helpful,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I went here for a break from an extended period of travel, so was not interested in to much partying, just wanted to relax. This accommodation was good for this as there were not a lot of other people staying there. Good for me, but not if you want to go there for a lot of socialising.

Disliked: The staff were helpful in storing my luggage when I checked out (as I had a bus ticket for the evening), which was great, but when I returned to pick up the luggage (at a time previously discussed) no on was at the front desk! Quite often the office window was shut with no one available to help. The staff were friendly, but if you needed urgent assistance or didn't have a lot of time to waste waiting around, it could be quite frustrating.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: rooms were not clean

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2012

Liked: Not too much...

Disliked: Way too expensive! But still it's the cheapest place to stay in Key West...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 June 2012

Liked: It is the cheapest accomendation I could find in Key West. I liked the location since it is between Duvalstreet and the beach, so that you can easily walk.

Disliked: - Long term guests instead of travelers: I expected to meet other travelers there. Instead there were a lot of people working in key west and staying there for a longer time. - Wet bathroom: The bathroom was always flooded and I don`t know how anybody could dry it... - Alcohol was not allowed

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2012

Liked: The yard

Disliked: The cockoaches and the bathroom

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joshua Schubert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Terribly dirty, used cigarettes and cuetips all over the floor when we arrived.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

cindy bourne

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2012

Liked: very dirty

Disliked: very dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Marek Zawadzki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanlines and high prices

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Beach 5 min to walk. Southern Most Point 10 min to walk

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

kathryn farmer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2012

Liked: pretty close to Duval Street where all of the fun bars and entertainment is!! Glad they had hot water for the shower!

Disliked: They messed up our order so we were then forced to upgrade. The door to our room locked but didn't close all the way; there was still space between the door and threshold. Also they keep the outside lights on all night so it never actually gets dark in the room making it harder to fall asleep. crappy beds.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Personal war freundlich. Zimmer waren für amerkanische Verhältnisse recht sauber.

Disliked: Mit Abstand das teuerste Hostel in dem ich gewesen bin, absolut zu teuer für diese minimale Ausstattung und Lage.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and easy to find. We walked everywhere. Friendly service (very helpful). Clean rooms and bathrooms. Not brand new but CLEAN!

Disliked: Locker system did not work. If they can upgrade the lockers it would be great! They did offer to keep our luggage in the office though, which was very kind of them!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful. The facilities are basic but really correspond to the description and are a very good value for money in Key West (where price are really high)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: - way too expensive - dirty - bad facilities

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012

Liked: Location was good, everything else was horrible. See my previous comment.

Disliked: See my previous comment.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Overpriced - Even during high season the price is unreasonable. The facility was making in excess of $600 / night for a standard motel room in which 10 people were housed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2012

Liked: Good location, easy parking, kitchen facilites

Disliked: My room was right on the road, my bed was right by the window and I was kept awake by passing pedestrians and the streetlight. Upper beds do not have any safety rail and I was conscious of rolling out!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

angela soncini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 angela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and the location is near the Duval St

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2012

Liked: Location, Location, Location

Disliked: You can't sit on the beds. There is not enough head room. You must stand in the room or lie down. There were no seats in the dorms. I don't think they care too much if it isn't perfect they know they are way cheaper than a motel or hotel. There didn't seem to be an alternative toilet if you dorm toilet was being used and you were bursting to go. I got a tummy problem and had to wait 20 minutes trying not to mess myself until the bathroom was free.