We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Houston hostels

Reviews of HI - Houston at the Morty Rich Hostel

Hostel | 501 Lovett Boulevard, Houston, Texas, USA 77006

86.7% Overall Rating

60 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

igor shestakov thinks…

"I was 2d time in USA and 1st time in Houston. I have seen nothing better your hostel!! If i would know that my being here would be so amazing - i would plan my trip with being here for 7 or more…"

Read all HI - Houston at the Morty Rich Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Houston?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

60 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Houston at the Morty Rich Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 59 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, nice and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

James Mashal

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Pricing problems. Get quoted a far lower rate than they charge when you get there

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

igor shestakov

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 igor would recommend this property

Liked: I was 2d time in USA and 1st time in Houston. I have seen nothing better your hostel!! If i would know that my being here would be so amazing - i would plan my trip with being here for 7 or more days. Thank you that you are. Its good example- believe me: i am from Siberia and i know what is good kind hosting!))

Disliked: I have no bad thinks. Good expierense - i can say nothing bad.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: It's clean.

Disliked: Hostile staff, they are mean to customers. Cold, they have freezing cold from air conditioning. They ignored and lied that they fix the problem, when customers complain about it. They play teenagers popular music lound everywhere from loudspeakers, it makes your stay really unconpfortabe.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Sutton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: It was a HUGE Old Mansion. Plenty of room, a pool, friendly staff, a pool table, clean

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ross bond

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 July 2014 ross would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, billiard room, laundry, kitchen, and location.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 24-reception is a nice perk. Beautiful old home, beautifully restored. One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Individual reading lights for the dorm beds and better ventilation in the second floor hall bathroom would have been appreciated, but other than that everything was ideal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duriye Nasuhoglu

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 June 2014 Duriye would recommend this property

Liked: Authentic, well decorated, perfect location, nice neighborhood , hang out places in walking distance, friendly, pristine , clean.

Disliked: None.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Sachs

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: great location, plenty of parking, spacious rec rooms.

Disliked: Air conditioning was broken and we were absolutely roasting as the windows do not open. Fans were provided but it didn't make a difference. This should have been fixed immediately but took more than 2 nights. Maps given out are homemade with minimal info, about the immediate neighborhood only.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are so nice, they gave me a lot of help including fixing my glasses. beautiful dining halls like gallery. Also thanks morgan who has sponsored the room and supporting the hostels in houston.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of charm and character! Felt like a home away from home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joanna June

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2014 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming and friendly, very close/walkable to cool bars and restaurants in the area (which is saying something for Houston).

Disliked: The coffee was a little weak -- but that became kinda a joke between me and the super-friendly staff-member on duty. No other real complaints, would absolutely stay here again.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

TAN LENG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

12 March 2014 TAN would recommend this property

Liked: it's clean

Disliked: it's noisy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Albert Liu

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 March 2014 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: I lost some small things there

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sami Valenti

Alone

Business / conference

03 March 2014 Sami would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and enough space( for 8 bankbed-female only), price was included with breakfast.

Disliked: None

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere , the service and the actually building

Disliked: i couldn't find anything i disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Mersdorf

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very attentive and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing really.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Rathgeber

Alone

Business / conference

06 July 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Great property with very unique charm. Facilities include a pool and a snooker and a TV/DVD room. The room had a private bathroom and a balcony.

Disliked: The AC was set far too low and turned the whole building into a fridge. I needed to use my fleece jacket to be able to sleep at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franziska Steiner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: Where to start?? The place is beautiful, quiet, clean, cheap and SO close to downtown and everything else. Staff is amazing, they will help you with everything and answer all of your questions. The place has a pool, do I really need to say more? It is by far the most amazing and beautifully furnished (more of a home style, nothing old and outdated) hostel I have ever stayed in. I really did feel like I was at home.

Disliked: The shower and bathroom area. There is one WC that is assisgned to the doorm rooms that dont already have a WC in it. If you count beds, that means one bathroom for 14 people if the hostel is fully booked. There is also one shower. As far as I am aware that is the only one for everyone in the hostel. Thatd be a lot of people... There is also a shower with a WC in the same room on the upper level but that one was under maintenance while I was there. Also, the shower room is freeeeeeezing (you may think Im overreacting but it really is that cold). Anyway, Id still LOVE this place and would stay here again, this time longer than 3 nights.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jocelyn ledger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Jocelyn would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the house tht it was in, it had so much character, well furnished and extremely clean. The dorm room that I was in was fantastic. The bunks have steps leading up to them so you're not clinging to some tiny rails. The staff were fantastic and incredibly helpful, I wanted to keep chatting o them but unfortunate they still have to do work! The pool is awesome, you just don't feel like youre in a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing! It was fantastic!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Meegan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: This is just a fantastic hostel. Made to always feel welcome and feels more like a home than a hostel. Very clean, good kitchen and great common areas. Free tea, coffee, breakfast and other bits like rice and pasta is a really generous touch. All the staff were incredibly nice; always asking about your day, offering tips and just enjoying their jobs which creates an amazing atmosphere. In particular Diane and Jessie who were great all week and I arrived as a stranger and left as friends. 100% recommend this hostel and I hope to be back soon.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew McAlpine

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big guest house feeling. Very warm welcome, very clean and comfortable

Disliked: Some of the washrooms werent in working order. However no lengthy line ups

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Norman Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Norman would recommend this property

Liked: Attentive and responsive Staff. Great kitchen and free breakfasts!

Disliked: The 17% tax was a surprise! However many things are provided at low or no cost to balance out this charge!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JON UNZUETA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and really a nice place.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Houston hostels