We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Houston hostels

Reviews of HI - Houston at the Morty Rich Hostel

Hostel | 501 Lovett Boulevard, Houston, Texas, USA 77006

85.8% Overall Rating

68 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2015)

Barbara Brosco thinks…

"Felt like I was staying in the "White House" with terrific people around me. Very clean, inside and out. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I have stayed in hundreds of hostels,…"

Read all HI - Houston at the Morty Rich Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Houston?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

68 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Houston at the Morty Rich Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marco Walter

Alone

City break
Family Holiday

27 May 2015 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Great people were staying at the same time

Disliked: Moskitos

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erika Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2015 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: unique hostel, great pool and property. great having 24hr check-in

Disliked: bathroom could have been a bit cleaner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catherine Pearce

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast but some food not replenished for later people

Disliked: Lack of showing round on arrival

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Brosco

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like I was staying in the "White House" with terrific people around me. Very clean, inside and out. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I have stayed in hundreds of hostels, but, never one like this. THANK YOU MORTY for your generous donation and contribution to this hostel. To all hostel lovers everywhere--Cheers to Morty.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jorge diaz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked its facilities, great beautiful house. Lots of space and comfortable areas. Kitchen is good and rooms are good as well.

Disliked: People at the front desk weren't so helpful, didn't even introduce themselves.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location - walking distance to museums, cafes, restaurants, supermarket

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice mansion to chill out in for a stopover.

Disliked: Can't drink alcohol in the house. So quiet. Not much atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, nice and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

James Mashal

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Pricing problems. Get quoted a far lower rate than they charge when you get there

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

igor shestakov

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 igor would recommend this property

Liked: I was 2d time in USA and 1st time in Houston. I have seen nothing better your hostel!! If i would know that my being here would be so amazing - i would plan my trip with being here for 7 or more days. Thank you that you are. Its good example- believe me: i am from Siberia and i know what is good kind hosting!))

Disliked: I have no bad thinks. Good expierense - i can say nothing bad.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: It's clean.

Disliked: Hostile staff, they are mean to customers. Cold, they have freezing cold from air conditioning. They ignored and lied that they fix the problem, when customers complain about it. They play teenagers popular music lound everywhere from loudspeakers, it makes your stay really unconpfortabe.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Sutton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: It was a HUGE Old Mansion. Plenty of room, a pool, friendly staff, a pool table, clean

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ross bond

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 July 2014 ross would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, billiard room, laundry, kitchen, and location.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 24-reception is a nice perk. Beautiful old home, beautifully restored. One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Individual reading lights for the dorm beds and better ventilation in the second floor hall bathroom would have been appreciated, but other than that everything was ideal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duriye Nasuhoglu

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 June 2014 Duriye would recommend this property

Liked: Authentic, well decorated, perfect location, nice neighborhood , hang out places in walking distance, friendly, pristine , clean.

Disliked: None.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Sachs

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: great location, plenty of parking, spacious rec rooms.

Disliked: Air conditioning was broken and we were absolutely roasting as the windows do not open. Fans were provided but it didn't make a difference. This should have been fixed immediately but took more than 2 nights. Maps given out are homemade with minimal info, about the immediate neighborhood only.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are so nice, they gave me a lot of help including fixing my glasses. beautiful dining halls like gallery. Also thanks morgan who has sponsored the room and supporting the hostels in houston.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of charm and character! Felt like a home away from home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joanna June

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2014 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming and friendly, very close/walkable to cool bars and restaurants in the area (which is saying something for Houston).

Disliked: The coffee was a little weak -- but that became kinda a joke between me and the super-friendly staff-member on duty. No other real complaints, would absolutely stay here again.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

TAN LENG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

12 March 2014 TAN would recommend this property

Liked: it's clean

Disliked: it's noisy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Albert Liu

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 March 2014 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: I lost some small things there

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sami Valenti

Alone

Business / conference

03 March 2014 Sami would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and enough space( for 8 bankbed-female only), price was included with breakfast.

Disliked: None

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere , the service and the actually building

Disliked: i couldn't find anything i disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Mersdorf

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very attentive and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing really.


See all Houston hostels