HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel

Hostel | 2569 Cartwright Rd, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA 96815

74.5% Overall Rating

40 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

Jessica Conley thinks…

"If Waikiki is where you want to be, the location is perfect! A moment's walk, and you're at the zoo, the beach, or any number of reputable bars, restaurants and shops. The rooftop lounge is a great…"

Read all THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

CANCELLATION POLICY We accept cancellations/changes only via e-mail. Please note that any cancellations/changes must be made at least 48 hours prior to your scheduled arrival date. The deposit will not be refunded or transferred for any cancellations/changes. We charge the total of the first night for all cancellations made less than 48 hours and no shows. In case you cancel any individual night(s) of your reservation within 48 hours of your scheduled arrival time or upon/after check in, the deposit and the payment for the night(s) will not be refunded or transferred. In case of no show, we will charge in full for the first night and cancel the reservations for the second night and thereafter.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Honolulu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Honolulu

Polynesian Hostel Beach Club
22.00 USD

Hostel 79.4% 153 reviews
Waikiki Beachside Hostel
28.96 USD

Hostel 78.6% 226 reviews
HI - Honolulu - Waikiki Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 86.9% 210 reviews
Stay Waikiki
140.00 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.5%

Overall Rating

40 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 55 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Conley

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: If Waikiki is where you want to be, the location is perfect! A moment's walk, and you're at the zoo, the beach, or any number of reputable bars, restaurants and shops. The rooftop lounge is a great place to relax and enjoy yourself, or mingle with other guests at the hostel. THERE'S AIR CONDITIONING IN ALL THE ROOMS!!! I was so psyched about that :)

Disliked: Waikiki was a little loud and busy for my liking, and the noise and bustle was annoying to me after a few days. But that's really my only complaint. If you enjoy vibrant city life, this aspect of it won't even bother you.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People are friendly

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's just 2 Blogs to the Beach. The Most of the staffs (only the Guy at the front desk at Midnight when i arrived, was not) was very friendly and helpfull! :)

Disliked: When i arrived, the Guy at the front desk was not so friendly. And i think they are working at the Hostel. So the outside didn't Look so nice. (But its not to bad.)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fellow tenants. The staff. The location. Common areas.

Disliked: The water pressure in the shower was extremely poor. And there was a significant amount of mold in the bathroom and on a few mattresses.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014

Liked: That it was close to the beach and close to the moped rental place on Lemon Rd.

Disliked: Pretty much everything! I have stayed at hostels all around the world and this was by far the most expensive and the second dirtiest and unkept I have ever stayed at! So disappointing! There was a bandaid in the shower and hair in the sink, stains all over the beds, a broken door on the vanity in the shower, a broken TV in the closet. One day we went out and came back to see a contractor who was hired to fix the broken gate had his extension cord plugged into the bathroom of our locked private room! It seemed sketchy that no one would tell us or ask us.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Shuku Torabi

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2014

Liked: Everything was very average.

Disliked: A couple of the staff members were helpful, but overall the management seems to not care much. I and another girl in the hostel were both going to the airport at 6 amto catch a flight to Sydney. We arranged from the night before and they reassured us a few times there was gonna be somewhere there to check us out, but no-one was around. We were close to missing our transport when decided to leave the sheets and keys on the ground outside. Obviously we didn't get our key deposit and when I emailed them I received no response. There were some other issues as well. Overall I would suggest staying elsewhere if you can otherwise expect basic service and you'll make it through !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. And most the time quite cheery too. They have social nights so that all the guests mingle, which is awesome.

Disliked: Lots of miscommunication between staff and stayers. Came back one afternoon to have my bed sheets taken off by staff earlier in the day. Great location near the ocean and Waikiki beach but hidden away behind, and between, larger buildings makes it hard to locate.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carly Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 November 2013 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful and the hostel just had a good atmosphere all round.

Disliked: Carly left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanne Cronin

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2013 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. I found the rooms very large and safe. Theres a large fridge, plenty of storage space in the rooms and a nice shower. As a traveler on my own I found it quite easy to meet people here. Location was excellent.

Disliked: Nothing.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2013

Liked: Dislike!

Disliked: I have been severely bitten by bed bug. Staff said all he could do was to change rooms. Once i moved to the new room and talked to other people in the room they mentioned that previous person who slept in the bed i was going to sleep was also bitten by bed bug. There was not enough bread in the 'free breakfast' only those who get ip very early gets bread, if you sleep in you will have yogurt only. Dos not have a proper kitchen and does not have common area. Worst hostel i have ever stayed. DO NOT STAY HERE. BED BUGS EVERYWHERE!!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed at various hostels in different cities, and this one was pretty new and clean. Bed was fine compared to other ones in different cities. They have outside patio, so we could use it.

Disliked: Compared to other hostels, facilities were limited. Kitchen opened 8 am, so I could not have any breakfast as I had to be out around 7 am. It could have been good if the kitchen opened earlier for me to prepare my own food. (Each room has refrigerator and stove, but as other people are sleeping I could not use it. I found it as not much useful.) People who were working in the office were pretty nice, except for the one that took care of when I was checking out. The person did not know when I needed to check out, and the person did not seem to care much in general except for waiting people to be checked out on time.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: Location was best feature

Disliked: Dated converted apartments, communal areas are small, neighbours nearby complain of noise complaints after 10pm, mould forming in showers, 24/7 reception not available, wifi is poor on higher levels of the building

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

craig whiley

Alone

Partying / nightlife

16 June 2013 craig would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: craig left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, walking distance to everything in Waikiki. Met a lot of good people traveling through from everywhere around the world.

Disliked: It was a little noisy at times and the rooms could use a little updating. Overall, it could be cleaner.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013

Liked: It was in a great location, not far from the beach.

Disliked: The room wasn't very clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Hodson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

14 May 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Fridge in the room even a freezer, nice and spacey!

Disliked: Not much of a socialising area so character not as great as others. But still nice

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mario Caron

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2013 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great within 5 minutes to Waikiki beach! The staff is helpful and friendly and it's also a good place to meet new friends. I really recommand this hostel if you consider going to Waikiki.

Disliked: The common room and area are a bit small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patricia Menendez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2013 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: good location and staff, free wifi

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean, well-maintained, and a great value for the money. The service was excellent and the staff were responsive to my needs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that you get a fridge in your room, was a nice change to having the 2 fridges in the main kitchen and trying to shove your stuff in. I also liked how helpful the staff were. You can hire towels for 50 cents for the duration of your stay which is helpful! The breakfast that is provided in the morning (toast, spreads and yoghurt) is nice too! It was a really nice place and we enjoyed our stay there.

Disliked: The main kitchen area is very small for the amount of people staying there. During our stay the pipes backed up and we were unable to use any of the facilities in our bathroom for the whole evening and the next morning when it was fixed. Granted it was fixed ASAP, but it was still a bit of a pain when the one toilet that we were able to use down stairs was locked over night. Also some people were saying it wasn't the first time they had had problems with their drainage.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013

Liked: Well equipped with fridge and microwave and sink in dorm.

Disliked: Rude and clueless staff, messed up booking system that is so complicated, often overbooked and and force people to sleep in the kitchen! No lockers in rooms, not cleaned everyday, misleading advertisements on free beer and bbq nights, only one set of laundry washer and dryer which is used by hostel as well, that means almost impossible to do your washing without waiting for hours. Greedy when comes to taking payments with a super non-flexible and non negotiable refund policy, they will sell the same bed twice if one checks out early. Nightmare of a stay!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuija Trogen

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Tuija would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoy my stay at this hostel. People who working there was really friendly, helpfull, funny and amazing. Location was perfect and nights was silent and you can sleep! Room was clean and comfortable and private bathroom was perfect and clean!

Disliked: Nothing really! If something need to say... Sheets was little shabby, but it wasn't bother because they was clean.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 February 2013

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: Waste of money, they do not do ANY events as advertised. NO BBQ night! No Beer night! This was one of the main reasons why I stayed there.. All they provide is a basic bed for too much money. The breakfast is only bread with 1 spread (Jam) & coffee (not even any teabags). The staff are rude and uninformative when asked questions about information or what to do in they area, they have no idea. The rooms are very dirty and noisy. There are other hostels around including Seaside Hostel that are much more affordable that do exactly the same thing plus more!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, only one block from waikiki beach, and convenient bus ride to diamond head. easy bus access to HNL too. rooms are clean, and they even have fridge and microwave in room! :D

Disliked: mattress is a little too soft if you prefer firm bed. staffs are friendly but don't feel too much like from a hostel, more like staffs from a hotel - polite and nice, willing to answer your questions but won't talk more. not really a bad thing tho.