HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Polynesian Hostel Beach Club Waikiki Honolulu Hostel

2584 Lemon Rd., Waikiki Beach, Oahu, Honolulu, USA

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 71%

Location 94%

Safety 73%

Staff 81%

Value 67%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.93EUR

Important Information

Rates quoted do not include 4.7% GE TAX & 9.25% TA TAX

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Honolulu?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 71%

Location 94%

Safety 73%

Staff 81%

Value 67%

Showing 1-10 of 76 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Well priced.We were accidentally charged double but the manager advised this was rectified the next morning (although the refund is yet to appear in my account).

Disliked: The hostel itself was very quiet with this monitored by staff for the 10pm quiet time. However, the adjacent property had noisey people coming all night that kept me awake (I'm a light sleeper) and also disturbed my friend a couple of times when she normally sleeps like a log. We had to walk through a dorm room to get to our private room so felt bad about disturbing them as we got there late.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: The privacy of our room.

Disliked: Not clean enough.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

The rooms are fine. It's what I expected but the stairs are filthy. They need to get rid of the carpeting on the stairs.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: location

Disliked: wifi didn't work very well

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: It was really close to Waikiki beach, bus stops, shops, and other venues one might want to visit. The shared bathroom was clean all the time due to the wonderful job of the staff who cleaned (bath)rooms daily. The complimentary breakfast was just enough food to get me going for the day, but hungrier folk can keep enjoying the pancakes if they desire. The staff was really helpful with any questions I had about sights, transportation and activities.

Disliked: Even though the location was good in terms of being in close vicinity to the places you'd want to visit, it's still very much in-between all the major hotels and because of that all of their service transportation such as catering, trash etc were heard way into the night and at times starting early in the morning. My room was facing the street, which didn't help, so maybe rooms at the other end of the hostel might not suffer as much from noise pollution.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Such a great vibe! Heaps good.location, staff heaps friendly, free pancakes and we had cheap dinners prepared on 2 of our nights by a guest. Staff so friendly and helpful, just a cool place to stay and meet people!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is nothing spectacular, it's well worn and noisy, but the location is excellent. I liked that it was rough around the edges - was just what I wanted in a hostel. WIFI worked fine for me on the 3rd level.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I got the chance to stay at this hostel again in the span of a few days. The location and price are great. I can say that each room is a bit different, and some rooms are better than others. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm on the 2nd floor this time, and I found the room to be quite spacious and airy, and the beds pretty comfortable (much better than the 6 bed dorm on the 4th floor). The staff are all really friendly and make you feel very welcome!

Disliked: The bathrooms could definitely use a bit of a good clean up or a renovation, but otherwise everything else seemed fine. There was one staff member who was a bit rude, but all the other fantastic staff members made up for it.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Free pancakes were good! Every dorm gets there own bathroom which is handy, excellent location have some good activities in everyday of the week!

Disliked: Bit run down, old and little bit dirty in the bathrooms etc no aircon only 1 fan per room which doesn't roatate so very hot to sleep, but great cheap price for what you get

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were friendly

Disliked: It was very basic, way over priced. I enjoyed my stay but would think half of what I paid would be adequate for this basic hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: They have a good tours list on the wall that you can join, it's very good.

Disliked: I felt that anyone could walk straight from the street into my room, wifi was poor, rooms were unbearably hot but then the weather was exceptionally hot at the time

Check Availability