We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Polynesian Hostel Beach Club

Hostel | 2584 Lemon road, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA 96815

77.8% Overall Rating

116 out of 150 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

Louise Hitchcock thinks…

"Great location and easy to find. Great good vałue tours offered and the tour guide was lovely. Friendly and good pancakes on offer in the morning and free floats for the sea (just get in quick)"

Read all Polynesian Hostel Beach Club reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Rates quoted do not include 4.7% GE TAX & 9.25% TA TAX

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Honolulu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Honolulu

Waikiki Beachside Hostel
28.96 USD

Hostel 78.6% 226 reviews
THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 56 reviews
HI - Honolulu - Waikiki Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 86.9% 210 reviews
Stay Waikiki
140.00 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

116 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Polynesian Hostel Beach Club'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 109 of 145 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Antonio Jose Cruz Rodrigues

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 September 2014 Antonio Jose would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a really good localization.

Disliked: You need to share the bathroom even if we are in private rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach and shops around Waikiki. Free hire of beach stuff

Disliked: Showers could be updated

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jon deleon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 jon would recommend this property

Liked: I always come back. Good people, good beds good location good price!that

Disliked: That I had to leave.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Louise Hitchcock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and easy to find. Great good vałue tours offered and the tour guide was lovely. Friendly and good pancakes on offer in the morning and free floats for the sea (just get in quick)

Disliked: The bathrooms... Totally disgusting and almost inhavitable! So be warned if you don't like slightly slumming it.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: "Jesse!!!" Awesome guy. Ever watch hangover? You get to meet the man. Location is awesome. Only a couple of steps, exaggerated, from everything. The people that you meet compensates for the negatives of the place.

Disliked: The place is pretty dirty. If your planning on using this place more than just to sleep at night and have a hotel expectation background, then stay away, but if your going to be gone the whole day and just use the place to sleep in, this place is worth it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good day trips, good location, pancakes for breakfast and u can take all beach stuff with you and use it there. don't have to buy anything

Disliked: a bit sloppy cleaning at least with the floors in our room.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Richard Glover

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: See previous, didn't end up staying there the full time, but was refunded, more than I can say for HI I'm New York

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

29 June 2014

Liked: Close to the beach and staff were very friendly

Disliked: Wifi wasn't working for the duration of stay and the shower didn't have much pressure when on hot

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really are amazing - some of the nicest I've met. They also have a great policy of boring beach gear. They run great cheap activities every day. You can turn up with no idea of what to do and they'll help.

Disliked: The wifi doesn't make it to all the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location its the best, only one block to waikiki beach. The atmosphere of the hostel its amazing, recepcionists very helpful. A lot of bus close to the hostel. I ceartenly reccomend this hostel

Disliked: The recepcionist told us if we put our name at our bag of food and put in the refrigerator nobadys was gonna catch up, but actually someone stole our food, but thats not actually a problem of the hostel!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tatjana Leuthner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2014 Tatjana would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the beach and other activities, breakfast included (pancakes, tea, coffee), beach gear for rent available, activities offered by the hostel for less (e.g. tours to different beaches of the island)

Disliked: the beds are pretty old but with the beach just a 2 min. walk from the hostel that isn´t really a big point

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super-close to Waikiki beach, good kitchen, nice tours, sweet staff...

Disliked: Bit quieter than expected. No curtains but nine windows in the dorm?? Combined with quite a few holes in the windows, it's unbelievable to me. Quiet time 10 pm. is nothing to do about, but a bit of a downer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All Staff are very friendly, helpful and friendly. I really enjoyed the morning free pancakes. Not only the pancakes the conversation with other guests and staff. It helped guests to know other travelers staying in the hostel. I met nice people coming from all over the world through these conversation.

Disliked: The wifi connection was not very nice... :(

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Taru Lindell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014

Liked: Good location, near the beach, shops and restaurants and bus route nearby.

Disliked: Dirty, worn out. Not nice at all. Choose this hostel if you're on a tight budget and only want a place to crash for a couple of nights.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free pancakes, central location

Disliked: average cleanliness, noisy building site next to our room which made us wake up around 6 or 7 every morning

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had some complications with the initial payment of the booking, which became an issue later, but the staff (particularly the manager Shelley) were very helpful and concerned for my satisfaction in resolving the matter. The space was relaxed, but not complacent, and I felt very welcome.

Disliked: On the first night it was cold, and I would have preferred to have a blanket (the linen includes a bottom and a top sheet), but its not a huge deal. The breakfast could have had more variety (pancakes each day), but again it was nice to have something provided.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Could be cleaner, in need of some repairs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff Atmosphere and character

Disliked: not super clean but it´s an hostel no soap in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere. Most of the staff were pretty helpful and were very knowledgeable about where to go and what to eat. We stayed in a private room, which was clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend spending a bit of extra money for the privacy.

Disliked: Our room backed right onto an alleyway so there was a fair bit of noise from garbage trucks.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Sacha Hameleers

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2013 Sacha would recommend this property

Liked: Location is realy great!

Disliked: The shower, no waterpressure at all!! Rooms are porly cleaned!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maude Jolicoeur

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Maude would recommend this property

Liked: I met the nicest people there :) the hostel is 5 mins walk from the beach! The staff is very friendly and will help you book a tour or transport to the airport if you want to! There's a locked room where you can leave your backpack after you've checked out.

Disliked: Warm and noisy at night time but it's really not that bad

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Certain members of staff were particularly helpful. The private room we stayed in was very spacious and had all amenities to be a self contained unit. Great value for money and awesome location just up from the beach. Free use of snorkel gear and body boards etc made our trip extra cool. Thanks.

Disliked: The wifi internet showed as fully connected but wouldn't connect anywhere. My partner got the odd link but very poor and slow loading of pages. A little noisy in room from neighbouring buildings and general public but not an issue, kind of expected in a busy location. The atmosphere seemed a little weird at times but think it was just people who stay there long term lost the will to communicate with new people and looking a little bored/fed up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colette Morgan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Colette would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel in an amazing location right on Waikiki beach. Had a really lovely twin room. The hostel was clean and tidy, with a well stocked kitchen and hammocks in a communal area. The hostel had beach items to borrow and surfboards to hire. They also ran some great tours and activities round the island which were great value for money. Really good hostel at a great price!

Disliked: Colette left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013

Liked: The hostel is really close to the beach which is great and they have lots of bodyboards beach mats etc you can borrow and surfboards you can rent cheaply. Also the hammocks are really relaxing to lounge in.

Disliked: The internet is rubbish, it crashed repeatedly. There were minimal charging sockets in the rooms, just one by each bunk would have been good but that wasn't the case. It felt like it needed a lot of work done to it to make it more comfortable, quite rough around the edges.