We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hartford Mark Twain Hostel

Hostel | 131 Tremont St, Hartford, Connecticut, USA 06105

60.3% Overall Rating

21 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Mr. Charles Stoddard thinks…

"The old-style free and easy coming and going. Its location is ideal: roadside parking, restaurants nearby, Bank of America and especially Burger King. The Noah Webster school is close by, the Harford…"

Read all Hartford Mark Twain Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hartford?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.3%

Overall Rating

21 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hartford Mark Twain Hostel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
47.2%
Cleanliness
47.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
55.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mr. Charles Stoddard

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 July 2014 Mr. Charles would recommend this property

Liked: The old-style free and easy coming and going. Its location is ideal: roadside parking, restaurants nearby, Bank of America and especially Burger King. The Noah Webster school is close by, the Harford Seminary, The UConn Law School, etc. I enjoyed walking and enjoying the sights, sounds and smells of Farmington Avenue.

Disliked: To be honest with you folks, the odor. The air in the office area is stale; the water is not hot. I had to turn the shower on three times with ten-twelve-minute gaps to finally get some very nice, warm water! (I left a note, but nothing was done).

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013

Liked: the elderly couple that runs that hostel are nice and friendly and try to be very helpful. The neighbourhood is nice and you have a Supermarket/ ATM not too far away. I had a 8bed dorm for little old me.

Disliked: The beds were really really old. the kitchen smelled funny. The bathrooms and rooms per se were not very clean, the showercurtains were a mess and I was honestly afraid to touch anything in the shower. The check in times and check out times were wrong.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet

Disliked: It was a controlled environment and it wasn't like other Hostels I have been too.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Juliane Schwarz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012

Liked: Far too expensive for the location and service offers, no breakfast 30min walk from city centre

Disliked: Cleaness Comfort Looks like in DDR in 60s

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sven van der Veldt

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

21 April 2012

Liked: The house itself, it's really nice. Could use some renovation but all in all I like it's still. Like most houses in the neighborhood.

Disliked: State of the interior, (lack of) cleanliness, atmosphere

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Christian Marks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011

Liked: the location was okay. I did like the surrounding resturants and take aways shops for the area..The bed was comfortable. The people were nice people- they are elderly people who own the place.. They do ask a few questions about yourself but i wouldn't call it invasive as someone earlier did...!

Disliked: the place is old and not looking great. Needs some fixing up- bathrooms etc.. Pricing isn't right for what you get... It feels like you have stepped in a old house from the 1960-70's..

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The owners were rather unusual and invasive, they also spoke little english

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful and quite place. Beautiful place and wonderful people.

Disliked: Nothing there that I didn't like. Everything went smoothy and people were very helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After looking for something cheap and convenience nearby Hartford, this hostel is in the perfect location, good neiborhood area, and many restaurants, I like " Tissane", typical elegant cafe restaurant. The hostel room was clean and the pillows were really comfy. The staff was very friendly. Everything in this place was pretty safety, and the bed was comfortable. Very good price and good location, free Hi-Fi and free parking.

Disliked: My stay was very good, cheap and quiet, had a tight sleep night. I got a great rate. I didn't pay that much for the room, so I can't complain too much. I would rate my stay as great. I would definitely stay again.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2010

Liked: Location is in an impressive neighbourhood and the building itself is architecturally stunning (exterior only).

Disliked: It is in need of major renovations. Duct tape literally holds the building together at present. I felt like giving it a thorough scrub, vacuum, dust and polish and clearing out the old 1999 and 2001 brochures and out-of-date hostel information still piled up on shelves and counter tops. The people who run this hostel barely speak English and therefore would be unable to help guests in an emergency. A disgrace!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

GARY BARRS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2010

Liked: The free internet was the only good point.

Disliked: Manager was grumpiest man ever, just barged into room mid afternoon whilst i was sleeping,shouting ""you cant sleep in the afternoon" baring in mind that in the morning i had ran a half marathon, i thought this was a bit off.Also, he wanted everyone to stay out the hostel between 10 am and 5pm.very antiquated ideas.No free tea or coffee.miserable place to stay.Dont go.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Gastón mattos

22 June 2010

Liked: Bad, bad,bad.

Disliked: Gastón left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

09 October 2009

Liked: I was cheap and well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Stéphane Huet

24 August 2009

Liked: The price was quite cheap, but of bad value if the bad quality of beds and the small size of our bedrooms for 4 are considered.

Disliked: Stéphane left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

16 May 2009

Liked: Close to Mark Twain House

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Spracklen

13 May 2009 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: It was an affordable place to stay on my way to Boston that wasn't far off the path at all.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a very good position between Downtown Hartford and West Hartford, in a residential area close to the Law School and the famous Japanese restaurant Ichiban (try it, best sashimi ever eaten!). A wonderful location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Peet Lenel

21 December 2008 Peet would recommend this property

Liked: It is not very close to the city center, but well located and close to the Mark Twain House and the Harriett Beecher Stowe House.

Disliked: Peet left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

ellen suarez

26 October 2008 ellen would recommend this property

Liked: The owners and other guests were very friendly.

Disliked: ellen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money. Cheap and had all the necessities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 July 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's very different from other hostels and therefor unique

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 April 2008

Liked: Great location in a quite neighborhood.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

08 April 2008

Liked: It was empty - which meant I was alone in an 8-bed dorm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 September 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were really nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.