HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hollywood Beach Hostel

Hostel | 320 Arizona Street, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA 33019

77.8% Overall Rating

48 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/05/2014)

Vaughan Barton-Johnson thinks…

"Really close to the beach (2 minute walk) and all the fun stuff going on and easily accesible. Has car parking available (at $10/day). Quiet and clean all around. power points near beds and keycard…"

Read all Hollywood Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The hotel will be charging 1st night room/tax immediately at the time of booking. The remaining balance will be charged 72 hours prior to arrival. A full stay penalty will be charged for any cancellations made within 72 hours of arrival. The same penalty applies to no show reservations and early departures. - 11% taxes and $5 per room/per night resort fee is not included in the rates online

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort Lauderdale?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort Lauderdale

Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
69.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hollywood Gateway Inn
28.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 52.1% 4 reviews
The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House
30.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 118 reviews
The Bridge at Cordova Diver's Hostel and Hotel
27.50 USD

Hostel 72.6% 75 reviews
Deauville Hostel and Crewhouse
30.00 USD

Hostel 86.7% 106 reviews
Ramada Plaza
29.50 USD

Hotel 5 star 75.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

48 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hollywood Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 54 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zbigniew Lorenc

Alone

Business / conference

20 May 2014 Zbigniew would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: (-)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vaughan Barton-Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Vaughan would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the beach (2 minute walk) and all the fun stuff going on and easily accesible. Has car parking available (at $10/day). Quiet and clean all around. power points near beds and keycard access to dorms that work! Cheap drinks and food in very close proximity.

Disliked: Cold showers!!! No fan in bathrooms to take away smells and steam. No real lounge area to relax. Theres a small spot near the front desk but its not really a seperate relaxed atmosphere to enjoy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One block from the beach.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Dennis Sakowsky

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014

Liked: See number two. Free rental bikes is a good idea. As there are no other facilities it's just the average. If you wanna hang out on the beach the location is pretty good

Disliked: See number 2. EDIT: By the way you couldn't lock the door to the bathroom. By not locking the door I mean the door was always opening itself. Smells bad. And the 8 bed dorm consisted of 2 rooms. One room hand the size of around 5 square meters including 2 double beds !!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Gašpar

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 December 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Holywood beach hostel is absolutly great place, it is just one min from beatifull white beach . I was feeling hier like at home, they have very nice premises where can travelers spend their free time, internet, kitchen, sofa with plazma tv, grill, outside terasa and many others. This place is clean, the stuff realy care about the travelers and price for accomodation is one of the best in whole Florida. Specialy I would like say thank you to two amazing persons , who are always helpfull , what ever you need, they are always for you there,. It is Diego and Bruno ( managers ) two lovely guys . If you will come to this hostel this guys will be first who you will meet by check in :) And if you will anything need it is there for you one lovely girl , her name is Pamela and she is main manager of all holywood beach hostel and hotel . So I can recomend this place to every one who loves great , clean place with beatifull atmosfer and with fast acces to the beach and with fast acces to the restauratns :) Please just leave as well one place free for me :)

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and felt safe. The atmosphere of the hotel was very nice with free rentals of bikes, and other outdoor activities. It was a great place to stay for as little as $15 a night and a 30 second walk to the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Caudill

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 September 2013 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: We were steps away from the beach, the staff is very nice.

Disliked: No coffee until after 8:00 am when the office opens.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is basically fine. I didn't particularly appreciate the $50 deposit, never had to do that before in a hostel.

Disliked: It advertises itself as being located in Fort Lauderdale; it is not, it's actually Hollywood and if you're new to Florida like myself then you're not going to know the difference, it's about another hour on public transport to Ft Lauderdale, not ideal. Also it says check out is at 12pm, it's at 11am- only an hour but not accurate. The staff either ignored me or gave me inaccurate info a lot of the time. But if you want to go to Hollywood for a god beach and nice restaurants etc then it's a real bargain!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just right on the beach. Internet and television in the common space. The decoration of the room. Only $17 a night, cheap and globally I am satified.

Disliked: Bed liners and towels with stains. Bedroom floor must be cleaned once a day because of the sand brings by people who come back from the beach. Far away for supermarket, if you don,t have a car you must take the local bus.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tara Monroe

Alone

City break

29 April 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The beds were REALLY squeaky and it was hard to sleep as a result. Also didn't like being charged more than it said I would. Apparently an 11% tax comes out of nowhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Lamballe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 March 2013 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spot on, there was so much to do around tbe area and there was so many free perks with the HBH. Most importantly, the staff were the most courteous, helpful and knowledgeable staff I've dealt with. I could not recommend this hotel any more to those either individually, as a couple or as a family. Check out Mammacitas nearby too, the waitresses were incredible.

Disliked: There isn't more HBH's.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

William Simpkins

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

19 February 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really a motel with a few rooms that are sold as a dormatory. so there's a big staff but oddly no front desk or any manager to find after office closing time at 11 p.m.. The location is less than a block from the beach and they offer free beach towels surf boards and bikes. The free wifi works well. The office is helpful -when they are open. I'll return there despite it not being a small independent hostel because it's the best Ft Lauderdale has to offer so far.

Disliked: The office closes at 11 p.m. and that's weird because it's a corporate style hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lelde Vilkriste

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

14 January 2013 Lelde would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to beach, rent of bike - free

Disliked: Romm smells not so nice, always wet.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kal Bakash

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This is a dumphouse. Do not go there. They gave me a baby pillow instead of an adult pillow. I was sleeping in an upper bed in a dorm room and there was no ladder for me to climb up to my bed. I had to use the ladder of the bed that was next to me, and then jump across to my bed. They have a locker that is not bolted on to the wall. It is very easy for someone to lift up the locker and walk out of the room with it and easily load it on to a van. The walkway towards my room was always wet. The toilet is not maintained properly. The staff is very rude. I paid hostebookers a 10% payment for making the booking online, and they charged me it a second time on arrival even though I showed them a printed dociment saying that I owed them $53.86 on arrival. They refused to acknowledged the amount on the printout and actually charged me $59.85. I would never recommend that place to anyone. Sometimes cheapness is not good. Go anywhere else in Fort Lauderdale, but not at this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Britany Ott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Britany would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is wonderful! The rooms are clean and the property is well maintained.

Disliked: Britany left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nil.

Disliked: Nil.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Farid Bonawiede

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

02 September 2012 Farid would recommend this property

Liked: Great price and a lot of free stuff to rent!

Disliked: The rommleys stopped working everyday. Even when I didn't have my cellphone nor other cards close to it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The closeness to the to the beach was great! The staff was also really friendly and I had a great stay. Hollywood beach is kind of quiet, which was perfect for me. The boardwalk had a lot of great food!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: How closed is from the beach.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joseph Palermo

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: access to the beach, staff

Disliked: a little "crowded" but hey for the buck and travel it was great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irina Brueningk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 June 2012 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: - Friendly staff - Clean rooms and kitchen - Close to the beach

Disliked: Irina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacey Wilkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2012 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: The location, right next to the beach.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Idan Goldberg

Alone

Business / conference

09 May 2012 Idan would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the center place Amazing people and the cheapest Recommand to all of u come and visit I met people and friend for life from new zealand australia england

Disliked: Too cold from the air conditionar Need to put two blankets

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ALL the Staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful ---far exceeding what one often finds in a Hotel They seemed to make me feel more like a Guest, rather than a Customer,which is/was very much appreciated There were no exceptions to this re any of the Staff, they all earned my gratitude I shall certainly return, and encourage my travelling friend to do the same Perhaps I can gently suggest that there be more serving bowls etc available in kitchen for the food, also more pots and pans etc ---it is very under-stocked with those items Please convey my appreciation and thanks to ALL the STAFF with no exceptions---they are an admirable team, ---no doubt a lot of credit must go to the "Manager' -------- Pamela I think is her name david Constabel from Canada

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.