HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House

Hostel | 506 SE 16th Street, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA 33316

84.2% Overall Rating

73 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

"It's more like an apartment than a room. You have many space and your own TV room."

Read all The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

All International guests must have a valid passport or ID upon checking in. For US travelers: A must of 2 Photo ID will be needed: - Driver's license & Social Security Card. - Student ID & Driver's license. **At Certain Times Of the year we will require full payment via Credit Card due to high season - September 15 - April 15** **Taxes not included** **A $5 key deposit is required** **Check In is from 3pm - 9pm. If you will be checking in after hours, your remaining balance plus tax and the key deposit will be charged to the card used for booking** **14 day cancellation notice is required for refunds** **No refunds on holidays regardless of notice**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort Lauderdale?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort Lauderdale

The Bridge at Cordova Diver's Hostel and Hotel
27.50 USD

Hostel 72.6% 75 reviews
Deauville Hostel and Crewhouse
30.00 USD

Hostel 86.7% 106 reviews
Hollywood Beach Hostel
15.75 USD

Hostel 77.8% 57 reviews
Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
69.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hollywood Gateway Inn
28.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 52.1% 4 reviews
Ramada Plaza
29.50 USD

Hotel 5 star 75.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

73 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's more like an apartment than a room. You have many space and your own TV room.

Disliked: You don't meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deniro Mauro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Deniro would recommend this property

Liked: They offer a lot of activities to do, great hostel to stay if yoy are Traveling alone but also if you are with friends!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Hagen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome experience. Staff is great and plans a lot of group activities. Great location.

Disliked: the parking lot was flooded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Berit Gubbel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Berit would recommend this property

Liked: the dorm accommodation was clean and looked good. the staff was very helpful unlike the staff in other hostels in Miami.

Disliked: n/a

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 June 2014

Liked: The other people staying at the property are mid to long term and created a fun, friendly, relaxed environment.

Disliked: The property management. They did not stay open during their supposed office hours and did not leave a contact number. Communication was poor - they did not reply to emailed questions. This place is more like a crew house rather than a hostel. The rooms were not particularly clean and mainly relied on the longer term occupants to maintain the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the decor in the rooms totally my style, the pictures don't do it justice. My dorm was tidy, and the facilities were great for a hostel. Enjoyed the fact you could be outside and hang out with others or the privacy of the dorm. Very close to airport and places to see in the town. the workers were sweet and helful. Also enjoyed the music playing outside.

Disliked: When I checked in the outdoor parking was flooded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Torres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The four bed dorm was great, comfy bed, and a clean bathroom. The outdoor area with pool is nice to hang out. The nice staff and great atmosphere made this the nicest hostel I´ve been to in Florida.

Disliked: The parking lot seems like it needs to be fixed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bea Guinto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Bea would recommend this property

Liked: I totally recommend this hostel! The rooms are great and you have a lot of privacy compared to other hostels. The pool is awesome.

Disliked: We did have an issue with another guest staying in our shared room that the staff handled very well. The managr Maiah was very supportive and we appreciated that.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

sinan olgun

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

13 May 2014 sinan would recommend this property

Liked: close to airport

Disliked: nobody in the reception when living, we wait 2 hours to somebody

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 May 2014

Liked: There was enough space for four people.

Disliked: The whole area outside was messy and not really clean. Inside was a little bit better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camila Santiago

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Camila would recommend this property

Liked: the pool was great as well as the apartment with the kitchen. we took a bus to the hostel which was very inexpensive and convenient. We met a bunch a nice people.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Pattis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: the room was what we expected, the location was really convenient. the staff was helpful and the other travelers were quite nice. overall a nice experience would recommend.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Guerra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean accommodations for the rate. very well located. I particularly liked the fact that if you wanted to socialize and meet people you could just hang out outside by the pool area or if you wanted peace and quiet you could just go to your room. the night I arrived they were playing a movie on a projector outside and it was quite nice. Would recommend to any traveler

Disliked: Luis left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

22 April 2014

Liked: Decent location

Disliked: Management failed to inform us we shouldn't lock the door to our room because they did not have the key on hand. Of course we would lock it before venturing out. As a result, we could not get in our room for over 12 hours, and gave up half of the next day waiting for the maintenance man to come unlock it for us. When we politely questioned the manager, she cursed us out in Spanish, not realizing we understood what she was saying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: the hostels location was ideal, close to the airport and downtown area of ft lauderdale. I stayed at a dorm with other travelers and had a very nice time. The girl that works there is very helpful and friendly. I enjoyed the look of the hostel

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lilian Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Lilian would recommend this property

Liked: the room was clean and nicely decorated. we enjoyed the garden and meeeting other travelers. the staff was friendly we had a good experience

Disliked: Lilian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stas Andreiko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Stas would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was great for the price. it had everything we expected and the vibe was very inviting. the dorm was clean and nicely decorated.

Disliked: Stas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ji Na Bai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Ji Na would recommend this property

Liked: it was an awesome hostel with a lot of fun people and good facilities. for the price it had everything and more than we expected. the room was nice and spacious. the hostel is also very centric and in a convenient location. the workers are really kind and helpful.

Disliked: Ji Na left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Mackie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: cool place to stay in fort lauderdale, nice people atmosphere and the room was nice.

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter James

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and free parking. Close to convention center

Disliked: had to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The room was everything we expected. it was clean and nice looking. We enjoyed the ambiance of the hostel. The amenities are free wifi and parking which is really good.

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica dove

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the chocolate because the amenities are perfect, the rooms are clean and nice looking and the people were friendly

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Davina Lemm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2014

Liked: The concept of apartments instead of dorms and the possibility to cook own stuff in the kitchen.

Disliked: The Apartment was very dirty. Nobody cleaned anything before we came there. The toilet was so dirty that we felt like getting ill using it. In addition we had to pay 20 dollars more than hostelbookers said, because they didn't include the taxes on their page at hostelbookers. In all other hostels we stayed at in America they included the taxes.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff Service

Disliked: Bed are desconfortable

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fact that you could meet a wide variety of people from tourists, travelers to regulars just living there. If you can rent the whole dorm for you and your group then it's a good option.

Disliked: The place lets rooms to people who stay there for long periods of time and they don't take care of their rooms. The one I stayed in was absolute FILTH, wouldn't wish it upon anyone!!! They need a cleaner there badly (at least for tourists' rooms, as I'm sure the locals have cheaper rates).