We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House

Hostel | 506 SE 16th Street, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA 33316

86.9% Overall Rating

86 out of 132 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

John Kring thinks…

"The property has a great atmosphere with great music. I enjoyed hanging out by the pool."

Read all The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

All International guests must have a valid passport or ID upon checking in. For US travelers: A must of 2 Photo ID will be needed: - Driver's license & Social Security Card. - Student ID & Driver's license. **At Certain Times Of the year we will require full payment via Credit Card due to high season - September 15 - April 15** **Taxes not included** **A $5 key deposit is required** **Check In is from 3pm - 9pm. If you will be checking in after hours, your remaining balance plus tax and the key deposit will be charged to the card used for booking** **14 day cancellation notice is required for refunds** **No refunds on holidays regardless of notice**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort Lauderdale?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort Lauderdale

The Bridge at Cordova Diver's Hostel and Hotel
30.00 USD

Hostel 72.6% 75 reviews
Deauville Hostel and Crewhouse
30.00 USD

Hostel 86.7% 106 reviews
Hollywood Beach Hostel
15.75 USD

Hostel 76.2% 59 reviews
Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
69.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hollywood Gateway Inn
28.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 52.1% 4 reviews
Ramada Plaza
29.50 USD

Hotel 5 star 75.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

86 out of 132 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 117 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Sharks

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

18 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the pool and the music

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Pinkerman

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

18 September 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! Cool Music with a cool group of people

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool people! Super friendly staff, and just all around great!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Kring

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: The property has a great atmosphere with great music. I enjoyed hanging out by the pool.

Disliked: nothing! :)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

09 September 2014

Liked: I had a room to myself and it was a decent size and would be comfortable for 2 people. If the dorm rooms are the same size, I hop there aren't too many beds or it will be very cramped!

Disliked: You can't "lounge" by the pool very comfortably. Part of the area is tarmac'd and was boiling hot to walk on. The pool was not very clean - lots of leaves. There are no proper loungers by the pool for sunbathing. The office "hours" are 9am till 12pm then 3pm till 9pm. The office did not open till 4.30pm when I wanted to check in. There didn't appear any way to adjust the air con and it only appeared to be the lounge/kitchen area of the apartment. There was no hot water in the shower. There weren't proper curtains in the bedroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: interesting and eccentric place. very bohemian

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool courtyard and pool area. funky eclectic place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I couldn't figure out how to work the shower (apparently in the states you have to PULL to work them), so I went down to the office. The girl sent the maintenance guy right away and he showed me that it wasn't broken. They were relly nice about it even though I was just doing it wrong, haha.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance to lots of restaurants/bars and shops

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the pool and community grill

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Front desk girl helped me get a rental car for cheaper was informative about local places to see. They don't push the over priced tour packages here which is nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stello Vargas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Stello would recommend this property

Liked: the room, the pool and garden was really nice.

Disliked: The key was a little hard

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

georgina savella

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 August 2014 georgina would recommend this property

Liked: the room was what we expected. the kitchen was really convenient and clean. Mia was cool and helpful.

Disliked: one day it rained and the outside parking lot got a little flooded. we got the floor in our room dirty but thankfully housekeeping was helpful and cleaned it up for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco L'orealle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: a friend who stayed at this hostel recommended it to me. I can truly say it was a very cool spot. Definitely recommended to travel minded travelers.

Disliked: Marco left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's more like an apartment than a room. You have many space and your own TV room.

Disliked: You don't meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deniro Mauro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Deniro would recommend this property

Liked: They offer a lot of activities to do, great hostel to stay if yoy are Traveling alone but also if you are with friends!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Hagen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome experience. Staff is great and plans a lot of group activities. Great location.

Disliked: the parking lot was flooded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Berit Gubbel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Berit would recommend this property

Liked: the dorm accommodation was clean and looked good. the staff was very helpful unlike the staff in other hostels in Miami.

Disliked: n/a

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 June 2014

Liked: The other people staying at the property are mid to long term and created a fun, friendly, relaxed environment.

Disliked: The property management. They did not stay open during their supposed office hours and did not leave a contact number. Communication was poor - they did not reply to emailed questions. This place is more like a crew house rather than a hostel. The rooms were not particularly clean and mainly relied on the longer term occupants to maintain the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the decor in the rooms totally my style, the pictures don't do it justice. My dorm was tidy, and the facilities were great for a hostel. Enjoyed the fact you could be outside and hang out with others or the privacy of the dorm. Very close to airport and places to see in the town. the workers were sweet and helful. Also enjoyed the music playing outside.

Disliked: When I checked in the outdoor parking was flooded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Torres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The four bed dorm was great, comfy bed, and a clean bathroom. The outdoor area with pool is nice to hang out. The nice staff and great atmosphere made this the nicest hostel I´ve been to in Florida.

Disliked: The parking lot seems like it needs to be fixed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bea Guinto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Bea would recommend this property

Liked: I totally recommend this hostel! The rooms are great and you have a lot of privacy compared to other hostels. The pool is awesome.

Disliked: We did have an issue with another guest staying in our shared room that the staff handled very well. The managr Maiah was very supportive and we appreciated that.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

sinan olgun

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

13 May 2014 sinan would recommend this property

Liked: close to airport

Disliked: nobody in the reception when living, we wait 2 hours to somebody

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 May 2014

Liked: There was enough space for four people.

Disliked: The whole area outside was messy and not really clean. Inside was a little bit better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camila Santiago

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Camila would recommend this property

Liked: the pool was great as well as the apartment with the kitchen. we took a bus to the hostel which was very inexpensive and convenient. We met a bunch a nice people.

Disliked: nothing