HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House

Hostel | 506 SE 16th Street, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA 33316

86.6% Overall Rating

82 out of 127 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

"I couldn't figure out how to work the shower (apparently in the states you have to PULL to work them), so I went down to the office. The girl sent the maintenance guy right away and he showed me that it wasn't broken.…"

Read all The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

All International guests must have a valid passport or ID upon checking in. For US travelers: A must of 2 Photo ID will be needed: - Driver's license & Social Security Card. - Student ID & Driver's license. **At Certain Times Of the year we will require full payment via Credit Card due to high season - September 15 - April 15** **Taxes not included** **A $5 key deposit is required** **Check In is from 3pm - 9pm. If you will be checking in after hours, your remaining balance plus tax and the key deposit will be charged to the card used for booking** **14 day cancellation notice is required for refunds** **No refunds on holidays regardless of notice**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort Lauderdale?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort Lauderdale

The Bridge at Cordova Diver's Hostel and Hotel
30.00 USD

Hostel 72.6% 75 reviews
Deauville Hostel and Crewhouse
30.00 USD

Hostel 86.7% 106 reviews
Hollywood Beach Hostel
15.75 USD

Hostel 77.8% 57 reviews
Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
69.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hollywood Gateway Inn
28.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 52.1% 4 reviews
Ramada Plaza
29.50 USD

Hotel 5 star 75.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

82 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 112 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: interesting and eccentric place. very bohemian

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool courtyard and pool area. funky eclectic place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I couldn't figure out how to work the shower (apparently in the states you have to PULL to work them), so I went down to the office. The girl sent the maintenance guy right away and he showed me that it wasn't broken. They were relly nice about it even though I was just doing it wrong, haha.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance to lots of restaurants/bars and shops

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the pool and community grill

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Front desk girl helped me get a rental car for cheaper was informative about local places to see. They don't push the over priced tour packages here which is nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stello Vargas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Stello would recommend this property

Liked: the room, the pool and garden was really nice.

Disliked: The key was a little hard

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

georgina savella

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 August 2014 georgina would recommend this property

Liked: the room was what we expected. the kitchen was really convenient and clean. Mia was cool and helpful.

Disliked: one day it rained and the outside parking lot got a little flooded. we got the floor in our room dirty but thankfully housekeeping was helpful and cleaned it up for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco L'orealle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: a friend who stayed at this hostel recommended it to me. I can truly say it was a very cool spot. Definitely recommended to travel minded travelers.

Disliked: Marco left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's more like an apartment than a room. You have many space and your own TV room.

Disliked: You don't meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deniro Mauro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Deniro would recommend this property

Liked: They offer a lot of activities to do, great hostel to stay if yoy are Traveling alone but also if you are with friends!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Hagen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome experience. Staff is great and plans a lot of group activities. Great location.

Disliked: the parking lot was flooded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Berit Gubbel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Berit would recommend this property

Liked: the dorm accommodation was clean and looked good. the staff was very helpful unlike the staff in other hostels in Miami.

Disliked: n/a

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 June 2014

Liked: The other people staying at the property are mid to long term and created a fun, friendly, relaxed environment.

Disliked: The property management. They did not stay open during their supposed office hours and did not leave a contact number. Communication was poor - they did not reply to emailed questions. This place is more like a crew house rather than a hostel. The rooms were not particularly clean and mainly relied on the longer term occupants to maintain the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the decor in the rooms totally my style, the pictures don't do it justice. My dorm was tidy, and the facilities were great for a hostel. Enjoyed the fact you could be outside and hang out with others or the privacy of the dorm. Very close to airport and places to see in the town. the workers were sweet and helful. Also enjoyed the music playing outside.

Disliked: When I checked in the outdoor parking was flooded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Torres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The four bed dorm was great, comfy bed, and a clean bathroom. The outdoor area with pool is nice to hang out. The nice staff and great atmosphere made this the nicest hostel I´ve been to in Florida.

Disliked: The parking lot seems like it needs to be fixed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bea Guinto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Bea would recommend this property

Liked: I totally recommend this hostel! The rooms are great and you have a lot of privacy compared to other hostels. The pool is awesome.

Disliked: We did have an issue with another guest staying in our shared room that the staff handled very well. The managr Maiah was very supportive and we appreciated that.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

sinan olgun

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

13 May 2014 sinan would recommend this property

Liked: close to airport

Disliked: nobody in the reception when living, we wait 2 hours to somebody

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 May 2014

Liked: There was enough space for four people.

Disliked: The whole area outside was messy and not really clean. Inside was a little bit better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camila Santiago

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Camila would recommend this property

Liked: the pool was great as well as the apartment with the kitchen. we took a bus to the hostel which was very inexpensive and convenient. We met a bunch a nice people.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Pattis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: the room was what we expected, the location was really convenient. the staff was helpful and the other travelers were quite nice. overall a nice experience would recommend.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Guerra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean accommodations for the rate. very well located. I particularly liked the fact that if you wanted to socialize and meet people you could just hang out outside by the pool area or if you wanted peace and quiet you could just go to your room. the night I arrived they were playing a movie on a projector outside and it was quite nice. Would recommend to any traveler

Disliked: Luis left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

22 April 2014

Liked: Decent location

Disliked: Management failed to inform us we shouldn't lock the door to our room because they did not have the key on hand. Of course we would lock it before venturing out. As a result, we could not get in our room for over 12 hours, and gave up half of the next day waiting for the maintenance man to come unlock it for us. When we politely questioned the manager, she cursed us out in Spanish, not realizing we understood what she was saying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: the hostels location was ideal, close to the airport and downtown area of ft lauderdale. I stayed at a dorm with other travelers and had a very nice time. The girl that works there is very helpful and friendly. I enjoyed the look of the hostel

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lilian Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Lilian would recommend this property

Liked: the room was clean and nicely decorated. we enjoyed the garden and meeeting other travelers. the staff was friendly we had a good experience

Disliked: Lilian left no negative feedback.