HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House

Hostel | 506 SE 16th Street, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA 33316

76.7% Overall Rating

60 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Stas Andreiko thinks…

"the hostel was great for the price. it had everything we expected and the vibe was very inviting. the dorm was clean and nicely decorated."

Read all The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

All International guests must have a valid passport or ID upon checking in. For US travelers: A must of 2 Photo ID will be needed: - Driver's license & Social Security Card. - Student ID & Driver's license. **At Certain Times Of the year we will require full payment via Credit Card due to high season - September 15 - April 15** **Taxes not included** **A $5 key deposit is required** **Check In is from 3pm - 9pm. If you will be checking in after hours, your remaining balance plus tax and the key deposit will be charged to the card used for booking** **14 day cancellation notice is required for refunds** **No refunds on holidays regardless of notice**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort Lauderdale?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort Lauderdale

The Bridge at Cordova Diver's Hostel and Hotel
30.00 USD

Hostel 79.5% 69 reviews
Deauville Hostel and Crewhouse
35.00 USD

Hostel 86.3% 105 reviews
Hollywood Beach Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 76.3% 54 reviews
Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
79.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hollywood Gateway Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 52.1% 4 reviews
Ramada Plaza
34.50 USD

Hotel 5 star 75.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

60 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stas Andreiko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Stas would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was great for the price. it had everything we expected and the vibe was very inviting. the dorm was clean and nicely decorated.

Disliked: Stas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ji Na Bai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Ji Na would recommend this property

Liked: it was an awesome hostel with a lot of fun people and good facilities. for the price it had everything and more than we expected. the room was nice and spacious. the hostel is also very centric and in a convenient location. the workers are really kind and helpful.

Disliked: Ji Na left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Mackie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: cool place to stay in fort lauderdale, nice people atmosphere and the room was nice.

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter James

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and free parking. Close to convention center

Disliked: had to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The room was everything we expected. it was clean and nice looking. We enjoyed the ambiance of the hostel. The amenities are free wifi and parking which is really good.

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica dove

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the chocolate because the amenities are perfect, the rooms are clean and nice looking and the people were friendly

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Davina Lemm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2014

Liked: The concept of apartments instead of dorms and the possibility to cook own stuff in the kitchen.

Disliked: The Apartment was very dirty. Nobody cleaned anything before we came there. The toilet was so dirty that we felt like getting ill using it. In addition we had to pay 20 dollars more than hostelbookers said, because they didn't include the taxes on their page at hostelbookers. In all other hostels we stayed at in America they included the taxes.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff Service

Disliked: Bed are desconfortable

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fact that you could meet a wide variety of people from tourists, travelers to regulars just living there. If you can rent the whole dorm for you and your group then it's a good option.

Disliked: The place lets rooms to people who stay there for long periods of time and they don't take care of their rooms. The one I stayed in was absolute FILTH, wouldn't wish it upon anyone!!! They need a cleaner there badly (at least for tourists' rooms, as I'm sure the locals have cheaper rates).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference

08 February 2014

Liked: It's cheap.

Disliked: The office is so messy.It smells cigarette all over the place.So noisy at night with loud music in front of the building.People are drinking with you enter the facility.There should have a separate room for customers who have service dogs.The office did not informed anybody in the room that we had a room mate with a service dog that smells so bad.My room mate just woke up coughing,could hardly breath,scratching her face because she was allergic of dogs.I supposed to have two beds with my daughter.When we got there,we put some of our stuffs on the bed and we went out for dinner.When we get back to our room,one of our beds was out of bed cover and pillow.The lady who had a dog took our bed sheets .My daughter and I slept in one bed.Same lady was so insensitive with the other room mates.She kept her cellphone ringing and would not turn it off.We complained the next day to the front desk about the dog and the bed and she didn't gave a damn.She was even arrogant.It was a terrible experience.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Karen Jensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: lots off kind guests....those who stay for a longer time. So kind and vere helpfull

Disliked: I think the kitchen need to be filled up...there were no cubs!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Hurtt

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 January 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Chocolate Hostel Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33316 is a moden style apartment building with pool, central air conditining and all modern facilities. Has two bedroom apt style rooms as private one room or semi-private one room with shared common kitchen, bath, living room. Or many dorm rooms are available. James H.

Disliked: I have been coming through Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33316 for many years and stay at Chocolate Hostel formerly known as Bridge II and nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

damon albarn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2014 damon would recommend this property

Liked: cool vibe and really nice people and staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donovan Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2014 Donovan would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and cortyard - free parking and wifi - nice decorated rooms

Disliked: Donovan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2014 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: had a grill to use and we had an impromptu bbq! Keith makes awesome smoked bbq chicken.

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nancy phillips

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 January 2014 nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Movie night rocks. room 12 was was mad cute. will stay here again. Staff is super chill.

Disliked: nancy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

terry lane

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2014 terry would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, laid back atmosphere. close to most everything

Disliked: terry left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Casey

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The Pool, how close it is to the airport and port everglades

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian DLC

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, close to beach, stores, and nightclubs, plus it was a bus away from the FLL airport. My room, while shared, was quite large, and I had a full kitchen to use for breakfast. The night I arrived, some guest were barbequing, and they invited me to eat with them. Very friendly people, and great environment overall.

Disliked: Nothing. Nest time, I'll like to stay in Ft. Lauderdale for more days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imogen Honig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: loved the atmosphere, the style of the room, the kitchen and cool looking reception

Disliked: the parking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Groucho Haval

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2013 Groucho would recommend this property

Liked: really close to airport. neat location that is really walk-able for South Florida. People from all over

Disliked: Groucho left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petey Geitner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2013 Petey would recommend this property

Liked: Cute girls work in the office, they play music, real chill spot. Bonus, there is a pool and free parking.

Disliked: Petey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Dialberto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe and the dorm apartment. It was really close to the airport and main attractions in the town. Recommended for all backpackers

Disliked: Dean left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julianna Gaarivaldi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Julianna would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe was pretty cool. the rooms were clean and artsy.

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert conner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 robert would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment style option, the kitchen was very convenient, and the pool was fun ! I met a lot of different travelers from all over the world. The atmosphere was bohemian and inviting

Disliked: robert left no negative feedback.