We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chocolate Hostel & Crew House

Hostel | 506 SE 16th Street, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA 33316

82.2% Overall Rating

92 out of 142 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2015)

"Buses are close, 45 minutes walk to the beach. Lot's of restaurant because it is next to two main streets. Some helpful staff."

Read all The Chocolate Hostel & Crew House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

All International guests must have a valid passport or ID upon checking in. For US travelers: A must of 2 Photo ID will be needed: - Driver's license & Social Security Card. - Student ID & Driver's license. **At Certain Times Of the year we will require full payment via Credit Card due to high season - September 15 - April 15** **Taxes not included** **A $5 key deposit is required** **Check In is from 3pm - 9pm. If you will be checking in after hours, your remaining balance plus tax and the key deposit will be charged to the card used for booking** **14 day cancellation notice is required for refunds** **No refunds on holidays regardless of notice**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort Lauderdale?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort Lauderdale

The Bridge at Cordova Diver's Hostel and Hotel
30.00 USD

Hostel 70.3% 77 reviews
Deauville Hostel and Crewhouse
35.00 USD

Hostel 87.4% 108 reviews
Hollywood Beach Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 76.3% 61 reviews
Hollywood Gateway Inn
45.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 52.1% 4 reviews
Ramada Plaza
42.50 USD

Hotel 5 star 75.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

92 out of 142 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chocolate Hostel & Crew House'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 109 of 125 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2015

Liked: Buses are close, 45 minutes walk to the beach. Lot's of restaurant because it is next to two main streets. Some helpful staff.

Disliked: bathrooms were filthy. Rooms not clean. Rude staff, seems like we disturb them everytime we asked questions. Ran out of toilet paper. No kitchen ustensil (1 bol. 2 spoons, 1 water glass, 1 plate, 2 cups...and we were 6 sleeping and eating there). Shaddy guest that seems to live there. This is not an hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ana Filipa Silva Lopes

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 January 2015

Liked: They were very nice letting me spend the night without paying first as I checked-in late. I asked a few questions via e-mail and they were attencious answering them. The indications they gave me really helped me getting into the place. Good location.

Disliked: Next morning I wanted to pay and check-out and there was no one in there! I waited from 9am until 11am. I called them and sent emails but never got an answer. Dirty place.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fine.

Disliked: It seems to be more of a long-stay place for people looking to live in the area.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Crew members, security, uncared and small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: had a million questions and they were super helpful and patient even though the office was busy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: late check in was easy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lights and music in the garden at night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Sharks

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

18 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the pool and the music

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Pinkerman

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

18 September 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! Cool Music with a cool group of people

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool people! Super friendly staff, and just all around great!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Kring

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: The property has a great atmosphere with great music. I enjoyed hanging out by the pool.

Disliked: nothing! :)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

09 September 2014

Liked: I had a room to myself and it was a decent size and would be comfortable for 2 people. If the dorm rooms are the same size, I hop there aren't too many beds or it will be very cramped!

Disliked: You can't "lounge" by the pool very comfortably. Part of the area is tarmac'd and was boiling hot to walk on. The pool was not very clean - lots of leaves. There are no proper loungers by the pool for sunbathing. The office "hours" are 9am till 12pm then 3pm till 9pm. The office did not open till 4.30pm when I wanted to check in. There didn't appear any way to adjust the air con and it only appeared to be the lounge/kitchen area of the apartment. There was no hot water in the shower. There weren't proper curtains in the bedroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: interesting and eccentric place. very bohemian

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool courtyard and pool area. funky eclectic place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I couldn't figure out how to work the shower (apparently in the states you have to PULL to work them), so I went down to the office. The girl sent the maintenance guy right away and he showed me that it wasn't broken. They were relly nice about it even though I was just doing it wrong, haha.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance to lots of restaurants/bars and shops

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the pool and community grill

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Front desk girl helped me get a rental car for cheaper was informative about local places to see. They don't push the over priced tour packages here which is nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stello Vargas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Stello would recommend this property

Liked: the room, the pool and garden was really nice.

Disliked: The key was a little hard

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

georgina savella

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 August 2014 georgina would recommend this property

Liked: the room was what we expected. the kitchen was really convenient and clean. Mia was cool and helpful.

Disliked: one day it rained and the outside parking lot got a little flooded. we got the floor in our room dirty but thankfully housekeeping was helpful and cleaned it up for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco L'orealle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: a friend who stayed at this hostel recommended it to me. I can truly say it was a very cool spot. Definitely recommended to travel minded travelers.

Disliked: Marco left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's more like an apartment than a room. You have many space and your own TV room.

Disliked: You don't meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deniro Mauro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Deniro would recommend this property

Liked: They offer a lot of activities to do, great hostel to stay if yoy are Traveling alone but also if you are with friends!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Hagen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome experience. Staff is great and plans a lot of group activities. Great location.

Disliked: the parking lot was flooded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Berit Gubbel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Berit would recommend this property

Liked: the dorm accommodation was clean and looked good. the staff was very helpful unlike the staff in other hostels in Miami.

Disliked: n/a