HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Deauville Hostel and Crewhouse

Hostel | 2916 North Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA 33308

86.3% Overall Rating

94 out of 105 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Suzanne Carter thinks…

"Very good value for money. Single room was an immaculate apartment with comfortable bed, perfect temperature, really hot water, clean pool,. Dennis was great! I'll come back!"

Read all Deauville Hostel and Crewhouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Office hours are from 8am to 8pm; check in hours are from 2:00pm to 10:00pm - if a later check-in is requested, please email or call prior to making a reservation. Please note guest cannot stay longer than 14 nights within 90 days period.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort Lauderdale?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort Lauderdale

The Bridge at Cordova Diver's Hostel and Hotel
30.00 USD

Hostel 79.5% 69 reviews
The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House
30.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 101 reviews
Ramada Plaza
34.50 USD

Hotel 5 star 75.2% 3 reviews
Hollywood Beach Hostel
19.83 USD

Hostel 76.3% 54 reviews
Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
79.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hollywood Gateway Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 52.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

94 out of 105 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Deauville Hostel and Crewhouse'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 85 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Carter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money. Single room was an immaculate apartment with comfortable bed, perfect temperature, really hot water, clean pool,. Dennis was great! I'll come back!

Disliked: I couldn't figure out the TV but I don't really watch TV.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners and employees, practical kitchen

Disliked: Location as a crew house

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the community-feel of it. It was very secure and only entry to the property was via key. I stayed in an all girls dorm, 4 beds. The bunks are old, but my bed was comfortable. The room was kind of weird in that you had to go through the lounge to get to it, but the first entrance led to a short hallway between the bathroom and bedroom and then both of those rooms also had locks on it so it felt secure. The bathroom is big compared to other hostels I've been to as well as the shower and very clean. The manager was very, very friendly, helpful, and attentive to my requests and needs. I originally booked a room for a friend and myself and she ended up not being able to come and the manager rebooked my room and called me each time to follow up with me before I got to the hostel. 2 blocks from beach. I had a car so traveling where I wanted was not an issue.

Disliked: There was hair in my bedsheets and beach towel which is a huge pet peeve of mine (having strangers hair in sheets/towels), but it was obviously through the washing/drying process that it got stuck in there, but it was A LOT. If you're a clean freak like me, then you probably need to wash the dishes you're going to use before you use them because others don't always clean them right away and also probably aren't very sanitary when it comes to cooking with raw food on counters and such, but this goes for any hostel you go to. The lockers are very small and probably only big enough to stuff a backup in there, otherwise you keep your luggage in your room and with a lock on it in hopes that your roommates don't steal your luggage. Of course I didn't have problems with it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lech Pokutylovich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

03 November 2013 Lech would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful stay at The Hotel Deauville. The manager, Dennis, was really friendly and helpful. Anywhere I wanted to go, Dennis knew exactly which bus at what time… The hotel is just next to the beach and great restaurants around. By the way, if you go there, make sure to dine at The Greek Island. This is the cleanest hostel I’ve ever saw. All the beds and mattresses were brand new. Even the sheets and blankets were brand new and smelled fresh. The owners were there during my stay (they are from Canada) and I had the chance to meet them. They are full of energy and they are working hard to renovate their place. I will definitely come back here next year to see all the improvements they’ve done. Thank you Dennis, Carole and Andre.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raquel Zepeda

Alone

Relaxation/spa

26 June 2013 Raquel would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful, clean, and very friendly. I Loved it!

Disliked: Nothing. That I had to leave.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris McKnight

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty clean and there was a pool

Disliked: Unfortunately there was only one other guest + the owner/resident while I was there so the atmosphere was pretty non-existant! It is kind of off-season at the moment though. There was nothing really wrong with the place and I would stay here again - I slept well

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's good, but not great. Friendly staff and good location made this a good stay.

Disliked: Other hotels in the area are comparable in price, and offer better amenities.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best hostels i have ever stayed in my life! it provides you a home environment... very clean and safe. the owners are also just amazing individuals.

Disliked: the manager do not treat the customers well and sometimes he's pretty unkind! if you dont have a car, it may be an issue to walk (30-40 mins) to the main beach and/or bars unless u dont mind walking or taking the bus whenever it runs...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Jeins

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at the hostel was really made great by the service and the camaraderie of the other guests! It was a really friendly place to stay, with clean comfy dorm and just a ense of feeling very much at home. I fact I increased my stay here by a further 3 nights as a result. The beach is a 2 minute walk away also. Great!

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Medina

Alone

Business / conference

14 July 2012 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: It has a pool and bicycle rentals.

Disliked: They do not provide breakfast.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen and common room area.

Disliked: A quieter hostel more for people staying on their own in private suites.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chris Olejko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent management, clean and safe environment, good price.

Disliked: While it is sort of unfair to mention this as it's out of their control, there is a crazy old man who is a long term resident and financial owner. He's incredibly selfish and will kick tennants out of the common room so he can watch TV on what he considers in his own mind to be his TV, despite it being for guests. The management apologise for him and try and make your stay as enjoyable as possible, but it needed to be mentioned if you have a short temper for people like him.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuela Di Lisa

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

03 April 2012 Manuela would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere and extremely helpfull staff.

Disliked: Manuela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No typical hostel - more home and relaxed atmosphere. I loved it. It's clean and friendly. The beach is 2 mins away. What do you want more in Florida ?!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ruhige atmosphäre, nicht weit zum strand, die besten betten und matratzen die ich je in einem hostel hatte

Disliked: die bäder sind bissl überholungsbedürfdig

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed @ Deauville before. I always have a great tim there.The location is perfect. Deauville is a block away from the beach. They are about a 15 minute bus ride from downtown

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Adam Nowaczyk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful. Place is very silent if it is something that you are looking for.

Disliked: Too silent and calm. When I do backpacking I expect more fun in the hostel. But it's me. For someone else it might be advantage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ina Hellrung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 December 2011 Ina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful, many facilities like pool, kitchen, tv and even weights for workout.

Disliked: too far away from the center, there's nothing in this area, too quiet for me! but the hostel itself was nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is clean, quiet and close to the beach.

Disliked: This is definitely not the right place, if you want to party. The hostel itself is very quiet and it is 3 miles away from Las Olas Blvd. with all the bars and nightclubs. The manager - while very friendly - seams to want to organize everything - try to count all the informations signs on the hostel property. ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mara Dall

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Mara would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet, so I was able to have a good night's sleep (my top priority after a 24 hour trip), & Jeff, the manager, was friendly & welcoming & made it all so easy & relaxing. It's right near the beach, & with supermarket & eating facilities nearby, so very conveniently situated for a traveller. I had a great room with a comfortable bed & its own bathroom & kitchen, & consider it excellent value.

Disliked: No negative comments.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kieran Randell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly mixed crowd of guests. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable.

Disliked: Location, it's a bit out of town. If you don't have a car getting around is not easy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Floren

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

19 March 2011 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: I found Deauville Hostel safe, fun, and just a wonderful place to spend a week relaxing. The beach is two minutes away, the bus system is very navigable, and Jeff, the manager, was very hospitable and solicitous. It was fun meeting a lot of international visitors, and the long term residents were quick to help make you feel comfortable!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, very friendly staff, comfortable beds, nice beach just round the corner, safety

Disliked: Nothing that I dislike. A larger common room with plugs and tables convenient for laptops accessible overnight would be a great improvement. Also free tea and coffee would be fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its clean and the rooms have all the basics that you need for a comfortable stay.

Disliked: The aircon in the room was noisy and its far from all the action interms of yachting

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.