HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Everglades Hostel & Tours

Hostel | 20 SW 2nd AVE, Florida City, Florida, USA FL 33034

91.3% Overall Rating

56 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2014)

Stephanie Weber thinks…

"This hostel is a very unique place. It's got everything you could wish for. I wanted to stay for only 2 nights but ended up staying a little bit longer. I'd highly recommend staying here."

Read all Everglades Hostel & Tours reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 75.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

WE ARE LOCATED IN FLORIDA CITY! Florida City is the last City on the main land, in Miami Dade County, just before the Florida Keys begin. Public Transport drops off in front of the hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florida City?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

56 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Everglades Hostel & Tours'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 56 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Fabian Bindel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: location, awesome for the everglades. bad for miami :).

Disliked: Fabian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Weber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a very unique place. It's got everything you could wish for. I wanted to stay for only 2 nights but ended up staying a little bit longer. I'd highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

simon Cole

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous

Disliked: No downside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the better hostels I've stayed in. Awesome staff, great atmosphere, super facilities. Highly recommended as place to unwind on your way to the Keys or Everglades.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Moran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2013 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: It had an awesome tree house and a small pool with a waterfall. There is also a baby parrot that runs round and climbs onto your shoulder. As much pancakes as you can make for breakfast. The staff are the most helpful staff I have ever had the pleasure to meet at a hostel. They were really helpful in recommending things to do. They also do a taxi service which was really useful as we didn't have a car. This is the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: A little more expensive, but definitely worth it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

rotsukhon soontornjamon

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 rotsukhon would recommend this property

Liked: free parking

Disliked: They move me to another room after i stay there 2 night.i book for 3 nigth.i do not like that at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Breanna Schiller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 April 2013 Breanna would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was excellent - it's very chill, welcoming, and relaxing. The staff are incredible. The hostel and property were spotless. Bathrooms are nice and big. Air conditioning in the dorm. Free Wifi and it works well. DIY pancake breakfast. I highly recommend this hostel, and I will be back for sure.

Disliked: The attractiveness of the location is relative: it's a great base for going to the Keys and the Everglades. But if you're looking for a party and things to do, better stay in Miami, about 45 mins to an hour away. The dorms are resident access only, but I also would have liked lockers in them.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Parking available, fun atmosphere, low key

Disliked: Not enough out door showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This is the best place to stay at south Florida! Clean, friendly staff, cool people, lovely garden...!!! I highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Art Hirschel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Art would recommend this property

Liked: Very good in everything

Disliked: Nothing other than1 objoxious obama supporter spewing ignorance. Actually he hostel is one of best I have stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Landreneau

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Charming, lovely place, and I would visit again without a second thought

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Gregory

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place to stay! Quirky and very individual. The location is good in terms of it is very easy to get to the Keys...in terms of doing things in the evenings it's not so good as theres not much around. In saying that you don't need to go anywhere, hang out with the staff and other travellers and you'll have a great time. Stayed here an extra night after spending some time in Key West because the place is so cool! High recommendation

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ariane Psomotragos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 July 2012 Ariane would recommend this property

Liked: The fantastic laid back atmosphere and how much you can enjoy a place that was totally unexpected and lovely.

Disliked: Slightly harder to get to without your own transport but it was worth it

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathryn Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing. The people, both staff and other travellers, were fantastic. We felt at home right away. The gardens are beautiful. Fully equipped kitchen. The waterfall is really cool.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have lockers but all doors were secured so it wasn't too much of a problem.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was such a different place to standard hostels. Very outdoors themed with beautiful gardens. Best dorm rooms I've ever stayed in. So spacious with lounges and desks and all. Great place to relax (apart from the mosquitoes).

Disliked: You really should only come here if you have a car. It is easy to get to with public transport but there is nothing around the hostel or city and you need a car to get to the everglades. I came here because I thought everglades tours would be cheaper than from Miami but the only tour they have is $100 which was well above my price range so wasn't really worth me going there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The garden is beautiful, like a little oasis!! Its such a nice place to chill out and relax. The staff are so chilled out, and will drive you to local attractions for a reasonable price.

Disliked: The furniture is a bit worn and smelly. They allow children to stay which resulted in one very sleepless night when it screamed all night long!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, but you get everything what you need. Best value for the price. And the atosphere - priceless.

Disliked: Price, location, atmosphere, possibility to meet people all over the world - you are not closed in tour room, different from motel staying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandra Bergbauer

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

05 March 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Martin

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2012 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and accomodating. A great group of people there and we even enjoyed an acoustic solo performance of "Jesus Christ Super Star" in the garden by one of their regular traveling guests. We enjoyed staying so much we stopped again on our way back north out of the keys!

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ken Tenzer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Ken would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent hostel with a lot of facilities, well decorated and with a lot of character.

Disliked: It is a bit far from Miami but the hostel itself is in Florida City, in there it has an excelent location. When we stayed there the parking was full and we had to leave the car on the other street (not on the parking street just in front of the hostel).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Knopf

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Fourth time here, down from VT. Always enjoy this" urban oasis" while visiting the Everglades. Very Relaxing atmosphere, great staff that really makes you feel welcome! Highly Recommended!

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice atmosphere and staff

Disliked: bit long journey w/o a car

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

franca schell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 franca would recommend this property

Liked: casual exotic environment..back to the 60's feeling

Disliked: hiking the highways without sidewalks

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! It is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff and volunteers are amazing people who make you feel welcome and at home. The tours are fantastic - on my tour with Sean we came so close to an alligator!! It has been the highlight of my travels so far and I wish I could have stayed longer!! I can't wait to go back again!

Disliked: Nothing :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, great garden, relaxed ambiance

Disliked: -