HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Billie's Backpackers Hostel Fairbanks Hostel

2895 Mack Blvd, Fairbanks, USA

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 87%

Location 73%

Safety 87%

Staff 93%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

This property requires the CVV code of the credit card used for the booking. You need to provide this code directly to the property after the booking has been made.
In case you did not give the mandatory information within 24 hours, the property has the right to cancel your reservation. In that case, payments, such as the deposit, are non-refundable.

This is a hostel setting - meaning all areas are shared with other travelers. NO alcohol is permitted. Please observe quiet time in the sleeping area; please clean up after yourselves and respect others’ space and property.

We are happy to accommodate late-night check-ins, but we ask that you let us know the time of day that you expect to check-in by adding it to your booking or request message to us. If you are planning to check in between the hours of midnight and 7am, please be sure that you are booking the prior day as the first day of your request or booking with us. We want to ensure that we will have your bed or your room ready for you.

Unfortunately, pets are not allowed; but please note that Billie has a pet pug dog named Franky. He is allowed into the hostel for SHORT visits on occasion. If you do not like small dogs, this may not be a comfortable place for you.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fairbanks?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 87%

Location 73%

Safety 87%

Staff 93%

Value 90%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: ohhh my god. This hostels was soooo nice. It has a very unique character. People managing the place are simply awesome... It makes you feel at home. This place was kind of unique. It is a must if you plan on staying in Fairbanks. Many types of accomodations... Guests were so friendly.

Disliked: Nothing but keep in mind you are quite far from downtown and that there is no bus service on sunday. You can borrow a bike from the hostel though!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Billie is a lovely host. the character and atmosphere in her hostel is wonderful and awesome.

Disliked: only the distance from the hostel to the city centre

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This property is comfortable and family orientated

Disliked: Little too far from downtown very few buses on weekend

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The mix of people, the relaxed atmosphere, the kitchen/sitting room, Billie's kindness and helpfulness

Disliked: nothing, everything was simply great.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved how homely it feels. Billies made it a home for those on the road :-)

Disliked: Small kitchen for amount of guests staying. Really have to time when to cook food.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Feels like I'm home. So cozy and warm place.

Disliked: If there're more kitchen tools or dishes like bowl, it'd be more comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: lots of scientists, long term stayers who have interesting things to talk about, the place is very very homey and billie takes good care of you.

Disliked: how lazy young travellers are at cleaning up after themselves

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Billie was fabulous, welcoming me to Fairbanks. She treated everyone as if they were guests in her home, and her hostel is a delight. The kitchen was well stocked with several restaurants close by as well as a Farmer's Market to find local products. A great place to meet people from all over the world interested in exploring the last frontier.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Billie and her staff were all very helpful and willing to help at all hours. Billie was willing to work with me and my fickle schedule, and I really appreciated her helpfulness. The kitchen was of a nice size and had lots of cooking and eating utensils available. The bathroom was cleaned everyday and overall the hostel was very clean. It is located less than a block away from the bus stop, which is also on the corner of Take 5 Coffeeshop, and the two bus lines take you all around the city and drop you off in front of the grocery store. Billie's is a mile away from some really great restaurants, a local bookstore, and a sports gear store.

Disliked: There was no space for locking up valuables, but luckily I had no problems. Also, some of the beds are located in what seems like an old living room, so my bed was next to the bathroom. I had earplugs, otherwise the sounds of people using the bathroom at all hours of the night and closing and opening doors would have bothered me.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and 24 hour kitchen.

Disliked: Wifi was down for the entire week I was there. Squeaky floorboards and shaky beds. I had my reservation prior arrival but it was still overbooked?! We had to wait over an hour before we could get to our rooms. I was told to shift to another room after staying there for 4 nights because that was someone's room?? Bed was fixed only after I left? Owner took out my sheets with my phone in it and nearly threw it into the washer. I was not given new sheets for my new bed.

Check Availability