We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Billie's Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 2895 Mack Road, Fairbanks, Alaska, USA 99709

79.1% Overall Rating

36 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2014)

"The mix of people, the relaxed atmosphere, the kitchen/sitting room, Billie's kindness and helpfulness"

Read all Billie's Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fairbanks?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fairbanks

9th Ave Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 98.3% 10 reviews
Glacier House
17.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.2% 7 reviews
Chandalar Ranch
37.50 USD

Hostel 80.3% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

36 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Billie's Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
64.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

helen penny

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014

Liked: This property is comfortable and family orientated

Disliked: Little too far from downtown very few buses on weekend

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The mix of people, the relaxed atmosphere, the kitchen/sitting room, Billie's kindness and helpfulness

Disliked: nothing, everything was simply great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristie-Lee Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Kristie-Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how homely it feels. Billies made it a home for those on the road :-)

Disliked: Small kitchen for amount of guests staying. Really have to time when to cook food.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like I'm home. So cozy and warm place.

Disliked: If there're more kitchen tools or dishes like bowl, it'd be more comfortable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

carmen major

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 carmen would recommend this property

Liked: lots of scientists, long term stayers who have interesting things to talk about, the place is very very homey and billie takes good care of you.

Disliked: how lazy young travellers are at cleaning up after themselves

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Billie was fabulous, welcoming me to Fairbanks. She treated everyone as if they were guests in her home, and her hostel is a delight. The kitchen was well stocked with several restaurants close by as well as a Farmer's Market to find local products. A great place to meet people from all over the world interested in exploring the last frontier.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nicole Machuca

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 December 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Billie and her staff were all very helpful and willing to help at all hours. Billie was willing to work with me and my fickle schedule, and I really appreciated her helpfulness. The kitchen was of a nice size and had lots of cooking and eating utensils available. The bathroom was cleaned everyday and overall the hostel was very clean. It is located less than a block away from the bus stop, which is also on the corner of Take 5 Coffeeshop, and the two bus lines take you all around the city and drop you off in front of the grocery store. Billie's is a mile away from some really great restaurants, a local bookstore, and a sports gear store.

Disliked: There was no space for locking up valuables, but luckily I had no problems. Also, some of the beds are located in what seems like an old living room, so my bed was next to the bathroom. I had earplugs, otherwise the sounds of people using the bathroom at all hours of the night and closing and opening doors would have bothered me.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012

Liked: Clean and 24 hour kitchen.

Disliked: Wifi was down for the entire week I was there. Squeaky floorboards and shaky beds. I had my reservation prior arrival but it was still overbooked?! We had to wait over an hour before we could get to our rooms. I was told to shift to another room after staying there for 4 nights because that was someone's room?? Bed was fixed only after I left? Owner took out my sheets with my phone in it and nearly threw it into the washer. I was not given new sheets for my new bed.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rainer Stalvik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2011 Rainer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful staff

Disliked: Far away from Downtown. You, more or less, need a car to stay here

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alana Bain

16 October 2009 Alana would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely. Billie was very friendly and her two dogs were so cute! The location isn't that good - too far to walk anywhere in town. The room was always too hot for me!

Disliked: Alana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Masami Fujii

13 March 2009 Masami would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great! I could meet a lot of great people!!

Disliked: Masami left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Phillips

25 February 2009 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The lady (Billy) who runs the hostel was wonderful, absolutely recommend this hostel she has help from locals who offer fantastic advice on the "things to do/how to get places etc"

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joy Robinson

06 January 2009 Joy would recommend this property

Liked: Billie gave me the WARMEST getting I have ever gotten at a Hostel. She showed me where to stay, introduced me to the other visitors and made me feel welcome.

Disliked: Joy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere! some of them are so kind and friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

FUMITERU MURATA

03 October 2008

Liked: Friendly & Kindly owner.Free WIFI, Coffee.

Disliked: FUMITERU left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen McClure

14 September 2008 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excellent. Sarah and Bill made sure I had enough blankets and went out of their way to give me helpful advice about the area.

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Simon Petrovcic

22 August 2008 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. I liked the option that you can rent free bikes.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: meeting so many different nationallitiescyclists bikers and car renters

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Seligman

20 June 2008 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is outstanding, and you do not only see turists, but also people from Alaska who come for a few days to Anchorage. Everybody, the owner and the guests are extremely helpful and you feel in family. The internet acess is very good and fast, both using your own notebook or the hostels computer. As mentioned, it is free.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice owner

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet place to be, out of town, but near the Uni bar which is convenient since you can't really drink in the place. Having car is definitely recommended. Not exactly fun, but Billie is nice and the place feels very homely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Tonks

25 November 2007 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It's very much like a home from home. It's homely and friendly and Billie likes to keep it that way.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 October 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and cozyness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 August 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people running it were friendly and really obliging. Lovely atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.