HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Billie's Backpackers Hostel Fairbanks Hostel

2895 Mack Blvd, Fairbanks, USA

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 84%

Location 72%

Safety 86%

Staff 92%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fairbanks?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 84%

Location 72%

Safety 86%

Staff 92%

Value 88%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This property is comfortable and family orientated

Disliked: Little too far from downtown very few buses on weekend

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The mix of people, the relaxed atmosphere, the kitchen/sitting room, Billie's kindness and helpfulness

Disliked: nothing, everything was simply great.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved how homely it feels. Billies made it a home for those on the road :-)

Disliked: Small kitchen for amount of guests staying. Really have to time when to cook food.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Feels like I'm home. So cozy and warm place.

Disliked: If there're more kitchen tools or dishes like bowl, it'd be more comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: lots of scientists, long term stayers who have interesting things to talk about, the place is very very homey and billie takes good care of you.

Disliked: how lazy young travellers are at cleaning up after themselves

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Billie was fabulous, welcoming me to Fairbanks. She treated everyone as if they were guests in her home, and her hostel is a delight. The kitchen was well stocked with several restaurants close by as well as a Farmer's Market to find local products. A great place to meet people from all over the world interested in exploring the last frontier.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Billie and her staff were all very helpful and willing to help at all hours. Billie was willing to work with me and my fickle schedule, and I really appreciated her helpfulness. The kitchen was of a nice size and had lots of cooking and eating utensils available. The bathroom was cleaned everyday and overall the hostel was very clean. It is located less than a block away from the bus stop, which is also on the corner of Take 5 Coffeeshop, and the two bus lines take you all around the city and drop you off in front of the grocery store. Billie's is a mile away from some really great restaurants, a local bookstore, and a sports gear store.

Disliked: There was no space for locking up valuables, but luckily I had no problems. Also, some of the beds are located in what seems like an old living room, so my bed was next to the bathroom. I had earplugs, otherwise the sounds of people using the bathroom at all hours of the night and closing and opening doors would have bothered me.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and 24 hour kitchen.

Disliked: Wifi was down for the entire week I was there. Squeaky floorboards and shaky beds. I had my reservation prior arrival but it was still overbooked?! We had to wait over an hour before we could get to our rooms. I was told to shift to another room after staying there for 4 nights because that was someone's room?? Bed was fixed only after I left? Owner took out my sheets with my phone in it and nearly threw it into the washer. I was not given new sheets for my new bed.

Check Availability