HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Eugene Whiteaker Hostel Eugene Hostel

970 West 3rd Avenue, Eugene, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 79%

Safety 82%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Parking
  • Steam room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Eugene?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 79%

Safety 82%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The neighborhood is funky and it's close to the river and the walking paths. Walkable to downtown but unenviable in the rain with luggage, but bus stops are nearby. Bed was ok but pillow was uncomfortable. En suite facilities were a pleasant surprise and the hostel was quite clean. It would be nice if the cubbyholes could be locked. Breakfast was a nice amenity but the selection was unimpressive. Staff always on hand and helpful.

Disliked: While the bottom bunk is high enough you can put your bags underneath it, the top bunk is rather low. Makes sense on the second floor with the sloping roof, but with no other furniture in the room the only other place to sit is the floor. A chair would make a big difference.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Atmosphere and staff are simply amazing. Especially the staff was super helpful with any questions I had, ranging from where to go to the super market, to whether to buy a car or not.. Al though the hostel was quite empty when I was there the atmosphere was still very nice and made it easy to get to know other travellers, exactly what you want in a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere, nice staff.

Disliked: Nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Use of kitchen facilities. Friendliness.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break

Liked: The bathrooms and kitchen were clean and tidy, staff were friendly.

Disliked: Smelled like vomit and dogs, staff could not be bothered with helping me after an 8 hour long trip. Sheets were dirty (literally there was dirt and grass inside the sheets) and smelled strongly of tobacco smoke and urine.


The property's response is

Nassima,

I'm truly sorry for your experience. I certainly had no idea of the situation and am surprised that my staff wasn't able to make time to help you. Could you please tell me who was working at the time so I can make the necessary adjustments. We don't allow pets, so it must have been an unauthorized situation. Again.. I'm very sorry but appreciate the candid response.

Sincerely,

Mac

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: cool, very Eugene

Disliked: nada

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great tips to visit the area, nice atmosphere and people, comfortable beds, great common room, plenty of information available, laundry service

Disliked: Noise of the train nearby, in the middle of the night. Lack of light in rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Value choice.

Disliked: The location is maybe not the best but isn't bad.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place to stay; fits pergedtly to Eugene

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel was warm and accommodating as was the manager. Actually I wish I could have stayed longer than one night.

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability