We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Eugene hostels

Reviews of Eugene Whiteaker International Hostels

Hostel | 970 West 3rd, Eugene, Oregon, USA 97402

87.4% Overall Rating

75 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

"Great tips to visit the area, nice atmosphere and people, comfortable beds, great common room, plenty of information available, laundry service"

Read all Eugene Whiteaker International Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Eugene?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

75 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Eugene Whiteaker International Hostels'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 63 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHAEL DRAPER

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 September 2014 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: cool, very Eugene

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great tips to visit the area, nice atmosphere and people, comfortable beds, great common room, plenty of information available, laundry service

Disliked: Noise of the train nearby, in the middle of the night. Lack of light in rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value choice.

Disliked: The location is maybe not the best but isn't bad.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Reinhold Waltenberger

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Reinhold would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay; fits pergedtly to Eugene

Disliked: Reinhold left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brendan Holland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, small hostel for a short stay

Disliked: The neighborhood is part of the old Eugene, which at night isn't well lit and doesn't feel nice. I only had a night stopping over and this hostel was fine for that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was warm and accommodating as was the manager. Actually I wish I could have stayed longer than one night.

Disliked: N/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

catherine Skinner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: If your lookin for somethin different this is the place to come,,, friendly hostel and cheap did the job :-)

Disliked: catherine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful time at the hostel! Thanks for you all being so nice. I really enjoyed the stay and had a wonderful thanksgiving potluck with you:)

Disliked: Nothing!!:)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcome, relaxed atmosphere. Plenty of good places to eat just a short walk away if you arrive late and hungry! Probably a more laid back feel than in downtown.

Disliked: I was advised when I asked for directions not to look lost in that area of town in the evening! But that was more than compensated by my easy access to the river for running in the morning. Seemed a pleasant enough residential area,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy going staff. Fairly short walk to downtown Eugene. Nice facilities and they were very accommodating as I arrived very late at night due to a delayed flight. Would stay again next time I go to Eugene.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Cozy, but definitely what I expected.

Disliked: Nada

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ian Thomson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. In the vicinity of so many amazing things to see/do, people to meet, and plenty around the hostel to keep you busy if you feel like staying in.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 May 2013

Liked: it was nice to stay in an actual house

Disliked: The bed was VERY soft, the room was dirty, the bathroom was moldy, the house overall was dirty and not cared for.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: Far away from downtown, dodgy neighborhood

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason allen

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 December 2012 jason would recommend this property

Liked: it was very quite.!!!

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere. Got to meet lots of the other guests.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: gemütliche Atmosphäre, mit Räumlichkeiten und Garten zum Chillen

Disliked: nichts

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chelsea Goodrich

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

26 June 2012 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Very funky location :) staff is very helpful and nice.

Disliked: N/a

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2012

Liked: We only stayed one night, but it looked like good fun. The other people seemed to be having a good time together. The dog of one of the workers is adorable. The staff are great, friendly, and very helpful.

Disliked: Our room stunk of urine or something similar, even the blankets. When we first got into the house where our room was, the door to our room was wide open. My guess is someone was trying to air it out. Didn't work. Even if it did, though, not safe. Anyone could have just walked in. We checked the room to make sure everything was okay in there before officially putting our stuff down and settling in for the night. The walls were paper thin and I felt bad but I had to ask a group of people just talking on the porch to keep it down because I could hear everything so loud and clear. A hole in the door lock was only blocked by an inserted piece of cardboard. The bed was dented in the middle, the person I was sharing with and I each kept falling toward the middle of the bed through the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. You feel like you're staying at someone's house. It's pretty small, and really laid back, but that just suits Eugene perfectly. Great little town with an awesome vibe. They have all sorts of random stuff, like a couple of mandolins, a guitar, foozeball table, darts, and they have a campfire outside, which they use on some nights. They also have a computer you can use, and provide pancakes and oatmeal for breakfast. About 20 minute walk from the centre of town, close to the river, and a great supermarket just 3 blocks away. Awesome place just to chill out :)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jake Jeffers

25 April 2010 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean rooms/beds, awesome mini cinema, darts board and fussball - great character with a cool owner.

Disliked: Jake left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LI WEN LEE

20 March 2010 LI WEN would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVE it very much:)It is a wonderful place for rest after a hectic day!!!!!

Disliked: LI WEN left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Todd

22 December 2009 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little hostel, bit of a walk into the city but was a nice place... I only stayed one night in the end as I ended up meeting up with a traveler I met in Seattle, but I would definitely stay here again

Disliked: Siobhan left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

08 October 2009

Liked: The worst part about the stay was the closing of the common area and kitchen at 10pm so you either have to sit outside, go out or go to sleep. The staff was doing their laundry and the bedding for the hostel and I was not able to do laundry for the 4 days I stayed. The staff did not know much about the area and was not very helpful with directions. They had no mass transit information available. I would not recommend this hostel to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and in a pretty area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Eugene hostels