HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Eugene hostels

Reviews of Eugene Whiteaker International Hostels

Hostel | 970 West 3rd, Eugene, Oregon, USA 97402

84.0% Overall Rating

67 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/12/2013)

"I had a wonderful time at the hostel! Thanks for you all being so nice. I really enjoyed the stay and had a wonderful thanksgiving potluck with you:)"

Read all Eugene Whiteaker International Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Eugene?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

67 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Eugene Whiteaker International Hostels'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 55 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful time at the hostel! Thanks for you all being so nice. I really enjoyed the stay and had a wonderful thanksgiving potluck with you:)

Disliked: Nothing!!:)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcome, relaxed atmosphere. Plenty of good places to eat just a short walk away if you arrive late and hungry! Probably a more laid back feel than in downtown.

Disliked: I was advised when I asked for directions not to look lost in that area of town in the evening! But that was more than compensated by my easy access to the river for running in the morning. Seemed a pleasant enough residential area,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy going staff. Fairly short walk to downtown Eugene. Nice facilities and they were very accommodating as I arrived very late at night due to a delayed flight. Would stay again next time I go to Eugene.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Cozy, but definitely what I expected.

Disliked: Nada

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ian Thomson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. In the vicinity of so many amazing things to see/do, people to meet, and plenty around the hostel to keep you busy if you feel like staying in.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 May 2013

Liked: it was nice to stay in an actual house

Disliked: The bed was VERY soft, the room was dirty, the bathroom was moldy, the house overall was dirty and not cared for.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: Far away from downtown, dodgy neighborhood

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason allen

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 December 2012 jason would recommend this property

Liked: it was very quite.!!!

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere. Got to meet lots of the other guests.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: gemütliche Atmosphäre, mit Räumlichkeiten und Garten zum Chillen

Disliked: nichts

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chelsea Goodrich

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

26 June 2012 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Very funky location :) staff is very helpful and nice.

Disliked: N/a

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2012

Liked: We only stayed one night, but it looked like good fun. The other people seemed to be having a good time together. The dog of one of the workers is adorable. The staff are great, friendly, and very helpful.

Disliked: Our room stunk of urine or something similar, even the blankets. When we first got into the house where our room was, the door to our room was wide open. My guess is someone was trying to air it out. Didn't work. Even if it did, though, not safe. Anyone could have just walked in. We checked the room to make sure everything was okay in there before officially putting our stuff down and settling in for the night. The walls were paper thin and I felt bad but I had to ask a group of people just talking on the porch to keep it down because I could hear everything so loud and clear. A hole in the door lock was only blocked by an inserted piece of cardboard. The bed was dented in the middle, the person I was sharing with and I each kept falling toward the middle of the bed through the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. You feel like you're staying at someone's house. It's pretty small, and really laid back, but that just suits Eugene perfectly. Great little town with an awesome vibe. They have all sorts of random stuff, like a couple of mandolins, a guitar, foozeball table, darts, and they have a campfire outside, which they use on some nights. They also have a computer you can use, and provide pancakes and oatmeal for breakfast. About 20 minute walk from the centre of town, close to the river, and a great supermarket just 3 blocks away. Awesome place just to chill out :)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jake Jeffers

25 April 2010 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean rooms/beds, awesome mini cinema, darts board and fussball - great character with a cool owner.

Disliked: Jake left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LI WEN LEE

20 March 2010 LI WEN would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVE it very much:)It is a wonderful place for rest after a hectic day!!!!!

Disliked: LI WEN left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Todd

22 December 2009 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little hostel, bit of a walk into the city but was a nice place... I only stayed one night in the end as I ended up meeting up with a traveler I met in Seattle, but I would definitely stay here again

Disliked: Siobhan left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

08 October 2009

Liked: The worst part about the stay was the closing of the common area and kitchen at 10pm so you either have to sit outside, go out or go to sleep. The staff was doing their laundry and the bedding for the hostel and I was not able to do laundry for the 4 days I stayed. The staff did not know much about the area and was not very helpful with directions. They had no mass transit information available. I would not recommend this hostel to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and in a pretty area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacy Jeffrey-Howe

01 November 2008 Jacy would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a great, friendly and community oriented neighborhood.

Disliked: Jacy left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janice Nunn

26 October 2008 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: need 24 hour wi fi or at least not take it down all weekend....no lockers but neighborhood is good for car. Owner very socially aware and plugged in to local Eugene stuff and plays in a musical band of anarchists that practice there Thursday nights (this was a positive and nice music I found)

Disliked: Janice left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Wangsness

26 August 2008 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed, welcoming atmosphere. The hostel is in a residential area reminiscent of San Francisco's Haight Ashbury district in the 60's Very "old school" hippie. Being an old hippie myself, it was very nostalgic. There are also some fantastic eateries and an amazing health food store within walking distance. Loved it.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very friendly and gave great suggestions for restaurants, things to do near by.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Noack

06 August 2008 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Mac was AWESOME!!! I loved when he would just start singing, whenever! He and the people working were very kind. Always had answers to questions and if they didn't have the answer, they would get it! The other hostelers were great as well! It was my first time at a hostel and I could not have been more pleased that it was this one!!! I stayed in three this trip and I gotta tell ya, the Eugene Whiteaker Hostel was the BEST!!! Mac has made such a friendly and inviting environment there. I didn't want to leave! I ran into someone at a different hostel who had checked out of the Whiteaker the day I checked in and he said the same thing about it. He alsoloved it there so much that he stayed an extra few days. I highly recommend this hostel when passing through Eugene Oregon!! If you do, tell Mac Nicole says "Hi"!!!!! Also,try to make it a point to listen to him sing...he's great!!!

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner/manager was incredibly helpful and welcoming. We arrived during the Last Fridays Art Walk and there was music & art in the backyard. Its neighborhood is very relaxed, full of easygoing people and right next to a great park. Also, it is only a 15 minute walk to downtown Eugene.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 July 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its better than home.We liked it so much we extended our stay by 10 days.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Eugene hostels