We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dallas hostels

Reviews of The Wild, Wild West Dallas Irving Backpackers'

Hostel | 214 W. 6th. Str., Irving Dallas, Texas, USA 75060

80.3% Overall Rating

152 out of 174 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/12/2013)

Matthew Jorgenson thinks…

"affordable lodging for the dallas and fort worth areas. Fairly easy to find hostel in irving."

Read all The Wild, Wild West Dallas Irving Backpackers' reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dallas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dallas

Americas Best Value Inn
28.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
DFW Airport Hotel & Conference Center
22.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.7% 39 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
45.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
79.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Comfort Inn DFW Airport North
79.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
America's Best Value Midlothian Inn
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

152 out of 174 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Wild, Wild West Dallas Irving Backpackers''

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 118 of 128 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Jorgenson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: affordable lodging for the dallas and fort worth areas. Fairly easy to find hostel in irving.

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the only hostel in the Dallas - Fort Worth area that I could find. It has a decent kitchen and a nice backyard for chilling out.

Disliked: The mattresses are wrapped in a tarp-like plastic protector which makes them less comfortable and very noisy. The location makes it impossible to do anything a night without a car because cabs would be way too much ($70 to FW, $40 to Dallas, one-way) unless you are traveling with a car. In short, the place is fine, but the location isn't great, the mattress protectors are really annoying, and it could be priced a bit lower for what is offered. That said, there is no competition.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Carlos was a knowledgeable, generous and welcoming host. He made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay in Dallas interesting and really fun.

Disliked: No dislikes. Everything was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Carlos was extremely helpful with planning things to do and figuring out local transportation. Rooms and bathroom were clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location right on the lake, and about a 10 to 15 min bus ride into town. Definately buy the half price weekly pass from the hostel, so cheap for $4.50 and you'll get you monies worth!

Disliked: The price as per the hostel bookers confirmation was much cheaper than what is actually charged. Beware they charge 3 dollars per night extra if you are not a h.i member, plus a crazy 14 percent tax or something so it definately adds up!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and his friends are really nice. They drive you to places for a small fee ($20 to go downtown) and Carlos even would have driven us to the movie theatre for free as it was 50 Cent movie night. There are free bottles of water in the kitchen, the TV is nice and the backyard is inviting. I also appreciated that the house was in a safe area.

Disliked: The location. From the bus stop, I had to catch a tram and a train and walk a long way (especially in this heat), took me over 2 hours to get there.... I only had one night there and it was by far too far away from downtown for me to actually go and see Dallas. Also, the private room could only be entered through the dorm room and I was unlucky enough to have very loud travelers sleep there that kept on walking in and out while I tried to sleep.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful~!! The whole hostel is decorated with cowboy stuff~Full of Dallas atmosphere~! All stuff is clean~! But the room can be a little bit larger. I think the room can only contain two luggage. If four people also have their own luggages, the room will be very crowded. There is also Mcdonald and Burger King in front of the station. It is very good to have a cold drink there. Yet, dont go to Dallas on Sunday~!! All shops closed~!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Bridgeman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay because I got to experience something authentic in Texas, Carlos, who works at the hostel took us to a local country dancing event, something I never would have done without the recommendation. If you want some good memories for your trip go to this hostel!

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful owner, great people, fun activities, great atmosphere. The owners friend also took me to a gun range.

Disliked: Property a little old, location inconvenient for travelers who don't drive.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan the owner was very helpful, the Tre train was easily accessible to go to dallas amd fort worth, homely feel.

Disliked: Plastic sheets on the beds, lots of noise?!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suleman subhan

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 suleman would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Environment & Special Thanks to Carlos ( encyclopedia for dallas..:) for his suggestions n wonderful recommendation

Disliked: It was just perfect for me

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marine Airiau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013 Marine would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was amazing and folks so nice.

Disliked: Nothing, we had great time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good and friendly people

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert van der Veldt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really great time here. Great hosts. Carlos takes you everywhere and he is a great guy. People been complaining about having to pay for a ride to a saloon. Well I think its perfectly normal having to pay a couple of dollars for a long ride to a great bar. They know where to go, give you tips about cheap and good restaurants, and take you everywhere for a really fair price. This is a really great hostel and different from others. Is has a great atmosphere, no stupid rules, nice hosts, and they know where to go. Good prices for laundry, breakfast, store for beer and other stuff literally across the road. This hostel looks like its not here for making money, but for letting people having a good time. I was supposed to stay here for 5 days, ended up staying for more than two weeks. Next to the train station, every Thursday they go to a cowboy bar with cheap drinks and lots of people, mechanic bulls, take you to the shooting range if you would like to, and lots of other great things. If you want to get introduced to the real Texas go here! Best hostel I stayed at after 2,5 months of travelling the US.

Disliked: I liked everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Wang

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 December 2012 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: The host Ivan was such a great guy. I love the environment, the big back yard and awesome kitchen. The internet connection was lighting fast. The location is centrally located in the metro. It is a great place to meet travelers all over the world and still have a feeling staying at home. I came here the night before Thanksgiving and on Thanksgiving we had a big dinner like a family. It's a life time experience which I will never forget.

Disliked: Everything in this hostel was perfect !

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Varela

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: La atención de Carlos e Iván fue muy cordial. Sólo estuve un par de horas visitando el Downtown de la ciudad. No pude dormir en el hostel, pero parece un buen lugar para pasarla bien unos días, los recomiendo.

Disliked: Un detalle a tener en cuenta, en mi caso visité Dallas ya que tenía un vuelo en conexión a otro estado en la madrugada. Desde Wild Wild West Dallas no existe hoy ningún medio de transporte público al aeropuerto, un taxi minimamente cobra unos 30 dólares, superior al precio que pagué por este hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jasiyah Hasan

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 October 2012 Jasiyah would recommend this property

Liked: This place was well worth the cost. The location is downtown Irving about four block from TRE train, Light Rail and Dart. Just across the street from the down town Irving station are three fast food places to get a bite. There are two grocery stores near by within a short bus ride or a 15-20 min walk, and much much more. In the house there are two computers for your use for free--with WIFI access, or you can connect you own computer to the WIFI. Two washing machine and dryers that also free of charge and available for use at any time. A Big screen TV in the living room, so while you are cooking something to eat you can see the TV and enjoy conversation with everyone at the hostel computers; everyone at the picnic table and with everyone sitting out on the porch just out side smoking and enjoying Dallas seasonal weather. It is a small house but the owner packed everything to make your stay comfortable and affordable. About three bathrooms in this small house; about two rooms for the males with many bunk beds and one room for the females with two bunk beds. The owners are friendly and helpful and one of them is usually there or within a phone call away

Disliked: The main bathroom needs a good cleaning

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Rachel Bureau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012

Liked: I didn't really like the property, the people who atayed with me at the same time were fine.

Disliked: It's not clean. I stayed threee days and I didn't see anyone cleaning, you can tell by the same floor towel, the floor are really dirty, trashes are full... I actually just stayed there because it was the only cheap way to stay in Dallas but it's not secure, My wood bed broke and it was the top one. Fortunately, no one was under but it could have been really dangerous. There is no excuse for a supposed hostel to not check their beds and make sur everything works well.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012

Liked: free laundry. house decoration.

Disliked: the management was too casual. no 24-hr reception, but guests can call to ask for the code to the backdoor. host rather sleep than officially checking me in. though not their fault, trains and buses are not frequent enough. cockroaches at the front door the time i came home at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpfull

Disliked: Far away from the city

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Selene Fogarty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2012 Selene would recommend this property

Liked: I'm not usually one to leave reviews but thought this place deserved a special mention. Carlos was a fantastic host and went above and beyond what was expected to make everyone feel comfortable and had great knowledge of the area and things to do. I really enjoyed my stay in Dallas much more than I thought I would all because of this place! Do yourself a favour and stay here :)

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff, at our arrival Carlos told us about all the places to visit in Dalas and Fort Worth, great! Free Laundry! Nice house, very cozy, comfortable! Calm neighbourhood with everything you need!

Disliked: None

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan was a great host. Totally helpful, friendly and nice. The house is okay for backpackers, you can use everything in the house: 2 computers, complete kitchen, tablesoccer, laundry and dryer and a cool backyard with BBQ and basketball basket. If I stay in Dallas/Fort Worth again, I will stay in Irvings Backpacker House by Ivan.

Disliked: Unfortunetaly not that clean. It was okay but the house need a basic cleansing (especially the bathrooms). And the house definitely needs a new couch!!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Morgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, we met some great people! Carlos really looks after the guests here and has activities planned out for a whole week! We went to red river saloon which was fab, easily accessible from the train stop and not far from dallas. Bedrooms were great and everything was clean. BEST travellers place to stay in Dallas hands down.

Disliked: None


See all Dallas hostels