We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel

Hostel | 2407 Indiana Ave., Columbus, Ohio, USA 43202

93.5% Overall Rating

21 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

jeff robertson thinks…

"Location was great, rode bike into town which was very easy and not far. Staff were great-manager (rob) was very helpful. Close to party store with great beer selection. Liked that i was able to…"

Read all The Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Columbus?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

21 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.4%
Location
83.8%
Facilities
93.3%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
97.1%
Safety
97.1%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeff robertson

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2014 jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, rode bike into town which was very easy and not far. Staff were great-manager (rob) was very helpful. Close to party store with great beer selection. Liked that i was able to make coffee in the morning and it was a whole pot of good coffee. Very impressed, first time using a hostel. Will only stay there when in Columbus!!!

Disliked: Not applicable-liked everything about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best place I've ever stayed at!! Awsome and friendly people and just all arround good time!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great social scene, all facilities you'd want.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cute property with everything an ideal hostel should have, including bikes to borrow and homemade breads at the complimentary breakfast. I also appreciated how safe and secure it was.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying in Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel felt almost like staying home. The facility offered by fare more than I would have ever needed. Bed sheets and towels were perfectly clean. The staff was so very helpful and hospitable, that this alone would be reason enough to come back for another stay. On top of that, bicycles where available all day round (free) - quite convenient to get around for sightseeing or shopping.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierre & Damien Machiels

As a family with children

Business / conference

08 May 2013 Pierre & Damien would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful & friendly staff. Being here was, truly, like being among friends. My son & I were assisted in many ways in our early insertion into Columbus, receiving countless pointers & references. The property is maintained in a very satisfying state of cleanliness; very pro-active, and solution-geared management. leaving here is, quite frankly, a tearing experience!!

Disliked: Some evening noisiness, although normal given the youthful public!! I as an older man was the odd bird... :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsten Kyle

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2013 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, great people, breakfast included, low-key atmosphere, very helpful owner/staff, great communicaton, prompt attention

Disliked: There was parking behind, but with a tree to one side of the left-over spot and the fence behind, it was a bit of a challange to get in and out of it.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are nice and clean. Shower works pretty well. I liked the self-served breakfast too, but they could offer more options.

Disliked: It is a little hard to find, since there is no big sign in the entrance. Also, the owners have a dog inside the hostel, which should be stated in the description. A lot of people don't like dogs or are allergic to them, so it would be nice if the guests know in advance that there will be a dog in the common area. This was not a problem for me because I like dogs, but some of my friends didn't like it.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Simmeth

Alone

Business / conference

13 October 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clean rooms, new bathrooms and showers, friendly staff, safe parking in the backyard

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Offer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Off the typical backpacking path, the Wayfaring Buck provides affordable hostel accomodation for those that find themselves in Columbus Ohio. First and foremost, Columbus as a city is particularly spread out - and the location of this hostel is a TWO hour walk to central Columbus. That said, its bus/cyclable in just 30 minutes. It is, however, very close to Ohio State University and very close to where students tend to live. The neighbourhood itself is fairly run down, however, I walked about at night quite safely and without incident. The hostel is located very close to a Aldi supermarket (five minute walk) as such, your shopping is likely to be cheap! In terms of facilities, there is a oven, hob, fridge, freezer, computers and bikes which are available free to use. Locks are provided on doors with a combination code, as a result, I at least felt that my belongings were secure. Whilst I was there, I felt that in general the hostel was given a much worse review online than it deserved. I personally stayed there for four nights and didn't feel uncomfortable. The airconditioning here is amazing! Owner and manager were friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: That said, it could have done with a deep clean.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jakob Herndler

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 July 2012 Jakob would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really nice, the Rooms itself are beautiful and the amount of stuff they offer you for the small fee you pay is overwhelming. If you're staying in Columbus, then this is the place for you to be.

Disliked: None, altough a lot of cab drivers don't know how to get to Indiana Avenue, so getting to the Hostel can be a bit confusing if you're traveling to the states for the first time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly reception

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Candice Meher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Candice would recommend this property

Liked: The host was incredibly nice and helpful. I would still stay there again though cause it feels like home.

Disliked: My only complaint is the location which seemed a little sketchy. Not the most sound proof place either.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: small place, two story house, floorboards creak a little bit, but very clean, good amenities, owner mat is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: can't think of anything

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Greg Kansky

Alone

City break

02 November 2011 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Overall very good

Disliked: Nice residential area but a bit far from attractions, bus service to area not the best but University bus is good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host is really nice. We even had a camp fire in the back yard, drinking and chatting. It was fun. The location is pretty nice since it is close to a bus stop. Considering the price, it is good enough. Very clean. (I'm a clean guy, by the way) With free wifi, 3 computers, two TV (one of them is overhead projector) Free breakfast

Disliked: Nothing particular

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruowei Zhang

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 August 2011 Ruowei would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was so nice and Matt is such a nice person.

Disliked: nothing.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doug Bardwell

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2011 Doug would recommend this property

Liked: Close proximity to Ohio State campus, where I was headed for their spring football game. Living room downstairs looks like typical frat house. Upstairs, the two sleeping areas are clean, minimalistic, but very comfortable. Large bathroom is very nice as well.

Disliked: Nothing - served my needs nicely.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mat and James are super awesome...

Disliked: Feels like home...