HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Wrigley Hostel

Hostel | 3514 North Sheffield Avenue, Chicago, Illinois, USA IL 60657

92.6% Overall Rating

52 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

Fenella Walker thinks…

"The staff were very friendly and helped out with everything they could. The atmosphere was nice and there was a breakfast included that I hadn't realised! Always a plus. The beds were comfortable and…"

Read all Wrigley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chicago

Days Inn Chicago
70.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.0% 24 reviews
Chicago Getaway Hostel
22.25 USD

Hostel 92.5% 1052 reviews
Urban Holiday Lofts
14.00 USD

Hostel 92.5% 143 reviews
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
19.60 USD

Hostel 93.0% 224 reviews
Holiday Jones
16.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 27 reviews
AWA Chicago City Center Hotel
47.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.9% 16 reviews
Springhill Suites Chicago O'hare
77.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn Chicago
29.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

52 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wrigley Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Edgar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Location and good for meeting people

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fenella Walker

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 Fenella would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helped out with everything they could. The atmosphere was nice and there was a breakfast included that I hadn't realised! Always a plus. The beds were comfortable and private. A little noise from the pool room and street but nothing major. Really enjoyed my stay and the location was brilliant!

Disliked: Fenella left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A <5 minute stagger to Wrigley Field! Plenty of restaurants and bars everywhere! Easy to get to the Red line and several bus routes!

Disliked: repair the pool table and cues, please!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ann Selvadurai

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2014 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and was such a social atmosphere. There was a common room in the basement and a porch outside, which was great for chatting with people. Everyone was very helpful too. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at the Wrigley Hostel! The location was a lot of fun too, with many bars and restaurants right outside.

Disliked: It was too pricey for a hostel. It should be more in the range of 20-30 dollars/night to make it more accessible to students.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bruno Ferreira

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

05 August 2014 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendship and the house is clean. The location is far from The Loop but it is too easy to get the red line train. I did many friends from different countries on my days in Wrigley Hostel.

Disliked: In Brazil we usually have good breakfasts but I know that in some countries it isn't so usual. Otherwise I guess the staff could provide a better variety of fruits and breads for eat in mornings.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Could have been cleaner and people didn't interact very much

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly

Disliked: close to wrigley but need to take train ride to downtown, expensive

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly nice and helpful staff, I came very early and he still welcomed me, very good breakfast except for a lack of milk for coffee, metro station is super close, free towel and use of computers

Disliked: It is definitely not clean enough (on my window bench lay a used chewing gum :/) , showers and the floors of washrooms weren't clean, although the toilets always were, partly dirty bedsheets, lack of trashcans, about 15-20 min metro ride to center.. still I think it is way cleaner than most hostels, and recommend it strongly for low-budget travelers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Amanda Wootton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, and the building was in great condition. The mattresses were super comfortable, and the breakfast was yummy for being so basic. The rooms were quite clean, and spacious.

Disliked: A serious lack of trash cans throughout the hostel seemed weird. There were none in the bedrooms, or even the kitchen on the second floor. The shower is an old clawfoot tub, and there was only one working one on the second floor to several dorm rooms. They were fairly clean though. I watched an employee start making beds, knowing that the occupants checked out that day. It's possible they don't always wash the sheets in between guests. During and after Cubs games, you hear crowds alllll night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bfast and plenty of activities on offer

Disliked: Nuffin

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room downstairs is nice and big with comfy couches and big TV, also they provided free pizza which was nice. Room downstairs was very warm despite the freezing temperature outside. Nice staff and good location, very close to the metro. Overall the hostel feels very homely and comfortable!

Disliked: The 4 bed female dorm was clean enough but not sure if it was cleaned everyday, at least our rubbish bin was not emptied every day. On our departure we had to leave very early for a 6.30am flight and wanted to book a taxi etc but there was only a security guard who we couldn't communicate with very well, this is not normally a problem for me except that it was in the middle of the night and we needed to get to the airport, but no issue we checked out ok in the end and made it to the airport.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Olivia Kleinpass

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: the location was perfect. I stayed in a 4 bed girls room which was pretty nice because we had our private bathroom.

Disliked: atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Papadatos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Great place in a perfect location, whether you are in Chicago for the baseball or not. Very close to the metro, loved the food and bars in the area. And a good selection at the free breakfast and of course the free pizza every night is awesome!

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Riley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Wrigley Hostel was Awesome! So close to the train for easy access downtown. It was super clean, the bathrooms especially. The beds are super comfy and cozy. I felt like Wrigley Hostel was a home away from home and would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy. Great atmosphere with organised activities on offer. Breakfast and free pizza every day!!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Kargbo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Workers are mic and friendly responds to request very quickly

Disliked: Not very much, the only I could not get to Facebook did not work for me I had to use Skype but that was not bad because I had alternative

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wyatt Holt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Wyatt would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is extremely clean and they activities every night. I only stayed Christmas eve but a staff memeber Steph was organizing a big Christmas Dinner for everyone staying at the hostel.

Disliked: Wyatt left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Achraf Khoja

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013 Achraf would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Atmosphere, free breakfast, pizza and small events organized by hostel such as trivia night

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

seth wallace

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 December 2013 seth would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel! Its just the right size, not too big not too small, it really allows you to meet and interact with people from all over the world. The owner Brenden is very friendly and accommodating. The entire staff is great! (Steph is lovely). Its in a great area for nightlife and a 2 min walk to the CTA if you want to explore outside the area. There are planned activities throughout the week that bring the hostel stayers together for a great time. I highly recommend this place. Definitely my favorite hostel.

Disliked: I liked everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Thomas

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 December 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very homey. It was like staying in a fruit bowl. I was very nervous about staying but the staff was friendly and the property was welcoming and clean and nice.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Super easy to walk to from the Red Line Addison Stop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Shelton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was clean and nice.

Disliked: Nothing to much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, literally minutes away from CTA stop and surrounded by bars and eateries. Wrigley Hostel features very chill, old-school traveller accommodation. No gimmicks, excursions, tacky carpets, or whatever, just a bed and a clean washroom. Definitely first choice booking next time I'm in Chicago.

Disliked: Felt a bit understaffed, but not a really an issue. I was also worried about losing the conventional key. A keypad or card swipe system would be preferred.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and great location.

Disliked: Nothing, really!