HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Wrigley Hostel

Hostel | 3514 North Sheffield Avenue, Chicago, Illinois, USA IL 60657

93.8% Overall Rating

39 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Olivia Kleinpass thinks…

"the location was perfect. I stayed in a 4 bed girls room which was pretty nice because we had our private bathroom."

Read all Wrigley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chicago

Days Inn Chicago
55.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.0% 24 reviews
Chicago Getaway Hostel
75.00 USD

Hostel 94.3% 1026 reviews
Urban Holiday Lofts
14.00 USD

Hostel 93.3% 134 reviews
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
20.16 USD

Hostel 86.7% 203 reviews
AWA Chicago City Center Hotel
32.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.9% 16 reviews
DeWitt Place
50.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
59.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Springhill Suites Chicago O'hare
77.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

39 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wrigley Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Olivia Kleinpass

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: the location was perfect. I stayed in a 4 bed girls room which was pretty nice because we had our private bathroom.

Disliked: atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Papadatos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Great place in a perfect location, whether you are in Chicago for the baseball or not. Very close to the metro, loved the food and bars in the area. And a good selection at the free breakfast and of course the free pizza every night is awesome!

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Riley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Wrigley Hostel was Awesome! So close to the train for easy access downtown. It was super clean, the bathrooms especially. The beds are super comfy and cozy. I felt like Wrigley Hostel was a home away from home and would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy. Great atmosphere with organised activities on offer. Breakfast and free pizza every day!!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Kargbo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Workers are mic and friendly responds to request very quickly

Disliked: Not very much, the only I could not get to Facebook did not work for me I had to use Skype but that was not bad because I had alternative

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wyatt Holt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Wyatt would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is extremely clean and they activities every night. I only stayed Christmas eve but a staff memeber Steph was organizing a big Christmas Dinner for everyone staying at the hostel.

Disliked: Wyatt left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Achraf Khoja

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013 Achraf would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Atmosphere, free breakfast, pizza and small events organized by hostel such as trivia night

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

seth wallace

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 December 2013 seth would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel! Its just the right size, not too big not too small, it really allows you to meet and interact with people from all over the world. The owner Brenden is very friendly and accommodating. The entire staff is great! (Steph is lovely). Its in a great area for nightlife and a 2 min walk to the CTA if you want to explore outside the area. There are planned activities throughout the week that bring the hostel stayers together for a great time. I highly recommend this place. Definitely my favorite hostel.

Disliked: I liked everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Thomas

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 December 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very homey. It was like staying in a fruit bowl. I was very nervous about staying but the staff was friendly and the property was welcoming and clean and nice.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Super easy to walk to from the Red Line Addison Stop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Shelton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was clean and nice.

Disliked: Nothing to much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, literally minutes away from CTA stop and surrounded by bars and eateries. Wrigley Hostel features very chill, old-school traveller accommodation. No gimmicks, excursions, tacky carpets, or whatever, just a bed and a clean washroom. Definitely first choice booking next time I'm in Chicago.

Disliked: Felt a bit understaffed, but not a really an issue. I was also worried about losing the conventional key. A keypad or card swipe system would be preferred.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and great location.

Disliked: Nothing, really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mingze He

Alone

Business / conference

22 October 2013 Mingze would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is super friendly and outgoing, very talkive and helpful!

Disliked: Mingze left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast could have been a bit more generous, though the pancakes offered during the week are great, if tedious.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful Staff Clean rooms

Disliked: Very limited breakfast options, most of them of unhealthy - (e.g. there's no brown bread.) There should be a table and a shared wardrobe in each room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, great lounge room with sofa and tv. Perfect location, so close to tube stop which makes travelling to downtown very simple and easy. Lots of bars and restaurants, safe nice area.

Disliked: No mirrors in rooms and not enough plug sockets for charging everything near your actual bed for security of your items.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariella Villalobos

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Mariella would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at several hostels in my life, some in Europe and some in North America, and can honestly say this was one of the most fun hostels I've ever been at! The atmosphere just really lends itself to getting to know your fellow travellers, all of whom are generally awesome. I made a ton of friends, which was easy since I was there for Riot Fest, but the people who were already there were also a blast to hang out with! Facilities are clean and decently comfortable, though comfort definitely goes up proportionally to the type of room you get. I stayed in the 6-bed Mixed Dorm and it was fine. Location was a stone's throw away from Wrigley Field and the Addison Red Line stop, which means navigating anywhere in the city from there is pretty easy. Dimo's pizza right around the corner is the most amazing 3 AM pizza anywhere in North America.

Disliked: The only real inconvenience is that the bathrooms can get to be in pretty heavy demand in the morning for showers...you can end up waiting quite a while. Also, the room right by the kitchen gets a bit loud in the morning when everyone's having breakfast, so it can make it hard to sleep in a little if you had a late night the night before.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Holtan

Alone

Events / festivals

18 September 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and a very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michelle Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked the neighbourhood and found it easy to move about the city from this location. We forgot our camera at reception and they held it for us for a month which was really incredible and we can't thank them enough for that.

Disliked: The bathroom floors were really dirty, but it wasn't that big of a deal. We also wished the staff would have let us know about the big festivals that were going on in town, especially after we specifically asked what was going on in town... we found out afterwards that there were three going on and missed them by a day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Prasser

Alone

Events / festivals

04 August 2013 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Love the old character building. Had recently expanded, so all the beds/ bedding etc were brand new. Free wifi and computers for use, tv lounge and deck

Disliked: Water pressure and continuity of hot water... But bathrooms were clean and smelled nice!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Hughson

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 July 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Phenomenal hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the rhinoceros was the perfect touch. The location is amazing, really makes it easy to enjoy the Chicago nightlife, and a quick transit connection straight downtown. It is clearly a new hostel, and you can tell that they are putting a lot of work into making sure that it is the best in Chicago.

Disliked: Only stayed one night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the staff, the room, free pancakes, laura is cute

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catherine Shaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, really clean and the beds were comfortable. Staff all lovely and friendly

Disliked: Didn't really have enough bathrooms when the hostel was at full capacity, was also a little more expensive than perhaps it should have been. Could do with more hostel run activities