HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Urban Holiday Lofts

Hostel | 2014 West Wabansia, Chicago, Illinois, USA IL 60647

92.5% Overall Rating

132 out of 141 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"Good rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. Good to meet other travellers in the common room."

Read all Urban Holiday Lofts reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chicago

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
0.23 USD

Hostel 92.6% 208 reviews
Holiday Jones
25.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 20 reviews
Chicago Getaway Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 92.8% 1040 reviews
Days Inn Chicago
70.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.0% 24 reviews
Wrigley Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 91.9% 48 reviews
Chicago Parthenon Hostel
32.00 USD

Hostel 88.3% 158 reviews
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
59.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
AWA Chicago City Center Hotel
49.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.9% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

132 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Urban Holiday Lofts'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 140 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. Good to meet other travellers in the common room.

Disliked: Only comment is the 4 flights of steep stairs to be aware of if you have a room on the 4th floor.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Herendira Tellez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014

Liked: Que cambien las sábanas, siempre están arrugadas y parece que no las lavan

Disliked: Los recepcionistas no son agradables, el desayuno es muy malo, ni siquiera hay alguien para preparar café

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hendrik Andreas Dullinger

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014

Liked: Clean, nice staff, good location !

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bertha Keita

Alone

Relaxation/spa

12 May 2014 Bertha would recommend this property

Liked: The office staff was great friendly and helpful,and I'm thankful for your company

Disliked: Nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Really cool setting, with a cool common area with free pool and arcade. Good people living and working there. Sweet area of town - some sort of hipster bohemian neighbourhood. Only 20 minutes from the front door to the heart of downtown. Also, due to a flight delay, Jason booked me in for an extra night giving me the only room left availale (a private) for the same price as my 4-bed dorm. Helping out a traveller in need and understanding their personal problems is something most hostels won't strive to assist you with. Good times in Chicago

Disliked: Common room isn't 24hrs (however, for good reason)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adriana Ranalli

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay in Chicago. Staff are super helpful, very clean, close to metro, shops, bars & restaurants. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Adriana left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014

Liked: good location.just 2 block from CTA blue line train station.

Disliked: I was overcharged as I booked via HostelBookers and this hostel should only charge the remaining amount after online deposit.However,they still charged me the full amount and told me it is because of tax issue after I found something wrong with the bill.The staff on duty seemed pretty impatient and his indifferent attitude made me feel extremely uncomfortable.Worst of all,they didnt reply me or HostelBookers email about this issue after 3 days.Apparently waste of my time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The exposed brick and clean, modern decor.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Kaehr

Alone

City break
Shopping

17 April 2014 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and AWESOME staff!! It was a really great atmosphere and very easy to meet other travellers!

Disliked: Nothing...all good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New and nicely equipped and decorated. Rooms are sufficiently large. Linens and towels are provided. Enough bathrooms, though you might have to go to a different floor to find an available one. They are spacious and clean. Large room to have breakfast, use computers and relax. Breakfast ist not extremely varied but sufficient. Very nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: There was some noise from the room above us but not too bad. When we forgot our own towel in the bathroom (you're not supposed to use them there but they forgot to give us enough towels), they removed it immediately and we didn't get it back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location, soft sheets, clean, excellent bathrooms, great lounge.

Disliked: Breakfast didn't start till 8am...too late for me.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petr Kirchner

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and neat place with cheerful staff.

Disliked: Checking in on the internet only.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katlyn Whitaker

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Katlyn would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and there is a pass code for the door so it felt very safe.

Disliked: It's located very close to public transit but very far from the bus station and tourist attractions

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Staff were super friendly and very helpful, clean with good facilities, secure, about a 5 minute walk to the train station that takes you right downtown.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenience, price, helpful staff, guests are nice people and fellow travelers

Disliked: no criticisms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karri Sturm

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Karri would recommend this property

Liked: It was comfortable, in atmosphere and amenities.

Disliked: Only 2 toilets on the fourth floor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clear, value place just for stay

Disliked: they might mistake charged me a little extra when i check in very late. but i still happy for it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in a safe and fun area of Chicago. It is also close to everything and its very easy to find a way into the city. The staff was really friendly and helpful. I would highly recommended this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rosa Querejeta

Alone

City break

13 November 2013 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, close to public transportation

Disliked: Steep stairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Glen Bailey

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Glen would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great area (close to amazing cheap tacos), the staff were very friendly and helpful, the cleanlyness of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing (was there a roof garden that was perhaps shut when we were there?).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katelyn Fritzges

Alone

Business / conference

27 October 2013 Katelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Location very easy to access from O'Hare airport. Very clean facility; appreciated that bathroom was shared only with the other ladies in my room.

Disliked: I brought my own lock, but it did not fit on their locker and they were out of rental locks. The first night I was there was also incredibly noisy... even though my room was quiet, the people upstairs from us were very loud, so I had a lot of trouble sleeping and was tired throughout my interview the next day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had decided to go to Urban Holiday Lofts because of the good reviews on this site and the reasonable price. When I arrived here, I thought it was nice choice. The room was nice, clean and cozy. The staff were nice and helpful. The location was also pretty good from downtown by CTA.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good atmosphere, relaxed

Disliked: Walls were thin, could hear people walking, talking or music playing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Justin NICHOLAS

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly when I arrived and throughout my stay. Gave a very helpful booklet about good places to eat around the area and get more bang for your buck so to speak. The place was in a good location and a few minutes walk to the Damen train station. Plenty of shops/bars/restaraunts etc nearby. Seemed a very trendy part of Chicago. Room was cosy enough. Great views of Chicago skyline. Would stay again if in Chicago.

Disliked: Nothing really major really. My room was next to somewhere outside which occasionally had a lorry going back and forth sometimes early in the morning. There was occasions where a few people made the assumptions that they're awake/getting backing from a night out and everyone must be still up, so talk as loud as they wish at 2-3 am. This happens everywhere though and not the Urban Holiday Lofts fault.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Britelle Humfrey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 Britelle would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great service and a great price. Clean, comfortable and aircon meant the sun through the window in the morning was pleasant but not hot.

Disliked: Loud truck right outside the window very early each morning woke us up - although no fault of the hostels.