We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Urban Holiday Lofts

Hostel | 2014 West Wabansia, Chicago, Illinois, USA IL 60647

94.2% Overall Rating

141 out of 150 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/02/2015)

"Everything. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the location is perfect, the breakfast is amazing, the common rooms and rooms are really nice, the price is really good, atmosphere's nice. I have been staying in…"

Read all Urban Holiday Lofts reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chicago

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
24.64 USD

Hostel 90.6% 231 reviews
Holiday Jones
26.67 USD

Hostel 90.1% 37 reviews
Chicago Getaway Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 94.4% 1066 reviews
Days Inn Chicago
75.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.0% 24 reviews
Wrigley Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 91.3% 58 reviews
Chicago Parthenon Hostel
28.50 USD

Hostel 87.7% 171 reviews
AWA Chicago City Center Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.9% 16 reviews
Freehand Chicago
42.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

141 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Urban Holiday Lofts'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 123 of 149 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the cleanliness of the place and atmosphere. The breakfast was nice.

Disliked: Third floor occupants sleeping should be warned of the noise of the floors of the people above moving around in the common area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a hostel!!! Great location, never seen a cleaner hostel before, just great

Disliked: Quite hard to find

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the location is perfect, the breakfast is amazing, the common rooms and rooms are really nice, the price is really good, atmosphere's nice. I have been staying in hostels for the last 6 months all over the world and I would say that this is by far the best all round.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere of the hostel. The staff was friendly and was always willing to share their ideas and the places they enjoyed.

Disliked: Some of the rooms could have been cleaned better. Check in wasn't available till 2pm

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Seeber

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: This was our first time in Chicago, the location was perfect. We loved where we were and all the restaurants/pubs/cafes around us. It was close to the train station and also to shops, I would recommend this hostel to anyone that is going to Chicago.

Disliked: Tracey left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice dorms, good location, friendly stuff, very stylish hostel for a good price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASHLEE OSWALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2014 ASHLEE would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in a great location in Wicker Park, within walking distance to three metro stations and lots of bars, restaurants. So much to do in the area! Only 20 minutes to downtown Chicago area. The hostel itself is really clean and comfortable. Free breakfast is great, and rooms were spacious. Staff were super helpful too! Gave great recommendations for places to eat. Would definitely recommend

Disliked: Breakfast was only between 8 - 10 am and my room was location underneath the common area so in the morning there was a bit of noise. Also the blankets were a bit small, could have been bigger e.g. a doona because it got really cold at night. But apart from that everything was great :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, I always worry about bedbugs and bringing them home from somewhere I stayed but this hostel takes a lot of precautions, even the bathrooms are cleaned several times a day and kept stocked. Breakfast was great, fresh toasted bagels and cream cheese strong coffee, hot or cold cereal. Lots of common areas, free wifi, I loved the location I am from a much smaller town and as a woman traveling alone was nervous but I always felt safe, so many places to shop and eat, everyone friendly and helpful and the subway lines were so close and easy to use. I am definitely staying here if ver in Chicago again

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

abdussamet altay

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 abdussamet would recommend this property

Liked: just GREAT...

Disliked: abdussamet left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. Good to meet other travellers in the common room.

Disliked: Only comment is the 4 flights of steep stairs to be aware of if you have a room on the 4th floor.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Herendira Tellez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014

Liked: Que cambien las sábanas, siempre están arrugadas y parece que no las lavan

Disliked: Los recepcionistas no son agradables, el desayuno es muy malo, ni siquiera hay alguien para preparar café

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hendrik Andreas Dullinger

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014

Liked: Clean, nice staff, good location !

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bertha Keita

Alone

Relaxation/spa

12 May 2014 Bertha would recommend this property

Liked: The office staff was great friendly and helpful,and I'm thankful for your company

Disliked: Nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Really cool setting, with a cool common area with free pool and arcade. Good people living and working there. Sweet area of town - some sort of hipster bohemian neighbourhood. Only 20 minutes from the front door to the heart of downtown. Also, due to a flight delay, Jason booked me in for an extra night giving me the only room left availale (a private) for the same price as my 4-bed dorm. Helping out a traveller in need and understanding their personal problems is something most hostels won't strive to assist you with. Good times in Chicago

Disliked: Common room isn't 24hrs (however, for good reason)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adriana Ranalli

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay in Chicago. Staff are super helpful, very clean, close to metro, shops, bars & restaurants. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Adriana left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014

Liked: good location.just 2 block from CTA blue line train station.

Disliked: I was overcharged as I booked via HostelBookers and this hostel should only charge the remaining amount after online deposit.However,they still charged me the full amount and told me it is because of tax issue after I found something wrong with the bill.The staff on duty seemed pretty impatient and his indifferent attitude made me feel extremely uncomfortable.Worst of all,they didnt reply me or HostelBookers email about this issue after 3 days.Apparently waste of my time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The exposed brick and clean, modern decor.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Kaehr

Alone

City break
Shopping

17 April 2014 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and AWESOME staff!! It was a really great atmosphere and very easy to meet other travellers!

Disliked: Nothing...all good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New and nicely equipped and decorated. Rooms are sufficiently large. Linens and towels are provided. Enough bathrooms, though you might have to go to a different floor to find an available one. They are spacious and clean. Large room to have breakfast, use computers and relax. Breakfast ist not extremely varied but sufficient. Very nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: There was some noise from the room above us but not too bad. When we forgot our own towel in the bathroom (you're not supposed to use them there but they forgot to give us enough towels), they removed it immediately and we didn't get it back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location, soft sheets, clean, excellent bathrooms, great lounge.

Disliked: Breakfast didn't start till 8am...too late for me.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petr Kirchner

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and neat place with cheerful staff.

Disliked: Checking in on the internet only.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katlyn Whitaker

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Katlyn would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and there is a pass code for the door so it felt very safe.

Disliked: It's located very close to public transit but very far from the bus station and tourist attractions

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Staff were super friendly and very helpful, clean with good facilities, secure, about a 5 minute walk to the train station that takes you right downtown.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenience, price, helpful staff, guests are nice people and fellow travelers

Disliked: no criticisms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karri Sturm

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Karri would recommend this property

Liked: It was comfortable, in atmosphere and amenities.

Disliked: Only 2 toilets on the fourth floor.