We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chicago Parthenon Hostel

Hostel | 310 S HALSTED ST, Chicago, Illinois, USA 60661

83.9% Overall Rating

159 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2015)

arthur wade thinks…

"The staff was very helpful and friendly ...Cookie who checked me in was very helpful and informative about restaurants and public transportation. ...the atmosphere was good the private room I had was…"

Read all Chicago Parthenon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chicago

HI-Chicago Hostel
33.00 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1246 reviews
AWA Chicago City Center Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.9% 16 reviews
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
37.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.6% 13 reviews
Freehand Chicago
36.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn Chicago
57.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 5 reviews
Holiday Jones
21.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 37 reviews
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
26.88 USD

Hostel 90.1% 233 reviews
Urban Holiday Lofts
20.00 USD

Hostel 94.2% 150 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

159 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chicago Parthenon Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 168 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 June 2015

Liked: I like its location ... That is it.

Disliked: Room and bed were smilly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

arthur wade

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2015 arthur would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly ...Cookie who checked me in was very helpful and informative about restaurants and public transportation. ...the atmosphere was good the private room I had was roomy ...no TVs in the rooms but there was a TV room ..for me it felt like a throw back to the 50s. ..beds were pillow top and also had good pillows. ..location. .location. .location. . very centrally located I came in for the Blues Festival and it was only 3 stops and a couple blocks walk to Grant Park and Lake Michigan....anything you need is within walking distance .Blue line by the way was only a 2 minute walk and its right by Giordanos absolutely the best deep dish pizza I've ever had...will I stay there again. ..absolutely. ..

Disliked: There were a few things that would have improved the stay.like if there was an elevator. ..private bath ...steak and eggs for breakfast. . but that wasn't what I was paying for. ..did it meet my expectations. ...no..It Exceeded them...thank you for a pleasurable stay....

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing in particular but it was nice

Disliked: Quilts is not clean their fabric does not help for hyiegen

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert Henningham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2015

Liked: They have good breakfasts here and hot showers. You don't always know how good the water is going to be at a hostel so that was a nice surprise.

Disliked: The wifi cut out all the time. There also isn't much atmosphere and people don't mingle at all. As solo traveller it would have been nice to meet more people. I also had to pay $104 despite my booking on hostel bookers saying my bill in local currency was $88. So I kind of feel like I got ripped off. And if you're Australian and your dollar is weak that bit extra kind of adds up. For three nights in a dorm $104 is a bit steep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kenneth Marc Gimpayan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2015 Kenneth Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky stairs and location

Disliked: Not mentioned in the website that its beside the parthenon restaurant

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malyn Collins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2015 Malyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly! I loved it, if you had any questions they were more than willing to help you and have great suggestions on places to visit and eat. The hostel is VERY clean!!!

Disliked: It does get cold there at night so just bring extra blankets or wear layers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was all right, The location is pretty good. The staff where friendly.

Disliked: The shower was kind of small with no too much space. I didn't like so much the idea that they charge extra pay for services which i find elementary, like supplying a towel, and baggage storage for the checkout day.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private room good and spacious. On a busy road.

Disliked: No bin in room. Wifi quite dodgy. Lots of stairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Dahle

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: The location to downtown was perfect for what we were looking for! It was also pretty close to a nice area for nightlife.

Disliked: Nothing made it a negative experience.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Latham

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: We got a warm,friendly welcome when we arrived. The room and the bathroom were really clean. The breakfast in the morning is perfectly adequate with cereal,juice,hot drink,fruit and toast. The location is good for a large city. We walked everywhere so I can't comment on the bus services.

Disliked: About the only thing we could think that could be improved would be the Wi-Fi. On the first day in particular, the service kept dropping out and we noticed that a lot of people were sitting on the stairs to access the internet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar downstairs with friendly staff. Clean and tidy and the beds were a lot bigger than other hostels.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roksana Szajba

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Roksana would recommend this property

Liked: Really good despite wi fi conectione. Breakfast was taste:)

Disliked: Wifi reception

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: newly renovated, big and nice rooms easy way to the airport

Disliked: not all of the staff was friendly couldn´t lock the showers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2014

Liked: Breakfast included and served in restaurant room. Clean bathrooms. Good beds. A lot of interesting people gathers there.

Disliked: No elevator, many stairs. Internet breaking up (connection looses). The same poor breakfast every day. No room service (cleaning). Door locks poorly working (takes some time to learn how to effectively close the door to your room).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was located close to everything I needed to do, and we were able to have our bicycles with us. And when I complained about not being able to sleep the previous night because of a loud concert below me, they quickly relocated me, and offered to reimburse a portion of that night's fee. I liked that I had to use a key to get into the building-it made me feel safer. The breakfast was great, nothing fancy, but I love oatmeal, bananas, and boiled eggs and juice, so it was perfect for me. They also had toast and cereals. This was my first time ever to Chicago, and would definitely recommend this guesthouse for anyone to stay.

Disliked: Didn't like the concert that started at 12:30am and continued until 2:30am., right below my room. But see above comments-they were very willing to accommodate me and move me to another room, and the next night couldn't hear the concert at all (only happens on Friday and Saturday nights)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to all transport and places to eat

Disliked: The steep staircases with heavy luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sing kit Kwong

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Sing kit would recommend this property

Liked: staff are personal to a point that maintain their professionalism

Disliked: 1. the common room is kind of cold in atmosphere, and the tv reception is affected by the windy city, I suggest they put in a dvd player 2. the breakfast staff manager was likely from a military background, he sounds like he monitor the guest and his staff like his subordinate

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Azza Chemkhi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Azza would recommend this property

Liked: They offer cheap private rooms and they can be booked last minute bcz of the vacancies. It's in Greektown so there's a bunch of nice restaurants close by. it's fairly close to the line that takes you to the airport.

Disliked: No hair driers in the showers. Very narrow bathrooms some of which don't lock. No elevators. This was only tolerable because we were probably the only people in our floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was superb! Friendly and helpful staff who went above and beyond for our evey need ! The Parthenon had a great value for parking in the Chicago area and the valet gentlemen were superb! Wonderful lounge areas and very clean and well kept rooms and bathrooms! The free breakfast was a great perk too! The hostels location in the heart of Greek Town was perfect - delicious restaurant next door and less than a block's walk to the Blue line train. Only two stops away from the Medical District! I was thoroughly impressed by the Parthenon - everything was perfect! I only wish there were more hostels like this across the states! Thank you!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jerome KJerome

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 January 2014 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: located near amtrack station

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very spacious and the arrangement of the beds and lockers was organised. The lockers were very clean and there were many private lockers in the room. It's less than 200m to the subway station and really convenient for travelling around in Chicago.

Disliked: The room was a little cold and not really heated up. The toilet is clean however, the cubicle doors were too close to the toilet bowls and had no locks, or had locks but couldn't be properly secured. The doors couldn't shut as a result most of the times. The bathing cubicles only had shower curtains and no doors. Furthermore, there was only one main hook outside the shower curtain for all the clothes, towel and stuff. It was abit troublesome and inconvenient hanging all the clothes up on one hook.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dumi Sechele

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014 Dumi would recommend this property

Liked: Staying in the hotel will automatically guarantee free to museum and others.

Disliked: Staying more than 4 in room its unhealthy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: None

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its ok

Disliked: emty