HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chicago Parthenon Hostel

Hostel | 310 S HALSTED ST, Chicago, Illinois, USA 60661

86.5% Overall Rating

149 out of 164 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Steve Latham thinks…

"We got a warm,friendly welcome when we arrived. The room and the bathroom were really clean. The breakfast in the morning is perfectly adequate with cereal,juice,hot drink,fruit and toast. The…"

Read all Chicago Parthenon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chicago

HI-Chicago Hostel
32.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 1227 reviews
AWA Chicago City Center Hotel
47.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.9% 16 reviews
Springhill Suites Chicago O'hare
77.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
37.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.8% 7 reviews
Red Roof Inn Chicago
29.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 5 reviews
Holiday Jones
16.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 27 reviews
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
23.52 USD

Hostel 93.0% 224 reviews
Urban Holiday Lofts
14.00 USD

Hostel 92.5% 143 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

149 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chicago Parthenon Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 156 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Latham

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: We got a warm,friendly welcome when we arrived. The room and the bathroom were really clean. The breakfast in the morning is perfectly adequate with cereal,juice,hot drink,fruit and toast. The location is good for a large city. We walked everywhere so I can't comment on the bus services.

Disliked: About the only thing we could think that could be improved would be the Wi-Fi. On the first day in particular, the service kept dropping out and we noticed that a lot of people were sitting on the stairs to access the internet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar downstairs with friendly staff. Clean and tidy and the beds were a lot bigger than other hostels.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roksana Szajba

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Roksana would recommend this property

Liked: Really good despite wi fi conectione. Breakfast was taste:)

Disliked: Wifi reception

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: newly renovated, big and nice rooms easy way to the airport

Disliked: not all of the staff was friendly couldn´t lock the showers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2014

Liked: Breakfast included and served in restaurant room. Clean bathrooms. Good beds. A lot of interesting people gathers there.

Disliked: No elevator, many stairs. Internet breaking up (connection looses). The same poor breakfast every day. No room service (cleaning). Door locks poorly working (takes some time to learn how to effectively close the door to your room).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was located close to everything I needed to do, and we were able to have our bicycles with us. And when I complained about not being able to sleep the previous night because of a loud concert below me, they quickly relocated me, and offered to reimburse a portion of that night's fee. I liked that I had to use a key to get into the building-it made me feel safer. The breakfast was great, nothing fancy, but I love oatmeal, bananas, and boiled eggs and juice, so it was perfect for me. They also had toast and cereals. This was my first time ever to Chicago, and would definitely recommend this guesthouse for anyone to stay.

Disliked: Didn't like the concert that started at 12:30am and continued until 2:30am., right below my room. But see above comments-they were very willing to accommodate me and move me to another room, and the next night couldn't hear the concert at all (only happens on Friday and Saturday nights)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to all transport and places to eat

Disliked: The steep staircases with heavy luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sing kit Kwong

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Sing kit would recommend this property

Liked: staff are personal to a point that maintain their professionalism

Disliked: 1. the common room is kind of cold in atmosphere, and the tv reception is affected by the windy city, I suggest they put in a dvd player 2. the breakfast staff manager was likely from a military background, he sounds like he monitor the guest and his staff like his subordinate

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Azza Chemkhi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Azza would recommend this property

Liked: They offer cheap private rooms and they can be booked last minute bcz of the vacancies. It's in Greektown so there's a bunch of nice restaurants close by. it's fairly close to the line that takes you to the airport.

Disliked: No hair driers in the showers. Very narrow bathrooms some of which don't lock. No elevators. This was only tolerable because we were probably the only people in our floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was superb! Friendly and helpful staff who went above and beyond for our evey need ! The Parthenon had a great value for parking in the Chicago area and the valet gentlemen were superb! Wonderful lounge areas and very clean and well kept rooms and bathrooms! The free breakfast was a great perk too! The hostels location in the heart of Greek Town was perfect - delicious restaurant next door and less than a block's walk to the Blue line train. Only two stops away from the Medical District! I was thoroughly impressed by the Parthenon - everything was perfect! I only wish there were more hostels like this across the states! Thank you!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jerome KJerome

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 January 2014 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: located near amtrack station

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very spacious and the arrangement of the beds and lockers was organised. The lockers were very clean and there were many private lockers in the room. It's less than 200m to the subway station and really convenient for travelling around in Chicago.

Disliked: The room was a little cold and not really heated up. The toilet is clean however, the cubicle doors were too close to the toilet bowls and had no locks, or had locks but couldn't be properly secured. The doors couldn't shut as a result most of the times. The bathing cubicles only had shower curtains and no doors. Furthermore, there was only one main hook outside the shower curtain for all the clothes, towel and stuff. It was abit troublesome and inconvenient hanging all the clothes up on one hook.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dumi Sechele

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014 Dumi would recommend this property

Liked: Staying in the hotel will automatically guarantee free to museum and others.

Disliked: Staying more than 4 in room its unhealthy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: None

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its ok

Disliked: emty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laith Alhyari

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2013 Laith would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to downtown. Great for tourists!

Disliked: The Wifi and the lack of socialism between the guests!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and accommodating

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sangjae Ryu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Sangjae would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Sometimes, Wifi was not working.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wayne winson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 wayne would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized rooms, friendly and helpful staff, that give good advice on attractions and the city.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located right in the middle of Greektown, near the U.I.C. campus. It is within a 10-minute walk of Union Station, the Greyhound terminal, and Chicago's bus and train system. The rooms were clean, and were perhaps recently rennovated. There is free Wi-Fi at this property, common rooms for recreation, and free breakfast at the adjoining Parthenon Restaurant, with fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, toast, and coffee/tea/juice from 7:30 - 10:00 AM. I had a great stay, and would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Chicago.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis PARTRIDGE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful.. The breakfast was excellent This is good value for Chicago.. very handy to transport..busses the el...main railway ststion..

Disliked: only thing that I didnt like was I was on the third floor...no lift..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Troy Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a great price, and is located in Greektown which is very conveniently located a few blocks from the train station and one block from an El stop. Greektown feels very safe, has some nice Greek restaurants and has a lot of offerings for night life. I would stay here again. It is a great value.

Disliked: The patrons were as accommodating as they could be, but really could not be very helpful with Chicago knowledge. Any question we asked, they just referred us to a guidebook or pamphlet. I asked one of the managers about Little Italy, which is just a few blocks away, and he said he had never even been there. There also wasn't really the usual spirit I get from hostels where people are encouraged to mingle and meet each other. Everyone seemed very much to themselves, and I think a big part of it was just how the building is set up and how breakfast is structured. There are a lot of small tables instead of large ones, and sometimes you are even hustled out if you're done eating.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was quite convenient. It's very close to the bus station and to the Blue Line. There is also a 24-hour Walgreens close by where you can purchase goods and transit passes. The hostel was quiet at night and guests were never rowdy. Everyone was friendly, including staff. The breakfast was simple, but it was nutritious and filling enough to take on a day's worth of traveling :) it consisted of hard-boiled eggs, bread and jam, cereal, juices, water, and tea. Compared to other hostels in Chicago, this hostel was pretty affordable. My experience here makes me want to choose staying at hostels as a form of lodging.

Disliked: Perhaps this just happened to coincide with my stay, but the WiFi reception on the hostel's computers and on my laptop was virtually non-existent, which made it difficult to connect to the Web when trying to look onto Google Maps or something travel-related, especially. It wasn't as social as I had anticipated, both among hostel goers and the hostel itself. I didn't hear of any activities or bar-crawls planned, and I would have really enjoyed that. The hostel could have been a little cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neftali Bonifacio

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2013 Neftali would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how the floor was very spaced out and easy to find bathrooms and common rooms.

Disliked: .The hostel had a limited assortment of items at their one vending machine.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ellan Savage

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Ellan would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were pleasant and secure. Use of the computer/communal area is great and the location is brilliant, right next door to a huge market and two blocks down from the amazing Lou Mitchell's.

Disliked: The only downside was our room (private double) was one of the very few rooms that are facing the street, this wasn't a problem until Saturday night when the restaurant next door played music until 3:30am. Normally this wouldn't be an issue because we (and I'm sure most teen travellers) would be out but I had sun stroke and being kept up didn't help. I'd advise couples to request a room that isn't facing the street.