HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Parthenon Hostel Chicago

Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 77%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 91%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Restaurant
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.00USD

Important Information

We have a 48-hour cancellation policy. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation. Cancellations must be made via email.

The local city tax of 16.4% is not included here and will be added to your balance, due at check in.

All guests paying their balance by credit card will be charged an additional 3% merchant fee. Cash accepted.

Local Chicago Residents are not permitted at the hostel.

Minors under the age of 18 are not allowed in the dorms. Minors can stay at the hostel in a private room with an adult.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 77%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 91%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location and the helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Not very clean and the breakfast does start a bit late ( 7:30 ) not so good if you leave too early

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The woman on the front desk was nice.

Disliked: It was freezing cold, very bland and a bad atmosphere.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staying here was super convenient and comfortable for me (solo female traveller stayed for one night in November). The staff were very friendly, helpful and kind, and I was able to store my backpack there after check out for a few hours while I toured Chicago waiting for a bus onwards. The breakfast was also varied and fulfilling, and most of all fairly healthy!! (Oatmeal, bananas, eggs etc. available)

Disliked: For travellers with large/ heavy luggage or physical it might be difficult as there is no elevator and all the rooms are at least one flight of stairs up. Also dont forget to bring your own long if you are planning on locking things in the lockers in the rooms!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: At hostekbookers

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very close to the blue line, cheap and clean

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean and quiet

Disliked: no elavator

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendliness, helpful advice of staff, breakfasts

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Even though our HostelBookers confirmation provided a USD amount owing we were charged additional $$ due to apparent taxes

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I like its location ... That is it.

Disliked: Room and bed were smilly

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly ...Cookie who checked me in was very helpful and informative about restaurants and public transportation. ...the atmosphere was good the private room I had was roomy ...no TVs in therooms but there was a TV room ..for me it felt like a throw back to the 50s. ..beds were pillow top and also had good pillows. ..location. .location. .location. .very centrally located I came in for the Blues Festival and it was only 3 stops and a couple blocks walk to Grant Park and Lake Michigan....anything you need is within walking distance.Blue line by the way was only a 2 minute walk and its right by Giordanos absolutely the best deep dish pizza I've ever had...will I stay there again. ..absolutely. ..

Disliked: There were a few things that would have improved the stay.like if there was an elevator. ..private bath ...steak and eggs for breakfast. .but that wasn't what I was paying for. ..did it meet my expectations. ...no..It Exceeded them...thank you for a pleasurable stay....

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability