HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chicago Getaway Hostel Chicago

Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 94%

Location 90%

Safety 98%

Staff 95%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

- Minimum Age to register in dorms is 18.
- Guests under 18 are welcome in our private rooms while accompanied by a guest 21 years or older.
- Guests residing in a US zip code that begins with “60” will not be permitted.
- A valid state ID or passport is required at arrival
- Payment is collected in full at check-in
- Taxes of 16% will be added to the “due at arrival” fee on your confirmation.
- We have a maximum stay of 14 nights.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 94%

Location 90%

Safety 98%

Staff 95%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 95 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location... The staff was very helpful and friendly... Affordable... Clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to submit a rating. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean with friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: the staff for the most part were helpful

Disliked: I stayed in a room with a man who was rude, disrespectful and he took my stuff.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is large but it still manages to have a pretty decent vibe. They have a pretty good selection for breakfast, with one special item that changes daily (they had waffles and scrambled eggs while I was there). Public transport is good, and it's quite easy to find the hostel. There's a street with plenty of restaurants nearby if you feel like eating out. They also have guitars you can borrow from the reception!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was close to everywhere, it has everything you needed, it was close to bar district and to the metro station, breakfasts were really good

Disliked: My room was dark, the showers were uncomfortable.


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our great Lincoln Park location and our daily breakfast! I hope you come visit us again sometime.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Decent dorms with lockers and bathrooms, good WiFi-connection, great kitchen-facilities and helpful staff.

Disliked: When I stayed there in August the price for a 8 men dorm bed was 37USD a month, which is way too expensive.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Work / volunteering

Liked: Staff / WiFi / Cool Funky / Cleaness / Location / Food is excellent & cheap. I could keep on but i gots to go.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Franck William,

You Rock.

Sincerely,

Mat Meadows
General Manager
Chicago Getaway Hostel

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Not a party vibe

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We'd love to have you stay with us again!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast was excellent, a great choice of items with a different main thing each day and prepared and washed up for you, a real treat.Everywhere was very clean and despite being large it was quiet at night and altogether a nice place to stay

Disliked: Lack of small pans especially as those there are often are waiting to go in dishwasher

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for visiting us at the Chicago Getaway Hostel! Reviews such as these let us know what’s on our guests’ minds and help us make your next stay a little better. We’re glad you enjoyed our amenities! We want you to know that we are also working on adding more kitchen supplies. Letting us know what you think is definitely welcomed and we hope that the next time you plan your trip to Chicago, you’ll stop by just to “getaway”. Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: great staff & great facilities.

Disliked: nothing really - juice with breakfast might have been a nice addition ?

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

David,

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time you're in Chicago!

Kane
Front Desk Representative

Check Availability