HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chicago Getaway Hostel Chicago Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 90%

Location 91%

Safety 98%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Cots available
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

- Minimum Age to register in dorms is 18.
- Guests under 18 are welcome in our private rooms while accompanied by a guest 21 years or older.
- Guests residing in a US zip code that begins with “60” will not be permitted.
- A valid state ID or passport is required at arrival
- Payment is collected in full at check-in
- Taxes of 17.4% will be added to the “due at arrival” fee on your confirmation.
- We have a maximum stay of 14 nights in dormitories & 28 nights in private rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 90%

Location 91%

Safety 98%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 73 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: breakfast, location, common area

Disliked: cleanliness, air in the dorm room was not very good, filthy bathroom attached to the dorm

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Common areas are nice, Internet a little,slow,but understandable

Disliked: No remote for the TV, it was on hockey all night Would be nice for a sit down ona computer and not standing up Door to hallway was extremely loud, people coming and going banging all night Bed were hard, made a lot of noise, I was afraid to move in bed to wake my roommates squeaked so bad Bathroom fan was loud could here all night when people opened the door

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Near the subway so location is great!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The lobby was simply great. There were many young people that you can get socialised easily and the area was perfect in terms of transportation. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was great. I cannot come up with something negative. I enjoyed staying there!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Location breakfast and facilities

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location... The staff was very helpful and friendly... Affordable... Clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to submit a rating. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future! Best regards, Mat Meadows General Manager.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean with friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: the staff for the most part were helpful

Disliked: I stayed in a room with a man who was rude, disrespectful and he took my stuff.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is large but it still manages to have a pretty decent vibe. They have a pretty good selection for breakfast, with one special item that changes daily (they had waffles and scrambled eggs while I was there). Public transport is good, and it's quite easy to find the hostel. There's a street with plenty of restaurants nearby if you feel like eating out. They also have guitars you can borrow from the reception!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was close to everywhere, it has everything you needed, it was close to bar district and to the metro station, breakfasts were really good

Disliked: My room was dark, the showers were uncomfortable.


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our great Lincoln Park location and our daily breakfast! I hope you come visit us again sometime.

Check Availability