HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Charlestons NotSo Hostel Charleston

Hostel

156 Spring St., Charleston, USA

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 80%

Location 79%

Safety 88%

Staff 85%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.00USD

Important Information

Check-in is from 17:00 p.m. – 22:00 p.m. only! Check-out is at 11:00 a.m.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 18:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Charleston?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 80%

Location 79%

Safety 88%

Staff 85%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small and intimate, rooms were good size, bathrooms clean regularly, close to down town (15 minute walk), staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Plastic mattress covers were very loud when sleeping, not a lot of inside common space, tv room only open when reception was open (5pm-10pm)

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good wifi, location

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very cheap, air conditioned rooms. Nice building with a porch. Bathrooms were nice. Other guests were very friendly.

Disliked: Breakfast starts at 8.30 - way too late. Rooms were not very clean (need dusting and sweeping!). Common area was only available during office hours. Bathrooms need more cleaning. Very persistent incense smell - everywhere, all the time.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Character, convenient for free trolley to town.

Disliked: Cooking equipment very limited e.g. no sharp knife for preparing vegetables.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everyone I met at the hostel were very friendly and I made the hostel was great for meeting new vibrant travelers. All the rooms have very sweet names and the bathrooms are the nicest I've ever seen in a hostel! Breakfast was really good and it was easy to make a bagel for lunch as well if you wanted. Kitchen was easy to use and had everything I needed. In a good area with sweet little shops along the roads and a big Piggly Wiggly (the best shop ever) right on the corner at the end of the road. It's walking distance into town but if you don't want to walk then there is a free shuttle round town a few blocks down from the hostel. I had a great time here and would definitely stay again!!

Disliked: The beds were a bit noisy because they were plastic and there was no milk at breakfast, just creamer which meant that the coffee didn't taste anywhere near as good as it did when I added milk. Check in is between 5pm-11pm which is annoying when you arrive at 10am. Breakfast could have gone on a bit longer as well, especially as people like to have big nights out. Even so these are very small factors to the over all enjoyment and I really did have a fabulous time here.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I ended up arriving a day late and the hostel and staff were very accommodating.My stay was very enjoyable , partly due to the fellow travelers i met and also the staff. We were given good reccommendations from Jeremy for eats. Overall one of the best hostel experiances i had in the USA , if only the weather in charleston had been better during my stay .

Disliked: Squeeky matresses.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Walking distance (30-45 minutes) to anything in downtown Charleston. Clean, friendly environment. Multiple buildings to the hostel, free central parking available.

Disliked: There were only two bathrooms for each house (there are three buildings), but it never surfaced as a problem for me. The beds in my room also creaked a lot, but were comfortable enough.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice homely hostel. The location is in a safe area and only a short work to the main streets. The hostel is clean, and the bedrooms are big (at least mine was). The staff put together a good recommendations booklet for local restaurants and supermarkets etc. I usually don't eat at the first place I come across, but the nearby restaurants are reasonably priced and very good. This is the only hostel in Charleston, but the staff still maintain a great standard even if there isn't any competition. You must visit Charleston- it's a beautiful city with a lot of history and amazing restaurants!

Disliked: I agree with a previous comment: it is like a guesthouse. The atmosphere is created by the people staying here. If everyone keeps to themselves, it is boring for single travellers. The first part of my stay was like this, and then everyone who later arrived made things interesting. The atmosphere is created by the travellers, not the staff, who pretty much keep to themselves, although one guy who works there is chatty. The staff are nice, just some of the females are distant. More could be done to arrange things to bring people together...other hostels have pizza nights, bar crawls etc. check-in hours are unreasonable, considering the trains are late etc, however, they do make it easy to sort yourself out if you arrive outside of those hours. Overall, I really did have a great stay, and these are just some pointers.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel, nice communal porch to hang out on with a beer, good location an easy walk from downtown.

Disliked: The thick plastic cover on the mattresses makes turning over in your sleep a very loud affair.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The NotSo was like a home away from home. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and the place was always clean.

Disliked: There was never enough hot water in one of the two showers in the main house.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability