HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Charleston's Not So Hostel

Hostel | 156 Spring St., Charleston, South Carolina, USA 29403

82.1% Overall Rating

106 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2013)

Paul Bonam thinks…

"I ended up arriving a day late and the hostel and staff were very accommodating. My stay was very enjoyable , partly due to the fellow travelers i met and also the staff. We were given good…"

Read all Charleston's Not So Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in is from 17:00 p.m. – 22:00 p.m. only! Check-out is at 11:00 a.m.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Charleston?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

106 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Charleston's Not So Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 95 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Bonam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I ended up arriving a day late and the hostel and staff were very accommodating. My stay was very enjoyable , partly due to the fellow travelers i met and also the staff. We were given good reccommendations from Jeremy for eats. Overall one of the best hostel experiances i had in the USA , if only the weather in charleston had been better during my stay .

Disliked: Squeeky matresses.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vivienne Ward-Caddle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Vivienne would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone I met at the hostel were very friendly and I made the hostel was great for meeting new vibrant travelers. All the rooms have very sweet names and the bathrooms are the nicest I've ever seen in a hostel! Breakfast was really good and it was easy to make a bagel for lunch as well if you wanted. Kitchen was easy to use and had everything I needed. In a good area with sweet little shops along the roads and a big Piggly Wiggly (the best shop ever) right on the corner at the end of the road. It's walking distance into town but if you don't want to walk then there is a free shuttle round town a few blocks down from the hostel. I had a great time here and would definitely stay again!!

Disliked: The beds were a bit noisy because they were plastic and there was no milk at breakfast, just creamer which meant that the coffee didn't taste anywhere near as good as it did when I added milk. Check in is between 5pm-11pm which is annoying when you arrive at 10am. Breakfast could have gone on a bit longer as well, especially as people like to have big nights out. Even so these are very small factors to the over all enjoyment and I really did have a fabulous time here.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance (30-45 minutes) to anything in downtown Charleston. Clean, friendly environment. Multiple buildings to the hostel, free central parking available.

Disliked: There were only two bathrooms for each house (there are three buildings), but it never surfaced as a problem for me. The beds in my room also creaked a lot, but were comfortable enough.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice homely hostel. The location is in a safe area and only a short work to the main streets. The hostel is clean, and the bedrooms are big (at least mine was). The staff put together a good recommendations booklet for local restaurants and supermarkets etc. I usually don't eat at the first place I come across, but the nearby restaurants are reasonably priced and very good. This is the only hostel in Charleston, but the staff still maintain a great standard even if there isn't any competition. You must visit Charleston- it's a beautiful city with a lot of history and amazing restaurants!

Disliked: I agree with a previous comment: it is like a guesthouse. The atmosphere is created by the people staying here. If everyone keeps to themselves, it is boring for single travellers. The first part of my stay was like this, and then everyone who later arrived made things interesting. The atmosphere is created by the travellers, not the staff, who pretty much keep to themselves, although one guy who works there is chatty. The staff are nice, just some of the females are distant. More could be done to arrange things to bring people together...other hostels have pizza nights, bar crawls etc. check-in hours are unreasonable, considering the trains are late etc, however, they do make it easy to sort yourself out if you arrive outside of those hours. Overall, I really did have a great stay, and these are just some pointers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, nice communal porch to hang out on with a beer, good location an easy walk from downtown.

Disliked: The thick plastic cover on the mattresses makes turning over in your sleep a very loud affair.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jocelyn ledger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Jocelyn would recommend this property

Liked: The NotSo was like a home away from home. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and the place was always clean.

Disliked: There was never enough hot water in one of the two showers in the main house.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Akshaya Desai

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2013 Akshaya would recommend this property

Liked: Everything that it has to offer. Perfect place to stay for a sane traveler and the location too is quite close to downtown. A brisk walk of 10 mins and you're on King's street.

Disliked: Akshaya left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JON UNZUETA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, free breakfast and internet.

Disliked: The plastic covers of the matress are very noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

melanie skivington

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 melanie would recommend this property

Liked: cool place - very chilled and relaxed

Disliked: melanie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The interior decoration was personal and homey

Disliked: There was a group enjoying a nightly chat outside the window, unfortunately the sound travelled right through.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Malyjasiak

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 October 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic traveleres-friendly atmosphere, very cosy rooms, and absolutely awesome porch :)

Disliked: no negative feedback

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

brice boyer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 brice would recommend this property

Liked: It is quite cheap.

Disliked: The area is not so good, the A/C makes a lot of noise, especially near some beds, the "breakfast" is not very early...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fabian Dreier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nice and clean. Also the included breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: Fabian left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the balcony and the charm of the building.

Disliked: The thick plastic on the beds were very noisy and made it difficult to sleep even with earplugs. Two bathrooms was not enough for all the people. People taking showers and getting ready for their day meant you needed to wait a long time for your first morning trip to the bathroom. That was uncomfortable. There were no maps showing you how to walk into town or to explain the bus system or the free trolly system. There were hundreds of pamphlets strewn around but nothing to assist you in planning your day. A couple of poster boards with this information would have made a big difference because the staff is rarely around and didn't interact with the guests at all that I could see. So much more could have been done to assist travelers with very little effort.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a place to park is convenient while walking through the city. I liked the porches.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not clean: trash cans overflowing, rugs and hand towels were not changed, showers were littered with personal items and trash. Coffee pot was stained, no drying rack for dishes.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Peri Hann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Peri would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest place to stay in charleston. Ideal for one night.

Disliked: Long walk to the centre, breakfast could have been a bit better. Dorm room beds were uncomfortable .

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location in a city with few alternatives in the price range. Parking good, with quiet room. An okay breakfast of bagels, but decent tea would have been nice.

Disliked: Paying $60 for a room should have included a towel (not $1 extra). Staff seemed worn down from hostel duties, the 10 a.m. kick out seems a bit like the old days.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Richard Beck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: In a country where hosteling is still not fully developed Not So makes a good attempt to meet the needs of travellers. It's a pleasant place and when they are around the staff are helpful and cheerful.

Disliked: There are no full-time staff, although for checking in they supply the code for the back door in advance should you arrive outside of office hours. There are no lockers for valuable, although the dorm rooms lock. The first day I was there the front door was left unlocked all day even though no one was in attendance. The beds are uncomfortable: the mattress is placed inside a thick plastic bag, which is noisy when you turn over and is shiny, so the bottom sheet slides around on it or sometimes becomes detached. The location is a good walk from the centre, but doable. The neighbourhood is slightly shady. Detailed instruction for arriving and leaving via AMTRAK and Greyhound need to be improved.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff (and dog occasionally!), short walk downtown, value for money, decor, free breakfast and wifi, the balcony with rocking chairs is the perfect way to enjoy a cup of tea! Great bar a few doors down, Remedy Market, with awesome bartenders!

Disliked: Only two bathrooms in the main area which meant there was often a bit of a wait.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 October 2011

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: 1. All the entrances and leaving are done from the back door. If you come to the hostel late at night, going all the way to the back is not something you are happy with. 2. Sharing toilets its ok for a hostel, but sharing toilets with the entire building also means that they should be cleaned very often. This is not what happened. The showers were full of other people's hair and the washing basin is dirty with several other people's toothpaste. In one word, the toilets are DISGUSTING. 3. There is no quiet after 10pm. Although there are signs everywhere saying that from 10pm-8am is the quiet time, people often stay in the kitchen talking loud till late. The walls are so thin that it feels like you are sitting with them. Not only that, as there is a bar close by with live music that I could hear from my bedroom and people talking in the street till 4 in the morning. 4. When you arrive you are given a pair of mismatched sheets so you can do the bed yourself and you can choose amongst several not cleaned blankets - the one I had to use had both dog's and people's hair on it. 5. The mattress is extremely uncomfortable and has no protection against bed bugs. The same applies to the pillows. 6. It is located close to a bad neighborhood and I did not feel safe arriving after 9pm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, friendly people, good accommodations and great porch :)

Disliked: kind of a far walk from the sites

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's one of the few hostels that I've visited when I've been able to have a pizza party with the staff, which makes a nice change from the usual messy night on the tiles. The free use of computers and complimentary breakfast were also bonuses.

Disliked: There was a minor mosquito issue, but that's not really down to the hostel. And it was a little quieter than other hostels, but that may have been due to my visit in early fall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel, especially the bagel-braekfast was great! In this hostel you can see that the stuff also has experiences in backpacking and staying in hostels.

Disliked: Everything was good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert pearce

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. very clean and very nice bathrooms. local restaurants and chain restaurants near by. Helpful staff

Disliked: a little out of the way. but there are bus routes nearby

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Evans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like you were living in a house not a hostel. Iv been in over 35 hostels world wide and found this place one of the best overall environments. As a lone treveller i could meet people really easily and the people were of a wide age range and when it was quite or i felt like just hanging in the hostel the staff were really friendly and chatty. Loved it! + theres live music almost every night in the garden two doors down witch is a great way to meet locals.

Disliked: Could have sheets that fit the bed better on the matresses on the bunk beds.