We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Buffalo hostels

Reviews of Hostel Buffalo Niagara

Hostel | 667 Main Street, Buffalo, New York, USA 14203

91.3% Overall Rating

243 out of 252 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Show Shin Chang thinks…

"I've tried at least 30 hostels in my travels and Hostel Buffalo Niagara takes the #1 spot! When I first came up North from New York City, the hostel completely blew me away. Never mind the security…"

Read all Hostel Buffalo Niagara reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hostel desk hours are 8 - 10am and 5 - 10pm. If you plan to arrive at the hostel outside desk hours, e-mail or call the hostel in advance to receive instructions. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night upon check-in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buffalo?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

243 out of 252 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Buffalo Niagara'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 204 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emily Radford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2015 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was a much cheaper opition for going to see Niagara Falls

Disliked: Its a long walk from the bus station and late at night it was rather unnevering walking the streets alone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Show Shin Chang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2015 Show Shin would recommend this property

Liked: I've tried at least 30 hostels in my travels and Hostel Buffalo Niagara takes the #1 spot! When I first came up North from New York City, the hostel completely blew me away. Never mind the security card access (which can sometimes be a pain but made you feel super safe)bathe toilets, bedroom, beds, kitchen and the staff were absolutely amazing. Not to mention how close it was to the city center and the great bars but I'd recommend walking up to Elmwood. The staff really knew what they were doing, hauling food supplies into the common area, drawing on maps to make out all the awesome spots to visit, advising about free tours and answering my queries on the Niagara Falls. The level of cleanliness here is insane! I absolutely loved the hostel and would definitely be back with Hostel Buffalo Niagara because I promised myself yet another visit to the falls and there's really no place else I'd want to stay in. There is everything to love about this place, be here and you'll know why.

Disliked: My only grumble was the security access card because I locked myself out while showering. But that is not anybody's fault but mine so there's absolutely nothing to dislike at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very welcomming

Disliked: heat in the room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Great kitchen.

Disliked: Buffalo is a pretty depressing city...it's a shame because the hostel deserves more visitors.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like a home from home. Very friendly atmosphere!

Disliked: The opening hours, the hostel seemed a little understaffed. But they were incredibly friendly!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mui Ee Tan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Mui Ee would recommend this property

Liked: Room size is just nice. Cosy living room. A kitchen equipped for cooking. Free breakfast with oats, coffee/tea.

Disliked: Mui Ee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Millar

Alone

Events / festivals

22 June 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: I was impressed by everything about this place, I'll certainly be back!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fidella Sanh

Alone

City break

03 June 2014 Fidella would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration and all the facilities provided

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julia Parkhouse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to from the bus station. Homely atmosphere. Very friendly staff. Nice and quiet during night so you can get a restful sleep

Disliked: The showers are not very private having only a curtain rather than cubicle. The hostel website is very old with incorrect information on it which isn't helpful

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Filipe Mota

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2014 Filipe would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel. Good location and very good common areas. Big kitchen and big rooms.

Disliked: Filipe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Newbury

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: I always stay here when I come to Buffalo as you can't beat $25 a night for the location right downtown.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roderick Dougal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Roderick would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, welcoming comfortable and well run....

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Workman

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 October 2013 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: It's an attractive building which is conveniently located. Within walking distance to Allentown and located right in the theatre district.

Disliked: The bunk beds are a little annoying to climb up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a great value. Great common area and kitchen.

Disliked: Lots of construction on the street it's on currently, but that doesn't really affect your stay whatsoever.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very accommodating staff. The place is kept tidy. Comfortable place to stay.

Disliked: A few more lockers for the dorm beds would be appreciated.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite and helpful staff

Disliked: Not comfortable bed

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Wan-Yu Liao

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013

Liked: clean

Disliked: too far

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Manuela Heeb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 Manuela would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff. Big rooms and a big kitchen.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noni Spouse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Noni would recommend this property

Liked: Super secure. A little too much after my room card stopped working and i was stuck for a few hours in the arvo as staff don't work during the day. In my pjs... Room was spacious. Good tv area in the basement (not a lot to do in Buffalo at night) some classic VHS tapes that will make you feel nostalgic.

Disliked: Noni left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lila BONENFANT

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Lila would recommend this property

Liked: Large common kitchen and living room. Calm.

Disliked: No breakfast. Large room with too many beds. No locked showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Newbury

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: It is very well located downtown and close to the subway. I've stayed at the Buffalo Hostel a number of times and liked it. Also on HostelBookers.com it says that there is an extra $3 fee for non hostel members but I have never had to pay this. I think this may be a mistake about the Buffalo Hostel which I think is independantly run and not YHA.

Disliked: I only had one problem this trip which was my key didn't work when I went back to the hostel in the afternoon. No was the desk until 5pm since they have limited hours being a small hostel. I unfortunately had to kill time until later to get the problem with my key fixed. The front desk person apologized and fixed my key so it was nothing major.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrew Riley

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great location. very friendly staff

Disliked: My card was deactivated for a few hours which was an inconveinience.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gail Schwartz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Gail would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, kitchen and staff

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonatan Thorstensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Jonatan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really great, it's just Buffalo that is not so much.

Disliked: The toilets are sort of public toilet- like, but that's ok.


See all Buffalo hostels