HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Buffalo hostels

Reviews of Hostel Buffalo Niagara

Hostel | 667 Main Street, Buffalo, New York, USA 14203

88.7% Overall Rating

224 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/02/2014)

Mark Newbury thinks…

"I always stay here when I come to Buffalo as you can't beat $25 a night for the location right downtown."

Read all Hostel Buffalo Niagara reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hostel desk hours are 8 - 10am and 5 - 10pm. If you plan to arrive at the hostel outside desk hours, e-mail or call the hostel in advance to receive instructions. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night upon check-in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buffalo?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

224 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Buffalo Niagara'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 186 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Newbury

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: I always stay here when I come to Buffalo as you can't beat $25 a night for the location right downtown.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roderick Dougal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Roderick would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, welcoming comfortable and well run....

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Workman

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 October 2013 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: It's an attractive building which is conveniently located. Within walking distance to Allentown and located right in the theatre district.

Disliked: The bunk beds are a little annoying to climb up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a great value. Great common area and kitchen.

Disliked: Lots of construction on the street it's on currently, but that doesn't really affect your stay whatsoever.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very accommodating staff. The place is kept tidy. Comfortable place to stay.

Disliked: A few more lockers for the dorm beds would be appreciated.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite and helpful staff

Disliked: Not comfortable bed

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Wan-Yu Liao

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013

Liked: clean

Disliked: too far

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Manuela Heeb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 Manuela would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff. Big rooms and a big kitchen.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noni Spouse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Noni would recommend this property

Liked: Super secure. A little too much after my room card stopped working and i was stuck for a few hours in the arvo as staff don't work during the day. In my pjs... Room was spacious. Good tv area in the basement (not a lot to do in Buffalo at night) some classic VHS tapes that will make you feel nostalgic.

Disliked: Noni left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lila BONENFANT

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Lila would recommend this property

Liked: Large common kitchen and living room. Calm.

Disliked: No breakfast. Large room with too many beds. No locked showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Newbury

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: It is very well located downtown and close to the subway. I've stayed at the Buffalo Hostel a number of times and liked it. Also on HostelBookers.com it says that there is an extra $3 fee for non hostel members but I have never had to pay this. I think this may be a mistake about the Buffalo Hostel which I think is independantly run and not YHA.

Disliked: I only had one problem this trip which was my key didn't work when I went back to the hostel in the afternoon. No was the desk until 5pm since they have limited hours being a small hostel. I unfortunately had to kill time until later to get the problem with my key fixed. The front desk person apologized and fixed my key so it was nothing major.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrew Riley

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great location. very friendly staff

Disliked: My card was deactivated for a few hours which was an inconveinience.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gail Schwartz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Gail would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, kitchen and staff

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonatan Thorstensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Jonatan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really great, it's just Buffalo that is not so much.

Disliked: The toilets are sort of public toilet- like, but that's ok.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nikita Korenhof

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012

Liked: The hostel had a big kitchen and livingroom and also a basement with TV, pool table and darts.

Disliked: some parts of the hostel look brand new, while other things look very old. For instance, the beds were old and squeaky and the couches were quite old but the kitchen and hallway looked fresh and clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the kitchen- and dining-area. It was very nice and set up in a way that inspired contact between travellers. The dorms sound big (12 beds), but the rooms sound large and intelligently shaped, so they don't really feel overcrowded.

Disliked: Nothing really; it's very easy to get to and the price is okay for what you get. I would totally recommend the hostel to other people. What I simply would not recommend unless you got a reason to go there is Buffalo as a city from a tourist point of view. The architecture is great indeed, but the town is rather depressing, so you don't really feel inspired to walk around there. The area seemed quite good to party and get drunk however.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HYEJUNG YOON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 September 2012 HYEJUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Kindness of host

Disliked: HYEJUNG left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

timothy guest

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 timothy would recommend this property

Liked: good location. friendly staff. towel provided. good kitchen and good chillout area. although there are many people in the dorm it is very large so there is lots of room.

Disliked: reception is only open part of the day. the rooms have many people in them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcello quattrini

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 June 2012 marcello would recommend this property

Liked: Ottima cortesia del personale e comodo ai servizi pubblici Buona pulizia degli ambienti

Disliked: marcello left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rinda Warawudhi

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Rinda would recommend this property

Liked: It was located in the heart of the town. So it was easy to transport, go sightseeing and others.

Disliked: It should spicify more detail about how to get it. Only house number and street may not help first-comer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Warner

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

11 June 2012 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the very nice lounge area.

Disliked: For our whole 4-night stay, they had the air conditioning up too high. I had to have a jacket on inside and 2 blankets on the bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that the hostel is very friendly and clean. :) and you are good located to go to Downtown Buffalo.

Disliked: I had that i couldn't sleep at night because of the air condition in the room. It was soo loud !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Beck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities and location

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about this hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DOMINIC SATCHELL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 DOMINIC would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and rooms were clean. Although it was a large dorm, the layout and shape of the room made it feel more private than you would expect for a room with so many beds. The location is also very central, not too far from the greyhound either.

Disliked: Although it's not the hostel's fault, there is very little to do in buffalo! Even with such a central location. I was there for one night and I think two nights would have been too many.


See all Buffalo hostels