We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of HI - Boston Hostel

Hostel | 19 Stuart St., Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

90.7% Overall Rating

373 out of 381 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2015)

Sara Garcia thinks…

"It is well located and there are many attractions and facilities for guests around the hostel."

Read all HI - Boston Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

************************************************************************ PLEASE NOTE: HI-Boston is a Membership organization. Non-Members will be charged an additional $3 per night - this amount will be added upon arrival as needed. . ************************************************************************ Hostelling International Boston provides accommodations to travelers who live a minimum of 30 miles from the hostel. All guests must be 18 or over and present a valid, government photo ID upon check-in. ************************************************************************ Cancellations may be made at no charge up to 23:59 Boston time the night before arrival. Cancellations after then will be charged for the first night's stay. ************************************************************************ Payments Accepted Upon Arrival: Cash (USD), Credit / Debit Cards *As of June 2, 2014: Rates do not include 14.95% City and State taxes which will be added to your balance upon arrival ************************************************************************ Check In: 16:00 Check Out: 11:00 ************************************************************************ NOTE: We do not accept online group bookings of 8 or more people and you must contact the hostel directly if you want to make a booking for a group, as supplemental group reservation policies and prices will apply. If you decide to make a booking for your group anyway through individual bookings we retain the right to cancel your booking without a refund of your deposit. groups

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

40 Berkeley
46.66 USD

Hostel 71.8% 795 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
43.00 USD

Hostel 72.0% 145 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
209.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.4% 9 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

373 out of 381 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Boston Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 298 of 376 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yujeong Cho

Alone

City break

23 August 2015 Yujeong would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very clean, and breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: On the website page, it says they provide shampoo and soap. Well, they did, but it wasn't a good quality. It was almost like water - not a soap, very cheap. You should bring your own to use.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: layout and room design good breakfast

Disliked: there was a white girl with dark brown hair on recpetion that seemed dis interested in helping travellers….

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Garcia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: It is well located and there are many attractions and facilities for guests around the hostel.

Disliked: The check in was until 4 pm and we got here early early in the morning. However the staff offered to storage our luggage, which was great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr gute grosse Schliessfächer. Frühstück war okay aber nichts besonderes. Sauber, gute Lage.

Disliked: Teuerstes Hostel (7Bettraum) in dem ich jemals war. Checkout ist schon um 11 Uhr.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to Boston Commons and alle the downtown sights. There is an activity plan for every day in the week with organized tours or events, the kitchen was big and with lots of places to sit, eat and chat

Disliked: it was pretty expensive - not in comparison to Boston hotels but to Hostels in other towns

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: Bathrooms were occasionally untidy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 August 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: $50 can get me a room by myself instead of sharing one with 6 other people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and neat

Disliked: Breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is excellent!

Disliked: it is excellent!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very clean and efficient hostel, it had everything that I needed

Disliked: The hostel was quite pricey and it looked a good social scene that is normal in other hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Casals

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best Hostelling International I have ever stayed in. Firstly the building is awesome, the kitchen is absolutely brilliant & finally the staff are super professional & incredibly friendly & helpful. Amazing place for the money ;D

Disliked: The internet cuts out now & again, depending on where you are in the building.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff proper but quite indifferent Food stolen from refrigerator Problem storing luggage, lockers not available between 1am and 5 am Otherwise clean and good with good respectful guests, good night of sleep

Disliked: Lockers not working between one and five am Some of staff not friendly,proper but not friendly

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dan Hughes-Morgan

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2015 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, new hostel. Fun vibe. Very clean. Good breakfast. Fantastic location.

Disliked: Quite expensive but you get what you pay for.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice bathrooms and free luggage storage. The breakfast was also awesome.

Disliked: There wasn't a particularly social vibe to it, and on the night of the pub crawl it got cancelled and we were given directions to the place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and staff was friendly. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

Disliked: Not much. The breakfast was ok , nothing much ... But ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kelly McGrath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2015 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere compared to many other HI hostels. Clean room, good location, I would stay again

Disliked: Considering the high price of the hostel, I think it's a bit rich that they then make you pay $3 to store your luggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is unbeatable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bed was comfy. They've got everything a traveler would need: fridge, kitchen, kitchenware, microwave, and free entertainment and free wifi with great quality.

Disliked: The room I got was right next to a busy street so it was loud at night and early morning with motorcycles/cars noises. My door card stopped working twice even though I made sure I didn't put it near my phone or other cards. I had to take it to the front desk to have it fixed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and safe hostel. Location was very good. I liked the design and the style. It was very modern

Disliked: I think I was very expensive. The idea of hostel Is to serve travelers passing the night in cheap places. I payed 70 $ for just one night ?. It seems very expensive to me

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

STEPHANIE DICKIE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2015 STEPHANIE would recommend this property

Liked: I've done a fair whack of travelling and this is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. The rooms are clean there are plenty of bathrooms, the free breakfast is decent and there is plenty of activities on offer from walking tours to comedy to some meet ups with other travellers. It's centrally located and great value for money!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pieter Verhoeven

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2015 Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staff, the location and the fun activities! It is fairly easy to meet people and they offer a good breakfast.

Disliked: Only the person checking me in was not very friendly, besides that nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Dukes

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 June 2015 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, very helpful staff

Disliked: A bit big, could make it difficult to socialise. Some guests didn't observe quiet time, the wad difficult to monitor due to its size.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jennifer Thomson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern clean hostel with lots of organised activities.

Disliked: Expensive compared to other places but the money gets you quality.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Alexander

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was located in a great location and I loved the fact that there were organized events. I traveled alone so it was an eas way to meet new people and experience something new at the same time.

Disliked: I didn't have any complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ernst Marti

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2015 Ernst would recommend this property

Liked: Situation

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dylan Price

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2015 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: The HI Boston is one of the best and cleanest hostels I have stayed in. The kitchen is outstanding and the breakfast each day really sets you up for the day. The staff are very helpful and there are a good number of arranged events. The hostel is close to Chinatown so good cheap eating out is handy and it is also close to the subway for more extensive exploration. However most of the major attractions are a ok walk away including Boston Common.

Disliked: The only down side of this hostel is it's price. One of the more expensive ones I have stayed at but they do have some great facilities to offset that.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels