We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of HI - Boston Hostel

Hostel | 19 Stuart St., Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

92.1% Overall Rating

357 out of 364 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2015)

Dan Hughes-Morgan thinks…

"Really nice, new hostel. Fun vibe. Very clean. Good breakfast. Fantastic location."

Read all HI - Boston Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

************************************************************************ PLEASE NOTE: HI-Boston is a Membership organization. Non-Members will be charged an additional $3 per night - this amount will be added upon arrival as needed. . ************************************************************************ Hostelling International Boston provides accommodations to travelers who live a minimum of 30 miles from the hostel. All guests must be 18 or over and present a valid, government photo ID upon check-in. ************************************************************************ Cancellations may be made at no charge up to 23:59 Boston time the night before arrival. Cancellations after then will be charged for the first night's stay. ************************************************************************ Payments Accepted Upon Arrival: Cash (USD), Credit / Debit Cards *As of June 2, 2014: Rates do not include 14.95% City and State taxes which will be added to your balance upon arrival ************************************************************************ Check In: 16:00 Check Out: 11:00 ************************************************************************ NOTE: We do not accept online group bookings of 8 or more people and you must contact the hostel directly if you want to make a booking for a group, as supplemental group reservation policies and prices will apply. If you decide to make a booking for your group anyway through individual bookings we retain the right to cancel your booking without a refund of your deposit. groups

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

40 Berkeley
46.66 USD

Hostel 76.2% 789 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
43.00 USD

Hostel 72.7% 138 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
209.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

357 out of 364 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Boston Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 286 of 359 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dan Hughes-Morgan

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2015 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, new hostel. Fun vibe. Very clean. Good breakfast. Fantastic location.

Disliked: Quite expensive but you get what you pay for.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice bathrooms and free luggage storage. The breakfast was also awesome.

Disliked: There wasn't a particularly social vibe to it, and on the night of the pub crawl it got cancelled and we were given directions to the place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and staff was friendly. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

Disliked: Not much. The breakfast was ok , nothing much ... But ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kelly McGrath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2015 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere compared to many other HI hostels. Clean room, good location, I would stay again

Disliked: Considering the high price of the hostel, I think it's a bit rich that they then make you pay $3 to store your luggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is unbeatable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bed was comfy. They've got everything a traveler would need: fridge, kitchen, kitchenware, microwave, and free entertainment and free wifi with great quality.

Disliked: The room I got was right next to a busy street so it was loud at night and early morning with motorcycles/cars noises. My door card stopped working twice even though I made sure I didn't put it near my phone or other cards. I had to take it to the front desk to have it fixed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and safe hostel. Location was very good. I liked the design and the style. It was very modern

Disliked: I think I was very expensive. The idea of hostel Is to serve travelers passing the night in cheap places. I payed 70 $ for just one night ?. It seems very expensive to me

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

STEPHANIE DICKIE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2015 STEPHANIE would recommend this property

Liked: I've done a fair whack of travelling and this is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. The rooms are clean there are plenty of bathrooms, the free breakfast is decent and there is plenty of activities on offer from walking tours to comedy to some meet ups with other travellers. It's centrally located and great value for money!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pieter Verhoeven

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2015 Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staff, the location and the fun activities! It is fairly easy to meet people and they offer a good breakfast.

Disliked: Only the person checking me in was not very friendly, besides that nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Dukes

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 June 2015 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, very helpful staff

Disliked: A bit big, could make it difficult to socialise. Some guests didn't observe quiet time, the wad difficult to monitor due to its size.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jennifer Thomson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern clean hostel with lots of organised activities.

Disliked: Expensive compared to other places but the money gets you quality.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Alexander

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was located in a great location and I loved the fact that there were organized events. I traveled alone so it was an eas way to meet new people and experience something new at the same time.

Disliked: I didn't have any complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ernst Marti

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2015 Ernst would recommend this property

Liked: Situation

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dylan Price

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2015 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: The HI Boston is one of the best and cleanest hostels I have stayed in. The kitchen is outstanding and the breakfast each day really sets you up for the day. The staff are very helpful and there are a good number of arranged events. The hostel is close to Chinatown so good cheap eating out is handy and it is also close to the subway for more extensive exploration. However most of the major attractions are a ok walk away including Boston Common.

Disliked: The only down side of this hostel is it's price. One of the more expensive ones I have stayed at but they do have some great facilities to offset that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jon Day

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2015 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Spacious, clean, great communal rooms and kitchen, lots of breakfast choices, lots of bathrooms and space to hang out. Very central as well, easy to walk everywhere.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Arjun Vohra

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2015 Arjun would recommend this property

Liked: Near train station but need to take tram or bus to boston city centre. Everything else was great.

Disliked: location is not in central boston

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Great breakfast and location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Swarnendra Singh

Alone

Business / conference

02 June 2015 Swarnendra would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and clean as compared to any...annyy hostel of the world !! Awesome place with cheerful atmosphere with a lots of activities. Its amazing!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike man !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were cleaner than those of other hostels I have stayed at, and the facility in general is very well organized while still staying "hip" and retaining a more young and relaxed atmosphere. I felt very secure once I was inside the building, and the staff is very friendly. The building is within walking distance to the Boston Commons, Park Street/Boylston T stops, several convenience stores, and a movie theater.

Disliked: The facility itself is very safe, but the area around it (chinatown) is questionable. As a female, I felt very uncomfortable at times just walking a couple of blocks by myself. I was catcalled frequently, and had to cross the street on a couple of occasions because I was uncomfortable about being on the same side of the street as the people trying to talk to me. It's not necessarily an unsafe area...it's just not ideal if you are traveling alone and aren't familiar with the area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, nice rooms and facilities, great breakfast facility.

Disliked: Locker system for storing bags post check-out is ageing and could use a more user-friendly replacement

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of the above. Plus the breakfast facilities and offerings were great. I loved the social atmosphere which you don't get in a hotel.

Disliked: Only one negative comment and that is the heating system. We were at the front of the building with lots of windows. A/C worked until it got to 23.0 then the heat came on full blast. It was very uncomfortable for sleeping. We reported to the front desk and a maintenance staff appeared at our door shortly thereafter. He bluntly told us "I am not an electrician and cant do anything about this issue."

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Davorin Pandel

Alone

City break

20 May 2015 Davorin would recommend this property

Liked: Towels in the price. Location amazing. Staff ok!

Disliked: for 50$ they could offer a better breakfast. Ventilation in the rooms is very loud at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fabian Gubler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Modern & absolutely clean hostel. One of the best hostels in terms of rooms, cleanliness, kitchen, etc.

Disliked: Absolutely impersonal atmosphere, the only new people we met were the other people in our room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolin Temps

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2015 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good beds, good breakfast

Disliked: No alcohol allowed

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aage Schrader

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2015 Aage would recommend this property

Liked: a

Disliked: Aage left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed the night but it worked well for us. Basic room with bunk beds, clean linen and towels. Personal lamp and plug socket with space for phone etc while you slept. Shared bathroom but was clean with a pile of bathmats and hairdryer. You had to swipe in the main door and key your code in for bedroom so safe and there were lockers for your bags but remember your padlock otherwise you'll have to purchase one from the reception! Great communal areas; downstairs had a small cafe, lots of chairs and relaxing areas (beanbags etc) and on the 2nd floor was more seating area, pool table and a massive communal kitchen. Breakfast was great - 2 types of bagels (small but you could help youself to more than 1), sliced brown and white bread, cereal, yogurt, fruit, butter, jam etc and tea/ coffee, juice and water. Great location; round the corner from the train station, Chinatown and McDonalds on the doorstep and its close to Boston Common and other sights.

Disliked: $3 fee per person just because you're not a HI member.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels