We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of HI - Boston Hostel

Hostel | 19 Stuart St., Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

90.7% Overall Rating

338 out of 345 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/05/2015)

"The rooms were cleaner than those of other hostels I have stayed at, and the facility in general is very well organized while still staying "hip" and retaining a more young and relaxed atmosphere. I felt very…"

Read all HI - Boston Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

************************************************************************ PLEASE NOTE: HI-Boston is a Membership organization. Non-Members will be charged an additional $3 per night - this amount will be added upon arrival as needed. . ************************************************************************ Hostelling International Boston provides accommodations to travelers who live a minimum of 30 miles from the hostel. All guests must be 18 or over and present a valid, government photo ID upon check-in. ************************************************************************ Cancellations may be made at no charge up to 23:59 Boston time the night before arrival. Cancellations after then will be charged for the first night's stay. ************************************************************************ Payments Accepted Upon Arrival: Cash (USD), Credit / Debit Cards *As of June 2, 2014: Rates do not include 14.95% City and State taxes which will be added to your balance upon arrival ************************************************************************ Check In: 16:00 Check Out: 11:00 ************************************************************************ Bookings over 8 persons please contact us directly

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

40 Berkeley
46.66 USD

Hostel 75.1% 781 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
43.00 USD

Hostel 71.3% 137 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
209.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

338 out of 345 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Boston Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 269 of 340 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were cleaner than those of other hostels I have stayed at, and the facility in general is very well organized while still staying "hip" and retaining a more young and relaxed atmosphere. I felt very secure once I was inside the building, and the staff is very friendly. The building is within walking distance to the Boston Commons, Park Street/Boylston T stops, several convenience stores, and a movie theater.

Disliked: The facility itself is very safe, but the area around it (chinatown) is questionable. As a female, I felt very uncomfortable at times just walking a couple of blocks by myself. I was catcalled frequently, and had to cross the street on a couple of occasions because I was uncomfortable about being on the same side of the street as the people trying to talk to me. It's not necessarily an unsafe area...it's just not ideal if you are traveling alone and aren't familiar with the area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, nice rooms and facilities, great breakfast facility.

Disliked: Locker system for storing bags post check-out is ageing and could use a more user-friendly replacement

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of the above. Plus the breakfast facilities and offerings were great. I loved the social atmosphere which you don't get in a hotel.

Disliked: Only one negative comment and that is the heating system. We were at the front of the building with lots of windows. A/C worked until it got to 23.0 then the heat came on full blast. It was very uncomfortable for sleeping. We reported to the front desk and a maintenance staff appeared at our door shortly thereafter. He bluntly told us "I am not an electrician and cant do anything about this issue."

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Davorin Pandel

Alone

City break

20 May 2015 Davorin would recommend this property

Liked: Towels in the price. Location amazing. Staff ok!

Disliked: for 50$ they could offer a better breakfast. Ventilation in the rooms is very loud at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fabian Gubler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Modern & absolutely clean hostel. One of the best hostels in terms of rooms, cleanliness, kitchen, etc.

Disliked: Absolutely impersonal atmosphere, the only new people we met were the other people in our room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolin Temps

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2015 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good beds, good breakfast

Disliked: No alcohol allowed

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aage Schrader

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2015 Aage would recommend this property

Liked: a

Disliked: Aage left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed the night but it worked well for us. Basic room with bunk beds, clean linen and towels. Personal lamp and plug socket with space for phone etc while you slept. Shared bathroom but was clean with a pile of bathmats and hairdryer. You had to swipe in the main door and key your code in for bedroom so safe and there were lockers for your bags but remember your padlock otherwise you'll have to purchase one from the reception! Great communal areas; downstairs had a small cafe, lots of chairs and relaxing areas (beanbags etc) and on the 2nd floor was more seating area, pool table and a massive communal kitchen. Breakfast was great - 2 types of bagels (small but you could help youself to more than 1), sliced brown and white bread, cereal, yogurt, fruit, butter, jam etc and tea/ coffee, juice and water. Great location; round the corner from the train station, Chinatown and McDonalds on the doorstep and its close to Boston Common and other sights.

Disliked: $3 fee per person just because you're not a HI member.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and big rooms, friendly staff

Disliked: sometimes unstable WIFI connection

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great fun

Disliked: I dislike the fact that no alcohol is allowed and that children stay here

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedside cupboards, plug sockets, and reading light by the bed was great. The bathroom facilities were clean and I never had to wait to use the bathroom. Breakfast was great, but u expected it to be due to the price I paid for the hostel. Overall, it was a good stay.

Disliked: The fact we were not allowed to use the locker room after we'd checked out. I've never stayed in a hostel where they've not provided this facility.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

15 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well kept and newly renovated

Disliked: Expensive. Room did not get much daylight.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

kelly dos santos

Alone

City break

10 April 2015

Liked: The beds are So comfotable

Disliked: My room needed new carpets

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very trendy, nicely put together, pretty clean.

Disliked: Room not even hoovered/swept for the entire stay, bins not emptied, staff completely ignored me trying to get into the door when I needed to check in and I was literally banging on the window.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Troshinsky

Alone

Business / conference

06 April 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful, clean, new, spacious

Disliked: have to pay for internet a little expensive per night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, lots of amenities, single bathrooms

Disliked: Hairs on comforter in bed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: WC well cleaned

Disliked: My room smelled a lot like a kitchen. very unpleasant

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, great facilities

Disliked: nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a really good location. Most of the sights are in walking distance. Staff is friendly and helpful and the common area is really stylish. The breakfast is really good and you get a lot of free stuff.

Disliked: The bathrooms always seemed to be dirty - no matter at what time you went in. When I arrived I found black hair on my sheets (I am blonde). Common area was clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dacia Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2015 Dacia would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location! Right around the corner from Boston Common and within walking distance to pretty much everything or very close to a T station if you wanted to take the train. The breakfast was amazing too, the best I've had at a hostel for free!

Disliked: Dacia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character

Disliked: Missing a bar drinks/food

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Lidia Neumann

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2015 Maria Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: Super modern hostel full of friendly people with an excellent location, you have a lot of services and it is comfortable. It was an excellent experience!

Disliked: Maria Lidia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms

Disliked: Nothing especially

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New and clean. Lots of bathrooms and amazing kitchen

Disliked: Needs more activities at more appropriate times (not 1pm!!)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Berenike Poehls

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 January 2015 Berenike would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, offers, breakfast

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms and sheets


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels