HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of Friend Street Hostel & Café

Hostel | 234 Friend Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02114

75.5% Overall Rating

103 out of 126 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/04/2014)

"Clean, safe and a small, but functional common area. Staff were friendly enough. Breakfast was good."

Read all Friend Street Hostel & Café reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

In order to be eligible for a refund for any night’s stay, you must cancel 24 hours prior to the date you wish to cancel or are arriving (for example: if you are due to arrive on the 15th and you wish to cancel your stay, or any part of your stay, you must notify us by 23:59 on the 13th). You must talk to a staff member or email hostel directly in order for cancellation to be valid. Otherwise, you will be charged for the first night’s stay of your entire party if you fail to show. Your remaining reservation will then be cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

Hostelling International Boston
45.99 USD

Hostel 92.1% 282 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
219.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
40 Berkeley
48.34 USD

Hostel 74.1% 745 reviews
Hyatt Harborside Boston Logan Airport
72.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
38.00 USD

Hostel 63.2% 269 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Econolodge
18.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 12 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.5%

Overall Rating

103 out of 126 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Friend Street Hostel & Café'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
57.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 124 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

BAMIDELE AKINYELE

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 May 2014

Liked: No comment

Disliked: The room I was lodged

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lisandro Bussi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Lisandro would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: The matress

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was centrally located and close to the metro

Disliked: nothing really

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: To conclude opinion, do not choose this hostel or you will regret.first, They have not told us about changing room in advance because of this website going wrong and there are no enough beds for us. second, the noise upstairs disturb our sleeping.All of us can not standed this. third, after first situation, the manager show bad face to us and blamed us.what is wrong with us? are you kidding me? we have accepted this situation.However, you blame on us.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014

Liked: Clean, safe and a small, but functional common area. Staff were friendly enough. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: The property seems to play games with the reservation prices. i.e, they charge $50 when there is only 1 or 2 beds left. Good business practice if runing an budget airline, but a tad shady when dealing with backpackers I also thought the hostel delivered very poor value for money in general. Depending on what they decide to charge, $50 or even $38 for a 10-bed dorm room is very very expensive. In two years of travelling this is THE most expensive hostel I have ever stayed in. I appreciate the forces of supply and demand and that Boston is an expensive place, but I definately felt the hostel provided very poor value for money. Other negatives: The wifi is AWFUL and only works in the common area. Whatsmore, the very small common room is closed for two whole hours each day for 'cleaning' which I found unneccesery and inconvieninet. On the whole, would I recommend this hostel? No. Would i recommend Boston, the city? No. ... Perhaps I've just been spoilt travelling SE Asia where I paid as little as $7 for spotlessly clean dorm rooms and access to a pool.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Julian mark

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2014

Liked: The location was good for bars, good food deals and the property was clean and safe..The staff were nice and helpful initially but became more and more difficult the longer we stayed

Disliked: The beds were some of the worst I have ever come across in 20plus countries I've hostelled in..the staff were extremely inflexible in regards to luggage allowance to the tpoint where a small plastic bag that was forgotten at the hostel could only be recouped for a 10$ fee -or they would charge us 20 usd a night that it was there, disgraceful and disrespectful...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are all friendly and willing to help out. Awesomely close to Bruins Stadium - TD Garden for ice hockey fans.

Disliked: No alcohol permitted at all, though it's close to many bars. Small common room for eating, chilling & everything else. Showers are pretty small and there is nowhere to put your clothes when you are showering... if you're a bigger person, it's not the most roomy place to shower.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great

Disliked: the fact that there were no separate toilets for women/men

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That was a nice stay at Friend Street Hostel! Very friendly and nice staffs!

Disliked: Though that was quite expensive for the facilities, there are only few hostels in Boston, so that's kind of a general price of Boston.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People are nice and helpful.

Disliked: Atmosphere, cleaness, no facilities

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was within walking distance of South Station and close enough to the airport that a cab ride was reasonably priced. I had an early flight, which was the whole reason I was staying there (I live in NH and had to be at Logan airport at 4:30 AM), and although the common room is supposed to be closed after 1 AM, the man at the front desk let me sit there for a few minutes while I waited for my cab to arrive.

Disliked: When I received an email confirmation of booking, it said that my balance due was $40.50 (after I paid a deposit of $4.50). Upon arrival, the woman at the front desk told me that I owed $47. I asked about the discrepancy, and she said it was because of Massachussetts hotel tax, which is understandable, but when you receive an email with a "balance due" listed, generally that includes all charges, even tax. A 16% discrepancy between the perceived cost and the actual cost is too much, in my opinion and it sets the tone for your stay--if they mislead you about the price and are not apologetic, you can probably expect that there will be other problems. That said, I did not have any other issues during my stay. If they were to fix this issue with the confirmation email, it would move them from "average" to "good," in my estimation.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2013

Liked: The central and easily accessible location. Breakfast, while simple, was plentiful and offered a good choice of options. They offer free evening meals on Tues/Thurs. I had the pasta on Tuesday - plentiful and warm but not great in taste. Spaghetti type pasta in thin tomato sauce - possibly canned but I didn't see the can so can't be sure...... Didn;t have the chowder on Thurs so I can't comment on that. My own lock didn't fit their lockers so they lent me one (kept mine as a deposit) instead of charging me to hire one which was kind of them.

Disliked: As mentioned in many other reviews (but not improved despite what the hostel has written) the beds are dreadful. ANY movement is heard loudly in the room, not onlly big movemenets but small things like shifting a hand or foot but this is minor in comparison to the comfort. The matterss was awful - if felt like a deflated/very soft air mattress - even lying down all points such as hips/shoulders were in heavy contact with the bed frame. They were also in poor condition and patched with duct/electrical tape. The bed frames were metal and wobbly but more significantly, given the mattress, were designed so that there was a solid metal bar accross the middle - about where your hip is when lying down, making the whole bed very uncomfortable. Also the 6 bed mixed dorm opens off the 10 bed mixed dorm - the doors don't meet the floor by a good 3/4 inches at the bottom making this in effect a 16 bed dorm with 2 doors and so very noisy. It also results in poor air flow making the rooms (especially the 6 bed inner room) very hot. There are air conditioning units but these were set to a very gentle fan only setting (ineffective) and labelled do not touch. Due to the extreme of temperature and the cost of the bed I chose to adjuct the one in my room anyway at night and this improved the situation somewhat. There was an unpleasant smell in the entry sairwell (Hostel starts one floor up) that worsened over my 3 day stay - reminiscent of drains/sewers). The toilets are in cubicles that open off the corridor and do not have hand washing facilities for these you have to cross the corridor to the washrooms - 3 showers and 3 sinks in a very small room which is not really enough for the whole hostel. Also this is unhygenic - I saw many people simply not washing their hands but even for those who do you have to touch at least 2 door handles and 2 light switches to get to the sinks (the shower rooms have no windows). All very cramped but I suppose this is what happens in such a central location. I can also see how at weekends it could be noisy due to the neighbours etc but again it's a city centre location. I feel this is the choice you make when you choose to stay in the city centre...

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013

Liked: The location was close to the T and walkable to nearby areas.

Disliked: Sorry, but this place is a dump. It smelled like a toilet, everywhere. I was afraid to touch the floors. The bathroom had mildew growing under the caulking. The front staff was nice, but the cleaning lady was very rude. One night a guy checked in several girls after midnight. He walked right in without knocking and turned on the lights when everyone was asleep. The arriving girls left the lights on for another 30min. Lights out are at 11pm. The kitchen was gross. There was poor ventilation in the rooms. The makeshift AC in the room was VERY loud. Everything is very old. It is VERY expensive for what you get. WAY OVERPRICED!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, next to the subway, safe neighborhood.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find and location makes it great

Disliked: I have to admit the price per nite is quite expensive and does not suit budget travelers. Maybe Boston is just too pricey a city. Or just need more hostel competition

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ulrich Pfeffer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Ulrich would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located downtown Boston close to everything, you can explore Boston by feet. Very friendly, clean and nice.

Disliked: For a hostel not really cheap.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JUNYONG PARK

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 JUNYONG would recommend this property

Liked: It has cafe, so if you want to drink something, you can buy discount price. And We can eat our free breakfast in the Cafe. So that kind of atmosphere is really great. Plus, Every tuesday night, we can eat free spaghetti. So it is really really nice. And it is quite good location because it is really near at the freedom trail.

Disliked: Actaully it has very steep stairs in the hostel. So please watch out.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the location of the hostel very much, as well as the helpfulness of the staff. The shelves were well stocked with tourist information and promotions.

Disliked: The lockers were a little too close to the beds for total comfort

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

bianka boda

Alone

Events / festivals

27 June 2013 bianka would recommend this property

Liked: it was in the location that i needed to be

Disliked: could have been a little bit cheaper maybe :)

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Claire Shanna

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Great for meeting travellers from all over the world! There was a pub crawl on the Saturday night, great bars are all within walking distance. Also close to shopping, TD Garden Center and around the corner from the metro.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is very pleasant, plus there is an excellent cafe downstairs. Staff were fantastic.

Disliked: The rooms were quite small and breakfast was sufficient but simple.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sanna Santaluoto

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Sanna would recommend this property

Liked: Of course the property was old, but it was cute and nice and pretty neat. The cafe was really nice! Lockers, where you can use your own lock was perfect!

Disliked: Showers and bathrooms were dated.

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Juan Agustin Bossa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013

Liked: They are located in a fair place, lots of bars and fun things to do.

Disliked: I had a problem with the staff. I was assigned a bad locker, which was broken and had no use. I placed my belongings in other locker COMMUNICATING my decision to the staff. After a week of my stay, one day they "forgot" that I was using a different locker. They destroyed my lock and refused to give me a lock as good as mine (they gave me a cheap masters lock). Also they have only three restrooms which are not very clean and they do not work at all times.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Crookes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place, staff really helpful and create good atmosphere

Disliked: Would be good if common room was open past 1 am but makes sense

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Brekky was found to be wanting.

The property's response is...


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels