HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of 40 Berkeley Hostel Boston

Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 58%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 55%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 58%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 55%

Showing 1-10 of 131 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We were presently surprised by the value for money that we received, the friendliness of the staff,the saying goes you get what you pay for well in the past we have paid more and got less than what we received at 40 Berkeley,it was a very enjoyable experience.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: -

Disliked: Of course you get what you pay for, but the rooms weren't good at all. On my floor there was 2 showers and 3 toilets - and about 50 rooms (I don't think all rooms were occupied and the women had their own bathroom but still..), so to avoid waiting in line to get to shower you had to shower really early in the morning / late at night.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Shared bathroom was very clean, the position of the hotel is good. It's easy to reach from highway and it's not so far from city center.

Disliked: Our room was not so clean, it was very hot and one of the two bed is not a real bed. Besides we thought there was a double bed. Moreover there is no park outside the hotel, they told us that we can park our car in a park in Agreement for 17 $ per day but we pay 35 $!!!!

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: False advertising and is perceived as a half way house, which doesn't give for a safe environment.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I had to attend a conference in Boston and was looking for some rather inexpensive accommodation. 40 Berkeley popped up in my search. I was bit skeptic about safety \\cleanliness as the location is in downtown. I booked a double room for myself so that o have minimal disturbance.Overall the place was great in terms of cleanliness, quietness, and overall convenience. It has nice common area including a small but beautiful park. 7\\11 is right across the street. Boston south station is within half an hour walking distance.The front desk people do not smile but are extremely helpful (which in my opinion is more important).

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Las habitaciones, incluidas la remodeladas, parecen un auténtico psiquiátrico.Los somieres de las camas son de muelles viejos y oxidados y la limpieza deja que desear.Si quieres experimentar la sensación que se tiene en una auténtica sauna...este es tu lugar!! No hay aire acondicionado, solamente ventilador...un horror!Las duchas de hombres de la planta segunda solamente funcionaba una.No volveria.

Disliked: SUCIEDADVIEJOESTADO DE LAS CAMAS Y HABITACIONESNO HAY AIRE ACONDICIONADO

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Big bathrooms,, pretty clean.

Disliked: Massively overpriced for a student dorm.I've never stopped in a place where you have to sign to say you will pay for the room before you see it before.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: The Bathroom is very nice and clean.

Disliked: There is no AC. Tax was not included in the price, they just told us the actual price at the front desk.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free Popcorn, good beds, nice staff, close to backbay station, easy to get around

Disliked: Cold showers, hot, stale rooms

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nicely refurbished bathrooms on 6th floor. Key security system. Free towel and linen already on bed. Water fountain in lobby area.

Disliked: Terrible beds - so uncomfortable and really squeaky.Noisy both in corridor and on street outside.Carpet in corridors and common areas really dirty.Lift really slow to close.A number of odd characters loitering around.

Check Availability