We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

74.1% Overall Rating

638 out of 768 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2015)

Evan McIntyre thinks…

"It was so QUAINT - I just love the location, the people, atmosphere. Really a great price and nice, marvelous, spectaculair place! Evan Michael McIntyre, Los Angeles Bam-Radio.com Owner / Podcast DJ"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
31.99 USD

Hostel 92.1% 322 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
30.00 USD

Hostel 71.7% 133 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
129.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
5.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews
Nichols Guest House
49.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.1%

Overall Rating

638 out of 768 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 550 of 675 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evan McIntyre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2015 Evan would recommend this property

Liked: It was so QUAINT - I just love the location, the people, atmosphere. Really a great price and nice, marvelous, spectaculair place! Evan Michael McIntyre, Los Angeles Bam-Radio.com Owner / Podcast DJ

Disliked: Evan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location

Disliked: It was more like a hotel than a hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good. Room is clean.

Disliked: There are a lot of noise from hallway, bathroom and outside(cars on the road), so, I needed ear-plug for sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2015

Liked: The private room was good and the bathroom on our floor was clean and newly refurbished by the looks of it

Disliked: The staff weren't over friendly on the first morning there. I was having issues accessing my travel money card and all the girl behind the counter was willing to offer me were the pay phones. I didn't understand what the number was or how to call (being from another country I didn't know the extensions etc) so that was kind of rude I thought. I was obviously stressed but she wasn't willing to go above normal services to help me.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charles Heazell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2014

Liked: Property was in a central area although still a small walk to the nearest metro stop. About 20 minutes or so from Fenway which was a selling point to me. Generally had the facilities and service you expect from a hostel.

Disliked: Shower facilities on 3rd level were broken or not working properly both days. Either scalding hot water or cold water. Facilities did not feel, look or smell clean compared to even a basic hotel. Floors had no carpet and felt like a dorm room. You get what you pay for and you get a hostel in a good location.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 September 2014

Liked: Comfortable beds, and clean rooms. Good location, near transportation and city center. Safe.

Disliked: Worn down facilities that desperately needs renovating. Very expensive hostel considering hotels in the same area are cheaper. Not including breakfast. Not very cosy common areas. Many young students stay at the hostel who have very little respect for cleaning after themselves in the restroom facilities.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness.

Disliked: Lack of kitchen.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 September 2014

Liked: 1

Disliked: When y booked the hotel you charged us 20 dolars as a guarantee. At the check in thay said that the 20 dolars are the site fee and charged us the full priced

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Power

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No kitchen and staff friendliness and helpfulness was about 50 50. Some were great and others should find a new occupation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Solomon

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2014 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: floor in the room was not clean, but swept, all's well

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great

Disliked: Limited bathroom space, not very clean. No kitchen/fridge facilities for short term visitors.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Caryn May

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 August 2014 Caryn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms on my floor #6 were clean and modern and much nicer than the bedroom.

Disliked: The bed was squeaky and noisy. The room could have used at least one picture on the wall- maybe something similar to the ones that hung when you got off the elevator. It felt cell-like and barren without any decor at all. It isn't cheap for a place where you share the bath and now with the elimination of breakfast it seems a bit high.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfasts and nice common areas

Disliked: No air conditioning in the top floor, and windows/fan don't do much to cool the rooms

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, good locarion (close to newbury street)

Disliked: only one bathroom (one toilet, one shower) per floor, really small rooms for the price, bathrooms rather dirty

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

graham rutherford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 graham would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and the free breakfast was great

Disliked: The bathrooms could have done with a clean and the room was very tired

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2014

Liked: The washrooms on my floor very new and fresh.

Disliked: No AC, dripping roof in the first room, room only had beds, closet, and low desk. And blank walls. Breakfast room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Yves Gafumbegete

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Yves would recommend this property

Liked: Their prices and locations

Disliked: some customers behave unappropriated like pooing in the shower

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was kept very clean. There was free flow of Starbucks coffee/tea and pop-corns plus free breakfast. The lounge was spacious and well planned. Free wifi was available throughout the hostel but you have to pay to use the computers which were limited in number. Security was tight. The staff were all very cheerful and helpful. The location was good, depending on what you are looking for but you can use the subway to get to other areas.

Disliked: The breakfast was good. However one of our party did not realise (being a bit groggy having just wakened up) that there was only one serving and he had only picked one or two items. He had to satisfy himself with whatever food were on open display! The hostel should devise a better system of distributing breakfast. We felt like refugees! I thought the price pretty steep for a hostel though they do provide pretty good facilities. The next day we moved on to another property which was much nearer to the Harvard/MIT area we were interested in and it was much cheaper and very good, too!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Adrian Corney

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014

Liked: Helpful staff, good location, not bad value. Good communication from hostel before visit

Disliked: Our room on the top floor was stiffling hot. The fan gently blew the hot air around and there was no air flow at all on the top floor. The bed was so soft it was difficult to sleep. The room was the tattiest hostel room I have stayed in and smelt musty. Often the basics ran out during the breakfasts (coffee, milk, cutlery etc). There was no members kitchen which was a shame as many travellers on budget like to cook in and keep their own food in communal fridges.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jordan Bonilla

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 June 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Chill,perfect spot,awesome value

Disliked: Jordan left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Charlotte Ross

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Noisy

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014

Liked: The breakfast is good and the common areas are clean. Good situation in Boston.

Disliked: The check in was long and I expected a nice room like the pictures.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Janette Cushman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Janette would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, great breakfast.

Disliked: Alot of noise from the street - had to wear earplugs at night. THe black fungus on the grout in the 5th floor women's shower was gross.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included, good location, free wi-fi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels