We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

76.9% Overall Rating

653 out of 788 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2015)

"Nicely refurbished bathrooms on 6th floor. Key security system. Free towel and linen already on bed. Water fountain in lobby area."

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
49.49 USD

Hostel 92.5% 361 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
43.00 USD

Hostel 72.7% 138 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
209.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
39.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

653 out of 788 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
69.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 565 of 695 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Simone Jung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 June 2015 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: The Bathroom is very nice and clean.

Disliked: There is no AC. Tax was not included in the price, they just told us the actual price at the front desk.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015

Liked: Nicely refurbished bathrooms on 6th floor. Key security system. Free towel and linen already on bed. Water fountain in lobby area.

Disliked: Terrible beds - so uncomfortable and really squeaky. Noisy both in corridor and on street outside. Carpet in corridors and common areas really dirty. Lift really slow to close. A number of odd characters loitering around.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lachlan Vale

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015 Lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: Free Popcorn, good beds, nice staff, close to backbay station, easy to get around

Disliked: Cold showers, hot, stale rooms

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015

Liked: It was fairly well located and the best for our budget. Good wifi.

Disliked: Not very clean, the floor in our room was dusty, and covered in hair and also crumbs from previous occupants. The bed was not that comfortable and the pillows were essentially rocks in bags. (Plus there were only three pillows for two people. The ceiling fan made a loud clicking noise on every rotation of the fan, so it was either difficult to sleep, or keep cool. The "curtains" were props and so even though there was a window blind it didn't cancel out any light, especially from first thing in the morning (I.e. 04:30)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sam Akritidis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015

Liked: Location and proximity to main sights.

Disliked: No airconditioning, noisy, no air vents or air flow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostels usually have sketchy bathrooms but this was was modern AND clean, so showing wasn't terrible. The front desk workers were very friendly.

Disliked: The walls are quite thin and the beds are creaky.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, maybe 4 blocks from the subway. Helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Great price and very clean and comfortable beds.

Disliked: Only one shower worked in both the men's and women's bathrooms on our floor.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

14 May 2015

Liked: The Laundry facilities.

Disliked: It was prison like, the blinds in the room did not close properly and the curtains were just for show. The furniture in the room was extreamily old, the noise from the hallway was very loud and you could hear everything happening in the next room. I had to listen to coughing constantly. There are no home comforts in the bedroom. I did not enjoy my stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Lack of kitchen spacde

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very basic but clean, and good location.

Disliked: The heating was on continuously and there was no way of regulating it. This made it very warm and the air extremely dry. Even with the window open it was barely tolerable and we resorted to putting wet towls on the radiatior to get some moisture into the air.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rajeev Singh

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 April 2015 Rajeev would recommend this property

Liked: For a very decent price you can have a private room near Boston Downtown.

Disliked: There is no community fridge to keep food.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2015

Liked: It was close to things we wanted to go to.

Disliked: No atmosphere, there are also residence for communial living within this hostel. It also doesn't have a kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Over all is good!

Disliked: Not so close to downtown area from walking distance. The hot water in midnight is not pretty satisfying!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: A. Bit tired

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evan McIntyre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2015 Evan would recommend this property

Liked: It was so QUAINT - I just love the location, the people, atmosphere. Really a great price and nice, marvelous, spectaculair place! Evan Michael McIntyre, Los Angeles Bam-Radio.com Owner / Podcast DJ

Disliked: Evan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location

Disliked: It was more like a hotel than a hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good. Room is clean.

Disliked: There are a lot of noise from hallway, bathroom and outside(cars on the road), so, I needed ear-plug for sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2015

Liked: The private room was good and the bathroom on our floor was clean and newly refurbished by the looks of it

Disliked: The staff weren't over friendly on the first morning there. I was having issues accessing my travel money card and all the girl behind the counter was willing to offer me were the pay phones. I didn't understand what the number was or how to call (being from another country I didn't know the extensions etc) so that was kind of rude I thought. I was obviously stressed but she wasn't willing to go above normal services to help me.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charles Heazell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2014

Liked: Property was in a central area although still a small walk to the nearest metro stop. About 20 minutes or so from Fenway which was a selling point to me. Generally had the facilities and service you expect from a hostel.

Disliked: Shower facilities on 3rd level were broken or not working properly both days. Either scalding hot water or cold water. Facilities did not feel, look or smell clean compared to even a basic hotel. Floors had no carpet and felt like a dorm room. You get what you pay for and you get a hostel in a good location.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 September 2014

Liked: Comfortable beds, and clean rooms. Good location, near transportation and city center. Safe.

Disliked: Worn down facilities that desperately needs renovating. Very expensive hostel considering hotels in the same area are cheaper. Not including breakfast. Not very cosy common areas. Many young students stay at the hostel who have very little respect for cleaning after themselves in the restroom facilities.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness.

Disliked: Lack of kitchen.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 September 2014

Liked: 1

Disliked: When y booked the hotel you charged us 20 dolars as a guarantee. At the check in thay said that the 20 dolars are the site fee and charged us the full priced

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Power

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No kitchen and staff friendliness and helpfulness was about 50 50. Some were great and others should find a new occupation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Solomon

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2014 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: floor in the room was not clean, but swept, all's well


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels