HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

83.5% Overall Rating

598 out of 713 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Holli McCarthy thinks…

"The staff were so friendly and always happy to help, there was a great movie theatre, pool tables and free coffee and popcorn. The rooms were a good size and clean. Location was great, 7/11 opposite,…"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

Hostelling International Boston
49.99 USD

Hostel 94.2% 240 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
45.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 118 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
169.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Hyatt Harborside Boston Logan Airport
72.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
28.00 USD

Hostel 63.4% 265 reviews
President's City Inn - Boston
38.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 60.3% 21 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan
49.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.5% 12 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

598 out of 713 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 514 of 621 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Pricely Francis

Alone

Events / festivals

24 August 2011

Liked: The staff members

Disliked: The decor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Laura Hennessy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: free hot breakfast, free towels and linens, mini fridge in room, closets

Disliked: older building, could use some updates and cleaner bathrooms

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JUNXIAN LEE

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 August 2011 JUNXIAN would recommend this property

Liked: The location was not too bad. walking distance (approx 10 mins) to the main shopping street at Arlington station, and walking distance (approx 5 mins) to State station which is fairly central.

Disliked: 2nd floor was a little noisy, affected mainly by noises on the street level. It also gets a little warm in the night during summer, but the problem can be easily addressed by borrowing a portable fan from the counter.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price and location

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big lobby, free breakfast

Disliked: old, uncomfortable feeling at times

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in historic old Boston. Friendly staff, well-run facility.

Disliked: some amenities were not always available, such as coffee machine. Weekend breakfast started too late for me to use it and make my conference start time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very kind and attentive. It's like staying at grandma's house. They even make delicious cookies for everyone. Breakfast is incredible and delicious. You have free internet access too.

Disliked: I went there when there were above 100 °F and there is no air conditioning in the rooms, so sometimes it is like sleeping in a sauna. But if you avoid the hottest days it is fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Flynn

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

08 August 2011 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, very clean, professionally run.

Disliked: Just be aware you'll hear the sounds of the city at night, particularly trucks and emergency vehicles. In no way a slight on the hostel, just a reminder to bring some earplugs if you're a light sleeper and will have the windows open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect!

Disliked: The subway is close to the hostel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yves Trocheris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

04 August 2011 Yves would recommend this property

Liked: We thought this hostel was a good value for money, verygood location near subway, the staff was really nice and friendly, and they offer some discounts for visiting the city and gave tips about free activities that we appreciated. We also liked the breakfast included.

Disliked: The shared bathroms and toilets are old. And maybe the schedule of the breakfast ...7am to 9 am is a bit too early :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, value and very friendly staff

Disliked: There is no air-con so rooms can get very warm in the summer heat

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: Lobby, that's about all there is to like here

Disliked: Rooms and bathrooms are dated and dirty, despite daily cleaning. This isn't a slight on the great staff more than the fact that the place hasn't been updated in years and dirt has accumulated over years. They seem to have 'put lipstick on a pig' by decorating the lobby in a wonderful way, but the rooms are old and uncomfortable. I have stayed in a lot of hostels and went on the % recommendation of this website. In comparison to other places I have stayed with similar ratings, this is not a good hostel. I agree with the other review that it is blatantly obvious how bad the rooms are based on the number of people crammed into every seat in the lobby throughout the day and night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and all the facilities

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, near to subway

Disliked: anything

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011

Liked: Staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Don´t go in the summer! NO AIR CONDITIONING! When you arrive into the hostel you get the impression that this is a hostel that wants to be a hotel. The lobby is great, but the rooms....suck! It was quite obvious from the number of people spending extended amounts of time in the lobby that other people think the same. Don´t get me wrong the rooms are clean enough but old and the beds are something from the civil war! The toilets are shared (to be expected) and clean but again old!! The halls make you feel like you´re in a prison (so does your room actually). I can only say that if you´re going to stay here spend as much time seeing the city as you can!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

james calhoon

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

27 July 2011 james would recommend this property

Liked: The style of the building

Disliked: Rooms need fans that run faster. The mattress was very bad

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Daniel Marks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who offered lots of good advice. They lost our room booking but upgraded us free of charge as a result. Good hearty breakfast. Liked the rocking chairs

Disliked: No safe in Room. Very hot (only one fan)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good. Location was good too. Not too pricey

Disliked: It was terribly hot and there was no air condioning. No courtains. The room was too cold

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were small, but clean and the staff was nice.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location, well organized, will definitely stay again.

Disliked: Staff attitude could be more friendly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susannah Beck

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location, within walking distance of Back Bay Station which is also an Amtrak station if you're moving onto other cities like New York or Washington D.C. The bathrooms were always kept clean and there was also a bath which was a nice touch. The breakfast is great with a large selection including bacon, eggs, hash browns, oatmeal and then also continental style yoghurt, fruit, bread, bagels and waffle makers with a good selection of low fat and sugarfree products as well as full fat and sugary options. I would challenge anyone to not find something they'd want to to eat! Fantastic as it's included in the price and if you pay a dollar you can take a box away with you for lunch.

Disliked: The only down side to this property was that there wasn't air conditioning and in the heat of the summer it meant that our room was very hot. There was a ceiling fan which we had on all night and had to leave the windows open which meant it was quite loud but we were so tired I think we just slept right through it!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shiv Bhakta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Shiv would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, many amenities

Disliked: No AC, so it can get hot at night in Summer

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: Too expensive for what we got. Rooms were small and really hot. Bathroom wasn't clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jenny Clark

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Not a bad breakfast, people were nice, location was very nice...

Disliked: Very expensive for a hostel...


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels