HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of 40 Berkeley Hostel Boston

Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 58%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 55%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 58%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 55%

Showing 71-80 of 130 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the breakfast was crazy! so much to choose from. - a full american experience!!!

Disliked: Didnt enjoy having to wait for showers and the toilet on our level a few times. also the elevators were ridiculously slow and one was out of order for our full stay! took literally 10 minutes.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It's in a good place, easy to find, easy to connect to where I want to visit.

Disliked: It does not look very clean to me, and the shower rooms are not in a good condition (dirty, hanger problems, shower head problems etc).

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was within walking distance of central Boston and was not too expensive.

Disliked: Hard, uncomfortable bed, dingy rooms, unable to adjust the heating in the rooms, horrible breakfast and very slow WiFi.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I liked the location & the atmosphere of the place

Disliked: Bathrooms for some bookers were to far away from their rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Affordable accommodation in a fantastic location.

Disliked: The bathrooms are a little tired

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Location fine - expensive city

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: I liked the laid back relaxed atmosphere and the lady on the desk upgraded us to a different room because of a smoking previous tenant without any difficulty

Disliked: I did not like the standard of paintwork to metal framed beds,stained pitted linoleum

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Location to convention center

Disliked: Street noise and outside light bright at night

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was nice to have some privacy after staying in a 16 bed dorm at a previous hostel.

Disliked: For the price, the quality of the room and the breakfast was not up to much. Although it was fine for a night or two, I wouldn't recommend staying here for any longer. As they are private rooms, there is not much of an atmostphere. I stayed in a nicer hostel elsewhere in Boston for less money.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The breakfast is very nice.

Disliked: The smell in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability