We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

68.8% Overall Rating

635 out of 764 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/09/2014)

Charles Heazell thinks…

"Property was in a central area although still a small walk to the nearest metro stop. About 20 minutes or so from Fenway which was a selling point to me. Generally had the facilities and service you…"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
49.99 USD

Hostel 92.6% 311 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
45.00 USD

Hostel 71.3% 132 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
219.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
33.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Econolodge
18.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 12 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.8%

Overall Rating

635 out of 764 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
76.0%
Value
60.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 546 of 671 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mike Scott

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: First interaction with staff was fantastic, friendly and we even got free cookies! COOKIES!

Disliked: Heating is a bit much, we stayed during an unusually hot period and yet their heating was still going on high, even with all windows open place was a little hot.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Peri Hann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Peri would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: Far from subway station, noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hamish Hastie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was great and location was walking distance from most things with a station just up the road. Staff were nice and room was comfortable.

Disliked: Was fairly standard, nothing amazing or unique about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Fabris

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! The breakfast is very good! The property describes itself honestly, very clean and comfortable! Great price for what is offered! I recommend! Very good!

Disliked: The heater was a bit unstable, sometimes very hot and other unheated! But I think he was down for maintenance!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near Chinatown, so you are able to taste some good food. Room is clean and staff are friendly.

Disliked: No

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Old People!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dinner

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and cleaned rooms, good breakfast, near subway station, towels, hair-drayer and soap provided, quiet

Disliked: Central heating was not working properly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff - extras like free popcorn and starbucks coffee between 10-17.00. Great location too. Ideas of free or cheap activities in the area e.g. Jazz concern in town

Disliked: Decor a little bit faded but this is a minor point to me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This backpackers had so much extra to offer at no cost!! Free breakfast, coffee during the day, popcorn any time was awesome!! Great location and felt very safe at all times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb and the rooms are impeccably clean.

Disliked: Noise from college students sharing my floor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Osmond Manurung

Alone

Business / conference

25 February 2012 Osmond would recommend this property

Liked: I was on travel to US and had a conference in Boston. In the beginning I was planning to book a room at the conference venue but decided not to because the price is unreasonable if I book a single room for myself. Then I found 40 Berkeley and booked a single room. I was surprised that the hostel looks pretty neat from outside. I went early and waited in the really convenient lobby and went around the living room and common room.They let me putting my luggage on their storage. They have plenty of space as well on the mezzanine floor and some desktops, scanner, and printer placed there. The check in was easy. They gave me a single room nearby the shared bathroom, which is really nice. They clean the room when I ask, they appreciate guest's privacy so we can choose to have our room cleaned or not. Breakfast is served for 2 hours with generous portion and choices of foods and drinks. Some of the people there are permanent residents and nice to talk to. Towels are provided and may be replaced upon request. The most interesting part is they have social events for residents which I happened to join one of them, the magical performance. The show was really entertaining and they also offer free foods and drinks. Free starbucks coffee is also provided from 10am to 5pm, as well as free popcorn throughout the day. There is a movie room and laundry room availabe for guests. Free Boston passes are offered if you book through their website. I would definitely stay in this hostel again on my next visit to Boston. Room Tip: Just book the single or double rooms, the triple and quads one are not big enough for 3 or 4.

Disliked: Almost nothing. I just wished the free coffee would be 24 hours.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandra Wood

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and accommodating and the location is great, although Boston isn't that big a city so you're never very far from anywhere.

Disliked: There's quite a mix of residents - on a couple of nights I was woken up by rowdy students running up and down the corridors.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free popcorn, coffee, pool tables and breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The heating was really warm, and the bed was comfortable with extra blankets. It always felt safe. It was a short walk from the train station that takes you right into the city, but there are a few moderately priced restaurants around too.

Disliked: The heating system was loud, and often guests would make noise in the hallways late at night. One of the showers in the female toilets on our floor didn't work, leaving only one. There were only double-pronged power points, meaning we had to put in a double pronged adapter, join it to a triple prong adapter, and then our overseas power plugs. So often we had to place things under the socket to hold then in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lobby area was cozy, the bathrooms were clean, and it wasn't noisy.

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast

Disliked: Bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Analiza Beltran

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

31 January 2012 Analiza would recommend this property

Liked: rate is good for the services it offer

Disliked: room already smells old, so maybe repainting or change of tiles is needed so it'll look and feel better staying there

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the hostel, because it is close to the subway station and you can walk to downtown. The people are very nice and the rooms are ok. It is clean and you dont hear the other guys around you. Especially when you stay in a room at an higher level you have a great view over Boston. The breakfast is good especially the selfmade waffles and you have free popcorn all the time. In case you bring your own laptop or ipod you have free internet acces but you can also use one of the computers there. it is a very nice chill out area with rocking chairs to relax (:

Disliked: the bathroom was just ok, one of the showers wasnt working.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for commuting to downtown and high-quality environment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to landmarks and restaurants.

Disliked: Radiator was a little noisy.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012

Liked: The only good part is the breakfast, which left me a good impression by awesome food and surrounding feelings. You can even make your own cakes.

Disliked: The bed and basic facilities in the room obviously didn't meet my expectation judging from the given pictures online. The atmosphere is quite bad as well. It's just a bed for one night, you will get little social interactions from there.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011

Liked: The entrance lobby and the friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: The beds and the noise of the pipes.Smell of stale tobacco

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good. Great location at a bargain!

Disliked: No private bathroom, otherwise, it was fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julia Psilitelis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, meet a lot of young people (a lot from germany), waffles for breakfast

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels