We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

72.6% Overall Rating

644 out of 775 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2015)

Evan McIntyre thinks…

"It was so QUAINT - I just love the location, the people, atmosphere. Really a great price and nice, marvelous, spectaculair place! Evan Michael McIntyre, Los Angeles Bam-Radio.com Owner / Podcast DJ"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
41.99 USD

Hostel 89.8% 335 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
40.00 USD

Hostel 70.4% 136 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
159.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

644 out of 775 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
62.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 554 of 682 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Morris

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast here is awesome, always fresh and made to order. Also, it's very convenient to transportation.

Disliked: I'm from Texas, where air conditioning is a must have. I was here during a particularly warm week in Boston, and since the rooms didn't have A/C, it was very warm in the room when we checked in and didn't cool off until about 24 hours later.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: The wifi, the common use areas, the very helpful staff.

Disliked: The showers were all very bad, in that the faucet heads would not move, nor allowed a strong and even flow of water. They smelled badly as well.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jonathan Tong

Alone

City break

25 June 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is reasonable, particularly convenient for going out to the gay bars in the South End. Free wifi, and I even got a signal in my room. Friendly staff, got a free home baked cookie when I checked in! Breakfast was better than expected. A handy 7/11 across the street.

Disliked: The room was so hot - hotter than outdoors! They provided an additional fan but still if you don't like the heat in the summer you may struggle without air conditioning. The hostel reception area has a newly refurbished area which comes across nice in the photos seen on the site but it does not really reflect the state of the building. It was very much like living in a student's hall, but given the lack of choice there isn't much you can do. Like many American cities it is poor value for money. A tax of 14% or so was added on top of the price HostelBookers quoted, was not expecting that.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eingangsbereich ist sehr schön gestaltet, sehr gemütliche Sitzgelegenheiten, Frühstück war ausreichend und relativ gut, Lage ist super, in wenigen Minuten ist man zu Fuß im Zentrum

Disliked: w-lan hat in einem Zimmer nicht funktioniert, shared-bathroom war nicht besonders schön, Zimmer sehr klein, Ventilator leider nur gekopplet mit Lichtschalter, darum sehr heiß in der Nacht, Betten waren nicht sehr gemütlich

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ye Cao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2012 Ye would recommend this property

Liked: Above all, it is the location. It sits right in the posh and elegant South End. It only takes a short walk, between 5-10 minutes depending on how fast one walks, from Bay Bay subway station to the hostel. Honestly, I got pretty much excited when I was walking along the neighbourhood and found out where I was going to stay. As to the hostel itself, everything met up to my expectation. The room and washroom are clean and well kept. No crowding was experienced. The whole facility has a cozy mid-century feel with a lot of airy spaces. The courtyard is lovely to both sit in and look at. The place was generally quite through day and night. This said, there was noise from the street in my room which overlooks Berkeley Street. But nothing couldn't be dealt with by a pair of earplugs. The breakfast was generous. The staff were easy-going and helpful, especially with my delayed luggage and bike-in-the-room request. I rent a bike to get around the city and was a little worried about where to keep it at night at first. But it was no problem at all with the staff. They simply let it go. Thumb up for the bicycle friendly environment!

Disliked: Price could be a little bit cheaper for a single private room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Trang Pham

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

22 June 2012 Trang would recommend this property

Liked: Close to central of boston

Disliked: No A/C

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great find, We booked the private room with shared bathroom and were really happy with our stay. The main lobby was amazing and had free starbucks coffee. The room was spacious with a great view of the garden area out back. There is free breakfast included with the price, I would advise getting down early to get some of the better choices.

Disliked: the staff were very relaxed and it took a little longer than desired to check in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kevin bleakley

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2012 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The outside patio/garden is lovely. The front desk people are helpful. The place is pretty clean. The breakfast is copious (but the greasy-heart-attack bacon/hashbrowns could do with a bit more love and a little less swimming in lakes of grease!). For Boston, this place is cheap (but only for Boston!)

Disliked: The rooms are grim (but clean). Some showers need replacing (3rd floor Niagra Falls, men's bathroom).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Prima voor een paar nachten in Boston. Dichtbij genoeg bij het centrum. Ontbijt is genoeg voor de rest van de dag.

Disliked: De kamer waar ik in sliep was erg warm, zelfs wanneer ik het raam wagenwijd open zette. Het lijkt slecht te luchten.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

16 June 2012

Liked: Staff was okay, free cookies and popcorn and that was it. Staff was pretty slow though,didnt seem to care about customers at all.

Disliked: This hostel is in reality, a senior housing place, weird old people live here all year round. Not a backpacker friendly place AT ALL.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daisuke Ito

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 June 2012 Daisuke would recommend this property

Liked: Why hotels in Boston are so expensive? This is one of the cheapest hotel, but should call "dorm". Complementary Starbucks coffee by machine, popcorn, I love them! Breakfast was nice, just standard.

Disliked: Wifi worked well only on the reception, lounge level. In my room(3rd floor), wifi worked just 10min each hour. No bed frame, just a mat on a bed stand. On sleeping, a mat slipped off and I fell on my back on the floor. My glasses were broken under the mat.....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ligger centralt. Gode muligheder for shopping i nærområdet. Morgenmad ok. Gode fælles områder.

Disliked: Værelset småt og ilde lugtende. Sparsomt indrettet.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

antonio jr dayrit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: the price for a single room is shocking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

sophie volpatti

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 June 2012 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Price and location

Disliked: Sharred bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast Warm showers

Disliked: No ensuite

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location for my interests, I felt very safe walking around this beautiful neighbourhood in old Boston, even in the evening. The staff were great and even let me check in very early as the room was available.

Disliked: Could be a bit cleaner. They really need new rugs in the halls.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Kluckhenn

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 May 2012 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Great amenities, lounge room, free breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I went to a graduation at Boston University and easy to get to the University.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alice Baron

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money, very good breakfast, good location

Disliked: rooms very old, furniture old, shared bathrooms are like school bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, value for money, my single room was a good size, breakfast was tasty and lots of it, felt safe.

Disliked: The shower/bathroom was a bit far from my room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernando Hèctor Belmartino

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2012 Fernando Hèctor would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicaciòn es muy buena.

Disliked: Fernando Hèctor left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, friendly, helpful staff, cheap! good atmosphere, big clean comfortable lounge room and lobby, easy to use & cheap laundry, clean bathroom, room adequate, breakfast included

Disliked: food sub-standard but then I am fussy about food. Not used to American cuisine or lack thereof but shouldn't complain, this is just a hostel and it is cheap. But food staff did not speak English.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel looks a little bit old-fashioned and no-nonsense, but most important: it's clean and offers you everything you need. Although the bathroom's are shared with other rooms, they're always clean and it's never busy. Showers are good in every way. Best things about the hostel are: the nice garden/patio where you can sit and relax or eat something, and the breakfast buffet. Location is also good. Absolute value for money!

Disliked: There wasn't really something I did dislike. The only thing is that this hostel is pure functional, it has no very special character. But it's possible to meet other people though, because the hostel organises a lot (if you're interested in).


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels