HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of 40 Berkeley Hostel Boston Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 58%

Location 81%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 55%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 58%

Location 81%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 55%

Showing 61-70 of 88 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is great and the price was good, but as mentioned it wasn't the sort of hostel I was used as it appeared to be very large building with older people living there and lacked a bit of character. That being said if you're on a budget it's perfect location and the price is good.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is great, 15 minutes from Boston Common, clean room.

Disliked: The common bathrooms and toilets.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean comfortable friendly staff

Disliked: Not much of a kitchen space

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the free popcorn! The common area was cozy and the breakfast was good: fresh fruit, yogurt and pancakes (also oatmeal, sausages and etc.). We stayed on the fifth floor and our window view was amazing. The neighborhood is lovely, full of restaurants and it only takes about 20 minutes to walk downtown, we walked through Chinatown which was pleasant. Also, a 7eleven store is located across from the hotel.

Disliked: I recommend bringing bath slippers, although, the bathroom is clean the floors get dirty, as with every other common bathroom. Our sheets were not changed during our four night stay.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms, rooms very basic but clean and warm, good breakfast, free coffee and popcorn, convenient location, 7 11 across the street, fast internet... We had to cancel the first night of our stay because our flight got cancelled and we didn't have to pay for it.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: This hostel surprised me. It is a pretty big hostel with great free breakfast. They serve free Starbucks coffee too. This hotel is in a good location close to bus stations and back bay metro station. The room was clean. It it value for money if youre looking for cheap hostels to stay.

Disliked: It doesnt have private bathroom. Each floor has one public bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location and neighborhood

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was a great place to stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are warm and cozy and the hostel is is a really good location! One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere with helpful staff. The breakfast was good too.

Disliked: Nil

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Friendly staff and perfect location. The breakfast is included. That's a plus.

Disliked: The rooms are not clean and a bit smelly.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability