We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

74.1% Overall Rating

638 out of 768 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2015)

Evan McIntyre thinks…

"It was so QUAINT - I just love the location, the people, atmosphere. Really a great price and nice, marvelous, spectaculair place! Evan Michael McIntyre, Los Angeles Bam-Radio.com Owner / Podcast DJ"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
31.99 USD

Hostel 92.1% 322 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
27.00 USD

Hostel 71.7% 133 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
129.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
5.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews
Nichols Guest House
49.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.1%

Overall Rating

638 out of 768 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 550 of 675 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: affordabole, close to the subway, friendly staff, plenty rooms!

Disliked: there's no private bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lillian Hoika

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 October 2012 Lillian would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast choices are abundant and good. WiFi availability. Free temporary storage of luggage.

Disliked: Property was fine. I had difficulty seeing street signs following directions from Back Bay Stn.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012

Liked: The staff were friendly at the hotel. My flight out was only at night and they let me keep my luggage at the hostel all day let me take a shower when I went to collect it.

Disliked: The 40 Berkeley hostel absolutely disgusting and I would not recommend it to anyone. The actual facility is old and falling apart and has never ever had a renovation of any sort. When I walked into the building I was beyond shocked and dismayed that I would be staying there. The rooms are atrocious too and due to its age are very poorly insulated and heated, I was there in the fall and I was freezing cold every night. The hostel has no atmosphere and is more of a hotel for down and outers than a hostel for young travellers looking to have a good time. There was the strangest group of people staying there ever with lots of weird 60 year olds ones. The loaction of the hotel is ok but you can really do better. Hostel staff were not at all knowledgable on places to go to party in Boston or happenings in the city during my stay. I implore anyone staying in Boston to choose another hostel. The facility is disgusting, there is no atmosphere and the location is average. You are really better than this!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Help provided by the staff; lobby is very big and clean

Disliked: Some of the showers were not working at all during our stay; dont expect too much from the breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything about this hostel is great. the staff goes out of its way to be helpful; there are activities scheduled for guests; the location is in easy walking distance to downtown. A wonderful place. ther eis an outdoor courtyard, a large lounge area and a small cinema.. wonderful

Disliked: not a thing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arnout Schepers

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 September 2012 Arnout would recommend this property

Liked: Accommodation in Boston is pretty expensive and as far as I can see you get pretty good value for money here. The location is good, everything is clean, breakfast is included and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The spring mattress was not comfortable and the internet was unstable at 'peak-hours'. I also didn't like the fact the the room I stayed in didn't have a sink (communal bathrooms).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was within walking distance of central Boston and other attractions like Fenway park, the staff were extremely helpful and willing to give advice on the city, and the free breakfasts for guests in the morning were excellent quality

Disliked: The communal bathrooms were quite small, and at certain times in the day there was a wait to use the restroom or the shower

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sanja Aveic

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2012 Sanja would recommend this property

Liked: Position was good for city visiting. Room was nice and bathrooms clean.

Disliked: Breakfast too "heavy" for my needs, but as I could see it was fine for the others.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 September 2012

Liked: Conveniently located. There's a Seven-Eleven in front of the hotel.

Disliked: - The building was old (completed in 1953). The renovation does not fix completely its aging structure. The blind of the room they gave me at first was stuck, and I had to change the room. - There's certainly a free Wi-fi service, but the signal was really unstable and almost impossible to connect even on the 1st floor. However, the connection is suddenly established late at midnight, when most of the customers are sleeping, which means that there are too many users compared to the capacity of the Hot-spot device in this hotel. I have experienced the same problem during three nights stay. - There is no refrigerator in the room, because there is an ice machine on the 1st floor. In fact, that machine was out of order. - No room keeping during three nights stay. - The dining room was very crowded uncomfortable during the breakfast. The orange juice was very weakened by water and impossible to drink.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Buchanan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Great range of activites available, fantastic location and people.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brooke Mueller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 August 2012 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff was very nice and helpful with everything. There were always suggestions of different things to do. One night they had a free magic show for free with free snacks, including the cookies! I would stay here again.

Disliked: It is a little out of the way. You have to walk a bit to get to the main part of town, but the walk isn't that bad at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the free pool and the staff were incredible. They were really helpful and made our stay much more interesting and fun!

Disliked: A fridge in the room and maybe a oven would have been great to have the minimum to cook.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012

Liked: I liked the atmosphere in general, the staff was really nice, and I liked- which is rare in the US - the free offers such as WiFi, Coffee, drinking water, breakfast, and the location - i like the fans instead of AC - it safes a lot of energy ...

Disliked: In every floor a bathroom facity or the elevator were broken and on the way to be repaired....(there are only two showers per floor, they MUST function) seems it needs more maintanance... the bathroom, the beds and the furniture are really old, they function but they are ugly and nagged... this place needs some refreshment - then it would be a decent place :) and come on... the breakfast is not that great - but for American standards okay... poor Americanos :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Murphy

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Really good facilities: free coffee, slush and popcorn! Nice lounge area. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It locates in a very nice area, good atmosphere

Disliked: no conditionor, hot in summer. But if you are environment friend person that's all right.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karina Kopec

Alone

Business / conference

06 August 2012 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect - walkable distance to everything. Great, very helpful staff!

Disliked: Karina left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location (close to Boston downtown), the friendly staff, shower was clean

Disliked: The disgusting breakfast.: They had kind of a big choice, but everything was close to not edible (lowest quality, super-greasy sausages, the worst porridge I've ever tried), worst breakfast of all the hostels I've been Rooms were unbearable hot! No airconditioning, old blowers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rob and Maureen Gillet

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Rob and Maureen would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff. The communal lounge and garden areas.

Disliked: The most difficult aspect was not having a washbasin in the room which meant a trip to the bathrooms to wash hands/clean teeth/etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were so amazed at what we got for the money. I was expecting a bowl of cereal for breakfast, but instead we had such a great, full breakfast. I was so happy for the ceiling and desk fans in each room. It was fun to meet so many different people. It was so helpful to have computer access too. The staff was very freindly and helpful. Thank you so much.

Disliked: Of course air conditioning would have made it easier to handle the heat. But we asked to move to a room that had less direct sun, and were shown a new room right a way. It made all the difference in the world. I would suggest getting an extention cord for the lamps and fans, because we were constantly pulling it out of the wall since it was stretched to the limit. One of the elevators was broken for the first day, and the ice machine was also broken. If is wasn't so hot and humid, these would not have posed such a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common areas on first floor, helpful staff, ability to store luggage after check-out, nice neighborhood and convenient location, plentiful free breakfast, price as compared to hotels in area.

Disliked: Dark not-so-clean hallways, not-so-clean bathrooms, no A/C

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Morris

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast here is awesome, always fresh and made to order. Also, it's very convenient to transportation.

Disliked: I'm from Texas, where air conditioning is a must have. I was here during a particularly warm week in Boston, and since the rooms didn't have A/C, it was very warm in the room when we checked in and didn't cool off until about 24 hours later.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: The wifi, the common use areas, the very helpful staff.

Disliked: The showers were all very bad, in that the faucet heads would not move, nor allowed a strong and even flow of water. They smelled badly as well.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jonathan Tong

Alone

City break

25 June 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is reasonable, particularly convenient for going out to the gay bars in the South End. Free wifi, and I even got a signal in my room. Friendly staff, got a free home baked cookie when I checked in! Breakfast was better than expected. A handy 7/11 across the street.

Disliked: The room was so hot - hotter than outdoors! They provided an additional fan but still if you don't like the heat in the summer you may struggle without air conditioning. The hostel reception area has a newly refurbished area which comes across nice in the photos seen on the site but it does not really reflect the state of the building. It was very much like living in a student's hall, but given the lack of choice there isn't much you can do. Like many American cities it is poor value for money. A tax of 14% or so was added on top of the price HostelBookers quoted, was not expecting that.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eingangsbereich ist sehr schön gestaltet, sehr gemütliche Sitzgelegenheiten, Frühstück war ausreichend und relativ gut, Lage ist super, in wenigen Minuten ist man zu Fuß im Zentrum

Disliked: w-lan hat in einem Zimmer nicht funktioniert, shared-bathroom war nicht besonders schön, Zimmer sehr klein, Ventilator leider nur gekopplet mit Lichtschalter, darum sehr heiß in der Nacht, Betten waren nicht sehr gemütlich


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels