HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

83.5% Overall Rating

598 out of 713 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Holli McCarthy thinks…

"The staff were so friendly and always happy to help, there was a great movie theatre, pool tables and free coffee and popcorn. The rooms were a good size and clean. Location was great, 7/11 opposite,…"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

Hostelling International Boston
49.99 USD

Hostel 94.2% 240 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
38.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 118 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
169.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Hyatt Harborside Boston Logan Airport
72.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
28.00 USD

Hostel 63.4% 265 reviews
President's City Inn - Boston
38.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 60.3% 21 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan
49.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.5% 12 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

598 out of 713 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 514 of 621 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast Warm showers

Disliked: No ensuite

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location for my interests, I felt very safe walking around this beautiful neighbourhood in old Boston, even in the evening. The staff were great and even let me check in very early as the room was available.

Disliked: Could be a bit cleaner. They really need new rugs in the halls.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Kluckhenn

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 May 2012 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Great amenities, lounge room, free breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I went to a graduation at Boston University and easy to get to the University.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alice Baron

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money, very good breakfast, good location

Disliked: rooms very old, furniture old, shared bathrooms are like school bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, value for money, my single room was a good size, breakfast was tasty and lots of it, felt safe.

Disliked: The shower/bathroom was a bit far from my room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernando Hèctor Belmartino

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2012 Fernando Hèctor would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicaciòn es muy buena.

Disliked: Fernando Hèctor left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, friendly, helpful staff, cheap! good atmosphere, big clean comfortable lounge room and lobby, easy to use & cheap laundry, clean bathroom, room adequate, breakfast included

Disliked: food sub-standard but then I am fussy about food. Not used to American cuisine or lack thereof but shouldn't complain, this is just a hostel and it is cheap. But food staff did not speak English.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel looks a little bit old-fashioned and no-nonsense, but most important: it's clean and offers you everything you need. Although the bathroom's are shared with other rooms, they're always clean and it's never busy. Showers are good in every way. Best things about the hostel are: the nice garden/patio where you can sit and relax or eat something, and the breakfast buffet. Location is also good. Absolute value for money!

Disliked: There wasn't really something I did dislike. The only thing is that this hostel is pure functional, it has no very special character. But it's possible to meet other people though, because the hostel organises a lot (if you're interested in).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012

Liked: Nice entrance hall

Disliked: Pretty old facilities (washrooms with only one shower and one toilet bowl per floor per gender, heating, windows, elevators, etc) The woman who checked me in forgot to ask me if I had an ISIC card so I could not get the offered discount (just found it out 5 minutes later when she asked the next person checking in) and she also forgot to explain me several things, additionally she was not that nice and competent, just not a person who should work in hospitality services

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, Great cookies on arrival, friendly staff, great city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great! It takes only a few minutes to the local transportation system (Arlington Station or TUFTS Medical Station) and you can get to the most unmissable places in Boston just in a few moments. The staff is really nice and the breakfast is awesome! From 7 to 9 on weekdays and from 8 to 10 on the weekend you can get scrambeld eggs, bacon, sausages, pan cakes, waffles, toast, peanut butter, marmelade, cerials... and so on! And of course you can have coffee fro free. The rooms are acceptable large (it is a Hostle not a Hotel!!!) and the are clean! Like in all Hostles with shared rest- or bathrooms you can meet some idiots who make them filthy dirty but the staff cleans them at least once a day.

Disliked: Due to its central location the streets are a little bit loud, even in the morning - but hey, it's a Hostle and the prices are very fair!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean rooms

Disliked: Weird circumstance, this place is also housing for debilitated people which makes bathroom and breakfast encounters awkward. It also therefore splits the staff between trying to help travelers, and also taking care of little old ladies.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Silvia Gentili

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 March 2012

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Bathroom not clean! In the dining room, we find dirty cups.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, free coffee and popcorn in the lobby, decent rooms, friendly staff.

Disliked: The hallway outside our room smelled of pee. The showers and toilets could have been cleaner. I also wish the room I stayed in had a mirror and some nightstands, so that it would be a little nicer.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the States, good location, and a good breakfast thrown in.

Disliked: Quite old fashioned building, and a little bit musty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, good location, helpful staff

Disliked: Not much of a party atmosphere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mike Scott

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: First interaction with staff was fantastic, friendly and we even got free cookies! COOKIES!

Disliked: Heating is a bit much, we stayed during an unusually hot period and yet their heating was still going on high, even with all windows open place was a little hot.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Peri Hann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Peri would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: Far from subway station, noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hamish Hastie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was great and location was walking distance from most things with a station just up the road. Staff were nice and room was comfortable.

Disliked: Was fairly standard, nothing amazing or unique about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Fabris

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! The breakfast is very good! The property describes itself honestly, very clean and comfortable! Great price for what is offered! I recommend! Very good!

Disliked: The heater was a bit unstable, sometimes very hot and other unheated! But I think he was down for maintenance!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near Chinatown, so you are able to taste some good food. Room is clean and staff are friendly.

Disliked: No

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Old People!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dinner


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels