HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of 40 Berkeley Hostel Boston Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 58%

Location 81%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 55%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 58%

Location 81%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 55%

Showing 51-60 of 101 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location was really good, just under 10 min walk to Back Bay station which lets you take the T around Boston. staff were very friendly and helpful too, and there was free breakfast and popcorn daily!

Disliked: we were first given a room on the 7th floor which was very very cramped for 3 people, no place to put any kind of luggage at all. however the staff were very helpful after our feedback and shifted us to another bigger room so all was golden then.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The facilities and free items were great. The breakfast is great to get you through the day just watch out for eyes that are bigger than your bellies! The staff are really friendly and helpful. Had a good stay.

Disliked: The rooms need a little updating and our floor (7) i think used tobe a smoking floor as the smell is ingrained in the carpet. But how often do you hang out in a hallway, so that was fine. The lifts are also slow but patience is a virtue!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a great location, just a ten minute walk from the nearest T stop making it easy to get to all the sights Boston has to offer.

Disliked: Nothing :)

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathroom was dirty felt like it was never cleaned. One toilet on our level. Lady on reception was rude on arrival and never offered us towels. Had to go down and get them ourselves. Residence were rude also.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location, nice common rooms and very good breakfast!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: We were delighted with 40 Berkeley. It's been many years since we all stayed in a Hostel, our backpacking days happened some years ago. We were a little skeptical about booking a hostel at first but this place exceeded all expectations. It was in a fabulous location and offered up a free full breakfast everyday! We couldn't have been happier.

Disliked: Actually I have no negative feedback to offer the place was great.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The bathroom was clean and everything worked properly.

Disliked: The room was not in a very good conditions. A little bit renovation would be appreciated.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is good but looks like a hospital building. The location is ok. The breakfast is very good and the wi-fi work in the room. I think is a good choise for a budget place i n Boston.

Disliked: A kitchen would be nice! ;)

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The coffee and breakfast was really good. Lots of choices, even apples, bananas and oranges!

Disliked: The showers were old and in bad state.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were so friendly and always happy to help, there was a great movie theatre, pool tables and free coffee and popcorn. The rooms were a good size and clean. Location was great, 7/11 opposite, food places and some bars, close to 2 trains and about 10 minute walk to the centre of Boston. Great place!

Disliked: A bit of an odd place, while we really liked the hostel it looked as if it hadn't been redecorated in a VERY long time! Everything was very dated and the showers weren't always fantastically clean. Breakfast was like being at school again! Finding a seat on big tables with loads of people you didn't know, and there were alot of non travellers there who were obviously living at the hostel? So not much of a meet new people atmosphere!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability