We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

72.6% Overall Rating

644 out of 775 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2015)

Evan McIntyre thinks…

"It was so QUAINT - I just love the location, the people, atmosphere. Really a great price and nice, marvelous, spectaculair place! Evan Michael McIntyre, Los Angeles Bam-Radio.com Owner / Podcast DJ"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
45.99 USD

Hostel 89.8% 335 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
29.00 USD

Hostel 69.8% 135 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
159.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

644 out of 775 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
62.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 554 of 682 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot breakfast, convenient location to the T line and near restauraunts and downtown

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent common areas and free coffee & wifi

Disliked: Breakfast was average

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Webb

Alone

Business / conference

15 April 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Came in at 8am to drop my bags and the process took 2 minutes, and they offered to let me eat breakfast in the dining room even though I hadn't even checked in yet!

Disliked: No complaints!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 40 Berkeley has a great location, Boston Common, downtown are in walking distance. We stay in a double room, it was clean and there was enough space.

Disliked: On each level there is only one bathroom for women and one for men. Some times they were out of cutlery during the breakfast, also out of coffee and a juice.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cheap and breakfast included

Disliked: Poor facilities

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly stuff, clean rooms and toilets

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice spot, the ideal solution for staying in Boston and save some money. Everything you need is near by, the personal is friendly and helpfull, the breakfast is good, a lot of different people in the building and the room is ok. Give 40 Berkeley a try!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are some facilities that we could have fun. It is also very clean and convenient. I love it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shuk Siu

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Shuk would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is really nice and helpful and the information provided by 40 Berkerly is so useful for hitting up special events in Boston!!!! The public leisure area here is comfortable and they offer great breakfast!!!

Disliked: Shuk left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was decent, price for proximity to city center was good

Disliked: staff was not very accomodating, breakfast was not good and had limited availability, our room was located far from the bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Longo

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Private room a bargain. Rooms, common areas and bathrooms clean. No frills but safe and clean. Great location.

Disliked: Heat very high, radiators noisy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Apolline Hospitel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Apolline would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel in city center, cheap and of very good quality. Amazing view from some rooms. Breakfast included in price. Staff friendly.

Disliked: Apolline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yao wu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 yao would recommend this property

Liked: Good location clean rooms breakfast is just ok Reasonable price

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Teresa Paramo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: The intallations were quite modern, the hostel organized a lot of activities

Disliked: The heater was too high! Everybody had to sleep with the windows open in the middle of the boston blizzard, which seems ridiculous

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and friendly front desk staff! [Thank you Paula for all your help!]

Disliked: Parking :(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really not far from Downtown Boston. Very easy to reach from the South Station. We were welcomed by very friendly staff member - our room had a really nice view over Boston downtown. The breakfast was very good - from Fruits to eggs, cerial and bacon everything was included.

Disliked: I wouldn't say "I disliked sth" - but this hostel is really good for having a night to stay at . The rooms aint the biggest and the beds ain the most comfortables but appropriate for the 30 $ we payed for the room. If you are visiting Boston for some sightseeing and you want to safe money - I'd recommend this place for you . Its cheap , though neat, nice staff and good breakfast that ensures you a good start in the day !

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Megan Williams

Alone

City break

21 January 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful when I booked online however they didn't get the confirmation, but when I showed the email honored the price, just hoping they don't try to charge me twice. The place offers an area to do laundry, meals, snacks and beverages, and is close to the T

Disliked: Can't adjust temperature in the room and the beds aren't all that nice to sleep on, but for the price was decent.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Susanne Roelofsen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff; very helpful. Great location as well, close to everything!

Disliked: There wasn't much room for social interaction.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really nice.

Disliked: elevator too slow

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Raul Bezerra Barbosa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013

Liked: Its well located.

Disliked: Breakfast is terrible, some weird people...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

lisa day

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

03 January 2013

Liked: The shared bathroom was clean.

Disliked: The second floor stunk of piss, so we changed rooms/floors. For 3 people sharing for 3 nights, the room was a basic bunk bed prison cell. When asked to change to bigger room as falsely advertised as three single beds on booking was told all available rooms were of this size. The plumping and heating system is ancient, if the room is 100 degrees or above its broken, when it's minus 6 outside you soon get very cold under a sheet and basic blanket to sleep in... :-(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Appleton

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great wifi

Disliked: Lady at nightshift had terrible attitude Breakfast was terrible

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was an affordable, no-frills space that felt like a dorm and being back in college again, in a good way. There was free popcorn and free coffee in the lobby. The breakfast in the morning was a good experience - the food was filling and I enjoyed the choice of beverages. I definitely liked having a private room, and didn't mind having to share a bathroom on the floor. It's neat to see all of the different nationalities of people that come through the place, both in the bathrooms and in the lobby and in the breakfast room. I really enjoyed my time there and always looked forward to returning to the property after a long day of sight seeing.

Disliked: I wished the female bathroom had more than just 2 showers per floor; they were often both taken, but even so I never had to wait to shower when I wanted to. You just have to seize the opportunity when it presents itself. At breakfast at times they were out of a particular food or drink (like hot chocolate!) which made me sad, but that's because so many people come through and they don't get to change everything out right away.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

paula otero gomes

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012

Liked: It is 15 minutes walk to downtown

Disliked: The rooms are old and smelly. The breakfast is large but bad quality, the kitchen looked dirty. If you are cold and you ask for more blankets, they don´t feel like giving to you easily. In the hotel you live with homeless people. I would not recommend it to anyone. Photos that you see on HostelBookers are much better than the reality.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels