HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

73.4% Overall Rating

624 out of 747 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2014)

"The place was kept very clean. There was free flow of Starbucks coffee/tea and pop-corns plus free breakfast. The lounge was spacious and well planned. Free wifi was available throughout the hostel but you have to pay…"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

Hostelling International Boston
45.99 USD

Hostel 91.3% 286 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
45.00 USD

Hostel 75.5% 126 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
219.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Hyatt Harborside Boston Logan Airport
72.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
38.00 USD

Hostel 63.2% 269 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Econolodge
18.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 12 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

624 out of 747 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
64.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 535 of 654 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really nice.

Disliked: elevator too slow

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Raul Bezerra Barbosa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013

Liked: Its well located.

Disliked: Breakfast is terrible, some weird people...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

lisa day

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

03 January 2013

Liked: The shared bathroom was clean.

Disliked: The second floor stunk of piss, so we changed rooms/floors. For 3 people sharing for 3 nights, the room was a basic bunk bed prison cell. When asked to change to bigger room as falsely advertised as three single beds on booking was told all available rooms were of this size. The plumping and heating system is ancient, if the room is 100 degrees or above its broken, when it's minus 6 outside you soon get very cold under a sheet and basic blanket to sleep in... :-(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Appleton

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great wifi

Disliked: Lady at nightshift had terrible attitude Breakfast was terrible

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was an affordable, no-frills space that felt like a dorm and being back in college again, in a good way. There was free popcorn and free coffee in the lobby. The breakfast in the morning was a good experience - the food was filling and I enjoyed the choice of beverages. I definitely liked having a private room, and didn't mind having to share a bathroom on the floor. It's neat to see all of the different nationalities of people that come through the place, both in the bathrooms and in the lobby and in the breakfast room. I really enjoyed my time there and always looked forward to returning to the property after a long day of sight seeing.

Disliked: I wished the female bathroom had more than just 2 showers per floor; they were often both taken, but even so I never had to wait to shower when I wanted to. You just have to seize the opportunity when it presents itself. At breakfast at times they were out of a particular food or drink (like hot chocolate!) which made me sad, but that's because so many people come through and they don't get to change everything out right away.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

paula otero gomes

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012

Liked: It is 15 minutes walk to downtown

Disliked: The rooms are old and smelly. The breakfast is large but bad quality, the kitchen looked dirty. If you are cold and you ask for more blankets, they don´t feel like giving to you easily. In the hotel you live with homeless people. I would not recommend it to anyone. Photos that you see on HostelBookers are much better than the reality.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alireza Sibaei

Alone

Business / conference

07 November 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: Cleanliness

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Piotr Szeleszczuk

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: It's great value for money - in the city centre for decent price. Not a Ritz, but a classicall college dorm form late 70 adapted. If you don't have big expectations and don't need feather pillows but love to use the saved money for beer and other attractions - it's a perfect place

Disliked: Breakfast - it's included in the price, but it was so fat... Sausages, bacon, french toasts and no sign of any vegetable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What i like is that, the front office staff are very friendly and even offered me something to eat on my arrival, lobby was clean and nice

Disliked: When i entered the room, looks like someone just got out and left a dirty mess. The bed sheets was scattered, not even folded, the revolving fan light was not working and its dirty. If they know someone is checking in a room by which the past guest just checked out. Make sure they clean it because a guest will arrive. There's nothing more worse than a paid "dirty" room right?

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: The area was beautiful, safe and close to downtown.

Disliked: The environment, it felt like a hospital.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: affordabole, close to the subway, friendly staff, plenty rooms!

Disliked: there's no private bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lillian Hoika

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 October 2012 Lillian would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast choices are abundant and good. WiFi availability. Free temporary storage of luggage.

Disliked: Property was fine. I had difficulty seeing street signs following directions from Back Bay Stn.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012

Liked: The staff were friendly at the hotel. My flight out was only at night and they let me keep my luggage at the hostel all day let me take a shower when I went to collect it.

Disliked: The 40 Berkeley hostel absolutely disgusting and I would not recommend it to anyone. The actual facility is old and falling apart and has never ever had a renovation of any sort. When I walked into the building I was beyond shocked and dismayed that I would be staying there. The rooms are atrocious too and due to its age are very poorly insulated and heated, I was there in the fall and I was freezing cold every night. The hostel has no atmosphere and is more of a hotel for down and outers than a hostel for young travellers looking to have a good time. There was the strangest group of people staying there ever with lots of weird 60 year olds ones. The loaction of the hotel is ok but you can really do better. Hostel staff were not at all knowledgable on places to go to party in Boston or happenings in the city during my stay. I implore anyone staying in Boston to choose another hostel. The facility is disgusting, there is no atmosphere and the location is average. You are really better than this!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Help provided by the staff; lobby is very big and clean

Disliked: Some of the showers were not working at all during our stay; dont expect too much from the breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything about this hostel is great. the staff goes out of its way to be helpful; there are activities scheduled for guests; the location is in easy walking distance to downtown. A wonderful place. ther eis an outdoor courtyard, a large lounge area and a small cinema.. wonderful

Disliked: not a thing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arnout Schepers

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 September 2012 Arnout would recommend this property

Liked: Accommodation in Boston is pretty expensive and as far as I can see you get pretty good value for money here. The location is good, everything is clean, breakfast is included and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The spring mattress was not comfortable and the internet was unstable at 'peak-hours'. I also didn't like the fact the the room I stayed in didn't have a sink (communal bathrooms).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was within walking distance of central Boston and other attractions like Fenway park, the staff were extremely helpful and willing to give advice on the city, and the free breakfasts for guests in the morning were excellent quality

Disliked: The communal bathrooms were quite small, and at certain times in the day there was a wait to use the restroom or the shower

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sanja Aveic

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2012 Sanja would recommend this property

Liked: Position was good for city visiting. Room was nice and bathrooms clean.

Disliked: Breakfast too "heavy" for my needs, but as I could see it was fine for the others.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 September 2012

Liked: Conveniently located. There's a Seven-Eleven in front of the hotel.

Disliked: - The building was old (completed in 1953). The renovation does not fix completely its aging structure. The blind of the room they gave me at first was stuck, and I had to change the room. - There's certainly a free Wi-fi service, but the signal was really unstable and almost impossible to connect even on the 1st floor. However, the connection is suddenly established late at midnight, when most of the customers are sleeping, which means that there are too many users compared to the capacity of the Hot-spot device in this hotel. I have experienced the same problem during three nights stay. - There is no refrigerator in the room, because there is an ice machine on the 1st floor. In fact, that machine was out of order. - No room keeping during three nights stay. - The dining room was very crowded uncomfortable during the breakfast. The orange juice was very weakened by water and impossible to drink.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Buchanan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Great range of activites available, fantastic location and people.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brooke Mueller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 August 2012 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff was very nice and helpful with everything. There were always suggestions of different things to do. One night they had a free magic show for free with free snacks, including the cookies! I would stay here again.

Disliked: It is a little out of the way. You have to walk a bit to get to the main part of town, but the walk isn't that bad at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the free pool and the staff were incredible. They were really helpful and made our stay much more interesting and fun!

Disliked: A fridge in the room and maybe a oven would have been great to have the minimum to cook.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012

Liked: I liked the atmosphere in general, the staff was really nice, and I liked- which is rare in the US - the free offers such as WiFi, Coffee, drinking water, breakfast, and the location - i like the fans instead of AC - it safes a lot of energy ...

Disliked: In every floor a bathroom facity or the elevator were broken and on the way to be repaired....(there are only two showers per floor, they MUST function) seems it needs more maintanance... the bathroom, the beds and the furniture are really old, they function but they are ugly and nagged... this place needs some refreshment - then it would be a decent place :) and come on... the breakfast is not that great - but for American standards okay... poor Americanos :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Murphy

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Really good facilities: free coffee, slush and popcorn! Nice lounge area. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It locates in a very nice area, good atmosphere

Disliked: no conditionor, hot in summer. But if you are environment friend person that's all right.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels