HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

83.5% Overall Rating

598 out of 713 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Holli McCarthy thinks…

"The staff were so friendly and always happy to help, there was a great movie theatre, pool tables and free coffee and popcorn. The rooms were a good size and clean. Location was great, 7/11 opposite,…"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

Hostelling International Boston
49.99 USD

Hostel 94.2% 240 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
38.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 118 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
169.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Hyatt Harborside Boston Logan Airport
72.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
28.00 USD

Hostel 63.4% 265 reviews
President's City Inn - Boston
38.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 60.3% 21 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan
49.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.5% 12 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

598 out of 713 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 514 of 621 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the free pool and the staff were incredible. They were really helpful and made our stay much more interesting and fun!

Disliked: A fridge in the room and maybe a oven would have been great to have the minimum to cook.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012

Liked: I liked the atmosphere in general, the staff was really nice, and I liked- which is rare in the US - the free offers such as WiFi, Coffee, drinking water, breakfast, and the location - i like the fans instead of AC - it safes a lot of energy ...

Disliked: In every floor a bathroom facity or the elevator were broken and on the way to be repaired....(there are only two showers per floor, they MUST function) seems it needs more maintanance... the bathroom, the beds and the furniture are really old, they function but they are ugly and nagged... this place needs some refreshment - then it would be a decent place :) and come on... the breakfast is not that great - but for American standards okay... poor Americanos :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Murphy

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Really good facilities: free coffee, slush and popcorn! Nice lounge area. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It locates in a very nice area, good atmosphere

Disliked: no conditionor, hot in summer. But if you are environment friend person that's all right.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karina Kopec

Alone

Business / conference

06 August 2012 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect - walkable distance to everything. Great, very helpful staff!

Disliked: Karina left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location (close to Boston downtown), the friendly staff, shower was clean

Disliked: The disgusting breakfast.: They had kind of a big choice, but everything was close to not edible (lowest quality, super-greasy sausages, the worst porridge I've ever tried), worst breakfast of all the hostels I've been Rooms were unbearable hot! No airconditioning, old blowers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rob and Maureen Gillet

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Rob and Maureen would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff. The communal lounge and garden areas.

Disliked: The most difficult aspect was not having a washbasin in the room which meant a trip to the bathrooms to wash hands/clean teeth/etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were so amazed at what we got for the money. I was expecting a bowl of cereal for breakfast, but instead we had such a great, full breakfast. I was so happy for the ceiling and desk fans in each room. It was fun to meet so many different people. It was so helpful to have computer access too. The staff was very freindly and helpful. Thank you so much.

Disliked: Of course air conditioning would have made it easier to handle the heat. But we asked to move to a room that had less direct sun, and were shown a new room right a way. It made all the difference in the world. I would suggest getting an extention cord for the lamps and fans, because we were constantly pulling it out of the wall since it was stretched to the limit. One of the elevators was broken for the first day, and the ice machine was also broken. If is wasn't so hot and humid, these would not have posed such a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common areas on first floor, helpful staff, ability to store luggage after check-out, nice neighborhood and convenient location, plentiful free breakfast, price as compared to hotels in area.

Disliked: Dark not-so-clean hallways, not-so-clean bathrooms, no A/C

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Morris

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast here is awesome, always fresh and made to order. Also, it's very convenient to transportation.

Disliked: I'm from Texas, where air conditioning is a must have. I was here during a particularly warm week in Boston, and since the rooms didn't have A/C, it was very warm in the room when we checked in and didn't cool off until about 24 hours later.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: The wifi, the common use areas, the very helpful staff.

Disliked: The showers were all very bad, in that the faucet heads would not move, nor allowed a strong and even flow of water. They smelled badly as well.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jonathan Tong

Alone

City break

25 June 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is reasonable, particularly convenient for going out to the gay bars in the South End. Free wifi, and I even got a signal in my room. Friendly staff, got a free home baked cookie when I checked in! Breakfast was better than expected. A handy 7/11 across the street.

Disliked: The room was so hot - hotter than outdoors! They provided an additional fan but still if you don't like the heat in the summer you may struggle without air conditioning. The hostel reception area has a newly refurbished area which comes across nice in the photos seen on the site but it does not really reflect the state of the building. It was very much like living in a student's hall, but given the lack of choice there isn't much you can do. Like many American cities it is poor value for money. A tax of 14% or so was added on top of the price HostelBookers quoted, was not expecting that.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eingangsbereich ist sehr schön gestaltet, sehr gemütliche Sitzgelegenheiten, Frühstück war ausreichend und relativ gut, Lage ist super, in wenigen Minuten ist man zu Fuß im Zentrum

Disliked: w-lan hat in einem Zimmer nicht funktioniert, shared-bathroom war nicht besonders schön, Zimmer sehr klein, Ventilator leider nur gekopplet mit Lichtschalter, darum sehr heiß in der Nacht, Betten waren nicht sehr gemütlich

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ye Cao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2012 Ye would recommend this property

Liked: Above all, it is the location. It sits right in the posh and elegant South End. It only takes a short walk, between 5-10 minutes depending on how fast one walks, from Bay Bay subway station to the hostel. Honestly, I got pretty much excited when I was walking along the neighbourhood and found out where I was going to stay. As to the hostel itself, everything met up to my expectation. The room and washroom are clean and well kept. No crowding was experienced. The whole facility has a cozy mid-century feel with a lot of airy spaces. The courtyard is lovely to both sit in and look at. The place was generally quite through day and night. This said, there was noise from the street in my room which overlooks Berkeley Street. But nothing couldn't be dealt with by a pair of earplugs. The breakfast was generous. The staff were easy-going and helpful, especially with my delayed luggage and bike-in-the-room request. I rent a bike to get around the city and was a little worried about where to keep it at night at first. But it was no problem at all with the staff. They simply let it go. Thumb up for the bicycle friendly environment!

Disliked: Price could be a little bit cheaper for a single private room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Trang Pham

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

22 June 2012 Trang would recommend this property

Liked: Close to central of boston

Disliked: No A/C

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great find, We booked the private room with shared bathroom and were really happy with our stay. The main lobby was amazing and had free starbucks coffee. The room was spacious with a great view of the garden area out back. There is free breakfast included with the price, I would advise getting down early to get some of the better choices.

Disliked: the staff were very relaxed and it took a little longer than desired to check in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kevin bleakley

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2012 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The outside patio/garden is lovely. The front desk people are helpful. The place is pretty clean. The breakfast is copious (but the greasy-heart-attack bacon/hashbrowns could do with a bit more love and a little less swimming in lakes of grease!). For Boston, this place is cheap (but only for Boston!)

Disliked: The rooms are grim (but clean). Some showers need replacing (3rd floor Niagra Falls, men's bathroom).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Prima voor een paar nachten in Boston. Dichtbij genoeg bij het centrum. Ontbijt is genoeg voor de rest van de dag.

Disliked: De kamer waar ik in sliep was erg warm, zelfs wanneer ik het raam wagenwijd open zette. Het lijkt slecht te luchten.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

16 June 2012

Liked: Staff was okay, free cookies and popcorn and that was it. Staff was pretty slow though,didnt seem to care about customers at all.

Disliked: This hostel is in reality, a senior housing place, weird old people live here all year round. Not a backpacker friendly place AT ALL.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daisuke Ito

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 June 2012 Daisuke would recommend this property

Liked: Why hotels in Boston are so expensive? This is one of the cheapest hotel, but should call "dorm". Complementary Starbucks coffee by machine, popcorn, I love them! Breakfast was nice, just standard.

Disliked: Wifi worked well only on the reception, lounge level. In my room(3rd floor), wifi worked just 10min each hour. No bed frame, just a mat on a bed stand. On sleeping, a mat slipped off and I fell on my back on the floor. My glasses were broken under the mat.....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ligger centralt. Gode muligheder for shopping i nærområdet. Morgenmad ok. Gode fælles områder.

Disliked: Værelset småt og ilde lugtende. Sparsomt indrettet.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

antonio jr dayrit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: the price for a single room is shocking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

sophie volpatti

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 June 2012 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Price and location

Disliked: Sharred bathroom


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels