We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

74.1% Overall Rating

638 out of 768 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2015)

Evan McIntyre thinks…

"It was so QUAINT - I just love the location, the people, atmosphere. Really a great price and nice, marvelous, spectaculair place! Evan Michael McIntyre, Los Angeles Bam-Radio.com Owner / Podcast DJ"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
36.99 USD

Hostel 92.7% 325 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
28.00 USD

Hostel 71.3% 134 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
159.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
28.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.1%

Overall Rating

638 out of 768 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 550 of 675 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tane Richards

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Tane would recommend this property

Liked: The free WiFi a bit of a novelty for an Australian. Location great especially for walking the city & surrounds!

Disliked: No air conditioning in top floor rooms at least! But it was a warm humid summer!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is no air condition.

Disliked: There is no air condition.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Simon Abbott

Alone

City break

19 July 2013

Liked: NA

Disliked: No a/c in very hot conditions, broken fan in bedroom, one shower available for all the floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Donna Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: This property is awesome. Room/sheets were clean. Front desk staff were friendly. Lots of common areas to relax. I especially liked the patio outside. We did get a room that the light did not work. They quickly tried to resolve the issue and when the couldn't they moved us to a new room. Very accomodating! Breakfast was included in the price. It was excellent. Two type of eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, porridge, fruit, fruit juice, coffee, milk, cereal, toast. Free wifi both in the common areas and in the rooms. Excellent!

Disliked: They could have another washroom on each floor, but we had no issues using the washroom or getting a shower. We had to wait a few minutes, but not a big deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how much was included in the price: breakfast, starbucks coffee, a quiet area with rocking chairs, pool, a microwave and good wi-fi. We enjoyed the breakfast and were excited to have a free BBQ for the 4th of July. The staff was always very helpful and we never seemed to be bothering them with questions.

Disliked: The only downside is that since we were in the middle of very hot temperatures, the room was almost unbearable without air conditionning. We did have a fan but it barely helped cooling the room down.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tobias Ruettershoff

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 July 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Comparatively cheap, good location

Disliked: No A/C

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Good location, cheap, friendly staff.

Disliked: Rooms in dire need of refurbishment. Lack of air-con in rooms a massive problem. The place simply isn't cut out for a summer stay. The room was small, cramped, uncomfortable and stinking hot at night. We barely slept. Didn't have advertised discount tickets for tours we wanted.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Enda Boland

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

11 June 2013 Enda would recommend this property

Liked: free pool and popcorn

Disliked: breakfast was mediocre.. lift is very slow

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gerard McBrien

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 June 2013 Gerard would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived late at night and staff were very helpful. We got very big room with two double beds and a private bathroom which was great since we were not expecting this. Breakfast was included and was great. We got hot cooked breakfast , several types of bread, fruit cereal, tones of juices, coffee etc. location was handy , felt very safe in the area. They allowed us to keep bags there till 12 at night which was a great help to us. There is a lovely atmosphere here and would stay again.

Disliked: Only negative thing and this is being very picky is that lifts were a bit slow we used stairs instead and it was grand.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and close enough to most places

Disliked: The pool tables aren't great and only 1 cue and breakfast finished too early on weekdays.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location helpful staff ,nice free breakfast free Starbucks coffee and popcorn after 10 am , cinema room lifts to all floors, dinner for $10

Disliked: Small rooms, no tv can be noisy at night if your a light sleeper you will probably hear the dawn chorus, but what do you expect for the price?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sally Moe

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 May 2013 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city center

Disliked: Sally left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Marino

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing, the breakfast was very good and it was safe. Hot showers with good water pressure and the bed was very comfortable.

Disliked: I don't really have any complaints. The bathroom showers look like they are cleaned every other day and they ran out of handsoap and hand sanitizer but I just used my own soap.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Awesome neighborhood. Walking to the hostel from the subway station felt very safe, even late at night. You can walk pretty much everywhere: the walk from the hostel to the harbor is a half-an-hour.

Disliked: The shower could have been cleaned a little better. Lots of hairs in the drain...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: There should be more showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wifi

Disliked: bed is too small

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is pretty nice hotel is clean breakfast is included staff is friendly

Disliked: rooms are small and old pictures online look much better than it really looks like

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Rees

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Right next to Boston Common and the main high street.. A short walk from the harbour and all Bostons historical sights. The staff were really friendly, the rooms had everything you need and were very clean! Brilliant value for money!

Disliked: Nothing!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2013

Liked: the lobby is attractive.

Disliked: This is a very bad deal, even given the high prices of Boston hotels. There is only one bathroom for women and one for men per floor, with a single shower and toilet to be shared between everyone on the floor - up to 35 people. These get dirty very quickly. The room was very basic and smelt strongly of disinfectant. The sheets were torn, there was only one thin blanket which left me cold, and the blinds were so sticky and grimy that I didn't want to touch them. NOT A GOOD DEAL.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicholas Shirtcliffe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013

Liked: Its some where to sleep. Close enough to pretty much everything. There is a ceiling fan. A COLD drinks machine.

Disliked: If they could get it any hotter every would die, if they're not already dead.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a 711 right across the street

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot breakfast, convenient location to the T line and near restauraunts and downtown

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent common areas and free coffee & wifi

Disliked: Breakfast was average

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Webb

Alone

Business / conference

15 April 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Came in at 8am to drop my bags and the process took 2 minutes, and they offered to let me eat breakfast in the dining room even though I hadn't even checked in yet!

Disliked: No complaints!


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels