We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

73.5% Overall Rating

647 out of 779 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2015)

Evan McIntyre thinks…

"It was so QUAINT - I just love the location, the people, atmosphere. Really a great price and nice, marvelous, spectaculair place! Evan Michael McIntyre, Los Angeles Bam-Radio.com Owner / Podcast DJ"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
55.99 USD

Hostel 89.9% 344 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
43.00 USD

Hostel 71.3% 137 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
209.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

647 out of 779 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 558 of 687 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms, rooms very basic but clean and warm, good breakfast, free coffee and popcorn, convenient location, 7 11 across the street, fast internet... We had to cancel the first night of our stay because our flight got cancelled and we didn't have to pay for it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Federico Ancillotti

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2014 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Location and neighborhood

Disliked: Federico left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are warm and cozy and the hostel is is a really good location! One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere with helpful staff. The breakfast was good too.

Disliked: Nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Vernon

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff were always happy to help. Free, fast and reliable wifi and a great breakfast. Location was awesome, right in the heart of Boston,

Disliked: No dislikes, everything was great!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Iddon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was crazy! so much to choose from. - a full american experience!!!

Disliked: Didnt enjoy having to wait for showers and the toilet on our level a few times. also the elevators were ridiculously slow and one was out of order for our full stay! took literally 10 minutes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and perfect location. The breakfast is included. That's a plus.

Disliked: The rooms are not clean and a bit smelly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very basic but all you need. Very clean. Friendly staff!

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 November 2013

Liked: It's in a good place, easy to find, easy to connect to where I want to visit.

Disliked: It does not look very clean to me, and the shower rooms are not in a good condition (dirty, hanger problems, shower head problems etc).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: It was within walking distance of central Boston and was not too expensive.

Disliked: Hard, uncomfortable bed, dingy rooms, unable to adjust the heating in the rooms, horrible breakfast and very slow WiFi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Bozek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location & the atmosphere of the place

Disliked: Bathrooms for some bookers were to far away from their rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable accommodation in a fantastic location.

Disliked: The bathrooms are a little tired

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location fine - expensive city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

derek sturrock

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 October 2013 derek would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the laid back relaxed atmosphere and the lady on the desk upgraded us to a different room because of a smoking previous tenant without any difficulty

Disliked: I did not like the standard of paintwork to metal framed beds,stained pitted linoleum

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to convention center

Disliked: Street noise and outside light bright at night

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013

Liked: It was nice to have some privacy after staying in a 16 bed dorm at a previous hostel.

Disliked: For the price, the quality of the room and the breakfast was not up to much. Although it was fine for a night or two, I wouldn't recommend staying here for any longer. As they are private rooms, there is not much of an atmostphere. I stayed in a nicer hostel elsewhere in Boston for less money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Qi Wang

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2013 Qi would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is very nice.

Disliked: The smell in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & professional

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good walking distance from attractions and nice area. Staff very friendly and helpful. Stayed on two separate occasions and rooms were both basic but nice. Communal toilets and showers very clean. In the communal areas you can get free popcorn, coffee and tea and there's a cinema room.

Disliked: Very hot in the summer months with no a/c in rooms but they do provide fans. Breakfast food wasn't the best and you had to be up very early.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Domien Bormans

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Domien would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, for Boston's price standards it's a very affordable accomodation.

Disliked: No sink in bedroom, no room-cleaning during our stay. This is not to bad but I think in the future the staff needs to mention this during check-in. Either I don't like the idea of the elderly rest home...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Included breakfast

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value for the money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seyda Camli

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 September 2013 Seyda would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the facility is excellent. Staff was very friendly.

Disliked: The breakfast was awful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Walking distance to almost anywhere in Boston. The private rooms were very secure. Definitely the bed budget accommodation I've seen.

Disliked: At peak times the showers are occasionally all occupied so you could have to wait a little while.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its only a 5 minute walk away from back bay station and a grocery store. Across the street there is even a 7eleven. For breakfast you got a lot of different stuff like beacon, ham, toast, eggs, pancakes and so on. In the lobby you can play pool billard or get Popcorn. There is even a tv room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels