HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

73.4% Overall Rating

624 out of 747 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2014)

"The place was kept very clean. There was free flow of Starbucks coffee/tea and pop-corns plus free breakfast. The lounge was spacious and well planned. Free wifi was available throughout the hostel but you have to pay…"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

Hostelling International Boston
56.99 USD

Hostel 92.9% 288 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
50.00 USD

Hostel 76.3% 127 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
219.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Hyatt Harborside Boston Logan Airport
72.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 64.6% 270 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Econolodge
18.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 12 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

624 out of 747 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
64.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 536 of 655 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seyda Camli

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 September 2013 Seyda would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the facility is excellent. Staff was very friendly.

Disliked: The breakfast was awful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Walking distance to almost anywhere in Boston. The private rooms were very secure. Definitely the bed budget accommodation I've seen.

Disliked: At peak times the showers are occasionally all occupied so you could have to wait a little while.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its only a 5 minute walk away from back bay station and a grocery store. Across the street there is even a 7eleven. For breakfast you got a lot of different stuff like beacon, ham, toast, eggs, pancakes and so on. In the lobby you can play pool billard or get Popcorn. There is even a tv room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIN JIAMIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 LIN would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place to stay

Disliked: LIN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value and fantastic location in the Back Bay area of Boston. The room was clean and the showers were always available. The best part was the huge free breakfast, as much food and drink as you wanted and hot or cold food, a proper American breakfast! It is so costly to stay in Boston and I'm very please we chose 40 Berkeley, will definitely stay again.

Disliked: The only downside to the stay was the lack of air con, it was over 90F and the room got really, really hot. There was a desktop fan but the rooms would definitely benefit from air con.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013

Liked: Area of the city is nice. Breakfast is OK. Backyard is OK.

Disliked: Ugly rooms. Unconfortable bed. No air conditioning at 35°C and inside it was even hotter. The closet smelled. And I'm sure everybody can open the doors of the rooms easily with a credit card e.g. The stuff was quite strict, felt like beeing at a school camp. And finally, it's way to expensive for what they offer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jessica Alvarez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best I've ever stayed in. Especially the breakfast oatmeal, cereal, bagels, eggs and a full spacious kitchen to make anything you wanted. Great cheap bar around the corner too called The Tam.

Disliked: Everything was great but you do have to pay for it. Their rates are high for a hostel but they make up for it with amenities and atmosphere. There were some families there so that surprised me of a bit but my biggest thing was they don't allow any alcohol.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely entrance and staff. Great location, you can easily walk to all the sights in Boston.

Disliked: It is over-priced for what you get. The rooms are very basic. You pay for the breakfast!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noamaan Nadeem

Alone

City break

27 July 2013 Noamaan would recommend this property

Liked: cheap for nyc and good location

Disliked: Noamaan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a private double room and the hostel was nice. There was a large common area and a garden which we liked. The breakfast had a good variety – cereal, bread, bagels and hot food. It was also within walking distance of some of the sights. There was also free popcorn and coffee.

Disliked: There was no kitchen, just a microwave which was a shame but we got by. The breakfast system also didn’t really work well as there was always a really long queue of guests waiting to be served the hot food so they can limit how much hot food you take.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are old but clean, which for me is the most important thing. Also the bathrooms were cleaned every day and I never had a problem to get a free shower. They do not provide housekeeping during the stay, which is absolutely no problem, if you stay just for a few days. The location is very good (walking distance to the T and for example the Boston Commons), price is ok (compared to other hostels). If you are staying for a few days and do not plan to spend too much time in your room the 40 Berkely is definitely a good and money saving opportunity.

Disliked: During my stay it was very hot in Boston and unfortunately the hostel does not have airconditioning in the rooms and bathrooms. They do have fans in the rooms which was "life-saving", otherwise sleeping would have been impossible. They do have an airconditioned part of the lobby and offered free slurpees, two things that where used a lot by all guests. The included breakfast is ok, the staff is friendly but if you come there late you may have to sit at a "dirty" (meaning not cleaned after everyone) table.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tane Richards

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Tane would recommend this property

Liked: The free WiFi a bit of a novelty for an Australian. Location great especially for walking the city & surrounds!

Disliked: No air conditioning in top floor rooms at least! But it was a warm humid summer!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is no air condition.

Disliked: There is no air condition.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Simon Abbott

Alone

City break

19 July 2013

Liked: NA

Disliked: No a/c in very hot conditions, broken fan in bedroom, one shower available for all the floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Donna Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: This property is awesome. Room/sheets were clean. Front desk staff were friendly. Lots of common areas to relax. I especially liked the patio outside. We did get a room that the light did not work. They quickly tried to resolve the issue and when the couldn't they moved us to a new room. Very accomodating! Breakfast was included in the price. It was excellent. Two type of eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, porridge, fruit, fruit juice, coffee, milk, cereal, toast. Free wifi both in the common areas and in the rooms. Excellent!

Disliked: They could have another washroom on each floor, but we had no issues using the washroom or getting a shower. We had to wait a few minutes, but not a big deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how much was included in the price: breakfast, starbucks coffee, a quiet area with rocking chairs, pool, a microwave and good wi-fi. We enjoyed the breakfast and were excited to have a free BBQ for the 4th of July. The staff was always very helpful and we never seemed to be bothering them with questions.

Disliked: The only downside is that since we were in the middle of very hot temperatures, the room was almost unbearable without air conditionning. We did have a fan but it barely helped cooling the room down.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tobias Ruettershoff

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 July 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Comparatively cheap, good location

Disliked: No A/C

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Good location, cheap, friendly staff.

Disliked: Rooms in dire need of refurbishment. Lack of air-con in rooms a massive problem. The place simply isn't cut out for a summer stay. The room was small, cramped, uncomfortable and stinking hot at night. We barely slept. Didn't have advertised discount tickets for tours we wanted.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Enda Boland

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

11 June 2013 Enda would recommend this property

Liked: free pool and popcorn

Disliked: breakfast was mediocre.. lift is very slow

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gerard McBrien

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 June 2013 Gerard would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived late at night and staff were very helpful. We got very big room with two double beds and a private bathroom which was great since we were not expecting this. Breakfast was included and was great. We got hot cooked breakfast , several types of bread, fruit cereal, tones of juices, coffee etc. location was handy , felt very safe in the area. They allowed us to keep bags there till 12 at night which was a great help to us. There is a lovely atmosphere here and would stay again.

Disliked: Only negative thing and this is being very picky is that lifts were a bit slow we used stairs instead and it was grand.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and close enough to most places

Disliked: The pool tables aren't great and only 1 cue and breakfast finished too early on weekdays.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location helpful staff ,nice free breakfast free Starbucks coffee and popcorn after 10 am , cinema room lifts to all floors, dinner for $10

Disliked: Small rooms, no tv can be noisy at night if your a light sleeper you will probably hear the dawn chorus, but what do you expect for the price?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sally Moe

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 May 2013 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city center

Disliked: Sally left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Marino

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing, the breakfast was very good and it was safe. Hot showers with good water pressure and the bed was very comfortable.

Disliked: I don't really have any complaints. The bathroom showers look like they are cleaned every other day and they ran out of handsoap and hand sanitizer but I just used my own soap.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Awesome neighborhood. Walking to the hostel from the subway station felt very safe, even late at night. You can walk pretty much everywhere: the walk from the hostel to the harbor is a half-an-hour.

Disliked: The shower could have been cleaned a little better. Lots of hairs in the drain...


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels