We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

68.8% Overall Rating

635 out of 764 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/09/2014)

Charles Heazell thinks…

"Property was in a central area although still a small walk to the nearest metro stop. About 20 minutes or so from Fenway which was a selling point to me. Generally had the facilities and service you…"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
43.99 USD

Hostel 92.1% 313 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
40.00 USD

Hostel 71.3% 132 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
169.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
33.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Econolodge
18.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 12 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.8%

Overall Rating

635 out of 764 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
76.0%
Value
60.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 546 of 671 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location fine - expensive city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

derek sturrock

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 October 2013 derek would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the laid back relaxed atmosphere and the lady on the desk upgraded us to a different room because of a smoking previous tenant without any difficulty

Disliked: I did not like the standard of paintwork to metal framed beds,stained pitted linoleum

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to convention center

Disliked: Street noise and outside light bright at night

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013

Liked: It was nice to have some privacy after staying in a 16 bed dorm at a previous hostel.

Disliked: For the price, the quality of the room and the breakfast was not up to much. Although it was fine for a night or two, I wouldn't recommend staying here for any longer. As they are private rooms, there is not much of an atmostphere. I stayed in a nicer hostel elsewhere in Boston for less money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Qi Wang

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2013 Qi would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is very nice.

Disliked: The smell in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & professional

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good walking distance from attractions and nice area. Staff very friendly and helpful. Stayed on two separate occasions and rooms were both basic but nice. Communal toilets and showers very clean. In the communal areas you can get free popcorn, coffee and tea and there's a cinema room.

Disliked: Very hot in the summer months with no a/c in rooms but they do provide fans. Breakfast food wasn't the best and you had to be up very early.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Domien Bormans

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Domien would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, for Boston's price standards it's a very affordable accomodation.

Disliked: No sink in bedroom, no room-cleaning during our stay. This is not to bad but I think in the future the staff needs to mention this during check-in. Either I don't like the idea of the elderly rest home...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Included breakfast

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value for the money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seyda Camli

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 September 2013 Seyda would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the facility is excellent. Staff was very friendly.

Disliked: The breakfast was awful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Walking distance to almost anywhere in Boston. The private rooms were very secure. Definitely the bed budget accommodation I've seen.

Disliked: At peak times the showers are occasionally all occupied so you could have to wait a little while.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its only a 5 minute walk away from back bay station and a grocery store. Across the street there is even a 7eleven. For breakfast you got a lot of different stuff like beacon, ham, toast, eggs, pancakes and so on. In the lobby you can play pool billard or get Popcorn. There is even a tv room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIN JIAMIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 LIN would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place to stay

Disliked: LIN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value and fantastic location in the Back Bay area of Boston. The room was clean and the showers were always available. The best part was the huge free breakfast, as much food and drink as you wanted and hot or cold food, a proper American breakfast! It is so costly to stay in Boston and I'm very please we chose 40 Berkeley, will definitely stay again.

Disliked: The only downside to the stay was the lack of air con, it was over 90F and the room got really, really hot. There was a desktop fan but the rooms would definitely benefit from air con.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013

Liked: Area of the city is nice. Breakfast is OK. Backyard is OK.

Disliked: Ugly rooms. Unconfortable bed. No air conditioning at 35°C and inside it was even hotter. The closet smelled. And I'm sure everybody can open the doors of the rooms easily with a credit card e.g. The stuff was quite strict, felt like beeing at a school camp. And finally, it's way to expensive for what they offer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jessica Alvarez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best I've ever stayed in. Especially the breakfast oatmeal, cereal, bagels, eggs and a full spacious kitchen to make anything you wanted. Great cheap bar around the corner too called The Tam.

Disliked: Everything was great but you do have to pay for it. Their rates are high for a hostel but they make up for it with amenities and atmosphere. There were some families there so that surprised me of a bit but my biggest thing was they don't allow any alcohol.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely entrance and staff. Great location, you can easily walk to all the sights in Boston.

Disliked: It is over-priced for what you get. The rooms are very basic. You pay for the breakfast!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noamaan Nadeem

Alone

City break

27 July 2013 Noamaan would recommend this property

Liked: cheap for nyc and good location

Disliked: Noamaan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a private double room and the hostel was nice. There was a large common area and a garden which we liked. The breakfast had a good variety – cereal, bread, bagels and hot food. It was also within walking distance of some of the sights. There was also free popcorn and coffee.

Disliked: There was no kitchen, just a microwave which was a shame but we got by. The breakfast system also didn’t really work well as there was always a really long queue of guests waiting to be served the hot food so they can limit how much hot food you take.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are old but clean, which for me is the most important thing. Also the bathrooms were cleaned every day and I never had a problem to get a free shower. They do not provide housekeeping during the stay, which is absolutely no problem, if you stay just for a few days. The location is very good (walking distance to the T and for example the Boston Commons), price is ok (compared to other hostels). If you are staying for a few days and do not plan to spend too much time in your room the 40 Berkely is definitely a good and money saving opportunity.

Disliked: During my stay it was very hot in Boston and unfortunately the hostel does not have airconditioning in the rooms and bathrooms. They do have fans in the rooms which was "life-saving", otherwise sleeping would have been impossible. They do have an airconditioned part of the lobby and offered free slurpees, two things that where used a lot by all guests. The included breakfast is ok, the staff is friendly but if you come there late you may have to sit at a "dirty" (meaning not cleaned after everyone) table.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tane Richards

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Tane would recommend this property

Liked: The free WiFi a bit of a novelty for an Australian. Location great especially for walking the city & surrounds!

Disliked: No air conditioning in top floor rooms at least! But it was a warm humid summer!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is no air condition.

Disliked: There is no air condition.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Simon Abbott

Alone

City break

19 July 2013

Liked: NA

Disliked: No a/c in very hot conditions, broken fan in bedroom, one shower available for all the floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Donna Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: This property is awesome. Room/sheets were clean. Front desk staff were friendly. Lots of common areas to relax. I especially liked the patio outside. We did get a room that the light did not work. They quickly tried to resolve the issue and when the couldn't they moved us to a new room. Very accomodating! Breakfast was included in the price. It was excellent. Two type of eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, porridge, fruit, fruit juice, coffee, milk, cereal, toast. Free wifi both in the common areas and in the rooms. Excellent!

Disliked: They could have another washroom on each floor, but we had no issues using the washroom or getting a shower. We had to wait a few minutes, but not a big deal.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels