HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of 40 Berkeley Hostel Boston Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 58%

Location 81%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 55%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 58%

Location 81%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 55%

Showing 21-30 of 78 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Over all is good!

Disliked: Not so close to downtown area from walking distance.The hot water in midnight is not pretty satisfying!

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: The Laundry facilities.

Disliked: It was prison like, the blinds in the room did not close properly and the curtains were just for show. The furniture in the room was extreamily old, the noise from the hallway was very loud and you could hear everything happening in the next room. I had to listen to coughing constantly. There are no home comforts in the bedroom. I did not enjoy my stay.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: A. Bit tired

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was so QUAINT - I just love the location, the people, atmosphere. Really a great price and nice, marvelous, spectaculair place! Evan Michael McIntyre, Los Angeles Bam-Radio.com Owner / Podcast DJ

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's location

Disliked: It was more like a hotel than a hostel

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is very good. Room is clean.

Disliked: There are a lot of noise from hallway, bathroom and outside(cars on the road), so, I needed ear-plug for sleep.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The private room was good and the bathroom on our floor was clean and newly refurbished by the looks of it

Disliked: The staff weren't over friendly on the first morning there. I was having issues accessing my travel money card and all the girl behind the counter was willing to offer me were the pay phones. I didn't understand what the number was or how to call (being from another country I didn't know the extensions etc) so that was kind of rude I thought. I was obviously stressed but she wasn't willing to go above normal services to help me.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Property was in a central area although still a small walk to the nearest metro stop. About 20 minutes or so from Fenway which was a selling point to me. Generally had the facilities and service you expect from a hostel.

Disliked: Shower facilities on 3rd level were broken or not working properly both days. Either scalding hot water or cold water. Facilities did not feel, look or smell clean compared to even a basic hotel. Floors had no carpet and felt like a dorm room. You get what you pay for and you get a hostel in a good location.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Comfortable beds, and clean rooms. Good location, near transportation and city center. Safe.

Disliked: Worn down facilities that desperately needs renovating. Very expensive hostel considering hotels in the same area are cheaper. Not including breakfast. Not very cosy common areas. Many young students stay at the hostel who have very little respect for cleaning after themselves in the restroom facilities.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanliness.

Disliked: Lack of kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability