We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

72.6% Overall Rating

644 out of 775 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2015)

Evan McIntyre thinks…

"It was so QUAINT - I just love the location, the people, atmosphere. Really a great price and nice, marvelous, spectaculair place! Evan Michael McIntyre, Los Angeles Bam-Radio.com Owner / Podcast DJ"

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
40.99 USD

Hostel 89.8% 335 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
29.00 USD

Hostel 69.8% 135 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
159.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

644 out of 775 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
62.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 554 of 682 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Charlotte Ross

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Noisy

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014

Liked: The breakfast is good and the common areas are clean. Good situation in Boston.

Disliked: The check in was long and I expected a nice room like the pictures.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Janette Cushman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Janette would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, great breakfast.

Disliked: Alot of noise from the street - had to wear earplugs at night. THe black fungus on the grout in the 5th floor women's shower was gross.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included, good location, free wi-fi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Samantha Beadle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: free popcorn, free breakfast - Massive lots of choice and very filling, hot showers

Disliked: The room is old and floor looks dirty, although i think it is clean. the beds looklike old medical /army fold away beds.I know from their website it states the rooms are being refurbed so maybe intime the rooms will look better. Rooms are quite and averagely comfortable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LYNN WEN JING TAN

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 LYNN WEN JING would recommend this property

Liked: location was really good, just under 10 min walk to Back Bay station which lets you take the T around Boston. staff were very friendly and helpful too, and there was free breakfast and popcorn daily!

Disliked: we were first given a room on the 7th floor which was very very cramped for 3 people, no place to put any kind of luggage at all. however the staff were very helpful after our feedback and shifted us to another bigger room so all was golden then.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, value for price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Mario Ruiz Mateos

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014

Liked: The bathroom was clean and everything worked properly.

Disliked: The room was not in a very good conditions. A little bit renovation would be appreciated.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kayleigh Dodd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Kayleigh would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities and free items were great. The breakfast is great to get you through the day just watch out for eyes that are bigger than your bellies! The staff are really friendly and helpful. Had a good stay.

Disliked: The rooms need a little updating and our floor (7) i think used tobe a smoking floor as the smell is ingrained in the carpet. But how often do you hang out in a hallway, so that was fine. The lifts are also slow but patience is a virtue!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Ward

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great location, just a ten minute walk from the nearest T stop making it easy to get to all the sights Boston has to offer.

Disliked: Nothing :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Filipe Mota

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2014 Filipe would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice common rooms and very good breakfast!

Disliked: Filipe left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathroom was dirty felt like it was never cleaned. One toilet on our level. Lady on reception was rude on arrival and never offered us towels. Had to go down and get them ourselves. Residence were rude also.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Weber

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The coffee and breakfast was really good. Lots of choices, even apples, bananas and oranges!

Disliked: The showers were old and in bad state.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyndsey Sneddon

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 April 2014 Lyndsey would recommend this property

Liked: We were delighted with 40 Berkeley. It's been many years since we all stayed in a Hostel, our backpacking days happened some years ago. We were a little skeptical about booking a hostel at first but this place exceeded all expectations. It was in a fabulous location and offered up a free full breakfast everyday! We couldn't have been happier.

Disliked: Actually I have no negative feedback to offer the place was great.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carla Mota

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is good but looks like a hospital building. The location is ok. The breakfast is very good and the wi-fi work in the room. I think is a good choise for a budget place i n Boston.

Disliked: A kitchen would be nice! ;)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Holli McCarthy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Holli would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and always happy to help, there was a great movie theatre, pool tables and free coffee and popcorn. The rooms were a good size and clean. Location was great, 7/11 opposite, food places and some bars, close to 2 trains and about 10 minute walk to the centre of Boston. Great place!

Disliked: A bit of an odd place, while we really liked the hostel it looked as if it hadn't been redecorated in a VERY long time! Everything was very dated and the showers weren't always fantastically clean. Breakfast was like being at school again! Finding a seat on big tables with loads of people you didn't know, and there were alot of non travellers there who were obviously living at the hostel? So not much of a meet new people atmosphere!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and the price was good, but as mentioned it wasn't the sort of hostel I was used as it appeared to be very large building with older people living there and lacked a bit of character. That being said if you're on a budget it's perfect location and the price is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aleksandar Marinkov

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, 15 minutes from Boston Common, clean room.

Disliked: The common bathrooms and toilets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfortable friendly staff

Disliked: Not much of a kitchen space

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristrun Arnfinnsdottir

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Kristrun would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the free popcorn! The common area was cozy and the breakfast was good: fresh fruit, yogurt and pancakes (also oatmeal, sausages and etc.). We stayed on the fifth floor and our window view was amazing. The neighborhood is lovely, full of restaurants and it only takes about 20 minutes to walk downtown, we walked through Chinatown which was pleasant. Also, a 7eleven store is located across from the hotel.

Disliked: I recommend bringing bath slippers, although, the bathroom is clean the floors get dirty, as with every other common bathroom. Our sheets were not changed during our four night stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel surprised me. It is a pretty big hostel with great free breakfast. They serve free Starbucks coffee too. This hotel is in a good location close to bus stations and back bay metro station. The room was clean. It it value for money if youre looking for cheap hostels to stay.

Disliked: It doesnt have private bathroom. Each floor has one public bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms, rooms very basic but clean and warm, good breakfast, free coffee and popcorn, convenient location, 7 11 across the street, fast internet... We had to cancel the first night of our stay because our flight got cancelled and we didn't have to pay for it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Federico Ancillotti

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2014 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Location and neighborhood

Disliked: Federico left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are warm and cozy and the hostel is is a really good location! One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere with helpful staff. The breakfast was good too.

Disliked: Nil


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels