HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

71.7% Overall Rating

631 out of 757 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2014)

Caryn May thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms on my floor #6 were clean and modern and much nicer than the bedroom."

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
45.99 USD

Hostel 92.1% 301 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
45.00 USD

Hostel 71.9% 131 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
219.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Econolodge
18.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 12 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

631 out of 757 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 540 of 663 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carla Mota

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is good but looks like a hospital building. The location is ok. The breakfast is very good and the wi-fi work in the room. I think is a good choise for a budget place i n Boston.

Disliked: A kitchen would be nice! ;)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Holli McCarthy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Holli would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and always happy to help, there was a great movie theatre, pool tables and free coffee and popcorn. The rooms were a good size and clean. Location was great, 7/11 opposite, food places and some bars, close to 2 trains and about 10 minute walk to the centre of Boston. Great place!

Disliked: A bit of an odd place, while we really liked the hostel it looked as if it hadn't been redecorated in a VERY long time! Everything was very dated and the showers weren't always fantastically clean. Breakfast was like being at school again! Finding a seat on big tables with loads of people you didn't know, and there were alot of non travellers there who were obviously living at the hostel? So not much of a meet new people atmosphere!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and the price was good, but as mentioned it wasn't the sort of hostel I was used as it appeared to be very large building with older people living there and lacked a bit of character. That being said if you're on a budget it's perfect location and the price is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aleksandar Marinkov

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, 15 minutes from Boston Common, clean room.

Disliked: The common bathrooms and toilets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfortable friendly staff

Disliked: Not much of a kitchen space

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristrun Arnfinnsdottir

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Kristrun would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the free popcorn! The common area was cozy and the breakfast was good: fresh fruit, yogurt and pancakes (also oatmeal, sausages and etc.). We stayed on the fifth floor and our window view was amazing. The neighborhood is lovely, full of restaurants and it only takes about 20 minutes to walk downtown, we walked through Chinatown which was pleasant. Also, a 7eleven store is located across from the hotel.

Disliked: I recommend bringing bath slippers, although, the bathroom is clean the floors get dirty, as with every other common bathroom. Our sheets were not changed during our four night stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel surprised me. It is a pretty big hostel with great free breakfast. They serve free Starbucks coffee too. This hotel is in a good location close to bus stations and back bay metro station. The room was clean. It it value for money if youre looking for cheap hostels to stay.

Disliked: It doesnt have private bathroom. Each floor has one public bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms, rooms very basic but clean and warm, good breakfast, free coffee and popcorn, convenient location, 7 11 across the street, fast internet... We had to cancel the first night of our stay because our flight got cancelled and we didn't have to pay for it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Federico Ancillotti

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2014 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Location and neighborhood

Disliked: Federico left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are warm and cozy and the hostel is is a really good location! One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere with helpful staff. The breakfast was good too.

Disliked: Nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Vernon

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff were always happy to help. Free, fast and reliable wifi and a great breakfast. Location was awesome, right in the heart of Boston,

Disliked: No dislikes, everything was great!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Iddon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was crazy! so much to choose from. - a full american experience!!!

Disliked: Didnt enjoy having to wait for showers and the toilet on our level a few times. also the elevators were ridiculously slow and one was out of order for our full stay! took literally 10 minutes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and perfect location. The breakfast is included. That's a plus.

Disliked: The rooms are not clean and a bit smelly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very basic but all you need. Very clean. Friendly staff!

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 November 2013

Liked: It's in a good place, easy to find, easy to connect to where I want to visit.

Disliked: It does not look very clean to me, and the shower rooms are not in a good condition (dirty, hanger problems, shower head problems etc).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: It was within walking distance of central Boston and was not too expensive.

Disliked: Hard, uncomfortable bed, dingy rooms, unable to adjust the heating in the rooms, horrible breakfast and very slow WiFi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Bozek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location & the atmosphere of the place

Disliked: Bathrooms for some bookers were to far away from their rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable accommodation in a fantastic location.

Disliked: The bathrooms are a little tired

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location fine - expensive city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

derek sturrock

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 October 2013 derek would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the laid back relaxed atmosphere and the lady on the desk upgraded us to a different room because of a smoking previous tenant without any difficulty

Disliked: I did not like the standard of paintwork to metal framed beds,stained pitted linoleum

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to convention center

Disliked: Street noise and outside light bright at night

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013

Liked: It was nice to have some privacy after staying in a 16 bed dorm at a previous hostel.

Disliked: For the price, the quality of the room and the breakfast was not up to much. Although it was fine for a night or two, I wouldn't recommend staying here for any longer. As they are private rooms, there is not much of an atmostphere. I stayed in a nicer hostel elsewhere in Boston for less money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Qi Wang

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2013 Qi would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is very nice.

Disliked: The smell in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & professional

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels