We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of 40 Berkeley

Hostel | 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02116

76.9% Overall Rating

653 out of 788 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2015)

"Nicely refurbished bathrooms on 6th floor. Key security system. Free towel and linen already on bed. Water fountain in lobby area."

Read all 40 Berkeley reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group bookings of more than six people must be booked through the 'Groups enquiry form' on the agency's website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

HI - Boston Hostel
49.49 USD

Hostel 92.5% 361 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
43.00 USD

Hostel 71.3% 137 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
209.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel
39.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 271 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

653 out of 788 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '40 Berkeley'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
69.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 565 of 695 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wifi, breakfast, people of the hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms with shared bathroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Meneses

03 September 2009 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very safe, and felt that the employees were willing to give me more than I needed. Despite the Boston heat, I appreciated the efforts made (ice cream socials, free ice water) to make up for the lack of AC. The reason for my cleanliness rating goes to the fact that it took two days for the clogged shower to be cleared.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 August 2009

Liked: Friendly staff, good location. I dint`t like that breakfest so much.. Good value for ur money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were v.welcoming.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florence Perronin

28 August 2009 Florence would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay. See what I wrote after staying there Aug 10th-14th.

Disliked: Florence left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florence Perronin

28 August 2009 Florence would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendliness of the staff and of several of the permanent residents. The location is wonderful. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Breakfast is good. My only regret was that it was so hot, but nobody can be blamed for that. I'll certainly be back!

Disliked: Florence left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sharmila Chamling Rai

23 August 2009

Liked: I liked nothing about the property. The temperature was around 95 and there is no air conditioning. I couldn't sleep the whole night and I had to check out a day earlier. That was pathetic.

Disliked: Sharmila left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Breakfast, nice staff and the location is okay. We would come again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast choices, including the coffee were well over American standard. There was a porblem with the room and the reacted immediatly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joanne Small

19 August 2009 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to by subway, although without luggage we just walked into town and around major sights. Great breakfasts with lots of choice and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Joanne left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Federico Heinen Tarsia

17 August 2009 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good for what I needed although if touring the main sights, other locations are better (like near the business district). It is a good deal, cost/benefit.Staff at reception was nice and helpful, although never proactively offered any excursions or packages to me to tour around Boston. Less business for them I guess.

Disliked: Federico left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

16 August 2009

Liked: The breakfast was great.The rooms are too hot during summer, whithout air conditioning

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Oliver Vicentini

09 August 2009 Mark Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: near subway

Disliked: Mark Oliver left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place, good price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Hermien Tempelman

16 July 2009

Liked: the breakfeast was good and the elevators good

Disliked: Hermien left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge is spacious with a grand piano. Breakfast is great with a nice selection of hot dishes and cereals.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evgenia Vaganov

10 July 2009 Evgenia would recommend this property

Liked: friendly place

Disliked: Evgenia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice view, nice and helpful staff, wifi connection,...really good hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 July 2009

Liked: Weird people at this place. Sometimes I felt like I was in a shelter for homeless. Restrooms were not always so clean and although I was told that my floor was female-only I bumped on men in the bathroom almost everyday. It's a cheap alternative to have a private room in a good location in Boston if you're in a low budget though. It's close to the South End, where there are lots of good restaurants and bars.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good for traveling young people, students or adventurers who want to see new places and save money on accomodations. Room is clean, breakfast is served, staff is nice, what else you can ask for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esther Tan

29 June 2009 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness. Good location and excellent breakfast. The staff at the reception is also extremely helpful. Overall the stay has been pleasant.

Disliked: Esther left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

26 June 2009

Liked: It was clean and the staff was helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was the best we could find in Boston so that is a plus but a better description of what you are getting yourself into needs to be given.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels