HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels

Reviews of Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel

Hostel | 23 Farrington Avenue, Boston, Massachusetts, USA MA 02134

63.7% Overall Rating

154 out of 271 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

"It was a very charm filled hostel. Although perhaps a little rough around the edge, it was extremely clean and tidy, The staff were pleasant and helpful with directions and how to get around. It was also very close to…"

Read all Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Boston

40 Berkeley
52.34 USD

Hostel 71.7% 757 reviews
HI - Boston Hostel
45.99 USD

Hostel 92.1% 301 reviews
Friend Street Hostel & Café
45.00 USD

Hostel 71.9% 131 reviews
Constitution Inn YMCA
219.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 8 reviews
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Bedford/Boston
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Econolodge
18.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 12 reviews
Red Roof Inn
43.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn - Boston
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.7%

Overall Rating

154 out of 271 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Hotel'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
81.6%
Value
61.6%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 210 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very charm filled hostel. Although perhaps a little rough around the edge, it was extremely clean and tidy, The staff were pleasant and helpful with directions and how to get around. It was also very close to Harvard for people doing research (5 min bus ride), and at the price range a perfect base for doing research.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joshua Huffaker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: It have vintage feel with all hard wood.

Disliked: My mattress had broken boards underneath in the box below it so the mattress sunk through the holes which was very uncomfortable. I had to take the box out and pur the mattress on the floor which was very annoying.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just around the corner from shopping as well as a variety of bars. Really friendly and helpful staff. Very simple accomodation but that's expected. Booked this last minute and got upgraded to a better room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eieen Parise

Alone

Events / festivals

16 May 2014 Eieen would recommend this property

Liked: easy to get to

Disliked: older building

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

felipe sanhueza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and near to bus and subway

Disliked: Smile strange in third floor, I mean bad

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

naci bolsu

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

11 March 2014 naci would recommend this property

Liked: Location is nice

Disliked: They dont have hair drier ya

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jaclyn Perrut

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 February 2014

Liked: I loved the location. it was easy in and easy out

Disliked: run down, smelly, did not feel safe in area or the hostel itself.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014

Liked: The short-term availability of a bed for two nights was very helpful. The entrance hall - more like an old man's living room, who died 30 years ago - was rather interesting. The water in the shower was warm.

Disliked: The room was shabby and dirty. There was no kind of social life in the hostel. The bathrooms were very old and dirty - but special, at least. So if you like a journey to some kind of a horror movie, you'd probably love it there! I've hardly seen any other guests. Sometimes people tried to enter the bathroom while I was in it, but might have been ghosts as well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff listened to my Concern and move us to better room.

Disliked: Noisy street (weekend)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Daniel Ramirez

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: For a hostile, you get what you sign up for

Disliked: Could be cleaner

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lenora Klappe

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: It was close to the metro and there were plenty of restaurants for anyones liking within a three block walk. A taxi was called for us due to an early flight (6 am)

Disliked: The property is not soundproof due to it's age. Doors to rooms do not close properly, therefore a lot of noise is made when slamming the doors closed regardless of time of day or night. We rented a unit for three (2 beds) persons, as it had a private bathroom even though there was only my wife and myself. The two beds made so much noise that we did not sleep the first night. The next day we put the matresses on the floor on top of each other and piled the box matresses up against the wall. We used a screw driver to remove enough ice from the freezer section of the bar fridge to make room for an ice cube tray. There is really no reception to speak of, only a phone to call if help is required. We have travelled all over the world, 75 countries and this hostel does not measure up to others for the price we paid. Our cost was almost $ 1,000.00 for the six nights. Much to high but maybe that's par for Boston.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

20 September 2013

Liked: Das Personal war sehr zuvorkommend und freundlich.

Disliked: Wir waren enttäuscht, obwol wir angesichts des Preises ohnehin nicht viel erwartet hatten. Als wir das Zimmer bezogen haben, lag Müll auf dem Teppich. Der Geruch war unangenehm - lüften konnte man leider nicht. Die Bettwäsche war dreckig. Positiv war lediglich das Personal (sehr freundlich). Auch das Badezimmer war sauber.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent locaton

Disliked: bed worn out

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Xiaojun Li

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Xiaojun would recommend this property

Liked: Just ok

Disliked: The mattress is old.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013

Liked: The staff is friendly, they were helpful to arrange a taxi to the airport and when we complained about the room (see dislike) we got a part of our money back. It's close to the subway, takes you about 20-25 minutes to get downtown. Really big (private) room (circa 60m2).

Disliked: We had a private room on the other side of the road (Linden street) and it looked like a crack house, from the outside and the inside! Everything was very old, not clean at all (there were even cockroaches!!!), no pillowcasing (yellow sweat stains on it), linen were you could see through and no wifi connection! It smells really bad. There is only aircondititioning in the bedroom with not enough capacity. We didn't feel very safe there because even I (as a girl) could have kicked in the door although it was locked.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jianye Xu

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 June 2013

Liked: It located next to Boston University and the bed is clean.

Disliked: The hotel looks terrible from outside. I thought it was a foreclosure house when I passed it to go to office which located on another street. But it turned out I was sent back to this horrible-looking house. The whole house smells.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a very old converted victorian style house. The decor is interesting and even a bit ironic/amusing-the Deer head on the wall is wearing a bandana... It feels almost haunted. The rooms are clean and teh staff is very friendly and helpful. It was right down the street from the highway (we went to PAX) and a few bars/restaurants if food was needed were within walking distance. Bathrooms looked like they were cleaned almost more than once daily. Private parking lot so that we did not have to search for street parking was a plus. Very close to T station should we have chosen to go this way. The young man who checked me in was very nice and knowledgeable about the area. We even messed up our reservation and they helped us with accommodating us for the extra night. I did call to make sure I had a reservation - and I would do so if you are planning on arriving late because I was informed to call before I left to let the night person know I was arriving, they left the door open for us and we checked in in the morning.

Disliked: I cannot fault the property for this but the house, like my own very old apartment, is crooked. My friend and I shared a double bed and kept rolling over into each other because of the slope (lol). Otherwise unfortunately if you do not get up early enough to beat everyone else you may end up with a cold shower! I kind of expected this because I live in a house about the same age. My friend, who is used to modern accommodations, was irked. There was a tiny tv in my room but I would have honestly preferred a large mirror so I could get ready without having to hog the bathroom.. I didn't even expect the tv. These things are minor flaws, all in all for the money and my purposes (we were not in the room during the day whatsoever and barely there to sleep due to the convention) it was a good value.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angelica Silva

As a family with children

Business / conference

25 March 2013 Angelica would recommend this property

Liked: Location, parking and friendly staff. It's a nice old house.

Disliked: Bed Mattresses are old.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013

Liked: Rooms were large and clean though furnished with old stuff

Disliked: no heater, we were freezing at night. It is far from everything it takes like 30 mins to get to the town by subway. No breakfast included. Very expensive for what it offers, we payed like more than 40 bucks a night there was a 14% fee upon arrival. Absolutely no information was provided about what to do and see in the city. Finally, worst WiFi I have ever used. Trust me, stay somewhere else.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jan Savinc

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very basic place, in a converted old house. It has all the basic facilities and is clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful, and their check-in/out hours are very flexible. They let us park for a day after we had checked out, too.

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Baptiste Beauvisage

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Rooms were freezing in the middle of winter, only 2 bathrooms for 3 floors...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice buliding, from 1870! They had enough empty rooms in the hotel so they just gave me a private room to stay in. And I only payed 30 dollars. Really really nice! I liked the TV in the room and the old victorian design of the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Nadine Steckling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: a good alternative to hotels for young people

Disliked: Loud at weekends

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012

Liked: nice bathroom, room in a detached house from office/not all people booking the hostel live in the same building, kitchenette in the room, refigerator

Disliked: door locks are easy to break if nobody is in the room and can additionally lock it from inside; only one towel for a 2person room

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

antti hietasola

Alone

City break

10 September 2012

Liked: Location is ok

Disliked: Mouse in our room, wi-fi didin,t work properly the place is stinking.


See all Boston hostels
See all Boston hotels