We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Austin hostels

Reviews of Firehouse Hostel

Hostel | 605 Brazos Street, Austin, Texas, USA 78701

89.4% Overall Rating

44 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2015)

"The Firehouse was so much fun! The location is amazing and the hostel itself is funky, clean and has all the facilities you could want. Also the staff are so great. I was in a bit of a pickle because I couldn't find the…"

Read all Firehouse Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Austin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Austin

Drifter Jack's Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 20 reviews
HI - Austin Hostel
26.00 USD

Hostel 80.3% 129 reviews
Red Roof Plus+ Austin South
39.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Austin's Travelodge
21.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

44 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Firehouse Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

timothy reese

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 June 2015 timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right next to 6th St, Friendly Staff, Clean

Disliked: Horrible Beds, No Common Area, Small Kitchen, no planned group events

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2015

Liked: Good breakfast

Disliked: Beds quite uncomfortable, hot in the room and very loud. If you are not not getting drunk every night i would recommend staying elsewhere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, convenience, ammenities, fellow travelers

Disliked: night staff weren't very friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for down town Austin. Great breakfast. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Music from the bar can be a little noisy if you're on the 2nd floor. But the music doesn't go on too late.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

03 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Firehouse was so much fun! The location is amazing and the hostel itself is funky, clean and has all the facilities you could want. Also the staff are so great. I was in a bit of a pickle because I couldn't find the Austin Megabus stop and one of the reception staff, Colin, helped me out and totally saved the day! All around a really fun stay.

Disliked: The only thing I would say that was a negative was the noise. You can hear all the music from the awesome bar downstairs well into the night and given its central location you tend to get a pretty rowdy crowd staying with you. If sleep is a big priority you might want to think twice about staying in the bigger dorms but if you're staying at a hostel you should know what to expect.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Location is perfect, right in the heart of downtown - Towels provided free of charge - Decent breakfast - Good recommendations for things to do / places to eat etc

Disliked: - Its location means it can be a bit noisy, but for me this is not a big deal - WiFi speed was sloowwwww - No AC so the rooms were pretty warm/hot. Not a huge deal in February when it's 20C... but in July? Not so sure I'd want to stay here! - Lack of convenient power outlets in the room. I couldn't charge my phone overnight because there was no power near the top bunks. Annoying!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Croucher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 November 2014 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, prime location next to 6th street right in the thick of it. Incredibly comfortable beds, showers with reliably hot water, everything is clean and secure. Solid common room for drinking and hanging out. Best hostel breakfast I've ever had - fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, scrolls, almond milk.

Disliked: WiFi is very hit and miss in the rooms but works well in the common room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to 6th Street, very nice bar and friendly people and gold breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Laura Meinhofer

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

30 August 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice, clean pretty, great location, not cheap but aggordable, nice people, good bfast!

Disliked: No water fountain or ice

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute, homey place in the heart of downtown, with beds for as little as $30 per night. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

Disliked: From the second floor, at least, the music playing in the lounge can be heard, especially the base, and it can be hard to fall asleep, even with headphones on. If you're not a heavy sleeper and you room in a shared dorm, expect to be woken up at least a few times during the night as people come in and out of your room (which, really, is to be expected at a hostel with a bar and lounge in it). The bedding situation can possibly be confusing, apparently: a drunk guy woke me up at three in the morning because he thought that I was sleeping in his bed, and I had to go down to the front desk to (quickly) sort it out. Not a huge deal, and not much that the staff can do about it, but definitely a downside.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jang Won Choi

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Jang Won would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, nice building clean rooms

Disliked: A bit far from the city center and some beds don't have power outlets

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good atmosphere, very firendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not only was this hostel in a great location right off of bustling 6th street, it also is a clean, sociable hostel with an attached speakeasy type bar/lounge with live music everynight! Plenty of activities and a setup very conducive to socializing and making friends. One of the best hostels ive ever stayed at!

Disliked: The rooms were freezing in july and a few mattresses were unbearably uncomfortable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carl Gilbertsen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice staff, good lounge downstairs

Disliked: Room was way too cold (air-con blasting but 93 degrees out)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martez merrill

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

31 May 2014 martez would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located on the strip of redriver

Disliked: The lack of patio

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Hill

Alone

Business / conference

27 April 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: It is a cool space, with a great lounge/bar that has live music every night, but it is also close to downtown Austin and a ton of other bars and live music.

Disliked: The twelve person rooms are tight and depending on your roommates can be a bit gross, but you get what you pay for and if you don't want that you can stay in one of the smaller rooms (less people).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ambience and breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Davies

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 April 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: First all of the hostel staff were great, friendly, professional, and helpful, especially the girl with all the tattoos on her (there were a couple of girls with tattoos, but she had LOADS!!!). I really disliked the bar staff (more later). Great location in Austin - one of the best locations I've seen from a hostel and by far tthe best hostel location in Austin. One minute walk from 6th Street. Loads of bars and restaurants. If you ask the reception staff, they should be able to give you some discount cards for one or two of the bars. I liked that they operated a 24 hour reception for safety and security. Not many hostels do that, and not many people appreciate a 24 hour reception until something goes wrong. In my experience, a hostel offering a 24 hour reception takes security safely - a sign of a good hostel. There was some dodgy American staying in my room when I was there, working, and always felt I had to lock my stuff away - partly because of him, but the lockers are big and free. It would be better securitywise if they had CCTV around the building. There were plenty of showers and toilets around the building, and never had to wait to use a shower or toilet and wrere generally clean, but could be cleaner. They are also about an easy 15-20 minute walk from the Megabus stop - don't bother with the Greyhound to or from here - their station is far too far. Overall, good hostel, recommend it for Austin.

Disliked: I dsliked the bar staff, all they cared about was if they were going to get a 'tip' or not, and would complain if you didn't 'tip' them correctly. The bar staff should a get a job where they don't have to rely on handouts (tips are handouts and another for of BEGGING) of strangers for their living, especially international tourists who don't tip!!! I also wouldn't bother with the pubcrawls they offer, whilst the guide was nice, I thought the pubrawl at $10 was overpriced and should be offered for free or max of $5 to cover their costs and run it as a service for the guests, he was also interested in being 'tipped' (handout/begging) at every bar. The cleaning was good, but after the cleaner finishes their shift, no one cleans the showers or toilets again until the next day, so the showers/sinks/floors, will be dirty, water all over the floor in the evening - I spoke to the co-owner about it, and he just said that he didn't want the staff to go up stairs at night for 5 minutes, because weirdos might come in, and they didn't want to lock the front door at night for 5 minutes??? What happens when the receptionist needs the toilet?? The room was a bit small for 6 people, and I really disliked the bunks as there was no proper mattress support - just chain based (you will see what I mean), so when you got in the bed, the mattress would actually sink with your weight. Most of this is nitpicking, and if it wasn't for the bar staff wanting a 'tip' (handout/begging) all the time, I would rate this hostel higher.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness

Disliked: Laundry room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing, especially if your looking to bar hop around 6th street. Lots of things are walking distance or the bus is right there as well.

Disliked: Everything was really nice and friendly staff!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

rosanna adrian

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 rosanna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place! It was everything I could ask for. I think that if someone has really high expectations of the same quality as a hotel room then they may be disappointed but paying around 25-30 bucks for a bed, good breakfast, amazing people and atmosphere and literally staying 10 steps away from 6th street , it's an awesome deal!

Disliked: The beds are a little squeaky but still very comfortable for what they are. Temperature can be a little bit of a brat one minute being freezing the other the heat blasting for awhile. But I believe that was a problem special to our room in the 3rd floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Robinson

Alone

City break

01 December 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and amenities. Bar downstairs and good breakfast selection

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013

Liked: The location was good if you want the 'dirty sixth' experience. The breakfast was good with lots of fresh fruit which was great.

Disliked: This hostel is ridiculously overpriced for what you get. The dormrooms are way too overcrowded and cramped for $30 a night. We were given a small Mexican rug as our blankets which was not the most comfortable nor warm idea of theirs. There seemed to be randoms let into the hostel as well as a couple of seemingly local 'transients' which made me feel quite unsafe with my belongings. I also got the vibe that the owners were there to make a buck only and I honesty felt like I was being a pain in their ass when I was asking them questions and about the area. Coming from Green tortoise in San Fran it was a bit of a rude shock as everyone there was so friendly and seemed to care about our experience in a new town. I think this is so imperative in a hostel environment!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

antony beety

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 November 2013 antony would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: There was a lot of noise from the bottle banks below our room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maree Bouterakos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Maree would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right on 6th street and easy to get buses anywhere in the city Breakfast was great, bagels and cereal even with almond milk! Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms Easy to meet other travellers

Disliked: Can be noisy at night as the bar is right downstairs Toilets / bathrooms were always out of order which was annoying, but of construction going on Some mattresses were really old and springy, choose a good bed ! :)


See all Austin hostels