HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Austin hostels

Reviews of Firehouse Hostel

Hostel | 605 Brazos Street, Austin, Texas, USA 78701

90.1% Overall Rating

25 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2014)

"The location was amazing, especially if your looking to bar hop around 6th street. Lots of things are walking distance or the bus is right there as well."

Read all Firehouse Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Austin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Austin

HI - Austin
22.00 USD

Hostel 80.6% 120 reviews
Red Roof Inn Austin South, Texas
32.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Austin's Travelodge
18.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

25 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Firehouse Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness

Disliked: Laundry room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing, especially if your looking to bar hop around 6th street. Lots of things are walking distance or the bus is right there as well.

Disliked: Everything was really nice and friendly staff!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

rosanna adrian

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 rosanna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place! It was everything I could ask for. I think that if someone has really high expectations of the same quality as a hotel room then they may be disappointed but paying around 25-30 bucks for a bed, good breakfast, amazing people and atmosphere and literally staying 10 steps away from 6th street , it's an awesome deal!

Disliked: The beds are a little squeaky but still very comfortable for what they are. Temperature can be a little bit of a brat one minute being freezing the other the heat blasting for awhile. But I believe that was a problem special to our room in the 3rd floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Robinson

Alone

City break

01 December 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and amenities. Bar downstairs and good breakfast selection

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013

Liked: The location was good if you want the 'dirty sixth' experience. The breakfast was good with lots of fresh fruit which was great.

Disliked: This hostel is ridiculously overpriced for what you get. The dormrooms are way too overcrowded and cramped for $30 a night. We were given a small Mexican rug as our blankets which was not the most comfortable nor warm idea of theirs. There seemed to be randoms let into the hostel as well as a couple of seemingly local 'transients' which made me feel quite unsafe with my belongings. I also got the vibe that the owners were there to make a buck only and I honesty felt like I was being a pain in their ass when I was asking them questions and about the area. Coming from Green tortoise in San Fran it was a bit of a rude shock as everyone there was so friendly and seemed to care about our experience in a new town. I think this is so imperative in a hostel environment!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

antony beety

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 November 2013 antony would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: There was a lot of noise from the bottle banks below our room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maree Bouterakos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Maree would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right on 6th street and easy to get buses anywhere in the city Breakfast was great, bagels and cereal even with almond milk! Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms Easy to meet other travellers

Disliked: Can be noisy at night as the bar is right downstairs Toilets / bathrooms were always out of order which was annoying, but of construction going on Some mattresses were really old and springy, choose a good bed ! :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: construction work, and bathrooms unavailable, workers walking in on me whilst in the shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely a great location in the city to walk everywhere. Elevators, good kitchen, free breakfast, clean & safe.

Disliked: Altho there was a bar "behind the sliding bookcase", it was very dark. The bartender just took $2.50 I still had laying on the bar as "his tip" even though I only spent $7.50 on 2 beers. I was planning on ordering another beer & then tipping, but he just assumed it was his even though I was still sitting there. I didn't like his attitude. The Driskill Hotel across the street had a "real" Happy Hour and I got 2 beers for $3.00. I then tipped that bartender $2.00 when I left. The Firehouse Lounge says they have a Happy Hour but I didn't see any specials. ??????? Would not recommend that The Firehouse Lounge bar as there are better ones around in that area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shari Kolke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Shari would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is close to 6th street (lots of bars and restaurants) and is within walking distance from the Capitol building and other touristy type places. The hostel was very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in at any hostel.

Disliked: In the room I was in, there was only one outlet that I could see which was on the top bunk - not very helpful for anyone else in the room. Also it would be nice if there were some mats on the bathroom floor, as it gets a bit slippery near the showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Castles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: It had a really friendly atmosphere, it was small and everyone hung out at the kitchen and got to know each other. Also the location was great as were the pub crawls. Oh and the breakfast was good too. I'd definately come back here.

Disliked: My bed was really uncomfortable, i think some springs might have been broken.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

NATHAN PARRISH

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 July 2013 NATHAN would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, cheap laundry machines on-site, great location, great breakfast. It was good enough that i stayed a few nights, though i only reserved one on this site. I would stay here again.

Disliked: Pretty expensive, but i'm sure their rent & bills are very high. Wifi was terrible upstairs, but worked good downstairs at the bar.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lucy Weaver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. I went to them for everything. Their pub crawls were a lot of fun and a great way to mingle with the other guests. SUPER location right near 5th street (or is it 6th??). Steps away from the nightlife. Breakfast was included which was good although I was hardly awake for it after some big nights out haha

Disliked: The internet needs fixing. You can only get access to the wireless if you are in the lobby or bar area. Luckily for me, I had a power socket near my bed. Everyone else in the room were complaining because they didn't have power sockets near them. I also figured out that the bedroom door needs to have it's handle pumped twice in order to open it. If you tug on it once, it won't open. I believe most rooms had this issue. I heard people trying to get inside their rooms constantly! It is also rather noisy but this is what is to be expected staying so close to 5th street! The shower head in the shower was also a bit broken which ended up soaking my clothing which I had sitting over the shower curtain rail.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel - excellent location, easy walking distance to everything, friendly staff. The bar downstairs is fun, I didn't find it too noisy in the room but the hostel provides free earplugs anyway.

Disliked: The wifi worked pretty sporadically.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Meegan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a great hostel. Right in the thick of it just off 6th street. Walkable to anywhere. Clean. Staff were great, even when I kept asking questions and messing up the magnetic key (don't put near electrical stuff...) they were really friendly. Laundry is always a nice extra. Room was comfortable with in-room storage. Highly recommend this hostel and Austin.

Disliked: Be warned, kitchen does not have a stove or full size oven, but does have table-top oven/grill, toaster and microwave so you can cook basic meals. Yes, it does get noisy from the bar downstairs but ends promptly and with ear plug it's fine if having an early night. 2nd floor bathroom does build up a big puddle from showers but is always cleaned up by cleaners. Don't be put off.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Wymer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Staff are really helpful and the bar downstairs is fun.

Disliked: No oven or cooktop in the kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Layton

Alone

City break

07 May 2013 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect for everything downtown, and has a nice bar on site. Good breakfast also provided and laundry facilities.

Disliked: Tony left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar next door, nice staff, clean & stylish interior

Disliked: Unreliable wifi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price location and very nice people.

Disliked: One night was very loud. Too loud. The other nights were fine. If you want quiet I would not stay on the 2nd floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphare Dekoration Service

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice and relaxed down to earth place with super friendly staff.

Disliked: Can get a bit noisy due to city center location.but that's what we came for.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location and the staff. Great breakfast!

Disliked: No stove :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location downtown. A little noisy due to proximity of bars and very early morning street cleaning.

Disliked: No airconditioning, only fans so very warm at nights.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 March 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Beds very uncomfortable. Old windows drafty. I would definitely pay about 20% more to get a cheaper hotel room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very attentionate personel. Great location.

Disliked: Well I know they've just opened, so I'll disregard any minor disagreement. Apart from that, everything was fine!


See all Austin hostels