HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Austin hostels

Reviews of HI - Austin

Hostel | 2200 S. Lakeshore Blvd., Austin, Texas, USA 78741

80.6% Overall Rating

116 out of 120 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

Erik Dolliver thinks…

"Out was on a nice side of town And the staff was very knowledgeable about telling us where to go when and how tho get where we wanted tho go."

Read all HI - Austin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PRICE LISTED ON THE WEBSITE ARE FOR NON- HOSTELLING INTERNATIONAL MEMBERS. If you are not a Hostelling International member you will also be charged a $3.00 (US Dollars) fee per day upon check in. Membeships can be purchased at the hostel upon check in or online at www.hiusa.org/membership. Memberships are $28 for adults and $18 for adults 55+. Hostelling International-Austin will charge your credit card for the first night's stay, minus your booking deposit, automatically. Please inform the hostel of any cancellations by 5 pm the day before you are scheduled to arrive in order to receive a refund. PLEASE NOTE: This is a 15% logding tax that HI-Austin is required to charge guests. This tax does not show up on the site. You will be charged the tax upon check in. HI-Austin will charge your credit card for the first night's stay, minus your booking deposit, automatically. Please inform the hostel of any cancellations by 5 pm the day before you are scheduled to arrive in order to receive a refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Austin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Austin

Firehouse Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 27 reviews
Red Roof Inn Austin South, Texas
32.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Austin's Travelodge
18.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

116 out of 120 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Austin'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erik Dolliver

Alone

Partying / nightlife

28 March 2014 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Out was on a nice side of town And the staff was very knowledgeable about telling us where to go when and how tho get where we wanted tho go.

Disliked: There was a mistake by one of the staff members and they assigned 2of us to the same need causing a dilemma a at 4 am and I was awoken while they settled the issue.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is wonderful next to some nice nature and the river. They have a big common room so it's always a bunch of people knocking about. Staff is very helpful and they have a great kitchen (usually with lots of food for free that people left). They sell weekly bus-passes for 4,5$ which is a ridicoulously great deal.

Disliked: It's not really the place to stay if you want to rock the streets of Austin. It takes about 7 min to walk to the bus and they don't run very often, especially not at night (not sure if they are at all). Walking to the action is a good 45 min walk but the hostel adds up a lot by having a wonderful location. And then comes the worst part, you're not allowed to drink in the hostel which makes it less sociable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the lake

Disliked: Washrooms were too small

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013

Liked: Location. Free breakfast. Beds. Free towel.

Disliked: Shared showers, not very private. No tv in common room. Not a party hostel. Took a very long time to check in. (Arrived at 11pm)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michele Mueller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and quite, not right in the city center

Disliked: The showers...there is just one room with two showers next to each other for all the girls in the hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kimberley Smith

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, free computers, free pancakes

Disliked: Distance from downtown

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Not many complaints.

Disliked: Had better stays previously. This time, my bed turned out to be a lot thinner and older than the rest of the beds. I could feel the springs. Also, I was told there would be a free breakfast (pancakes) from 8 a.m. to 10 a.m., which would work out perfectly since I had to get to work at 8. In the past, this was set up before that time. However, the person that was working in the morning didn't get it out in time and I left after 8 a.m. Disappointed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Franziska Steiner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the rooms are big are the common areas are neat and peaceful. The place also has airco.

Disliked: The location was the biggest issue. You have to walk to the bus stop to get anywhere BUT the area is not safe at night. As Im female and traveling by myself, I would not stay there again. The shower area is clean but old and useless.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very chilled, great common room and patio, right by the river - fantastic location and really easy to get into town (yes there's a bus you have to catch, but they're frequent and a weekly pass from the front desk is $4.50).

Disliked: A little far from town, but the location on the water makes up for it. Only a couple of powerpoints in rooms, and quite a few inconsiderate dorm users (lights on at 3am, packing in the middle of the night etc).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Karl Jarvis

Alone

Business / conference

19 April 2013 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: location by lake, most staff were nice to work with

Disliked: not as nice a facility as others I've been to in the States

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really nice and helpful. Room and bath was always clean. Nice Living room/ lobby.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanne Bates

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 March 2013 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and clean with a well equipped industrial-type kitchen and good pancake breakfast. Common area was nice with comforable furnishings and loads of reading material. Liked their background music, very modern!

Disliked: Traffic nearby was heavy, not unusual in a larger city, but inconvenient nonetheless.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jessica newby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 January 2013 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location right on the water. good kitchen

Disliked: There wasn't much atmosphere to the place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people. Helpful staff. Great amenities.

Disliked: Not much to dislike really. Perhaps the location but it really isn't that bad.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, safe friendly atmosphere with a great location, right on the river

Disliked: nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful

Disliked: It's miles from the centre

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steven Baxendale

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, free pancakes, tea & coffee for breakfast. Good wifi and a couple of pc's. Nice mix of interesting people. Free towels. Only a couple of miles from Downtown Austin, plus several shops and restaurants in walking distance.

Disliked: Nothing really

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kirstie boyes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 kirstie would recommend this property

Liked: that it had a nice lake by it

Disliked: that you couldnt drink and there was no shelter outside if it rained

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasant stay, great atmosphere, lovely staff, very hospitable.

Disliked: A little far away from the center, however it was next to a lovely lake.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Umm, can't think of much honestly, it wasn't bad but there wasn't a lot to writ home about, I was lucky to have good people there a few nights after I arrived to make my stay happpier

Disliked: Its in a pretty horrible part of town and not as close to town as I thought it would be

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great.

Disliked: A little bit too far of a walk til the next bus stop.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Good helpful staff

Disliked: A small dorm bed light would be handy as dorm was dark in the morning...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free towels, free bread, clean

Disliked: Quiet time and additional prices on arrival bringing cost from $20 a night to $28!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Weston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location. They offer plenty of discounts for activities such as hiring bikes. The hostel had a more chilled out vibe than some of them I have stayed at. The back garden leads to the river, so was great to have a drink and chill out, or watch a movie on the patio.

Disliked: Most people did keep to themselves, which didn't give the hostel much atmosphere. But Austin is a great city and well worth the visit

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominic Satchell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, comfy common areas, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Only two showers, and strangely designed so if someone is using the other one you can see one another. You have to be out your room between 11 and 2, which didn't bother me but other people in my room were very irritated by it.


See all Austin hostels