We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arctic Adventure Hostel

Hostel | 337 W. 33rd Ave., Anchorage, Alaska, USA 99503

88.1% Overall Rating

119 out of 120 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

"Very clean, it was obvious that the linen was well laundered, the showers were also kept clean and tidy. The kitchen facilities were abundant, it was large and also very clean. It was located in a reasonably easy…"

Read all Arctic Adventure Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are open February 15th to September 30th from 8am to 11am and 4pm to 12am and December 10th to February 14th from 10am to 10pm. To arrange arrival outside those hours, you must contact the hostel prior to booking. We accept cash and travel checks only for payment. No credit cards accepted at check in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Anchorage?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Anchorage

Jason's International Youth Hostel - Midtown
25.00 USD

Hostel 75.5% 48 reviews
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
30.00 USD

Hostel 71.8% 8 reviews
Base Camp Anchorage
25.00 USD

Hostel 97.6% 7 reviews
Alaska Backpackers Inn
15.00 USD

Hostel 68.8% 91 reviews
Alaska Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 62.7% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

119 out of 120 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arctic Adventure Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 92 of 105 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Inexpensive and clean

Disliked: Bit far from town

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david taylor

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2014 david would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean Super helpful owner operators Fantastic value for money

Disliked: Is a bit of a walk from downtown but that is why tariff can be low for the great quality

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, it was obvious that the linen was well laundered, the showers were also kept clean and tidy. The kitchen facilities were abundant, it was large and also very clean. It was located in a reasonably easy location to find once arriving in Anchorage late in the evening. It had very good internet access.

Disliked: We had no dislikes that we can think of.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice beds and bathrooms.

Disliked: The staff seemed to be fat up with the place and were grumpy.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms

Disliked: location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value at a simple and clean location

Disliked: A little far from Anchorage downtown but everything else was great

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mareike Krausbauer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Mareike would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, bus needs only 10 min to city center.

Disliked: No athmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice, very clean, inexpensive hostel in a safe location. Not in walking distance of main stores, but convenient if driving - very close to a main street (C St.). It has a big kitchen with fridge, stove, free coffee, free access to internet in a separate room. Has private rooms to accommodate 2 people with tv in room, bathroom is very clean. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Have stayed in many hostels and this is a fave. Found it to be a great base in Anchorage - excellent location, stores and restaurants withing a few blocks. Clean and very well run, had an atmosphere even though it was at a quiet time in February. Would definitely return to this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing to note.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristie-Lee Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2013 Kristie-Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Big kitchen, clean bathrooms, comfortable beds and great free wifi

Disliked: The lady that checked us in was a bit rude. Like she's felt with too many idiots and was over her job.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

J Alex Houston

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 J Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, not expensive, hepful s=advice

Disliked: Room was very basic but all that was necessary.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee yii

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 lee would recommend this property

Liked: Joe and Tiffany were extremely helpful and the bed was soooo comfy and bathroom were soo clean all the time. Its hostel price with hotel standards. Definitely recommend it.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pancake mix. Nice kitchen facilities. Good wifi and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean and a great way to meet cool people! Much better than area hotels that cost 3-4 times as much.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, well maintained and quiet hostel. It's one of the best I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: It's a little out of town so you need to take a bus or have a car to get around.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefan Böhmer

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2013 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: gute Lage, Nähe zum Flughafen und zur Innenstadt

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guowu Xie

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Guowu would recommend this property

Liked: like it very much, better than we expected.

Disliked: Nothing,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Pawlak

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostel I have ever stayed in and I have been to many places in many countries. The place is extremely clean. The kitchen is well-equipped with pots, etc. and it has many different spices and even some food (e.g. oatmeal) available for people to use. My room is really nice. I honestly consider this hostel one of two top hostels I have ever stayed in. I am actually surprise that in such an expensive place like Anchorage, AK this hostel is not more expensive.

Disliked: Honestly, there is nothing that I dislike about this hostel. It is relatively centrally located (I walked to a restaurant last night). One can walk to Walmart Supercenter from it. It is a great please to stay!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 May 2013

Liked: Staff was very helpful. There is a large kitchen, easy to navigate. Walking distance to majority of downtown anchorage.

Disliked: Kinda hidden in a neighborhood that is less that beautiful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

penny Martin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2012 penny would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and welcoming . lovely shower with lots of hot water !!

Disliked: basic ... but clean

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Payne

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 September 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and has loads of amenities.

Disliked: It is hard to find if you're taking public transportation and are new to Anchorage. Also, it's relatively far from central downtown.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms available. Despite the low income neighborhood surroundings, I felt reasonably safe. If I needed to stay in Anchorage again, I would probably stay here if money were an issue. It costs about half for a room compared to a hotel. Shared fridge to keep food, laundry room if you need it. Reasonable location (not in downtown, not out in the sticks).

Disliked: Noise - some artard in the neighborhood was playing his car stereo from midnight till 1am. The next morning, someone left their room before their alarm clock went off at 8am, and so the alarm clock beeped unattended for at least half an hour. I was hearing this through two closed doors. The second night, there were a group of guys standing on the fire escape stairway half a floor down at 11pm, talking loudly enough I could hear what they were saying through a closed window. I went outside and asked them to move elsewhere, which they did. The noise of people opening and closing doors was enough to wake me up early one morning, so the walls / doors are kind of thin. Lack of disinfectant and paper towels in the kitchen. For all I know someone could've been in the kitchen an hour before me, handling raw meat on the counter, and the only thing available to wipe it off with was a well-used dish towel. I poked around and found some disinfectant / cleaner, but the only way to cleanly apply it was to use a brand-new sponge. The fact that most people probably dried their dishes with the dish towel of unknown cleanliness further motivated me to pre-wash all my dishes and utensils before using. Bathrooms smelled like really old cigarette smoke, or something close to it. Though not horribly, and not enough to set off my allergies. I would really like to have had a keyed deadbolt on the door. The locking doorknob seems way too easy to defeat (it did not have a locking tongue).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Clow

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great Value, clean, extremley well stocked kitchen, helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: It's far from downtown, not that there is a lot in downtown, you will save money going to the airport from here but a taxi to downtown is around $8-9, the bus is $1.75 but only goes every 1/2 hour or so. The bed was old and loud and the stairs could use some carpet Overall though it's a good place and the money u save on accomodation will cover transport costs. I recomend this hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly helpful and friendly managers - went out of their way to drive me into the centre of town, and stored some bags for free while I was out of town for a short trip. Kitchen facilities were also awesome - free pancake mix!

Disliked: Pretty dicey location (wouldn't recommend walking alone at night), not particularly close to centre, and very little atmosphere among the guests

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this hostel was the very friendly and extremely helpful lady, Tiffiny. The atmosphere was great and we met some very interesting people. Definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: There were no negatives that we found.