HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alaska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 2910 W. 31st Avenue, Anchorage, Alaska, USA 99518

67.7% Overall Rating

8 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2013)

"Clean, and the 4bunk room I stayed was very large and had its own full bathroom and ample closet space. I have stayed at Jason's Hostel in Anchorage and the AK Youth Hostel by comparison is TOP NOTCH!"

Read all Alaska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Anchorage?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Anchorage

Qupqugiaq Inn
70.00 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 64.6% 37 reviews
Arctic Adventure Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 92.2% 107 reviews
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
30.00 USD

Hostel 71.8% 8 reviews
Jason's International Youth Hostel - Midtown
25.00 USD

Hostel 75.5% 47 reviews
Alaska Backpackers Inn
15.00 USD

Hostel 76.0% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.7%

Overall Rating

8 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alaska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.6%
Location
69.2%
Facilities
58.5%
Cleanliness
64.6%
Staff
75.4%
Value
76.9%
Safety
64.6%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and the 4bunk room I stayed was very large and had its own full bathroom and ample closet space. I have stayed at Jason's Hostel in Anchorage and the AK Youth Hostel by comparison is TOP NOTCH!

Disliked: pool and hot tub is permanently out of service

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013

Liked: Staff were friendly.

Disliked: Both the sauna and jacuzzi are out of action, and the environment is not such that you can use the pool. This is not a hostel as in a travellers/backpackers hostel, but a hostel in the traditional sense in that it's a halfway house and is all long term residents, and doesn't have a holiday atmosphere. Private rooms are not "subject to availability" they do not exist, and there are no co-ed dorms. I was travelling with my husband and was a little put out by this at first, until I met some of the residents and given the nature of the clientele the co-ed rooms do not exist purely for safety reasons I feel, and I was quite grateful to be in a female dorm. I would not recommend this hostel for couples, and definitely not for female travellers. For backpackers/holiday makers in general, I would say stay elsewhere. Management were friendly, but are working with a hostel that is in dire need of maintenance, and there's also bit of a rodent problem

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Niall Scully

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2013

Liked: Reasonably cheap. Close to airport.

Disliked: No co-ed dorms- this is not clearly stated anywhere before you arrive. The pool does not feel in any way heated. The side of the building that houses the womens' dorms is a building site. The place is not clean. It is very difficult to know who works there to ask questions or get information. The staff had no idea about bus times into town. Very few other travellers there, most people staying are (friendly) long term residents.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john propst

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2012 john would recommend this property

Liked: not crammed

Disliked: no smoking/ alcohol

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house looks like mansion and the guys are nice and friendly. they have a big inside pool and backyard. had no problems for the hole vacation. the busstation is just a little walk away. i walked also from the airport to the hostel(ca. 30min). i loved the place and befor i leave Alaska i will come back and stay there. was a lot of fun!!!

Disliked: the breakfast is not a real one! only cereals. there should be more as that!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the size of the place. Very clean and decent sized kitchen with patio, pool, and large family rooms. The staff was very friendly.

Disliked: A far location from anything desirable in Anchorage. I would recommend having a bike or car.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

29 April 2012

Liked: Old character, large kitchen, nice backyard and deck, wifi was good. they have a pool which is a plus for hostels and it was convenient to the local city bus.

Disliked: Well for one they ran of toilet paper, that is ridiculous to run out of toilet paper. No real hospitality or a feel of a traveler's haven, however there were still the long term winter residents as opposed to traveler's. Did not really have a community feel, and I do not think the management know how to truly create a community, however that is just my opinion. Too many beds in the dorm, and the heat was too high.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free continental breakfast. INDOOR heated swimming pool. Close to airport.

Disliked: Smell of tobacco in room (from occupant rolling cigarettes, not smoking though).

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pool, helpful staff

Disliked: far from downtown

The property's response is...