HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Alaska Backpackers Inn Anchorage

Hostel

409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, USA

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 71%

Location 77%

Safety 73%

Staff 79%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Anchorage?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 71%

Location 77%

Safety 73%

Staff 79%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was easily accessible and convenient.

Disliked: Noisy at night, lots of people yelling on the road.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Unsafe and dirty

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Gloomy atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review we really appreciate it.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent apartment

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for such an awesome review we hope you will consider us again on your return to Anchorage.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendliness of the staff, excelent value/money, good facilities

Disliked: Location a bit far from downtown, but not bad.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly, close to everything clean and excellent facilities

Disliked: bed wasnt great

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: NOTHING!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: EVERYTHING!!!! I'm used to travel in Canada and USA for the last 8 months now and it's the 1st time that such an horrible hostel.It's dirty, unsecure and they don't have any policy of cancelation because they know that nobody want to stay more than 1 night so you can't do anything.I had at least one mouse in my room (the garbage was full for at least 2 days : no housekeeping in that place) and when I asked to change room they didn't apoligize they just gave it to me a new room : under construction........So I left that hostel even if I paid for 2 nights with no chance to have my money back for the night I canceled!!!!!!!AVOID THAT PLACE!!!!!!!!


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback please keep in mind we are under new ownership and management we hope that you will consider staying here in the near future we are sorry for any troubles you have had in the past with your stay our number one priority is making sure our rooms are clean and our guests are happy.

Thank you
Alaska Backpackers

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It was close to the center, the internet was working well

Disliked: I was crappy a bit, strange people from the street were coming in, a bit durty, but not very durty

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The morning time bulgarian receptionist, she's awesome, the bunnys and turtle and quotes all over the walls, size of the dorm..

Disliked: the afternoon receptionists seem like theyve done the job too long and dont care much, some advertising for the property wasntaccurate, my bed clothes were dirty when i arrived.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review we appreciate it alot. We hope that you choose to utilize our Hotel upon returning.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice and friendly staff

Disliked: Really much dirty room, mess ewerywhere, the floor looks like wasnt cleaned for a months. I think that the linens wasnt changed, dirty restrooms, and really thiny walls, if somebody went on the hall , it sounds like dinosaurus.

Check Availability