We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alaska Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, Alaska, USA 99501

68.8% Overall Rating

71 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2013)

carmen major thinks…

"The morning time bulgarian receptionist, she's awesome, the bunnys and turtle and quotes all over the walls, size of the dorm.."

Read all Alaska Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Anchorage?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Anchorage

Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
30.00 USD

Hostel 71.8% 8 reviews
Arctic Adventure Hostel
23.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 120 reviews
Jason's International Youth Hostel - Midtown
25.00 USD

Hostel 75.5% 48 reviews
Base Camp Anchorage
25.00 USD

Hostel 97.6% 7 reviews
Alaska Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 65.5% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.8%

Overall Rating

71 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alaska Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
68.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 71 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easily accessible and convenient.

Disliked: Noisy at night, lots of people yelling on the road.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 August 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Unsafe and dirty

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Gloomy atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, close to everything clean and excellent facilities

Disliked: bed wasnt great

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Maria Tysyachnyuk

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 September 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the center, the internet was working well

Disliked: I was crappy a bit, strange people from the street were coming in, a bit durty, but not very durty

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pertti Lantta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Pertti would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff, excelent value/money, good facilities

Disliked: Location a bit far from downtown, but not bad.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013

Liked: NOTHING!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: EVERYTHING!!!! I'm used to travel in Canada and USA for the last 8 months now and it's the 1st time that such an horrible hostel. It's dirty, unsecure and they don't have any policy of cancelation because they know that nobody want to stay more than 1 night so you can't do anything. I had at least one mouse in my room (the garbage was full for at least 2 days : no housekeeping in that place) and when I asked to change room they didn't apoligize they just gave it to me a new room : under construction........ So I left that hostel even if I paid for 2 nights with no chance to have my money back for the night I canceled!!!!!!! AVOID THAT PLACE!!!!!!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

carmen major

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2013 carmen would recommend this property

Liked: The morning time bulgarian receptionist, she's awesome, the bunnys and turtle and quotes all over the walls, size of the dorm..

Disliked: the afternoon receptionists seem like theyve done the job too long and dont care much, some advertising for the property wasntaccurate, my bed clothes were dirty when i arrived.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Kamil Klapac

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

19 July 2013

Liked: Nice and friendly staff

Disliked: Really much dirty room, mess ewerywhere, the floor looks like wasnt cleaned for a months. I think that the linens wasnt changed, dirty restrooms, and really thiny walls, if somebody went on the hall , it sounds like dinosaurus.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Poor lighting but not a big deal

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2013

Liked: It's a good, clean place to stay if you need a bed to sleep in, and close to downtown Anchorage.

Disliked: Not recommended for solo travelers. There isn't much in the way of hostel "culture", so don't expect to meet a bunch of travelers etc. Everybody pretty much kept to themselves. Some of the front desk staff were very nice and helpful, other's less so.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tiffany, the Hostess, was outstanding and helped me with booking tours and giving me all kinds of information about the city. My room was great and my bed most welcome after an 8 hours drive from Fairbanks.

Disliked: It could use a coat of paint on the outside.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Hornacek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: - friendly staff

Disliked: - gloomy common room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Marcy Nadel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 June 2013 Marcy would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, pretty well-stocked kitchen, common space with games and such (though I didn't see anyone using it)

Disliked: walking distance to downtown, but on the edge of it and close to a semi-seedy neighborhood. three separate buildings up to two blocks apart, which I hadn't realized before arriving.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

shaohuan su

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 shaohuan would recommend this property

Liked: clean bed,free wifi,not far away from downtown

Disliked: noisy

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, good price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful. Get to meet with a lot of travelers, sharing fun stories. Alaska/Yukon trails bus actually provides free pick-up and drop-off in front of the hostel. Very convenient.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Linda Mishler

Alone

Family Holiday

02 July 2012 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED the artwork and writing on the walls. It tells the history of the guests. Amazing all of the countries represented. The building was very clean and I felt safe...imortant to me since I was traveling by myself.

Disliked: I wish I could have checked in earlier.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were spacious and clean, and the common areas were nice and big

Disliked: There are no carpets in the hallways, so it gets very noisy, especially in the mornings when people leave early

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic hostel with large entertainment/lounge room, kitchen and wifi.

Disliked: Staff were busy and it took a long time to get served

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

james lewis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 james would recommend this property

Liked: convenient

Disliked: with tax its overpriced on private rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I'll definitely be back!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room, enough place, clean shower.

Disliked: A little bit far from center. A little bit strange people hanging around.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For a reasonable place to stay right in the middle of town hard to beat. Very friendly staff, pretty clean and felt very comfortable. Great place to base our Alaska adventures from!

Disliked: Overall pretty good value. No big complaints.