HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Route 66 Hostel

Hostel | 1012 Central Ave. SW, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA 87102

83.7% Overall Rating

38 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

"Close to Greyhound and Amtrak. Also walking distance to Old Town and Downtown's bars. Quiet place with breakfast and good wifi. Alone in a dorm for 3 nights. Good facilities."

Read all Route 66 Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Albuquerque?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

38 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Route 66 Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kim Lundgren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, pub downstairs

Disliked: Need bigger common area

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Greyhound and Amtrak. Also walking distance to Old Town and Downtown's bars. Quiet place with breakfast and good wifi. Alone in a dorm for 3 nights. Good facilities.

Disliked: Staff member who checked me in didn't even show me the room. He said nothing about the breakfast or facilities. Other guys were showing new guests around.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Carole Parker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Carole would recommend this property

Liked: Met some very interesting travelers

Disliked: The mattresses could be in much better condition

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: only hostel in town

Disliked: not much atmosphere creepy old dudes staying there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Si Long Tou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2013 Si Long would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very friendly and its easy to make new friends. There are free breakfast (you have to make it yourself tho) & free coffee & tea!! I stayed in dorm room and it was neat and clean. Staffs are extremely helpful too!

Disliked: basically nth...it would be nice if there were any hair dryers to borrow tho

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great location and the staff are very friendly. It has a very rustic "hostel" feel to it and was really easy to meet other travellers. The common room was fantastic and the wifi decent.

Disliked: The building is quite old and a coat of paint in certain areas wouldn't go astray however not so much that I wouldn't stay there again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near downtown, friendly, cheap

Disliked: They lost my reservation so I lost the 10% (4 dollars) I already paid.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good combination of free stuff, friendly staff, clean

Disliked: Not a lot.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Forster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: It is an easy walk from the Amtrak and Greyhound stations, and close to major transport networks. The staff were really helpful even when my booking hadn't come through the system yet. There is a LOT of free food. Clean towels and linen which was surprisingly soft! When my laptop was playing up and wouldn't connect to the internet they reset the router even though it turned out to be my laptop that was the problem, and were just generally all you could want from hostel staff!

Disliked: There were no lockers in the rooms but padlocks on my bag seemed secure enough for a quietish area of town. OK so the beds are a little rickety, but I've had worse and in more expensive places.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Dominic Satchell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012

Liked: Free eggs and not too far from the greyhound made it a good resting spot for the night.

Disliked: No lockers, not very clean particularly the bathrooms, fairly dull and quiet. Was fine for a one night stay for a decent rest between bus journeys but I wouldn't recommend staying much longer.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Julia Besnard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Charming, central, cheap. Free breakfast, towel, coffee anytime. Good kitchen. Friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: No proper maps of the city. Very few outlets in the dorm. No mirrors in the dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and so is the staff. Clean safe hostel for the price. Can't beat it

Disliked: Nothing bad about this hostel.. cleaner than some I've been in

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

michaela boennelykke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Good friendly staff. Close to downtown party area. Very homy feeling. Excellent breakfast!

Disliked: The radiator was either really hot and noisy or cold and quite. The plastic under the sheet was a bet much, but I guess it's part off the hostel feeling.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel,just like our own home!

Disliked: lack of travel materials,such as maps.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Yahl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the best. About 10 minute walk from the Old Town and there is a grocery store right near by.

Disliked: I did not like some of the staff members. Most were very helpful and accommodating but some were not.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

E Nhouvannasack

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012 E would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and sweet!

Disliked: E left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice homely atmosphere. Excellent free breakfast provided. Location was ideal between downtown and the old town.

Disliked: No lockers (although staff were happy to lock valuables up behind reception desk).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and peaceful place, lots of character.

Disliked: Not a place to meet other travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Morgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great with us, we arrived very early and we were tired even though we had booked into a dorm we were asked if we wanted a private room to rest! WHICH WAS FAB! The place is clean and about a 10minute from the greyhound station! Breakfast selection is great and place is clean!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Ruesink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: There were less people.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The big porch was very nice.

Disliked: Nothing worth noting.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice comfy hostel, bus stop to old town/nob hill and greyhound/amtrak right in front of the hostel

Disliked: breakfast included but very sparse

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dimitrianne Lee

Alone

Family Holiday

07 April 2011 Dimitrianne would recommend this property

Liked: The age difference among the people at this place is cool...great to interact with older people.

Disliked: I was charged for a room key, never got one and wasn't able to get my $5 room key fee back. I was told to "go look for it" and I asked them how I would go about to "go look for it" if I never recvd one to begin with.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Porter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011 Will would recommend this property

Liked: Private Room less than the dorm, price-wise...

Disliked: Seems to be an older crowd, not really a young travellers' hostel.