We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casablanca Hostel

Hostel | Calle Antonio Aime s/n, Las Grutas de Punta Ballena, Punta del Este, Uruguay N/A

86.9% Overall Rating

13 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2014)

"Very close to a beach that's really quiet, although not the best one around Punta Del Este. Has small swimming pool and several sofas in lounge area."

Read all Casablanca Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.92
  • Towel USD 1.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Este?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Este

Hostel Punta Ballena Bar
15.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel del Patio
12.00 USD

Hostel 55.9% 50 reviews
El Viajero Manantiales Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 76.3% 40 reviews
El Hostalito
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 67 reviews
El Viajero Brava Beach Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 73 reviews
F&F Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 80.7% 103 reviews
La Lomita del Chingolo B&B
11.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 206 reviews
Backpacker de La Barra
20.00 USD

Hostel 81.3% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

13 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casablanca Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
85.3%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
78.7%
Staff
89.3%
Value
88.0%
Safety
86.7%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014

Liked: Very close to a beach that's really quiet, although not the best one around Punta Del Este. Has small swimming pool and several sofas in lounge area.

Disliked: Not very inclusive, felt like the staff were constatnly having their own party there with friends. It is very remote to facilities, need to catch bus to a cash machine or if you want to buy fruits/vegetables. No information given on check in and didn't seem very interested in giving info when asked. Laundry service took 2 days and spelt like it had been left in the machine overnight (damp and mildewy) and when asked for laundry I had to go and get from the line myself. Breakfast is the usual bread, jam, cereal and is not kept stocked throughout breakfast hours, had to keep asking for re0fills of everything. Dorms are small and not a lot of space for backpacks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Piva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I really enjoyed to stay in the hostel. The staff was very friendly. The rooms was clean so was the kitchen and the bathroom.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

alexandre freitas

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

02 January 2014 alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff

Disliked: There was no air conditioner or fan the bedroom and the bedroom was terribly hot!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2013

Liked: There were two cute kittens at the place, but they are getting rid of them, so that is sad. The hostel is in a nice area, but was a little hard to find if you aren't familiar with the area. But the proximity to the beach was great and the fact that the beach was semi private, harder to get to made it very nice and tranquil. The staff is very helpful when they are actually around.

Disliked: It was pretty dirty, the beds were very rickety (thought I was going to end up crushing the person below me) and my friends and I got bitten by every bug imaginable, including mosquitos and bed bugs. The staff, when around, was great, but it was often hard to find someone who could help us.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jack Bainbridge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, good location very close to the beach, one of the best hostels we ve stayed in.

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Close to wonderful (not crowded!) beaches and the famous Casapueblo and a quick drive to downtown Punta del Este and nearby grocery stores. Quiet in the evenings (especially when staying in the private room which is quiet nice). Restaurant/bar next door offers better prices for people staying at the hostel. 2 cute and friendly dogs hanging around the hostel! The private room has a small fridge and my boyfriend and I were left pretty much alone to do our own thing.

Disliked: Very simple breakfast and no proper tables to eat, just a sort of counter outside on the front patio or you could eat sitting on the common couch. Kitchen and utensils could be a lot tidier/cleaner. One of the hostel's owners (apparently), who works the afternoons, does pretty much nothing except sit on the couch all day with headphones and that made me really uncomfortable about asking him for anything. It was hard to make out the difference between hostel staff and guests and the people we knew were guests didn't seem welcoming or very willing to help. The room had a weird (but not bad smell).... it bothered us just because we couldn't figure out what it was.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

alexandre assmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

13 February 2013 alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good atmosphere, hot showers and clean dorms. The outside area its really great also!

Disliked: The breakfast is good but no dulce de leche! (: