HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Viajero Manantiales Hostel

Hostel | Ruta 10, Km 164, Punta del Este, Uruguay .

76.3% Overall Rating

24 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/01/2011)

Danielle Assante thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beer at the bar was cheap and it was in a pretty good location. I guess it's ok if you're really young and/or don't have the money to travel but I thought it…"

Read all El Viajero Manantiales Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Este?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Este

El Hostalito
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 67 reviews
El Viajero Brava Beach Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 84.8% 72 reviews
F&F Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 82.2% 102 reviews
La Lomita del Chingolo B&B
16.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 206 reviews
La Quinta Eco Hostel & Club
35.00 USD

Hostel 80.7% 4 reviews
Hostel del Mar
17.09 USD

Hostel 72.4% 3 reviews
Uy Punta Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
ISA Hostel
40.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

24 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Viajero Manantiales Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 March 2013

Liked: Not much, the weather was nice.

Disliked: Dirty hostel all around, its nice to have a pool but with yellow water who wants to swim in it? Really cramped and hot dorms, poorly equipped kitchen. After we were shown our beds the staff was more interested in partying than any of our problems. Also there was dried blood on the wall besides my bed.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Michael Sneed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011

Liked: The place was clean. Plenty of places to relax. The beach is nice.

Disliked: Price gouging defined. I can understand no outside alcohol policies, but their drink prices are completely unreasonable. The most expensive beer I have encountered in South America. Their food nights are also overpriced. Kills all the potential this place has to be a decent hostel. Do not recommend. Room price was also not as advertised on hostelbookers.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Danielle Assante

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beer at the bar was cheap and it was in a pretty good location. I guess it's ok if you're really young and/or don't have the money to travel but I thought it was expensive for what you get.

Disliked: There were 3 bathroom and showers for like 40 people--gross. Bathroom and bedrooms were small. You can rent a dingy towel for 50 pesos a week. There is no A/C, just a fan and there are no adapters for American electronics. I guess the pl

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malte Kuehnemund

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 December 2010 Malte would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel. very nice athmosphere. staff is really nice and helpful. good mix between chill and party! good showers, beds, ... totally reommended!

Disliked: nothing maybe the coffee ;)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

03 December 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, really good wifi.

Disliked: A long way from the centre - good for us as we just wanted to chill out at the beach, but wouldn´t recommend if you want to see the centre. It´s only 20 mins on the bus but feels like a long way away! Staff are pretty unfriendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NELSON ROJAS

11 May 2010 NELSON would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favorite Hostel in the world.... If you want happiness in your life, just come!Increible la gente de este hostel! Comodo! Entretenido! Espectacular!

Disliked: NELSON left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Carolina Alves Silva

18 February 2010

Liked: No

Disliked: Carolina Alves left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simon Lau

12 December 2009 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: the pool

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Vincent

10 March 2009 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel with a good pool but is a bit of a walk to the beach and the main town or ATMs etc. maybe a little over priced but everything is there

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A bit remote, but I can imagine that this would be a good thing during the high season...The staff is great, very friendly. Lots of open, communal space. Pool side bar?? What more do you want? Honestly one of the best hostel experiences I´ve had. I could happily stay another week (and it´s been raining!)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Denn

27 March 2008 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff and atmosphere

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

03 February 2008

Liked: Nothing. It is not convenient to get to the hostel, it's much farther away than 20 minutes. Second, the beers are lukewarm. Third, the breakfast...there is no breakfast unless you like stale prison food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 December 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, well eqipped members kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

22 April 2007

Liked: we met a bunch of fun people, nice area outside to bbq and hang out, very helpful and fun staff, good place to relax and enjoy quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

22 December 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, close to beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

05 December 2006

Liked: close proximity to beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

29 November 2006

Liked: The location of this hostal is very out of the range of facilities like restaurants and bars, you have to walk almost 20 minutes.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.