HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Hostalito

Guesthouse | Mananitales, Punta del este, Punta del Este, Uruguay 23

90.2% Overall Rating

63 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2014)

Ana Carolina Franco thinks…

"The staff was just amazing, very helpful and very friendly. The hostel is very beautiful, clean and located near a beautiful beach. It takes about 30 minutes to get to downtown by public bus. I had a…"

Read all El Hostalito reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Este?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Este

El Viajero Manantiales Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 76.3% 40 reviews
El Viajero Brava Beach Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 73 reviews
F&F Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 82.2% 102 reviews
La Lomita del Chingolo B&B
20.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 206 reviews
Hostel del Mar
15.83 USD

Hostel 72.4% 3 reviews
Uy Punta Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
ISA Hostel
40.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Backpacker de La Barra
20.00 USD

Hostel 81.3% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

63 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Hostalito'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 63 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Carolina Franco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 Ana Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was just amazing, very helpful and very friendly. The hostel is very beautiful, clean and located near a beautiful beach. It takes about 30 minutes to get to downtown by public bus. I had a great and pleasant stay and I recommend the hostel.

Disliked: Ana Carolina left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anthony Tyson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything. The guys were laid back, super friendly and helpful, the showers were hot and the beds comfortable. We had a blackout due to a storm the first night so it was really nice to hang ourt and chat by candlelight. It has the vibe and felt a lot like our family holiday home when I was a kid so also had the effect of bringing back lods of nostalgia for me.

Disliked: I didn't mind, but my girlfriend was a bit unimpressed with the cleanliness. It wasn't dirty, just not spotless. Other reviews mentioned a "home made breakfast" which had me pretty excited before arriving, but I don't think I'd clssify the usual fare of bread, butter & jam as a home-made breakfast.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Renato Pugliese

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 March 2014 Renato would recommend this property

Liked: A estrutura e a atmosfera do local, em meio a natureza mas próximo do movimento urbano, permite que se desfrute da diária muito bem. Água boa (quente) no banheiro, cozinha muito bem equipada, área de descanso, ótima recepção e acolhimento, café da manhã, tudo muito legal.

Disliked: Quarto de casal bastante pequeno.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Lerning

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, quirky rooms. Clean, good kitchen. Basic good breakfast, good coffee.

Disliked: nothing, apart from the location is quite far out from the centre but it is connected to Punta del este by the manantiales bus and about 10-15 minute walk to bikini beach. We got a little confused by the location map (probably a combination of Google maps being useless and tiredness!). It is about 15-20mins on the manantiales bus from Punta del este bus station. But don't lat this put you off@

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Lawless-Jennings

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 January 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: By far one of the best hostels we have stayed at. Beautiful vibe, friendly helpful staff, the place is full of character. Booked two nights and ended up staying four but left reluctantly! The owner went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable, making bikes available to us and balancing bookings to allow us to stay longer. You feel like part of a family, even eating together and sharing beers. Quiet and chilled but easy walking distance to the beach and the main area of Manantiales for nightlife. I can't recommend this place enough for those that love a relaxed rustic lifestyle but close to the action of this stretch of coastline.

Disliked: Nothing at all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel McFaul

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Currently in the hostel, undoubtedly one of the friendliest places I have ever stayed. The staff are excellent; we are watching as Celiar prepares dinner for everyone, just as he does every night. Tonight is chorizo grilled on the parrilla, the Uruguayan grill. El Hostelito is a bit of a Howl's Moving Castle of a hostel, things are everywhere and its a bit scattered, but there is plenty of hot water for the showers, a washing machine if you want it, the rooms are clean and have fans, the common area is spacious with outdoor areas too. Like all of Uruguay, it wakes up late and stays up later. There is always music playing, nice and chilled out, and it feels like a grown-up hippie commune, which is no bad thing.

Disliked: Some of the plugs are a little loose, and the place has suffered a couple of 5 minute power cuts whilst here. Apart from that, it could maybe do with an extra toilet if it was really busy here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very quite and peaceful place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people and the food.

Disliked: a hot walk from the main road and beach

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jason Ryer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff made the experience - especially the dinners they prepared. The pizza was amazing!

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Valeria Olivera

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 January 2013 Valeria would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere and kind staff

Disliked: Valeria left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First and foremost, Celiar, the owner, can apply to the contest of nicest guy on earth - I would vote for him! He makes all the difference with his relaxed and helpful attitude. Besides that, the hostel is located 300 m. walking from the last stop of Punta del Este - Manantiales omnibus which departs every 30 minutes and costs (12/2012) U$ 28 pp. This makes commuting back and forth really easy. Manantiales also boasts fantastic dining options and IMHO the best beach lounge on earth: Selenza. El Hostalito can look basic but it has everything a traveler can wish for.

Disliked: Mosquitoes ate us alive the first night until we plugged an insect repellent dispenser - blissful nights from there on!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Prachniak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 December 2012 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great. The folks could not be more friendly. Hanging out in the hostel, sharing meals and talking, was a great experience. The hostel is about a 10 minute walk to the beach. The town of Manantiales is very nice - art galleries and shops and a few restaurants - very cute and peaceful. A great place to chill out. Note that it is about a 20 minute bus ride from Punta - or you can take a cab but the cab was about 40 US dollars so I don't recommend it. This is not a place to come to party at Punta on a nightly basis but a great place to relax, enjoy the beach, enjoy the company of others, and enjoy Manantiales.

Disliked: Corey left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Derek Nielsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2012 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: The people that run the hostel are some of the best people we have met so far after 5 months of traveling. They are so friendly and welcoming. We would truely consider them friends now.

Disliked: Derek left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremly nice and friendly staff, helped us a lot. invited us for dinner. recomendable for couples

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maximilian Schoen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: ca. 10 km outside of punta but quick and easy to reach with the regular local bus for 26 uyu. This place is the perfect getaway for travellers who just need to relax for a couple of days in a perfectly laid-back atmosphere. The owners of the hostel were incredibly kind and treated us like family from the second we arrived. Thank you very much again for your kindness and hospitality!!

Disliked: Maximilian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best value for money places weve stayed in South America. Celiar and his crew are amazing hosts, very laid back and extremely helpful. Place has a rustic charm and a relaxed vibe. If dinner is an option, dont miss out!! It is delicious.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke O'Dell

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Diego, Romie and little Mateo were fantastic hosts! They always made sure we felt included and they were happy to help in any way that they could. This was one of the best prices for a private room with a double bed in the Punta Del Este area. The thatched roofs, cabin feel and natural surroundings made this a very peaceful setting. The dining area was comfortable and perfect for getting to know your fellow travelers.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

24 March 2011

Liked: Very laid back nature, quite communal.

Disliked: Bugs! Being in the busy there were lots of flies on the food and critters at night. Unfortunately it rained the entire three days we were there which left us confined to our rooms, not much fun. The bar outside was wet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fariborz asghari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2011 fariborz would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly ,I felt like I was at my home wonderful people

Disliked: there nothing to disliks ,this only place Ill go next time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place

Disliked: When raining-Get a book.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2011

Liked: Almost nothing!

Disliked: Very dirty, with spiderwebs all around. No lockers. Location difficult to find (no signs; some 10 min walk from main road on a dirt street). Long after booking and 1 month before stay, we were informed by the owner that the price was "incorrect on HostelBookers", so they charged us extra 20 dollars per bed per night, on a "take it or leave it" basis!!! Wouldn't recommend it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner was very friendly and helpful, made us feel at home. basic but clean rooms. a bit far from punta del este (20 minutes by bus) but close to another beach and supermarkets. surfboards available.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Sarjana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2010 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Celair the owner was an absolute champion. He was so very helpful and went out of his way. A very nice and friendly bloke.

Disliked: It was a little difficult to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Ryan

26 March 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: This place is one of the best hostels myself and my partner have stayed in, it certainly lives up to previous reviews, Celiar is a legend, always eager to help out and make sure you feel right at home, the hostel has a complete bohemian vibe, great place to meet people and relax, most that came to the hostel extended their stay there, including us. There is also good wifi and internet access. This hostel ticked every box for us, by far my top hostel after 3 months of travelling south america.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Oakes

14 March 2010 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: This place is paradise. Celiar, Marco, Peco and Pelatin (the dog). Plus all your lovely girlfriends. You are all legends. You made me welcome. You helped me with my Spanish and Marco you cook a great BBQ. I loved every minute of my stay, God speed and good luck building more houses this Winter

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.